Airline of the Year  

Air India

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 496 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"the food was excellent"

(India)

Verified Review | Mumbai to Delhi on Air India. I had taken this afternoon flight on an Airbus A321 after checking in online prior to the flight. Had dropped off my baggage at the designated drop off point and proceeded towards the boarding gate. The flight crew on this flight were quite polite and professional. Even though the departure time was 1pm, we had left around 1.15 or so. After departure, lunch service had commenced and as this was a domestic flight, Air India serves only vegetarian options and so had a meal of paneer masala and rice with dal. For dessert a sweet dish of barfi was provided. The food was excellent. After lunch, tea was served. This flight had an occupancy of around 85% and we reached our destination 10 minutes ahead of schedule. All in all, it was an excellent flight and I would fly with them again.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMumbai to Delhi
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"way they serve hot drink is scary"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Birmingham to Bangalore via Delhi. It was first time I have traveled on Air India on international sector. Check was smooth, Boarding as usual. Pushed back on time and arrived Delhi on time. Food on Birmingham to Delhi was good. In process of hot drink serving the way they serve hot drink without trolley is scary, they will pour hot liquid into passenger cup using a small tray at passenger space expense. I had argument on this serving methodology when we were landing into Delhi. Found pillow provided was stained. Apart from above issue the rest was good..
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBirmingham to Bangalore via Delhi
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"on-board experience was okay"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew on Air India from New Delhi to Lucknow. I was transferring from Lufthansa to Air India, so checked-in my bag at the designated counter for connecting passengers. When I presented my Air India boarding pass and check-in bag (which was already tagged from L.A. to Lucknow), they told me that I would have to go upstairs to the main check-in area. I insisted that they process me at the designated counter for connecting passengers, or else it beats the purpose for having one in the first place! Overall, I wasn't impressed with the ground staff's professionalism. The on-board experience was okay. I wished the Flight Attendant "Good Morning" while entering the aircraft, she responded "Namaskar". It was a short 1 hour flight with express snack service. There was no IFE or WiFi on-board. If you are travelling with a baby or sitting in an exit row, the flight attendant will ask you if you prefer instructions in English or Hindi.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to Lucknow
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Air India is really low grade"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Mumbai to Delhi. Yet again very disappointed. Again a dirty plane, dirty roof, vents, table, entertainment control and window surround. And although I had put my seat selection in my reservation I was put further down the plane in a middle seat. The reason for choosing seat 19D in my booking was to sit beside my colleague. We were both moved. Why bother asking us to select seats if you're going to stick us anywhere you like, even as a Star Alliance frequent flyer program. I flew with Air India in 2015 from the London to Mumbai and have chosen to avoid that on my last 5 visits with the exception of a couple of domestic flights and Air India have not failed to disappoint. Not good enough Air India. I'm a frequent flyer, taking long haul flights about 30 times a year plus domestic connections and Air India is really low grade.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMumbai to Delhi
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"happy with the service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Delhi to Delhi to Birmingham. We were happy with the service we received. The flight was punctual, legroom was good (we are all tall so this has always been important). Staff were pleasant and helpful and the baggage arrived quickly. Proud to fly Air India.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to Birmingham
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Service was not a top priority"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Air India from New Delhi to Chicago. Business Class toilet was very dirty. Tissue paper and other garbage on the floor, no one bothered to clean it. After two hours, I returned and the toilet was in the same condition. This is simply unacceptable. Business Class toilet ran out of tissue and no one bothered to refill it. It was empty throughout the flight. Again this is simply outrageous. My entertainment system did not work at first. I reported this to one of the attendants and he restarted and it seemed to work. But in the end, the Flight Map was still broken. There were no meal menu given to us during this trip. The meals were verbally communicated to us. I paid $US2,000 only to be told what is in my meals. I had two small meals during this flight and each time I completed my meal the tray was not picked up in a timely fashion. I think I must have waited 25 minutes after I finished my meal, for the tray to be picked up. The flight attendants did not walk down the aisle as often as I think they should. Service was not a top priority for this set of crew. Meals were warm although I've had better economy international food than Air India's business class. I can assure you that my next trip to India will not be with Air India.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNew Delhi to Chicago
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"with nice friendly crew"

(India)

Verified Review | London to Mumbai. The check in process was quite smooth and as I had already checked in to the flight via the mobile app, all that was left was to print the boarding passes and baggage tags and deposit baggage. The departure time of the flight was 13:15 however the flight departed after a delay of 45 mins. The inflight service was top notch. After an hour or so, flight attendants served drinks (eg. orange juice, water, whiskey) and peanuts. I opted for the non veg option for lunch which was lamb curry with rice along with salad, a bun and kheer for dessert. The food was excellent. The IFE entertainment had a good collection of movies (Hollywood/ Bollywood) and TV shows. Before landing, a second hot meal service where for non veg, malai chicken along with veg hara bhara kebab and pattice was given along with a bun, fruits and a gulab jamun for dessert. We arrived at Mumbai at around 3am and proceeded to collect baggage without any problems. All in all, a good solid flight with nice friendly crew, good cabin atmosphere, ambience, good IFE content, good food to eat.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Mumbai
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I would recommend this airline"

(India)

Verified Review | Mumbai to London on Boeing 787. The legroom is quite spacious and flight attendants were polite and professional. For breakfast I opted for the non-veg option which was omlette with chicken sausage and potatoes, croissant, fruit salad, bun and tea. The breakfast was very tasty. Upon waking up, a second round of food and drinks service started and watched a Hollywood movie. The non veg option contained chicken and rajma with rice, salad and gulab jamun. Before arrival, immigration forms were handed out. The flight attendants went about their tasks efficiently even though they may have been stiff on certain occasions. I would recommend this airline on this sector.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMumbai to London
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"has such poor standards"

(United States)

Verified Review | I am very disappointed with the airlines as i booked my ticket from Newark to Mumbai with a connection flight from Mumbai. I am already on my way to airport, i was informed that the flight got cancelled due to technical issues and should postpone my visit to next day. It was important for me to fly on the same day and hence asked them to make necessary arrangements. I was routed to NY airport and was told that I will be issued a new itinerary from NY to DEL. Once reached the NY airport, was asked to find a connection flight on my own from DEL. I had to put up an hour's argument to prove my point that its a last minute cancellation and would be difficult for me to rebook a flight from Delhi and it being after 7PM will be even more difficult to find any local flights. Now, I am not sure if i can take the risk of flying back in Air India as the last minute cancellations seems to be pretty common for them and asked them to cancel the return trip and process the refund. its been 7 days since i made multiple calls and haven't heard from them yet. I feel really bad to say that such a big carrier offering worldwide services has such poor standards.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Mumbai
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"thumbs up to the staff"

(India)

Verified Review | Kolkata to Delhi. Good experience at Kolkata airport with the ground staff. I had a flight at 10 am but couldn't reach airport on time due to some emergency. The staff understood my situation and gave me the boarding pass even after I was late by 15 mins from the expected show up time i.e. 9am. A big thumbs up to the staff.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKolkata to Delhi
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes