Air India

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 607 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"warm welcome by senior staff"

Review by (India)

Delhi to Mumbai with Air India. Check-in Experience was smooth since I arrived early for check-in of an early morning flight. Most of the counters were unmanned but there were very few travelers waiting to be checked in. Boarding smooth because of light load on the flight, but staff seemed to be more interested in their own gossips. Onboard, a warm welcome by senior staff. Could not fault their service. Landing was smooth but a long taxi to reach the new terminal and further delay due to remote stand and heavy rains meant that it took 40 min to enter the terminal after landing. Baggage delivery was slow and disorganized. Took 1 hour for first bag to be delivered after landing. Staff were nowhere to be found to give any updates. Not so happy ending to otherwise good experience.
AircraftBoeing 787-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteDEL to BOM
Date FlownOctober 2014
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"avoid this airline"

Review by (India)

Air India Delhi to Singapore flight AI380 flight was cancelled at the last minute citing 'crew shortage', after half the people were checked-in. Total chaos. This is a regular feature for DEL-SIN route, previous cancellation a week back. No other option than to wait for the next day flight. Avoid this airline.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteDEL to SIN
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Air India customer review

Review by (Canada)

I flew with my wife and 2 kids on Air India Boeing 777. My family and several other passengers did not have a working entertainment system throughout the 16 hour flight. On top this our seats were not comfortable and did not recline sufficiently for a decent sleep. We brought the IFE issue to one flight attendants attention, he said he did not manufacture the entertainment system so he was not responsible. He came up with several rude comments rather than solving the issue.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteMumbai to Newark
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Air India customer review

Review by (India)

Air India from FRA-DEL in business class. The ground staff in Frankfurt couldn't issue a boarding pass for my connecting flight in India (DEL-HYD), due to some technical issue. I absolutely understand that, not their fault. But the lady at the check in counter was rude. There was no priority boarding. The aircraft was clean and seat was comfortable. Was offered a pair of pyjamas. Very good choice of food and drinks. The on board staff was excellent and attentive , a very pleasant surprise after the experience on the ground.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteFrankfurt to Delhi
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Air India customer review

Review by (Canada)

We took Air India from Chennai to Paris via Delhi. The first flight was on an A320, early morning departure, flight was on-time, good clean flight, breakfast was served. FA's were attentive, IFE was basic with just a few channels. Delhi to Paris was on brand new B787 Dreamliner, excellent flight, on-time arrival in Paris. Lunch and snack was served with choice of Indian and continental. FA's were young and answered the call button that my kids pressed a few times. IFE was better and had good selection of latest Hollywood movies. The best thing I would say is the seat pitch at 33 inches, good leg room. AI product has improved and you can notice they are responsive.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteChennai to Paris via Delhi
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

Air India customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

I would personally not recommend this airline. Really bad customer service at Delhi airport. Once in air, service appalling and the food was bad.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteDelhi to London
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Air India customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

On the outbound journey LHR-DEL-BKK we wondered what the bad reviews were all about with good service and edible food albeit the standard curry or vegetarian on offer and a good selection of drinks available, however on the return flight the true horrors of this airline materialised. Breakfast, frozen melon and cold omelette with 2 frankfurters plus something in the corner of the dish which I have no idea what it was. Lunch, frozen curry, frozen salad and an ice cold bread roll, really appetising to say the least. The cabin crew warmed the meal up twice but it was still frozen. The plus side if there was one was the cost of the flight, saved us almost a £1000 on the 4 tickets in total so I think the old saying "you get what you pay for" sums up Air India.
AircraftDreamliner
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBKK to LHR via Delhi
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Air India customer review

Review by (Canada)

Air India maintained timely performance on all my segments. Beyond that, everything is downhill. Air India crew keeps their luggage on the First Class overhead bin. There was no room for me to place my hand luggage. Air India staff (head inflight attendant) told me to go keep it somewhere else or just leave it on the floor! Note: this is the response for a First Class Passenger! Meals were not served in First Class (at least the breakfast). No one came and spoke to you or welcomed you. If meals were served on-demand, on should let the passenger know - right? It was different when checking in though - staff escorted you to the lounge. For some reason, food items that need to be cold (cheese especially) were all in room temperature - not sure why and was not appealing to the taste buds. Food presentation was horrible. Inconsistent service and very chaotic inside the plane throughout the flight. There was no orderliness. Air India is cutting costs and one can tell. Entertainment sucks - especially the TV quality. Inflight map did not work. Looking at flight attendants and their attitude one wonders how they would cope in emergencies. I will not fly them again.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteNewark to Mumbai via DEL
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Air India customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Check in quick, Fast track security pass and invitation to no 1 lounge at Birmingham. Lounge nothing special but it was a quiet space to sit. On boarding champagne offered and magazines and sorts of impeccable. Food was nice. My two young kids were with me on way back (3 and 5) and enjoyed it. Smoothies served on way back. Seats can be set to how you want in between sitting and lying nearly flat. I was worried about going air India but I wouldn't hesitate to go again because it's the only flight from Birmingham to Delhi direct. Service was excellent cabin is quiet and private (only 3 passengers going, 5 on way back). I also went Delhi to Calcutta business class on Boeing 777, and the cabin was tired. Returning from Calcutta business was full so I had to fly economy. Oh my god, I know what people here are talking about. It was horrible. Staff are not interested in anything. I just wanted it to be over. Cramped, full to the brim, food not nice. If your thinking of flying economy on Air India, you should probably switch to airline such as Singapore Airlines etc. if your going business, well depends how much your paying on our route it pretty competitive and the only direct flight.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBHX to DEL
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

Air India customer review

Review by (India)

I flew Air India while returning from Chicago, a direct connection from Chicago O'Hare Intl. Airport to Delhi Indira Gandhi International. Check-in wasn't very smooth, my carry-on was a couple of kilos over 7, and I was asked to transfer some of my stuff to my check-in, and I obliged. For several years I have travelled Air India, this was the first time my carry-on was checked for weight, but this is a welcome change that ultimately makes it so much more convenient for all the passengers. After boarding, we were kept waiting for the flight to take off, and were later informed that due to a technical snag, there would be a delay. Finally, after a delay of almost two hours, we took off for our destination. Air India have deteriorated in terms of food quality in the past couple of years, and I had little expectations from the in-flight meal. The food was bland, a spinach-based curry which tasted awful, and their signature bad bread. The IFE didn't have a lot of options, but the interface itself was okay. The headphones were sub-standard and not up to the mark. This was a big disappointment, considering that it's a long-haul flight lasting just a little under 15 hours. Service was okay-ish, the stewardesses just seemed to be doing their jobs. I felt there was a need for them to brush up their spoken-English, announcements were being made in poor English. Minor problem, but something that can be worked on. The cabin itself was good, the lavatories were surprisingly clean, and the seats were quite comfortable. Apart from the food and IFE, the journey itself was quite pleasing and 15 hours passed quickly. Although Air India is not right up there with the likes of Qatar Airways or Singapore Airlines, it is a pretty decent option on the ORD-DEL route.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteORD to DEL
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes