Air India

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 589 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Save yourself some misery"

(Nepal)

Trip Verified | Kathmandu to Colombo via New Delhi. I had a truly unforgettable experience with Air India - in its worst kind. In fact, two awful transit experiences in New Delhi from Kathmandu en route to Colombo and return. Both initial departure flights on separate days were delayed, conveniently resulting in my unexpected "royal" transit treatment in New Delhi! On my way to Colombo, the Delhi transit desk staff blankly told us that we had missed our connecting flight and simply would not board me on the next Sri Lankan Air with the excuse that this was a split ticket. Instead a staff member gave me a few numbers to call for the issuance of a new boarding pass. Eventually advising me it's best to purchase a new ticket as I was pressed for time. He even handed me a 'delay certificate' (w annotation at the bottom "We thank you for flying Air India and wish you a happy journey) that could be used as proof in the event I would like to be reimbursed for the new ticket purchased! Ultimately, I was stuck at the Delhi transit desk for 5+ hours (along with other angry customers), even after paying out of my pocket for a new connecting ticket as I was made to endlessly for the issuance of a new boarding pass. Save yourself some misery and avoid Air India like a plague!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKathmandu to Colombo via New Delhi
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"better than expectation"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Bangalore to Dubai via Mumbai. Good, better as compared to other Indian airlines. On time departure and arrival. Food was ok. More leg space and kind staff. Much better than expectation.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangalore to Dubai via Mumbai
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"they would not board me"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Kathmandu to Colombo via Delhi / Chennai. Never in my life have I had poor customer service like air India. As I was flying Kathmandu to Colombo Air India had me routed through India changing flights from Delhi to Chennai, not informing me of needing a transit visa, and they would not board me. I was offered no refund, no exchange and told I should have known the rules and I can "go book another flight on my credit card" leaving me stuck in kathmandhu for over 3 days. Offering no compassion for the situation marking me as a "No Show" and telling me I had 30 minutes to go back into the city to the air India office before the closed to try and resolve the issue, which I did and was offered no remorse or help. I hope they train your staff to show a bit more sincerity.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKathmandu to Colombo via Delhi / Chennai
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"nightmarish experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Delhi to Sydney. It was a dreadful and nightmarish experience for the second time in two years - to travel by this airline! My latest experience was the worst and beyond any logical explanation. Delhi to Sydney on 5 June was delayed for 2.30 hours for reasons best known to them. Then on arrival in Sydney - my luggage was missing. It’s a direct flight from Delhi to Sydney - how can the luggage go missing? There was a long wait at Sydney airport to for the passengers to lodge the complaint. It’s two days since I arrived and there is no sign of luggage in cold and wintry Sydney! The numbers they had given to track the luggage does not respond! What are the poor passengers supposed to do?
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to Sydney
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"our bags didn't arrive"

(United States)

Not Verified | London to Mumbai. My happy vacation has been turned into horrifying experience. Flew Delta code share Virgin Atlantic from Minneapolis to London, delayed start led to us missing our connecting Jet Airways flight unfortunately got re-booked on Air India by Delta. I landed with my family in Mumbai on May 29th and all six of our bags didn't arrive. Followed procedure and constantly called support and informed on May 29th my bags will reach on May 30th. Bags haven't arrived yet. Even after repeatedly informing I have a flight to catch on May 31st at 7:30 am. So, here we are with no clothes, medicine toiletries, extra stress and not sure of financial loss if i have to change my Delhi flight tickets. WORST experience ever. My second and for sure my last trip on Air India
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Mumbai
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"very friendly and attentive"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Flew Air India from Surat to Sydney via Delhi. Both flights on time, ground-staff and cabin crew very friendly and attentive, IFE was fantastic. Food on the one of the best I've experienced. Transit in Delhi was fast, and everything from boarding to disembarkation went smoothly.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSurat to Sydney via Delhi
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"incompetent and unprofessional"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Newark via Mumbai. I booked a round trip ticket for two people directly with the airline.  At that time I provided them with all our details, including our Star Alliance MileagePlus account numbers. After the trip was completed, I checked our accounts and Air India had failed to credit us with the return mileage, almost 20,000.  What has ensued is the worst example of customer service I have ever encountered in 60 years of flying.  After dozens of emails and several phone calls, I have yet to be able to find anyone who will do anything to rectify the situation, in any department at the airline.  Not only will they not live up to their obligations as a member of Star Alliance, and not only will they not even supply me with the details of my return flight (eticket number, seat number, flight number), they have now totally stopped responding to my repeated attempts.  It is a mystery to me how the Star Alliance has allowed this incompetent and unprofessional airline in.  Avoid Air India at all costs; if something goes wrong, you can depend on them to do nothing for you.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to Newark via Mumbai
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"You guys are not worth it"

(India)

Trip Verified | Jaipur to Delhi. Unprofessional way of handling things. 8:25 flights gets delayed to 9:15. And after more delay it flies at 10:30 reaches Delhi. After the pilot misses the parking slot and we wait for more 40 mins and to get the new parking slot. Unbelievable it is considered to be one of the premier airlines in India. You guys are not worth it. For a journey of 60 mins we just waste 3 hours and 35 mins. No one can take your place.
AircraftATR 72- 600
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJaipur to Delhi
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"made us feel extremely unwelcome"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I flew back from Delhi on flight AI0111 at 14:00 on Thursday 10/5/2018. The flight attendant that was serving the right hand side of the economy row facing the plane was a mere piece of cattle that was being forced to work against her will, well at least that’s the impression that me and my family members got along with others on that section. My sister was given a seat with no onboard entertainment for a flight that lasted approximately 8 hours. She was then told by the same woman that was the host on our row “be careful not to drop the keypad as this equipment is very expensive to replace”. Then when my sister asked for a pillow the other air hostess just ignored her and rushed off for a break. These two individuals made us feel like we were a liability and made us feel extremely unwelcome. A demand for change of seats was declined too. The concept of customer service is a mere myth to this establishment. If you value your custom and value for money my strong recommendation is seek alternative airlines and stay away from this airline. I regret flying with Air India and will never do so in the future.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to London
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"What a horrible airline"

(India)

Trip Verified | Flew Delhi to London Heathrow. What a horrible airline. Never ever again am I going to book Air India. Webcheck in has absolutely no meaning, in fact the queue for bag drop off is probably more than the normal. Takes nothing less than 1.5 hr before you reach the counter and the chances are you may be asked to go to another counter and then come back - happened to 2-3 people right in front of me. At least 8-10 entertainment systems are broken in the flight and the attendants don’t care or do anything other than saying sorry sir this seat entertainment is broken. Despite being an Indian airline the food they serve is so horrible - it’s just unbelievable. So many other international airlines serve 10x better food. Staff courtesy - Ask them for a cup of coffee / tea and look at their displeased expressions. Being an Indian myself, I am embarrassed by the fact that this is our own international / national airline. Will try my best to avoid this airline in future.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to London Heathrow
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no