Vote Airport  

Air India

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 399 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"crew lacked hospitality"

(India)

Hyderabad to Delhi with Air India, and it is one of the worst airlines I have flown. The cabin crew lacked hospitality and the aircraft was poorly maintained. The airport service was also bad, with poorly trained staff having limited knowledge. Overall, a lack of professionalism, processes and poor management. Standards are not up to the mark of a national carrier.
AircraftBoeing 777-300 ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHYD to DEL
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"our worst experience "

(United Kingdom)

We recently toured cities on River Ganga - Haridwar, Rishikesh, Varanasi and Allahabad. Our tour operator used various airlines; Air India, Jet Airways and Spicejet. Our worst experience was with Air India. Ahmedabad to Delhi flight (AI 011) was delayed by over 3 hours. No apologies from crew including the pilot and his first officer for the delay and inconvenience caused. Only cheese sandwics and water were offered. That is perhaps okay for a short flight. The toilets were not properly cleaned after the previous flight. Toilet rolls were offered instead of paper towels. The cabin staff were really not interested in what they were doing. Our return flight from Delhi to Ahmedabad (AI013) was even worse. My wife I were seated separately. The cabin staff were rude. Toilets unclean and again toilet rolls for paper towels. In contrast Jet Airways and Spice were on time, with cleaner aircrafts, polite crew and better snacks
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMD to DEL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"sent to a poor hotel"

(Argentina)

Varanasi to Amritsar via Delhi with Air India. The first flight was delayed which meant that we missed the second flight Air India sent us to a poor hotel - no dinner, no paper in the bathrooms, no towels and no heater, although I asked. No breakfast at 6.30am , when I must return to airport, being afraid about what would happen next with our flights.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVNS to ATQ via DEL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"ruined end of holiday"

(France)

Air India ruined the end of our holiday, flying from Colombo to Paris via Delhi. Flight from Colombo was not at 8:20 am but 12:20pm, so we arrived late at Delhi and missed the flight. About 20 people were already arguing with the staff at the transfer and after 4 hours they said that they will try to put us on a flight from another airline. Between this time no excuses, they were asking us to wait till midnight (about 12 hrs waiting for maybe nothing) - at the transfer finally after this time they propose us a room because they were impossible to give us a flight. After an awful night, we had a boarding pass at 12.40 pm but 1 hour late again! I asked them the official delad paper, they promised this, but I had to run after it. I also asked them to check if my luggage was in the plane because I know that they are incompetent. Now, after 25 hours later, one day of work missed, my luggage is still in Delhi after they promise me that it is the plane. We lose so much energy and when you see other people who had the same problems as us, you don't understand how Air India can be in Star Alliance - they don't deserve it. Just pay a bit more money and have no stress.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCMS to CDG via DEL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"most uncomfortable flights"

(United Kingdom)

I will not recommend or travel with Air India again. We were travelling from Birmingham to Bangkok via Delhi on our honeymoon. We were delayed for nearly 30 hours in Birmingham - what a start! Staff were rude and most unhelpful. Since returning from my holiday I have made a number of attempts to speak with someone regarding my complaint to no avail. Poor customer service and most uncomfortable flights.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBXH to BKK via DEL
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a really bad experience"

(United Kingdom)

I had a really bad experience with Air India from Goa to London via Delhi. and our flights were delayed. No assistance flying with a child. Food was really bad. Delhi to London didn't offer any version of non Indian or not spicy food. It's very challenging to travel 10 hours with a child in these conditions.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGOI to LHR via DEL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"it's time to grow up"

(United States)

When Air India announced its San Francisco to Delhi non-stop flights, I was quite excited to have a new option. I was hopeful that it had evolved from its delay and lost luggage days to give competition a bang for its frequent flyer miles. I still remember the stress my mom went through years ago when AI misplaced our bag containing my birth certificate (from Denmark), and other important docs. Fast forward 30 or so years to our flight last week from Delhi to SFO. After a nearly three-hour delay, we landed in SFO to find one of our bags missing. After the obligatory filed complaint, we have called several times a day only to be told that it 'may' show up on the next flight. We're not the only ones. Two weeks ago, they replaced my nephew's expensive sitar! How do you misplace a sitar?? Air India, it's time to grow up and take responsibility. Or, graciously surrender "your place in the sky."
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDEL to SFO
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"do not care about their customer"

(United Kingdom)

We travelled Delhi to Melbourne return on Air India - on Delhi to Melbourne route there was no entertainment system functioning, and everything was of very poor standard from the state of the aircraft to standard of customer care. However the real drama was on the journey from Melbourne to Delhi. On arrival at Delhi we were told all our bags were left deliberately at Melbourne and it took 7 days for Air India to get the bags back from Melbourne to India. The phone number given to us at Delhi airport could never be reached. We had to employ an agent in Jaipur to get our bags retrieved, after hundreds of phone calls and after seven days the only place Air India could get the bags back was in Jaipur airport. Our internal flight with Air India was rescheduled and cancelled at the last minute. This was from Goa to Delhi via Mumbai. This is a shameful airline, who managed to ruin our trip. They do not care about their customer.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDEL to MEL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"all of them delayed"

(India)

Several domestic flights last year and all of them delayed. Old crew, but fairly pleasant. Food was edible enough. Dimapur to Kolkata was first delayed by 4 hours and eventually cancelled. Had to reschedule my connecting flight to Mumbai without any help from ground crew who abandoned me after handing a hotel voucher. I was lucky compared to people who were travelling on longer connections - a couple of people were en route to DEL and then LHR, and were unable to find any seats on the DEL-LHR flight for 3 days. Nightmare for everyone. Flight did take off the next day eventually, after an hour's delay. Also did several Mumbai to Delhi return flights. Despite operating out of new terminals at either airport, we were made to board and deplane by bus on several occasions. International flights are better, but lacklustre in the face of competition.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDEL to BOM
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"service was slow and surly"

(United Kingdom)

Every time I have flown Air India I swear never to do it again. But sometimes it is the only available option. This time the flight was from Udaipur to London via Delhi, with a 9 hour wait in Delhi. The flight from Udaipur was delayed by 4 hrs 30 minutes. No information. No word of explanation or apology. Just a crowd of confused and increasingly irritable passengers. The late arrival in Delhi was of no consequence to me, as I had another 4hrs 30 minutes to wait before my flight. But I discovered that though I was checked through for both flights and had boarding cards for both, I could not go through security for another 2 hrs. I had to wait in the forecourt where there is no comfortable seating and only the most basic facilities. Air India counter staff were a model of indifference and unhelpfulness. There followed a 10 hour flight to London. First meal (dinner?) was a stale croissant, half a wilted brownie, a piece of grated carrot the size of a fingernail, and a watery cup of something that was called coffee but tasted of washing up liquid. Second meal (breakfast?) was a repeat of the first: a stale croissant, half a wilted brownie, a piece of grated carrot the size of a fingernail, and a watery cup of something called coffee. No drinks were offered beyond little plastic bottles of packaged drinking water (Bombay municipal tap water?). I don't expect culinary miracles at 40,000 ft, but it would have been nice to have something edible. The seating was fine (apart from the broken food tray). No complaints about leg-room. But the cabin service was slow and surly. The toilets were smelly, IFE was virtually non-existent, and the Wi-Fi had a permanent 'glitch'. There was a feel of grubbiness and neglect everywhere - and this in a virtually new aircraft. But this time they didn't lose my baggage. And the flight arrived only one hour late (no word of explanation or apology). So all-in-all this was my best experience of Air India yet. Things are looking up!
AircraftBoeing 737 / 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteUDR to LHR via DEL
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no