Air India

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 590 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

Air India customer review

Review by (United States) 28th July 2015

The positives: The Dreamliner is an excellent and new aircraft and for once everything on it worked and was clean and well maintained. The lie flat bed in business was excellent. Much more spacious than the United product or the Smartium business bed on Asiana and others. The layout of the seats is a bit different - less privacy but more open feeling and real space. Comfy duvet and blankets provided on this night flight. Cabin crew although older (55+) were very well trained, warm, polite and efficient. They came around repeatedly talking to the passengers and making sure we were comfortable and seemed to genuinely care. In fact their efforts helped overcame the other deficiencies in the hard product. Compared to the brusque automatons on United these folks were full of smiles and eager to please. Also the Indian food selection was delicious. The negatives: compared to the premium airlines AI is clearly not as polished or well organized. Meals were provided all at once in a single tray - not course by course as on other airlines. Menus was not provided. Wine choice was very limited. Champagne was served lukewarm. After dinner the crew disappeared and did not patrol the aisles refilling glasses - but then passengers were asleep and I'm sure if anyone had requested they would have come right away. Movie selection though limited was not as bad as I had imagined. It would be nice to have served a quick snack or wake-up drink prior to landing. It was strange that the only announcement we got to wake us up was the one saying we were preparing to land! Overall a good product and definitely exceeded expectations. Not on par as Singapore, Emirates and Asian carriers but solidly good overall.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteShanghai to Delhi
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Air India customer review

Review by (New Zealand) 27th July 2015

Flight of 9 hours from Delhi to London on 777-300 series. Managed to book seat 42 which is an aisle seat in line of 3 with no seat in front of it. Great leg room plus middle seat next to me was empty. 2 meals offered plus drinks and flight was on time. Crew worked hard at offering water and juice during flight and arrived in London dead on time.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteDelhi to London
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Air India customer review

Review by (New Zealand) 27th July 2015

Evening flight from Heathrow on Air India 777-300 to Delhi. Left on time and arrived slightly early 2 meals offered plus drink service. Plenty of time to sleep and arrive refreshed at lunchtime Delhi time Again managed to book seat 42 with no seat in front but did move in flight to an empty row of 3 which allowed some better sleep. Crew excellent as have been previous flights on Air India
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLondon to Delhi
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Air India customer review

Review by (New Zealand) 27th July 2015

Air India Dreamliner from Delhi to Melbourne pulled away from the gate on time but during taxi returned back to a different gate due to a technical issue. Took 1.5 hours to fix during which time lunch and drinks service was offered. Once fault repaired flight underway almost 2 hours late. Little time made up of passage to Melbourne so arrived about 1.5 hours late which did squeeze connections from Melbourne. Air India had rebooked passengers who missed their connections and this was communicated on arrival as to new flight details Flight was comfortable with 2 meals plus snack and drinks offered. Crew again work hard keeping passengers comfortable and well hydrated. This was 4th Air India flight in space of a month and have to say was impressed in the offering. Would definitely fly them again if offered.
AircraftBoeing 787 Dreamliner
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteDelhi to Melbourne
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Air India customer review

Review by (New Zealand) 27th July 2015

Flew Air India Dreamliner from Melbourne to Delhi. Plane very comfortable seating arrangements good with plenty of space even for me at 6’4”, it was a day flight and 2 meals and a snack pack supplied on the journey of 12 hours which was a surprise. Meal choice of Indian veg or meat plus European choice of chicken with pasta. Drinks also offered each service. Crew offered plenty of water or juice throughout the flight and snacks and drinks available in the galley if required. Restrooms kept clean during flight. If there was a downside of Air India perhaps the in flight entertainment is a little limited but was adequate for the flight.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteMelbourne to Delhi
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

Air India customer review

Review by (France) 26th July 2015

The quality of the airline has deteriorated badly. My first connection BOM-DEL was delayed with prior intimation which was fine. I reached DEL at the eleventh hour when the boarding for PAR had already begun. I met the worst ground staff at DEL airport who don't even know how to behave with a passenger and behave as if doing a big favour. I was not attended by any transit desk people and when contacted the AI staff asked me to run behind people on transit to other destinations that was just so cheap. Next thing was the annoying security check which took nearly 30 minutes with a quick immigration for transit passengers. The flight was quite empty and quite comfortable, with friendly cabin crew. But the flight was mostly full of foreigners and the announcement was missing in French and the really fast Indian English was really sad for the French people who kept asking me to translate what they meant. Arrival in Paris was very smooth. I wouldn't mind flying with AI but I would never ever fly via DEL airport again in my life except for my return flight and I would not mind shelling out some extra chunks for this matter. The ticket was the cheapest even at the last minute.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBOM to CDG via DEL
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Air India customer review

Review by (Italy) 25th July 2015

The flight AI301 scheduled at 7am of 14th May never left Melbourne because of an engine problem. They rescheduled us on a 2pm Thai flight on route Melbourne-Bangkok-Delhi. I got to Delhi at 3am instead of 6pm, when I booked the tickets through the Melbourne office they guaranteed me the transit hotel because my connection was more than 17 hours. When I got to Delhi a rude company attendant told me that they don't give this kind of service so I spent more than 10 hours on the airport. No way to speak with someone from the company during all this time. Air India never again - saved $300 compare with Emirates but a big mistake. Complain to the company and still waiting for an answer.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteMelbourne to Milan via Delhi
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

Air India customer review

Review by (France) 23rd July 2015

Flight was half empty. Crew were cordial and food was served immediately. The light-changing windows were slightly annoying. Prefer Jet for short-haul and domestic routes.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteSingapore to Chennai
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Air India customer review

Review by (United States) 19th July 2015

I read some bad reviews but it was mentioned the 787 was better. Not so in my case. I had an aisle seat. The seat reclining feature didn't work. I was forced to sit upright for the whole red eye flight of over 8 hours. The light switch on the remote didn't work so I couldn't even read. The lady in the window seat also had trouble with her seat. The food was not that great. The cabin staff were fine but not anything special like Emirates. About two hours after take off the cabin and lavatories were trashed. Safety was never an issue. All in all, I will avoid Air India, at least until I see some better reviews.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteParis to Delhi
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

Air India customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 17th July 2015

LHR-ATQ via DEL in Business Class. Check in was a bit busy but we were checked in quick and given our boarding passes for all onwards flights. But we found out at check in that we would have to re-check our bags in at DEL. Air India lounge at LHR is very nice. Good choices of canapés and drinks. Boarding was a complete disaster, there was no separate queue for Business or First class passengers. Boarding drinks with a choice of orange juice or Champagne. Food was not the greatest and the seats were old. Landed in DEL ontime and had to re-check our bags in which was alright because, they have separate queues here. The lounge at DEL was very quiet and we were the only people in the lounge for a while. DEL-ATQ sector had a 2 hour delay because, but on the upside we were upgraded from Business to First which was a surprise. On this short flight we only got served nuts and drinks.
AircraftBoeing 777-300/ 777-200 LR
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Amritsar via Delhi
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no