Air India

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 606 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"would take Air India again"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Frankfurt to Delhi. First time with Air India for me. I was pretty worried because of the mixed reviews for the airline but because of the cheap price we decided to book them anyway. The check-in and boarding was not the fastest but in the end the flight was on time. Inflight entertainment had nice current hollywood and bollywood options. The service and especially the food was very good. I had mutton with rice and my girlfriend took the vegetarian option. Both meals very very good. The Aircraft had some slight signs of usage but was clean. Overall we would take Air India again because we feeled save, had good food and the overall price-performance ratio was good.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Delhi
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a pretty good flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Delhi to Bangkok. I found the business class staff to be exceedingly friendly and courteous and professional. Upon landing the Chief Purser came around and shook everyone’s hands, remembering names and thanking us for choosing to fly with Air India. The services were fine, with a choice of alcoholic beverages and pre-dinner snacks. The meal was not too bad, but unlike other airlines, the whole thing, including dessert is served on one crowded tray. The promised choice of desserts and chocolates never appeared. This is not a deal breaker, but just a bit surprising given the number of staff and the limited number of seats in business class. I think where Air India falls down is in its décor. Even though this was a fairly new Boeing 787, it looked tattered and worn. The colors, light tan and sad red, give it a dingy look. Entertainment choices were ok, and the seats were generally pretty comfortable. All in all, a pretty good flight with a few drawbacks.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDelhi to Bangkok
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"bag was still stuck in Jaipur"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Jaipur to Mumbai. I flew through Air India with a family of 7 people and total of 11 bags. We sent all bags to be weighed in and got the tickets for pickup in Mumbai. Only to realize that they didn't tag one of our bags, and only printed out 10 stickers for the bags. 1 bag was still stuck in Jaipur while I am in Mumbai. I have to Leave for USA on August 18th. The Air India staff was highly unprofessional and said they won't get the bag back because it was our fault, and I should've watched all my bags get tags put on them. After that they asked me to pay 8000 rupees to get the bag delivered, which is close to $90. This is the second incident with Air India. First they completely broke the bottom of my bag.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJaipur to Mumbai
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"lack of cleaning"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | Delhi to Goa. Delayed departure of 1h30, presenting reasons of delay of the previous flight and maintenance of the same. Interior of the airplane, with lack of cleaning and lack of maintenance. Dirty floor due to lack of cleaning. Ceilings grimy and dirty. Armrests of the seats shake and are loose. I never expected to find a plane with 9 years in this conditions, specially from star alliance member!
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to Goa
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Very disappointing trip"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Colombo via Delhi. Very disappointing trip. We are on holiday in Sri Lanka with out our luggage. Wearing the same clothes since we flew on the 27 July 2018. Said they were able to deliver the luggage 29 July but it was just a word with no meaning. My family including my child having really hard time without our stuff. No empathy, Very irresponsible I will never recommend for anyone.
AircraftAI 0112
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Colombo via Delhi
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"cabin crew were largely professional"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Flew Air India from Vienna to Delhi. Check in at Vienna Airport was smooth and efficient. Plane was not full, and cabin crew were largely professional & polite. There is room for improvement for the entertainment system, with lackluster movie options and only Indian music on offer. Dinner and breakfast were served on this red-eye flight - Food was standard airline fare. Departed on time & landed slightly before schedule.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVienna to Delhi
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"food was largely average"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | This flight was the 2nd leg of my journey from Vienna to Singapore, via Delhi. While the 1st leg was operated by a much more spacious B787, this leg was operated by a smaller and more cramped A320. Flight was delayed by an hour due to late arrival of aircraft. Only lunch was served on this afternoon flight - food was largely average. Surprised to find no inflight entertainment on board despite Air India not being a low cost carrier.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to Singapore
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"the legroom was excellent"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Air India was actually excellent to my surprise, and heavily contrary to the views I have heard about it. I am a Star Alliance Gold member, and hence I was lucky to board with Business Class passengers. I thought I would fly with Air India in a domestic flight and it was great for Air India to join the alliance as passengers like me want an opportunity to accrue miles from star alliance flights. Check in was smooth, ground staff were courteous and kind at Coimbatore Airport and they even gave me a lounge pass for me and my mother, although there was no Air India contract lounge in Coimbatore Airport. Boarding was smooth and in a sequence with priority passengers first. Also, the crew greeted us well and the aircraft had clean interiors and clean lavatories. Food was excellent too. There's no Star Alliance carrier in North America (United/Air Canada) that offers complimentary meals on a domestic flight. Also, the legroom was excellent, especially for a person who is 6 ft 4 inches. The crew were very kind to offer my mother a blanket and some medicine when she felt sick. Overall, I enjoyed it. Hats off to Air India and hope they improve more even further! Only thing I suggest is at least provide in-flight wifi either for free or for purchase to not bore passengers.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCoimbatore to Mumbai
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"experience was terrible"

(United States)

Not Verified | My experience with Air India was terrible. My family and I had to wait for more than 3 hours because the numbers on our tickets didn’t match theirs, even though we were still on their list of boarding passengers. Our tickets were issued from Turkish Airlines since we had a connecting flight from Istanbul, Turkey to Mumbai and then to Ahmedabad. We have previously dealt with this same situation when we were going from Mumbai to Ahmedabad, but when we called Turkish Airlines and explained this situation in front of the Air India staff, we were immediately given our tickets. However, this time, we had to pay for our tickets again. Air India was simply cheating us by making a huge deal out of a small mistake that they themselves have made with our tickets. We had to pay double the amount for our tickets only to recieve the same treatment and service. I would rate Air India zero stars if I could. I will never board Air India ever in my life.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMumbai to Ahmedabad
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"friendly and courteous"

(India)

Trip Verified | I had travelled on this morning flight from Mumbai to Bangalore on the A319. The web check in worked well and so was able to print the boarding pass in advance without any technical issues. The flight itself was a pretty full flight and the flight was delayed by 40 mins which was a tad disappointing but of no real consequence. The crew and staff were very friendly and courteous and were quite prompt to respond to requests. The seat was quite comfortable with great seat pitch which has to be one of the biggest plus points of the carrier. During the flight breakfast was also served which was good and filling followed by tea/coffee. Touchdown was very smooth and the disembarkation process and retrieving baggage was no hassle. Would not hesitate to fly again.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMumbai to Bangalore
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes