Top 100 Airlines  

Air India

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 425 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"worst business class"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Sydney to Abu Dhabi via Delhi with Air India. Worst business class experience so far. We chose air india for our flight from Sydney to the UAE as we wanted to spend our star alliance miles. I am glad having spent only miles, would have felt much worse if we would have paid full for the flight. We had a comparably modern Boeing 787 but on our initial flight one of the in-seat monitors was broken. Business class was quite empty so we could change seats. On our next flight, one of the remote controls was broken, so another change of seats. This time it was only one of the headphones which was broken, and could be replaced. You could say we had bad luck, but we got the clear impression that the crew wasn't really interested in the malfunctions. And I doubt they noted them in the logbook for future repair. We had booked special menus, "vegan" to be precise. Now, usually our expectations are low, but with an airline from a country where there are hundreds of millions vegetarians, what should go wrong? They seems to think that butter and Greek yoghurt are not animal products, and the vegan main dishes were the most primitive and tasteless we had in a long while. The service on board might be a cultural difference (this is more a hint for others than a criticism), but the crew is hardly offering anything without being explicitly asked for it. So don't expect anyone to come and bring you a bottle of water during your 13hr flight. Don't be shy and ping them again and again. We saw other (Indian) passengers doing this all the time. The entertainment system : I don't remember any other airline with so few and so old movies in the catalog. Funny enough : two of them were Christmas movies - in April. For the Germans, some titles come with German audio, but you won't find them in the menu under "German" but have to try-and-error the English movies. Only once you select "Play" there are sometimes German audio tracks offered. We were very disappointed. The shabbiness of the plane and the uninspired, almost reluctant service is not a financial problem, it's an attitude issue.
AircraftBoeing 787 / A320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSYD to AUH via DEL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"interior not properly maintained"

(United States)

Verified Review | I flew Air India from Newark to Mumbai and back this April. The flight from Newark left on time and landed in Mumbai before time (4.00 pm Indian time). The flight was nearly half empty and was smooth. However, the aircraft interior was very dull and not properly maintained. All three in-flight entertainment systems (including the two next to my seats) and their controls were not working. Seats were torn, and reading lights were also not working. Imagine how a person can survive such an ultra-long haul flight without any entertainment or reading! Many places, they put duct tape to cover the cracks below the entertainment system and tray. Just within three hours into the flight, the toilets were very smelly. The food was ok. However, the cabin crews were not professional and pleasant. They were taking so much rest in between for many hours without providing any service or refreshments. Same as the case with my return flight (AI 191), which was delayed by one hour to take off due to some technical issues.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEWR to BOM
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"overbooked Dubai flight"

(Canada)

Verified Review | My wife and I flew Air Canada from Toronto to Dubai, and Air India from Dubai. Trip was uneventful. Now it was time to come back to Canada. Our flight was confirmed from Mumbai to Dubai. Halt for 2 hrs in Dubai and then Air Canada from Dubai to Toronto. All seemed simple, but when we went to Mumbai airport (4hrs prior to our departure time), we were told that Air India will not fly us to Dubai because "they got message from Air Canada in Dubai, that we may miss our flight as our halt in Dubai is only 2hrs and there won't be other flight for next 24hrs". My son from Toronto, called Air Canada (same time we were still at the Mumbai Airport) and they confirmed it was a lie. Only to found out later that Air India overbooked their Dubai flight and looked every excuse in the book to keep us back. They tried to fly us thru London, UK and asked my son to Call Air Canada to arrange for our flight from London to Toronto. When my son called Air Canada, they confirmed that Air India is lying and it's their responsibility (as an operating airline) to get us to our destination. They wouldn't even offer us a hotel in Mumbai. No meals. Even dared to offer us refund and find our own way back home! Their plan was to strand us in Mumbai without being responsible for anything! After long arguments, they finally put us on Lufthansa (7 hrs after our original departing time) but made sure they informed Lufthansa not to issue us a wheel chair. I am 75 and my wife is 67. I just had knee surgery and they could clearly see we were struggling!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBOM to DXB
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"surprised with the improvement"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Delhi return with Air India, and I was surprised with the improvement on the last flight. On the ground they continue to be chaotic and disorganised, though. Departure time re-scheduled 3 times within 24 hours (the last being brought forward by 90 mins 3 hours before the flight!); fee for flight change was quoted from £100 to £250 where the website says £100. They used to be appalling onboard too, but I often used them because the timing suited me, and they offered the best seat comfort as compared to other airlines on this route, and they were often much cheaper. Service always suffered with indifference and bad training. On my last flight though, both in and out, the service and care was excellent. Hope it continues, and of course my family and I will continue, even if they don't improve for my reasons given above.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to DEL
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"the flight was very pleasant"

(India)

Verified Review | This is the domestic leg of the Paris to Chennai flight via Delhi, and operates from the international terminal of Delhi T3. I had done a web check-in and the ground staff told me that the Boarding Pass that I had was not valid for the international side of T3! So, he generated an Airline Boarding pass and gave it to me. I found at least 50 passengers waiting in queue to check-in and the whole process was so slow! The ground personnel was sharp to inform me that the Gate (no.10) is 1 km away and that I should take precaution to reach it on time! However, inflight the service was excellent and cabin crew have started smiling and are more motivated now than a year back. Quality of food was good. Flight landed ahead of schedule and on the whole the flight was very pleasant. Air India needs to take urgent measures on the ground to speed-up check-in, especially in busy airports.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDEL to MAA
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"would recommend Air India"

(India)

Verified Review | Lucknow to Delhi with Air India. The aircraft was clean and the seats provided ample seating space. The cabin crew was friendly on the short haul of 45 mins between LKO-DEL. The snacks provided were enough for this short flight and the quality was very good. The fare was reasonably priced (with 25 kgs baggage allowance). I would recommend Air India.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLKO to DEL
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"crew good, but food was poor"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Delhi to London Heathrow on Air India, the check in was smooth, and the flight took off almost on time. Air India operates Boeing 787 on this route, it was my first flight on this aircraft and I found it impressive. Cabin noise was low and there was enough space in economy. The crew was good but food served was poor both in breakfast and lunch.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDEL to LHR
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"friendly and attentive crew"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Mumbai with Air India. Somewhat chaotic boarding, but queuing is a word that does not exist in any Hindi language. Nice cabin, 2-2-2 configuration, good entertainment system, though choice of movies not very large. As distances between seats quite long indications on screen may be difficult to read. Friendly and attentive crew. Food was well served, French wines excellent. Air India has certainly one of the worst amenities kit (socks and mask in paper bag). Prices for flight very attractive.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to BOM
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"overall better than expected"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Delhi return with Air India. I was pleasantly surprised at how good this flight was. The Boeing 787 is a very nice plane and cabin crew that were looking after the passengers in my area were a credit to Air India. The food was disappointing though and the price was fairly high. But I would consider travelling with Air India again if the planes are new like this and cabin crew are of this standard. The ground services in Delhi needs to be better organised - for example the check in desks were dealing with more than one flight at a time and this was causing delays. Overall better than expected but a long way to go before Air India can be considered an airline of choice.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDEL to LHR
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"crew could not care less"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Mumbai to London. Check in smooth, was assigned seat 11A exit row first in economy. Boarding delayed by 15 mins as flight arrived late. After boarding a passenger fell sick, further 20mins went past as doctor attended him. At 8am which was already a one hour delay, ground staff came running and spoke to crew loudly that captains bag not yet loaded on the plane, as stuck in airport conveyor system. Finally at 8:30am bag loaded and flight pushed back. Funny part is that captain makes an announcement that due to several bags stuck on airport conveyor there was a delay in departure, which was a complete lie as I heard the ground staff and crew whole conversation. The crew was on their own joyride and could not care less, one of lady crew was not even wearing AI uniform Trousers and chappals, she was wearing bellbottom pants and her own home jazzy Chappals.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBOM to LHR
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no