Air Austral

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 37 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"This airline is shambolic"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This airline is shambolic. Our direct flight from Paris to Dzaoudzi was cancelled and another given after 3hours but via Reunion. On arrival in Reunion, shoved in my face a letter of apology. Agents very stand offish. Nothing offered, not even water. Crying babies, elderly customers not taken care of. Just herded like cattle to a small gate area. On embarking from Reunion to Dzaoudzi our baggage could be seen on tarmac but not loaded. Advised Purser and Captain but they shrugged shoulders. On arrival in RUN, a total of 8 hours late with no luggage. On return flight to Paris CDG we were advised maybe a stop in East Africa, then told once on plane, going direct. Served a freezing cold salad as an entree and thats all. A dry baby croissant for breakfast, but were made to feel grateful. We pay for service and products but must be grateful for something! I contacted Air Austral under EU LAW 261/2004 for my refund as laid out under EU Legislation & after 17 emails ignoring me, I contacted a third party attorney. Sure enough they are paying up my refund. I can only say, this airline is awful. They hold you to ransom after you pay your hard earned money, treat you like you are doing them a favour, glare at you when questioned, ignore the law they are contractually bound to, serve you cold salad for dinner, lose your luggage, contact you after 6 months once summoned by a lawyer, tell you where they are taking you with no chance to deplane if you need to change your plan. The situation is their Boeing 787 has many technical problems, the Boeing 777 is too big to land in Mayotte, so instead of being truthful, they just lie. Still, they are supposedly 3star?
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Dzaoudzi via Reunion
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Very bad attitude!"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | I wasn't a happy guy. There was an outbreak of pneumonic plague and especially in Antananarivo/Tana. So, I changed my return flight to avoid Tana and instead opted for my return from Nosy Be. The agent repeatedly said there would be no change fee due to the plague. Made perfect sense to me. I wanted to avoid a plague area! When I did change they had charged me the €70 change fee and they would not budge. Very bad attitude! The flights are horrendously expensive. I mean, I could fly DUB-MRU (Mauritius) for €700 return and this hop between islands cost me close to €500 return. They seem to have the routes tied up with Air Madagascar, would I be a cynic for thinking there may be a total lack of competition between them? More competition needed her ASAP! A two-star due to the change fee and cost of the flights!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNosy Be to Antananarivo via St Denis
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"We were pleasantly surprised"

(Guam)

Verified Review | Flew Bangkok to Antananarivo via Saint-Denis. We were pleasantly surprised by Air Austral: the flights were on time, the aircraft relatively new, the amenities were good, and the IFE was ok. On the BKK-RUN segment, a pouch is provided with socks and eye shade in Y class. Wine is provided with meals. The staff tended to disappear after meal service, but they were friendly enough.
AircraftBoeing 787 / 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Antananarivo via Saint-Denis
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"they just keep stalling"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Nosy Be (Madagascar) to Paris CDH via Reunion. The connecting flight was cancelled so had overnight stay in Reunion. Then next day flight was earlier than the original schedule, so had to overnight in Paris. The promised hotel booked by Air Austral was not honoured - had to chase to get refund for hotel booked myself. Still waiting for compensation, that was agreed by Air Austral, despite continued emails. They just keep stalling. Unfair and gives a terrible impression of Air Austral.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNOS to CDG via RUN
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"worst experience I have had"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Reunion to Johannesburg with Air Austral. One of the worst experience I have had. After we took off from Reunion, the flight had to go back to Reunion because of the technical fault. When we arrived at the airport nobody from the airline bothered to explain the next step and nobody at the airline spoke English. We only saw on the boarding gate the time for departure. This made us miss our connecting flight. Upon arrival at Johannesburg we tried to negotiate with the Manager and ask her to find flights home for us. She said there was nothing she can do for us. I can assure everybody who wants to take this airline that cheap is expensive. We ended up rebooking our flights.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRUN to JNB
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"great little airline"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Great little airline. Although we left one hour late, the service for a 4 hour flight was outstanding from Johannesburg to Reunion. Even in Economy Class, you receive an amenity kit, a hot towel, and a full hot meal with first course, desert, and free wine and liquors. This was followed by a great French movie with subtitles on drop down screens every 4 rows. A great way to start a magical vacation on a paradise destination in the Indian Ocean.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to RUN
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"disappointed with my flight"

(France)

Paris to La Réunion. I was very disappointed with my flight on Air Austral - very damaged seats, small, uncomfortable, dirty. Due to health problems I have to eat neither fat nor sugar, so I always order a light meal except that Air Austral on this meal "exceptional" also has a price exceptional and is discriminatory. The meal costs the astronomical sum of 20 € for all that ultimately end up with a meal with fat! Between the outward and return flight I had email exchanges with the company following this concern and frankly they had nothing to do and were very ironic in their responses do not take seriously at all my problem, sending me a vegetarian menu instead of the light except that eating vegetarian has nothing to do with not eating fat and sugar. Staff incompetent. Movies and music were poor.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCDG to RUN
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"crew were outstanding"

(United Kingdom)

A very pleasant experience with Air Austral. The food was above average for economy. The movie choice was a bit limited but there was enough in English to keep us entertained. As much to drink as you wanted. The onboard crew were outstanding - friendly and professional. The best economy cabin crew I have experienced for a long time. It is also by far the best route to Madagascar (and especially Nosy Be with a direct flight from St Denis).
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Reunion
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Air Austral customer review

(France)

CDG-RUN return. Air Austral is the airline of Réunion Island owned by the local public authorities. On the good side food is average but not too bad particularly main dishes. FA are smiling and very attentive ground staff really nice. Boarding was very well organised. A small travel kit is provided with socks. Pillows are wide. Cabin looks fine although a bit ageing in Y. New livery on the planes is really great. On the downside choice of films on the IFE is surprisingly limited and most French films - and seats are really narrow because of 3-4-3 configuration on B777 particularly exit seats. All in all I find its service to be slightly better than AF and Air Mauritius on this area.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Air Austral customer review

(Australia)

Sydney-Reunion-CDG return May/June 2012. After reading mixed reviews here we were a little apprehensive at first but booked anyway because of price and also short stop over times. Staff were friendly upon initial check in blocking the seat next to us so we had more room. Actually the only flight we had to sit next to someone else was Reunion-CDG. Entertainment selection was great and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Food was tasty and very sufficient. And the care packs with socks ear plugs sleep mask and headphones were a nice touch. On return flight Reunion-Sydney the plane was virtually empty so we had a row of seats each as did most other passengers in the cabin. Again staff were very attentive constantly offering drinks throughout the flight. All in all we had an extremely pleasant experience and have no hesitation flying with them again. Have recommended Air Austral and will continue to.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 37 Reviews