Air Austral

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 35 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"We were pleasantly surprised"

(Guam)

Verified Review | Flew Bangkok to Antananarivo via Saint-Denis. We were pleasantly surprised by Air Austral: the flights were on time, the aircraft relatively new, the amenities were good, and the IFE was ok. On the BKK-RUN segment, a pouch is provided with socks and eye shade in Y class. Wine is provided with meals. The staff tended to disappear after meal service, but they were friendly enough.
AircraftBoeing 787 / 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Antananarivo via Saint-Denis
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"they just keep stalling"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Nosy Be (Madagascar) to Paris CDH via Reunion. The connecting flight was cancelled so had overnight stay in Reunion. Then next day flight was earlier than the original schedule, so had to overnight in Paris. The promised hotel booked by Air Austral was not honoured - had to chase to get refund for hotel booked myself. Still waiting for compensation, that was agreed by Air Austral, despite continued emails. They just keep stalling. Unfair and gives a terrible impression of Air Austral.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNOS to CDG via RUN
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"worst experience I have had"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Reunion to Johannesburg with Air Austral. One of the worst experience I have had. After we took off from Reunion, the flight had to go back to Reunion because of the technical fault. When we arrived at the airport nobody from the airline bothered to explain the next step and nobody at the airline spoke English. We only saw on the boarding gate the time for departure. This made us miss our connecting flight. Upon arrival at Johannesburg we tried to negotiate with the Manager and ask her to find flights home for us. She said there was nothing she can do for us. I can assure everybody who wants to take this airline that cheap is expensive. We ended up rebooking our flights.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRUN to JNB
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"great little airline"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Great little airline. Although we left one hour late, the service for a 4 hour flight was outstanding from Johannesburg to Reunion. Even in Economy Class, you receive an amenity kit, a hot towel, and a full hot meal with first course, desert, and free wine and liquors. This was followed by a great French movie with subtitles on drop down screens every 4 rows. A great way to start a magical vacation on a paradise destination in the Indian Ocean.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to RUN
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"disappointed with my flight"

(France)

Paris to La Réunion. I was very disappointed with my flight on Air Austral - very damaged seats, small, uncomfortable, dirty. Due to health problems I have to eat neither fat nor sugar, so I always order a light meal except that Air Austral on this meal "exceptional" also has a price exceptional and is discriminatory. The meal costs the astronomical sum of 20 € for all that ultimately end up with a meal with fat! Between the outward and return flight I had email exchanges with the company following this concern and frankly they had nothing to do and were very ironic in their responses do not take seriously at all my problem, sending me a vegetarian menu instead of the light except that eating vegetarian has nothing to do with not eating fat and sugar. Staff incompetent. Movies and music were poor.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCDG to RUN
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"crew were outstanding"

(United Kingdom)

A very pleasant experience with Air Austral. The food was above average for economy. The movie choice was a bit limited but there was enough in English to keep us entertained. As much to drink as you wanted. The onboard crew were outstanding - friendly and professional. The best economy cabin crew I have experienced for a long time. It is also by far the best route to Madagascar (and especially Nosy Be with a direct flight from St Denis).
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Reunion
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Air Austral customer review

(France)

CDG-RUN return. Air Austral is the airline of Réunion Island owned by the local public authorities. On the good side food is average but not too bad particularly main dishes. FA are smiling and very attentive ground staff really nice. Boarding was very well organised. A small travel kit is provided with socks. Pillows are wide. Cabin looks fine although a bit ageing in Y. New livery on the planes is really great. On the downside choice of films on the IFE is surprisingly limited and most French films - and seats are really narrow because of 3-4-3 configuration on B777 particularly exit seats. All in all I find its service to be slightly better than AF and Air Mauritius on this area.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Air Austral customer review

(Australia)

Sydney-Reunion-CDG return May/June 2012. After reading mixed reviews here we were a little apprehensive at first but booked anyway because of price and also short stop over times. Staff were friendly upon initial check in blocking the seat next to us so we had more room. Actually the only flight we had to sit next to someone else was Reunion-CDG. Entertainment selection was great and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Food was tasty and very sufficient. And the care packs with socks ear plugs sleep mask and headphones were a nice touch. On return flight Reunion-Sydney the plane was virtually empty so we had a row of seats each as did most other passengers in the cabin. Again staff were very attentive constantly offering drinks throughout the flight. All in all we had an extremely pleasant experience and have no hesitation flying with them again. Have recommended Air Austral and will continue to.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

Air Austral customer review

(Australia)

Departed Jorge Newbury Airport (AEP) Buenos Aires to Galeão-(GIG) Rio de Janeiro. Flight number AR 2252- 22 August 2012. Embraer 190 aircraft. Arrived at the airport in time for a 9.50am departure. There were many announcements in Spanish but very few in English until English speaking passengers enquired at departure gates. Flight was 1 hour late with no explanation given. Flight itself was fantastic however cabin crew were less than friendly and did not even check our boarding pass to direct us to our assigned seat as we boarded. Inflight "snack" was some sort of carrot cake caramel filled biscuit covered in a white chocolate substance with a caramel sweet.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Air Austral customer review

(Australia)

Sydney-Reunion-Mauritius. Cabin crew extremely rude simple requests such as glasses of water plainly ignored. Food was sub standard and if you felt peckish after the meal you were abruptly told to go help yourself at the rear of the plane to a platter of soggy cheese and butter sandwiches. Same for drinks pour- your-own-glass at the back of the pane in full view of the cabin crew who just pretended you didn't exist. Overall cabin crew appeared quite blasé and pompous.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 35 Reviews