Top 100 Airlines  

Air Astana

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 136 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"not the hub of 4 Star airline"

(Russian Federation)

Verified Review | Since 2009 flying once a year I can say Air Astana are getting better. Only one problem, the airport in Almaty is not the hub of a 4 Star airline. sometimes passengers just don't separate roles of airport and company, but I do.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLED to UKK via ALA
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"cabin crew were friendly and had reasonable English"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Check-ins for both flights were efficient and friendly and done in English. Each flight departed and landed on time. Cabin crew were friendly and had reasonable English (there has been a marked improvement in the 10 years that I have been flying with Air Astana). On the flight to Almaty lunch was served and on the flight to Bangkok a very late dinner was served. With a 1.00 am departure for Bangkok the Airline would be much better served by giving a light supper soon after take off (or have a decent meal available in their lounge) and then having breakfast about one hour before landing. The food was well presented and portion size was adequate. The wines were OK. On the Tbilisi - Almaty sector they offered an IPAD but did not take advantage as I had my own entertainment. My luggage did not get any priority and was one of the last bags unloaded from the plane. From Almaty to Bangkok my luggage did get priority and was off the plane soon after I arrived at the carousel. Overall a pleasant experience without any unpleasant incidents.
AircraftEmbraer190, Boeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTBS to BKK via ALA
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"flights are mostly uneventful"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Almaty via Astana and Almaty to Tashkent return. This was my first time flying Air Astana. I was part of a business trip that was promoting tourism in Thailand. The best flight was ALA-BKK, since they had AVOD on the seat backs - the aircraft don't have AVOD. The food was average, with the exception of BKK-TSE, which gave me a very good breakfast. Most flights, check-in is average, although some employees are more enthusiastic than others, and once onboard the flight, there is a flight attendant handing out candy. Boarding process could've been more efficient. ALA-TAS and back used an Embraer plane, and the seat is the most horrible seat I have sat in and recline is half of what you get on an A320. The flights are mostly uneventful. Overall, I would pay for the upgrade to business class next time, but if I were forced to sit in coach, I wouldn't mind.
AircraftBoeing 757-200 / E190
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to TSE via ALA
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"would certainly use them again"

(Canada)

Flying from Tashkent to Ulaanbaatar via Almaty and Bishkek we had booked all three legs via Air Astana but a month before the departure they notified me that the Astana - Ulaanbaatar leg was cancelled and offered to reroute. Having heard good things about Turkish Airlines we chose the Tashkent-Almaty-Bishkek-UB option with the last leg on Turkish. Air Astana responded to every email of mine within minutes and while we were to have an overnight layover in Astana in the original plan with a hotel paid by us, Air Astana put us up in a new Bishkek hotel with food and transport to and from the airport. The flights themselves were on time, had more then average legroom, newer planes, good food and friendly attendants. Turkish Airlines was the low point of the three legs, being one hour late arriving from Istanbul, but it did complete our necessary connection. Given the need and opportunity I would certainly use them again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTAS to ULN via ALA / FRU
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"we saw no inflight entertainment"

(United Kingdom)

Flew Air Astana from London to Beijing via Astana. We were all disappointed with the aircraft fleet. Despite prominently showing inflight entertainment for economy class on the website we saw no inflight entertainment on our route London to Beijing (surely quite a major long haul route worthy of IFE?). It was a horrid flashback to flying long haul in the 1980s - I thought this was a thing of the past. What is particularly galling is the image of lots of TV screens on the website - mis-selling, beware.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to PEK via TSE
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"overall it was a good experience"

(Japan)

Verified Review | From Seoul to Astana in Air Astana business class. Overall it was a good experience and my first flight with Air Astana, the crew was kind and pleasant, the food not so bad and the legroom more than average. Let's say the service is on the same level of the most famous european airlines (but not even close to the Japanese ones). One thing that disappointed me is that they changed the airplane at the last second and instead of the new Boeing 767 they just received 2 years ago, I found at the gate a 25 years old 757. Even if the 757 was fully refurbished and the cabin were really well made, they can't hide the age of the plane. I try to choose my flight after a research about the airplane I would fly with and I am happy to pay a bit more for an airline that use new and bigger airplanes. Although it is a common thing for almost all airlines, I'm don't recommend an airline that use narrow body jet for flights longer than 5 hours.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteICN to TSE
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"outrageous fee for overweight baggage"

(United States)

Dushanbe to Almaty. While they're inflight service was quite good, their ground service was deplorable. I was charged an outrageous fee for overweight baggage - 144 Euros. They refuse to let me carry my luggage cart onto the plane and required that I check it and charged me an additional 45 Euros. Additionally they charged for food or beverage in the business class Lounge.
AircraftERJ190
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDRU to ALA
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"plenty of legroom"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Normally, there are direct flights from Bangkok to Almaty, but on some days, Air Astana flies with a smaller plane (B757) and makes a short stopover in HCMC. The 2-2 seat configuration is good, as there is plenty of legroom between the rows, the seat is comfortable. The entertainment system consists of iPads with movies, music, games, etc, equipped with excellent earphones. Food is reasonable, though not excellent and the wine / drinks selection rather limited. The crew was pleasant and attentive, but the business class was only occupied at 25%. I have to fly often to Kazakhstan, will avoid the days where the airline stops in HCMC as the trip takes almost 4 hours more.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to ALA
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"aircraft was clean"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew from London to Astana with Air Astana. The aircraft was clean, staff friendly and food great. I had a brilliant experience. To add to this I was upgraded on the way back which really did make my trip.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to TSE
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"friendly crew and tasty food"

(Kazakhstan)

Verified Review | Air Astana from İstanbul to Almaty on a night flight. Plane was satisfactory and the business seats were up to standard. Big size blankets. A friendly crew, and also tasty food. The movies was new realesed. Thanks air Astana.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteIST to ALA
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes