Damascus Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 21 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

Damascus Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 13th February 2012

The airport's renovation seemed to come in handy no looking much more sophisticated. On the way to the airport I couldn't but help notice the new terminal that is in construction. Duty free is excellent with well anticipated manners displayed by staff. The airport itself handles more than Beirut international airport although it is much smaller in size. Restaurants sell reasonable food at magnificent prices. New bars have opened throughout the airport as well as ATMs and other necessities.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
4/10

Damascus Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 1st May 2011

I first arrived in Damascus in Feb 1997. Since then I have been back and forth almost 1-2 times a year since then. I am an Englishman who met and married a Syrian girl in 1998. The airport in my view was more relaxed in the old days whereby you could check in and walk back into the lounge/cafe for tea etc with your friends and family.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
3/10

Damascus Airport customer review

Review by 16th June 2010

Our late night arrival was surprisingly easy to manage. After a coached journey to the terminal (some planes use jetties) it was straight into the immigration hall (currency exchange immediately on the right) which had a couple of lanes for “non Arab passports”. The lines moved quite quickly and we were soon into the baggage hall where our bags were waiting. Customs took no interest and one is soon landside where there is an ATM (one of a small working number in Syria) a Currency Exchange and minor shops. We were met on arrival so I cannot comment on ground transport arrangements but there did seem to be numerous “taxi drivers” seeking fares. There are many worse airports throughout the world most of which are major airports.
no
3/10

Damascus Airport customer review

Review by 14th September 2009

It is not the most beautiful airport in the world but not the worst! I always found it OK - speed to check-in pass passport control is OK. Shopping cheap and wide range of products - VIP Lounge comfortable but old fashioned. The information system is getting better and friendliness of officials is good.
no
4/10

Damascus Airport customer review

Review by 8th June 2009

The refurbishment is finished. Everything looked clean and new. Fast check-in. Information screens were giving correct and up-to-date information. Good catering facilities to have a drink coffee or sandwich. Cheap duty free shops which are not the biggest but still have a good assortment of quality products spirits sweets perfumes etc.
no
1/10

Damascus Airport customer review

Review by 10th March 2009

Damascus airport must be one of the worst airports in the world. We were checking into a Saudi a flight and no information was provided on the overhead screens as to which gate was to be used for checking in. In this end one had to push trollys to all the gates to guess where the Saudia passengers were being checked in. At each counter there was a guy loading baggage on the belt and it was expected that we hand him some money. The regulation of smoking in the airport was appalling the whole airport stank of cigarettes including the toilets. The airport was undergoing refurbishment but the experience was chaotic.
no
1/10

Damascus Airport customer review

Review by 2nd February 2009

The airport is under refurbishment and concrete dust coats everything. Still the only working departure display is in the duty free on the upper floor. The zone between entrance and gates is declared non smoking area with one bathroom size glass cage for hundreds of potential smokers. Consequently the final pre-takeoff-smoke is shifted to the gate waiting room where all passengers including babies and allergics spent half an hour in an air which one could cut out with a knife and use as durable construction material.
no
1/10

Damascus Airport customer review

Review by 19th November 2008

Damascus Airport gives an unfairly poor impression of Syria. The arrivals area was basic but immigration was conducted quite quickly if without charm. Departure was simply chaotic. As another reviewer pointed out the check in desks have no signage. We found our desk by a process of elimination by wandering up to each desk in turn checking the small paper sign and concluding that ours must be another one. The queue moved painfully slowly with each check in taking 5 minutes. When we reached the top of the queue we realised why - it appeared that every piece of information on out e-ticket had to be keyed in to the computer. The duty free seemed to house the only departure monitor in the whole airport. Worryingly our flight did not appear. We then noticed that the flight number and time on the boarding passes were different to those on our tickets - I guess due to typing errors. Our flight departed at the time on the ticket if we had believed he boarding pass we would have missed it ! While we passed though several security checks no-one seemed to be checking the magnetic gates and at the departure gate I noticed that a door onto the apron was unlocked and unguarded. I guess the authorities figure they have other ways of preventing terrorist attacks. The departure tax is a swingeing SYP1500 though what happens to this money is not evident - certainly not on the airport facilities. Just treat the airport as an experience and don't let it put you off visiting Syria.
no
1/10

Damascus Airport customer review

Review by 6th October 2008

Note that the airport departure tax is SP1500 for over 12s. All taxis from airport are run by private company and are fixed rate. The cost is around $35. All previous comments re chaos at departure. excessive zeal by document checking officials overcrowding etc are still as relevant as ever. A thoroughly depressing experience in what is a friendly generous and wonderful country.
no
2/10

Damascus Airport customer review

Review by 2nd June 2008

Expect to be ripped off by the taxi drivers taking you into and out of the city. Don't go with any of the people hassling you as soon as they see you come out of the airport for an airport taxi. They would charge you a mind-blowing 15euros to the city. The immigration process was fairly OK even if slow but they could do with some signposting in English. Back from the airport I was ripped off 1000 SYPs by a yellow cab. The check in process is appalling - I don't know for what does one pay 200 syp departure tax. The check in desks are in a severe need for refurbishment. My checkin desk was not even shown on the noticeboard and then a fellow passenger showed me to my checkin desk - indeed it had a handwritten sign stuck with sticky tape to the roof saying 'LONDON'! The duty free section is quite large and varied and one could make a few decently priced purchases from here. One looks forward to visiting the airport when the refurbishment currently being undertaken by a Malaysian company is completed.
no
1 to 10 of 21 Reviews