Blackpool Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 37 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

Blackpool Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 22nd October 2014

Myself and husband have used Blackpool airport 6 times in the last 12 months - yes you pay £10 each departure tax but you can see nothing has been spent on the upkeep. I will still say we prefer going from Blackpool - there is less trouble and a lot less fuss. From landing and picking up our cases we can be home in an hour - we are very sad at its closing. We have just arrived home last night - we went from Blackpool put had to come back in to Manchester which we think is a nightmare - very sad customers.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
9/10

Blackpool Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 13th October 2014

Flew to Dublin yesterday (8th October) after catching train from Preston where I had been working for a few days to Squires Gate which is about a 10 minute walk. £10 ADF was a bit of a disappointment but check-in and security a breeze. Staff friendly and efficient. Depatures lounge was a bit old-fashioned (not necessarily a bad thing quite nostalgic really) but was very clean and the cafe was good. Aer Lingus as always a joy to travel with.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
8/10

Blackpool Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 17th September 2014

We have just returned from a trip to Tenerife with Jet2 and used Blackpool for the first time as the flight times from here were excellent. Yes it is only small but check in a security were swift with no problems encountered and adequate facilities for a drink and a little browse in the duty free. On our return again swift baggage claim and on the road home within half an hour. The only downside we arrived well before we were meant to and check in wasn't even open however the parking was a nightmare. We went right round the back to the overflow car park and only at the very last minute managed to squeeze on the end of someone else. I cant imagine what would have happened if wed left it later we would have missed our flight. Also it was a long walk to the terminal building and it was pouring with rain we were amazed their wasn't and easier way in to the building also our car on return was covered in dust from all the passing vehicles. This aside I would travel from here again as the good out weighs the bad but I really think you should assess the parking situation as this is very limited for the passengers travelling and is letting this airport down?
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
na

Blackpool Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 14th August 2014

Jet2 flight to Alicante in August 2014. After travelling to and from Venice in June I had Venice down as the worst airport in Europe but my experience in Blackpool proved it to be even worse than Venice! First of all parking is a nightmare parking in an unsecure field 15 mins walk from the terminal. You then enter the grubby check in hall (Jet2 check in quite efficient) pay the extortionate departure tax and spend the next hour in a breeze block corridor waiting for the rude and inefficient security staff. Finally you are allowed into what they laughingly name the departure hall to find that all the seats are taken. How long will Jet2 stay at this airport?
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

Blackpool Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 3rd April 2014

This place is the pits! Ever since they took over which is several years ago the owners impose an Airport Development Tax (ADT) of £10 per person. Yes if you are going to be back in less than 2 weeks it entitles you to "free" parking (how can a tax of £10 per head be free) on a quagmire at best with absolutely no security. The tax was allegedly to develop the airport (hence the name) but every cent of it goes into the pockets of the Directors. Not a single penny has been spent on improvements. The owners will argue that the place has been improved .... and it has. However the franchises that use the place (duty free cafe newsagents etc) all paid for the improvements so don't believe the owners. The place is also filthy and cold and when it rains they have to use buckets to collect rainwater. As for the security and check-in staff - the check-in staff turn up when they feel like it and the security staff are rude and surly and totally objectionable. Completely different to the pleasant and helpful staff at Manchester.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
na

Blackpool Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 29th October 2013

Dreadful do not let your student sons and daughters fly home from Blackpool. My son had to scrape the £10 ADF fee from his pockets. He is a student with virtually no money and had no warning that he was going to need an extra £ £10! Very unfair and simply disgusting. I intend to complain to Jet2 about the airport they are using.
Queuing Times N/A
Terminal Cleanliness N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
no
na

Blackpool Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 15th October 2013

I flew from Blackpool airport to Belfast for the first time I always fly from Liverpool to Belfast with Easyjet but the flight times were better and it was slightly cheaper to fly with Jet2 from Blackpool. I was expecting a small airport with limited facilities but nothing prepared me for the facilities here. Parking is free which was a bonus for me when booking on arrival however both car parks P1 and P2 were full and ended up abandoning my car on a grass area known as an overfill car park. This was a 10 minute walk to the airport. On arrival there was nothing before the departure lounge. The cash machine was out of service and WHSmiths closed. Paying the £10 airport charge was no problem and I was assisted with my baggage tag by a very helpful Jet2 worker. The worst experience was going through security where the staff were extremely rude not just with me but with an elderly couple in front of me. I agree that security needs to be strict but not intrusive and this was made a much more uncomfortable experience by the rudeness and lack of customer service with the staff. I will never be using this airport again and even after a drink from the limited choice in the cafe/bar I was still reeling. I can safely say this is the 1st and last time I will use this airport.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
8/10

Blackpool Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 8th September 2013

We travelled to Turkey on Jet2 mid-August returning early-September. We travelled from Blackpool as the holiday was some £250 cheaper than using Manchester. The car park ticket machine had run out of tickets but that didn't matter as the barriers to P2 had been broken off. We parked a good 5 minutes' walk from the terminal but it's free so I don't really see that being a problem. The terminal building is very basic and is more reminiscent of a coach station but check-in and security were both quick and easy (as was paying the ADF) and we were sitting in the bar area enjoying our first drink of the holiday while we'd still have been in the security queue at Manchester. An important point was that because we were going on a small plane to a small airport check-in at Dalaman on our return was incredibly easy drawing jealous stares from fellow travellers who were in 200-long queues. On our return to Blackpool from wheels stop through security and baggage reclaim to leaving the airport took less than 30 minutes. You absolutely cannot get better. The airport has a runway planes somewhere to sit and somewhere to get a drink. What else do you need?
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
5/10

Blackpool Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 4th August 2013

Whilst the amenities are those of a small airport they are still extremely limited. My main concerns regarding this airport are the poor services offered by the lounge and payment charged is way in excess of services on offer. There are limited drinks no WIFI limited snacks and maximum stay without flight delays is approximately one hour. Also when flight arrivals are able to collect their luggage and able to visit the conveniences there is only one female toilet one male toilet and one disabled toilet all with insufficient toilet rolls. Totally unsatisfactory when approximately 300 people are landing.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

Blackpool Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 3rd July 2013

The poor lighting inside makes it look as if you have just walked into a fairground dark ride. The gents toilet (singular you'll notice) always smells of something unpleasant. The advertising blurb tells of facilities that are never open and it has a help desk that is manned only when the staff feel like it which is as good as never. It looks like an uncompleted job on which the builders have walked off because the service pipes are all exposed and there is not so much as a false ceiling to hide it all. It has been like this for decades. To then ask the public to pay £10 each to refurbish something that should be done out of the operating profits over many years is a disgrace. Forget expecting to see a terminal akin to those airy ones with glass and steel as at `proper` airports this is a chicken-shed inspired windowless dark oblong box. You are unable to see any aircraft from inside or outside so plane spotters stay away.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 37 Reviews