Swiss Intl Air Lines

Seat Reviews


4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 53 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"seating was very crammed"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | The experience was terrible and disappointing. I am 1,83 m tall and slim. The seating was very crammed and extremely uncomfortable. My kneecaps were touching the seat in front of me. My shoulders were touching my neighbor. There was no way to reach a comfortable position. The seat recline was damaged also because of a broken button. When the person in front of me reclined his seat it was not possible to use inflight entertainment because it was right in front of my face. There were only two food options. Chicken or noodles. Strange and very limited choice. Chicken was out. No apologies from the crew. No condiments [tomato or chilly sauce]. There were no noteworthy snacks. The in-flight entertainment selection of films and movies was limited. A lot of movies/films were not offered in English. The quality of earphones was low. No earplugs offered.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"The seats are very old"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The service was great. I could change my meal option without a problem on the phone, although I booked through a third-party website. Also on-board the staff was friendly and service was great. The problem starts with the plane: the A340 seats are very old and were updated with an entertainment system. In reclined position you can hardly see the screen and have to change into an uncomfortable position if you want to use the entertainment system. If you want to work, however, the situation is worse. When the person in front of you reclines her seat, you cannot even fit a laptop between you and the seat in front of you, let alone placing it on the tray table so you can actually work. This leaves you with the option to sleep. However, this is also not possible as the seats are incredibly uncomfortable for a long distance flight. So finally you are left with reading a book, if you brought one, which means disturbing the other passengers with your reading light. If you are of a rather less antisocial nature you are left with staring at the ceiling for 12 hours. The complete lack of comfort in economy also has an impact on the situation on board: people will start walking around, when the person behind you or in front of you moves they will automatically hit your seat and wake you up if you have managed to fall asleep in the first place. I was woken up five times. Conclusion If you can avoid it do not fly long distance with Swiss. For the short distance, i.e. within Europe, it is great: Like Ryanair in terms of comfort, but with much better service (which comes at a price).
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA340-300
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"Extremely narrow seat"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Extremely narrow seat on the Boeing 777-300ER even for a slim Asian person, my body had to stay in one position for 12 hours. Nice legroom for emergency row, but can't say the same for regular seats.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
7/10

"flat and quite comfortable"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Comfortable, if a little narrow seats that lie completely flat and are quite comfortable. They are fairly modern, with good recline/massage controls. My wife and I both slept well in them. USB and power is supplied (albeit difficult to find), with plenty of storage space.
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Aircraft TypeA340-300
Seat Layout2x2x2
Date FlownApril 2019
Type Of TravellerLeisure
Sleep Comfort 12345
Sitting Comfort 12345
Seat/bed Width 12345
Seat/bed Length 12345
Seat Privacy 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
9/10

"parts of cabin extremely noisy"

(Brazil)

Trip Verified | Seat 14D. I have been travelling in many Boeing 777. I noticed, and crew confirmed, that so front parts of cabin at extremely noisy. Therefore I walked in the cabins, and could observe and area, just at the beginning of the wing, after the front part of the engines that was suprisingly silent. In my last flight, on Swiss, I decided to seat on row 14, seat D. And really noise was much lower.
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout1x2x2
Date FlownApril 2019
Type Of TravellerLeisure
Sleep Comfort 12345
Sitting Comfort 12345
Seat/bed Width 12345
Seat/bed Length 12345
Seat Privacy 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
2/10

"the seats were so narrow"

(France)

Trip Verified | Boeing 777-300ER reserved seat 22A At an extra cost of €100, of course you pay for the leg room. But the seats were so narrow for even for a small person like me it was hell. The aisles are so narrow you have to almost walkside facing if you do not want to hit the passengers seated. Return too late to reserve the bulk head so took the 23D at €50 extra - two guys in front were so inconsiderate, regardless of the extra leg room they had in front they reclined their seats to a maximum. It was suffocating. The worst experience in my 32 years of travel. I will never travel with SWISS Air.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"seats have seen better days"

(China)

Trip Verified | Not worth the money. The old seats have seen better days. IFE becomes useless for a 6ft passenger when the seat in front is reclined because your screen becomes illegible due to the old monitor's available viewing angle. To avoid the IFE box being installed in the legroom of some seats I paid extra for a seat reservation. After boarding, however, I had to realize that there was such a box. When I complained that the seating map does not correspond to the reality in the cabin a crew member simply told me that they couldn't help me. They just offered me to unload my suitcase so that I could stay in Zurich if I didn't want to accept the situation. Very annoying is, that this happens repeatedly. Seems SWISS just ignores the incorrect cabin map. The airline is not to compare with the Swissair of old. SWISS - sad, so sad!
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA340
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"All around uncomfortable"

(United States)

Verified Review | Worst economy long haul seat I have ever experienced. It's great that economy seats recline but the recline on these seats is so much that when the person in front of you reclines you have almost no space between the screen in front of you and your face. Also when the seat reclines it does so right into your knees. And in a window seat with the entertainment box taking so much of the legroom space this is unbearable. The entertainment system is out of date with the old fashioned remote. All around uncomfortable.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA340
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
no
6/10

"Seats were extremely narrow"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | What a mistake of Swiss to have this configuration of 3x4x3 in a plane (Boeing 777-300ER) that makes long flights. Seats were extremely narrow, even eating was just a challenge. Legroom was good and the IFE screen was very good and large. USB powerport also nice.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
8/10

"nice and spacious seats"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Very nice and spacious seats in our A320. Enough legroom en seatwidth were good. More spacious then onboard their 777-300ER's. Overhead screens were present but no charging options installed.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 53 Reviews