Spirit Airlines

Seat Reviews


3 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 18 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"really hard to get comfortable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The Big Seat! I was flying to New Orleans for a conference and splurged for the Big Seat. It was the longest flight I had ever taken with Spirit. Everyone I think knows you can only last a few hours in a regular economy seat. Well, at first when I sat down in the Big Seat, the bottom half of the seat sagged and left an uncomfortable gap between the bottom and back rest. I just overlooked that and just hoped for the best. After all the seats do have a leather pillow added to the head rest for extra comfort, wrong! About 20 minutes of leaning my head on this, I started to feel some pain in my neck. It was really hard to get comfortable after this point and the pain in the back of my neck turned into a cramp like feeling. The only way I could get comfortable was to slide my head off the sewn in pillow so my head was more inline with the rest of my body. Turns out the pillow was extending my head forward so much that it was causing neck cramps. So my experience with paying extra for this supposedly upgraded seat turned out to be a total dud. It may be ok for some people but the comforts of upgrading to the Big Seat is not for me or everyone. Will be sticking to exit row seats and shorter flights under 3 for this airline.
Seat TypePremium Economy
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMay 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
4/10

"an overall issue with comfort"

(United States)

Trip Verified | For this particular trip back home to Philadelphia from Las Vegas I upgraded to the Big Front Seat. The flight was a little bit over five hours and it was better from my original flight to Las Vegas on a regular seat. I find that the older models have a more comfortable Big Front Seat with more legroom. Although the new airplanes look and feel great, there is an overall issue with comfort and you still feel cramped in, even in row 1. I have made the decision not to fly Spirit on flights longer than 3 hours. Sadly their product is not designed for longer than that.
Seat TypePremium Economy
Aircraft TypeA320 Neo
Seat Layout2x2
Date FlownMay 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
3/10

"virtually no padding"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was very excited to fly on this brand new configuration of the A320 Neo. We all know Spirit crams you in and for this particular flight I was on the middle seat, luckily for me I was traveling with two family members so we had the entire row and it was not that uncomfortable sitting in the middle because on each side I had family rather than strangers. This was supposed to be a five hour flight from Philadelphia to Las Vegas that turned into a seven hour flight due to taxi delays at takeoff and once we landed. Those seats by no means are designed to be seated on for more than 4 hour maximum. I am 5’9” 150lbs so it was not a matter of not fitting in the chair but a matter of virtually no padding. Your lower back and legs begin to get num after 3 hours sitting on pretty much a plastic seat. Not sure Spirit will improve this but be aware that unless you can afford to upgrade to a Big Front Seat it will be brutal to fly on a regular seat for more than 3 hours. Heading back to Philly I’ve already secured a Big Front Seat so look out for that review. Like I do on all my Spirit Airline reviews, they do not claim to be the most comfortable or service orientated airline. They take you from point A to point B safely and for this flight they did just that.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA320 Neo
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMay 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"sitting is barely tolerable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Spirits new improved seats are not designed to fit most people comfortably. It took the rest of the day for my back and neck to feel normal. Forget sleeping, and sitting is barely tolerable. I will never fly Spirit economy again. I am giving a 1 because the program won't let me rate this a zero
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely no room to move"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The seats did not recline in any way and if you're a larger than a teenager you have absolutely no room to move in those seats there is no in-flight entertainment no comfortability if you suffer from restless leg syndrome do not fly with them you have no room to adjust your legs your knees are basically touching the seat in front of you.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"doesn’t have a recline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Absolutely worst! Avoid this airline at all cost. I’m 5’1” and 170 Lbs and didn’t have a space to sit properly. Imagine if someone is a little bigger. 4”x8” tray table. Really? Why do you even bother having one? Seat doesn’t have a recline option. Just stiff the whole trip. Will never fly it ever again
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"most uncomfortable plane seats"

(United States)

Not Verified | I have been traveling via airplane since I was 5 years old--I am now 47 years old. In my late 20's I literally flew to a different city every single weekend from January to May for 6 years for work. Our company never splurged and flew us first-class or even business-class. Not to mention the fact that it was never the same airline. The ticket purchased was based on whichever airline offered the cheapest ticket. I was always in coach and can honestly say that I never got off the plane and thought, "Wow, that was an amazing and relaxing flight". There were many times I was uncomfortable and complained about the experience. I can honestly say that flying on Spirit Airlines was without exaggeration, worse than any flying experience I have ever encountered. The seats are literally the most uncomfortable plane seats I have sat in. They don't recline even 1 centimeter and the head rest is so large that your neck is bent forward for the entire flight. The seats do not recline. You must pay for your window seat selection even if there are plenty of open seats available. It was by far the most miserable travel experience I have encountered and I absolutely refuse to ever fly Spirit again.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"Seats are most uncomfortable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seats are the most uncomfortable I've ever experienced. With my personal minimum bag stuffed under the seat in front I had no leg room. I ended up putting my bag on my lap to be able to extend my legs. Seat spacing is so tight I sat with my arms pulled in to my lap. There is no way you could assume the crash position with your head between your knees. I keep shifting on my seat which was as hard as metal chair. In fact the seats are like metal folding chairs partially covered with a thin leatherette covering. I'm glad it was only a 4 and a half hour flight. Anything longer would have been totally unbearable. I'll never book this airline again. Cheap flight doesn't offset extreme pain.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
6/10

"Seat bottom was worn and uncomfortable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seat 13F, exit row window seat on the right side. Legroom is great. Seat bottom was worn and uncomfortable. Seat does not recline. There is a window (some exit row seat do not have windows, I hate not being able to look outside). The tray table is standard size and slides forward. The seat back pocket is also standard size. This seat would be very good if the seat bottom was more comfortable, and it may be on different Spirit aircraft.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"Seats are hard plastic"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seats are hard plastic with a thin vinyl covering over them and 1/4 inch of foam on the bottom. It was a long flight from Florida to Lima and my butt was killing me by the time we got there. You will need to bring your own cushion for long flights - like sitting on bleachers at a ball game!
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA319
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1 to 10 of 18 Reviews