Southwest Airlines

Seat Reviews


3 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 12 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"I do miss the old seats"

(Canada)

Not Verified | For the price you pay, you can't beat what Southwest gives you. It's often cheaper than flying Spirit, especially when all the additional fees come in to play. You simply can't beat the free baggage and the lack of change fees. Seating and legroom are just as good as (and sometimes better than) the legacy carriers. If you're seeking more legroom, look for a 737-800 or 737-MAX. These planes have a 32 inch pitch instead of 31 inches on the 700s. The "Evolve" seat comfort is adequate. Haven't tried the new "Heart" seats, but I do miss the old seats as they were very comfortable. Seats have never reclined much, but at least they do unlike some airlines. If you are a customer of size, Southwest will even give you a second seat free-of-charge. Just book and pay for a second seat using the specific instructions, and then you get a refund for the second seat after.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737-800
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"seating policy is horrible"

(United States)

Not Verified | Southwest open seating policy is horrible! I checked my fiancé and I in exactly 24 hrs in advanced to ensure we would have a good boarding group and number. We did. We had B10 and B11 which confirms we would find a seat together. Our first flight was delayed 1 hour with NO explanation and of course we were late for the connecting flight. All groups had already boarded so we had to pick 2 middle seats on either side of the plane. This policy is one of the worst customer service ideas I’ve ever seen, and all for what? So Southwest can save a buck or 2? I would even pay for a confirmed seat, but nope, they don’t offer that.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
5/10

"middle seat was for her friend"

(United States)

Not Verified | Passengers need to stop placing their carry-ons in the seat next to them to save the seat for their friends who haven't boarded. That's why Southwest has boarding numbers! I got into an argument with a passenger who was in an aisle seat and placed her purse in the seat next to her. When my husband and I tried to take the seats beside her, she said the middle seat was for her friend (who hadn't boarded). I told her that there was no assigned seating, therefore she couldn't hold the seat. My husband decided to proceed to another seat because he didn't want to argue. I stayed in the window seat, and her friend finally showed up and sat in the middle seat. The airline needs to stress that purses are not to be placed in empty seats as a placeholder. I hate when people try to manipulate the system to their convenience. Southwest Airlines, please stress the "no seat assignment rule" when passengers are boarding. Passenger in the B&C zone will be much happier.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"tried to save 4 complete rows of seats"

(United States)

Verified Review | Passenger tried to save 4 complete rows of seats. The steward refused to settle the dispute among other passengers needing a seat. The passenger trying to save all the rows was pushing and shoving and passenger trying to sit in them. Again, the steward did nothing.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
7/10

"plane is comfy, the staff is kind"

(United States)

Verified Review | This airline is great if you just need to "hop" from one location to the next. The plane is comfy, the staff is kind, and in-flight is nothing special, but not bad at all! The legroom isn't great (31') but I felt very comfortable at 6' 1". I would fly this airline again, but just not for a longer flight.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737-700
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
10/10

"It was comfortable"

(United States)

I loved flying on Southwest Airlines ! It was comfortable. I'm short, it was roomy. We flew from Birmingham, AL, to a layover in Chicago, then from there to New York for a church mission trip. They have some of the best planes, the air was very nice and easy to control, everything was to liking. I felt very safe on the plane, and all of the staff were friendly.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"threatened with removal from plane"

(United States)

I am very tall. For that reason, my husband paid extra for early bird boarding. My number was A38. After all the pre-boarders (Handicapped folks and a lady with 3 dogs) and business rate folks board, that would put me at about #50. No way to get a seat with adequate legroom. I approached the gate agent and he seemed very accommodating, allowing me to pre board with the wheelchair folks. What he did not tell me is that pre boarders are not allowed to sit in exit row. So what was the point of that exercise then. When the plane was almost full is when I was given that lovely snippet of info. Things went back and forth and for the first time in my life of flying numerous airlines over the course of over 40 year I was threatened with removal from the plane. For the record, I was not loud, rude, threatening, belligerent or anything that would warrant that. In the end they moved me to the front row. The flight attendant put forth a valiant effort and even gave me a drink free of charge. Regardless, this was my first experience flying Southwest and there will not be another.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737-700
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
5/10

"pretty uncomfortable"

(United States)

Obviously not a overly comfortable ride from Baltimore to Phoenix. We boarded in Group A so we had the first choice to seats. If you are in the later groups to board, I can guarantee you'll be sitting in the middle seat next to two strangers. You get your standard selection of soda and juice with a small prepackaged snack like pretzels. Seats are pretty uncomfortable but what do you expect with a "budget" airline. Crew was nice and helpful.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownJune 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
2/10

"is very uncomfortable"

(United States)

Southwest as is famous for its low price, low budget traveling choice. With only one class offered in its 737s, the all economy seating in Southwest Airline fleet is very uncomfortable. But since Southwest is know for its low price, it is still a good choice for those who would like to travel/fly with very low price. For long distance such as flying from West to East coast in America, maybe a different airline would be a better choice.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737-700/800
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"cramped and uncomfortable"

(United States)

The seats are small, cramped, and uncomfortable. By far the worst airline we have experienced. There are no inflight entertainment to past the time. The crew is unfriendly and not very helpful. The first come first serve policy is ridiculous and makes the entire seating experience worse.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1 to 10 of 12 Reviews