Cathay Pacific Airways

Seat Reviews


5 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 132 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"seats incredibly uncomfortable"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Boeing 777-300ER, I was sat at 63C around midway at the back, I am 6 foot 2 and not the lightest of people - but I haven't had any issues as severe as Cathay Pacific with any other airline. The seat width and seat comfort is shockingly bad, I was travelling with my two elder parents who are considerably smaller than I, yet they too found the seats incredibly uncomfortable as the seat width was quite bad for them too. The legroom is the worst I have ever experienced with any airline. I frequently felt claustrophobic throughout the 12 hour flight and had 'very' and I emphasise very as the space really is that bad! Cathay Pacific recently changed the configuration in economy from 182 seats in economy to 201 - the 19 extra seats really change the comfort of the cabin! On the way to Hong Kong I had the pleasure of flying the A350-900, the seat width, pitch and legroom was good and I was expecting such on the 777-300ER but sadly didn't. I could barely manage 12 hours in the seat, I couldn't imagine spending 14 to 15 hours in the seat, there needs to be some sort of comfort for long haul. the crew on this flight were exceptional, they were very attentive, friendly and made the flight as comfortable as possible.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
2/10

"In a word, torture"

(United States)

Trip Verified | In a word, torture. I am 5’8” and my husband is 6’. We weigh 127 and 188 respectively, so we’re not huge people. My husband was equally miserable but he was more stoic and worried about me. I was in the window seat and my husband in the middle seat, simply because I got in first so he could stow our bags overhead and it was difficult to exchange seats at that point. To get out to use the restroom we had to climb over the seats after the kind gentleman on the aisle got up. We could not step out in any other way because of the reclined seats in front of us, even though slightly reclined. Because we couldn’t easily get out we could not stretch and walk as is advised - as a result, we both had badly swollen ankles upon landing. There’s no excuse for this. Our flight to Hong Kong on Cathay Pacific’s Airbus was just fine, also coach. We will never fly in this airplane again.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300er
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"not a comfortable seat"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | This was not a comfortable seat and not worth the money. This was Premium economy but the seat was cloth, hard and barely reclined. It also had a metal footrest. Is there anything more uncomfortable than a metal footrest? This is on a 12 hour flight. I made the mistake of sitting in the first row. There was a bathroom on the right side next to me not on the left so there was no way for people to cross over to use the bathroom. They either had to go in the back or cross over someone`s legs. I complained and the CA told some passengers not to cross over. The rest mostly were unable to because my feet rested against the wall. You pay quite a bit extra to sit in premium economy only to worry about passengers crossing over your legs. The exit row of economy is more comfortable.
Seat TypePremium Economy
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"Horrid new seat layout"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | Horrid new seat layout in economy on the Boeing 777-300 - 10 seats across. Once the chair in front had been extended backwards, it was impossible to get out of my middle seat into the aisle (I am not tall or overweight). The screen may be larger, but as it's about 8 cm from your nose, that's not a good thing. Claustrophobic, no storage, thin padding so just uncomfortable - it was the longest 12 hours I've ever spent on a plane. There's plenty of choice on the HKG to LHR route, use someone else.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
8/10

"seat is a little bit narrow"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | From London to Hong Kong, flying with a reconfigured Boeing 777. Since the seat layout in the cabin is reconfigured to 3x4x3 (original 3x3x3), the width of the seat is a little bit narrow but still has enough space. The headrest is thick, soft and comfortable. The legroom is ordinary for you to place your belongings. The screen is quite large(11.6 inches) and width. There are many films for you to watch and the films provided are latest. There are also many places for you to place your personal items.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
4/10

"One of the worst experiences"

(United States)

Not Verified | One of the worst experiences flying a large international airline as far as Boeing 777-300ER seat comfort is concerned - limited legroom, lack of shoulder space lend to a claustrophobic experience overall when flying long hours. While bad weather attributed to 2 out of 3 flights getting delayed (by 2.5-3 hours each), their ground staff was just a let-down (rude, uncaring and unkept promises) which only worsened the experience when boarding the delayed flights. The food was OK - nothing great to speak about there. Cathay seriously needs to rethink how much value they are really providing towards generating a positive customer experience!
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"Seats are not comfortable"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Seats are not comfortable. Screen resolution of the entertainment unit is not good. Entertainment options are limited. Food lacks variety and flavour. Toiletries in the toilet is limited.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"3x4x3 seating quite uncomfortable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The 3x4x3 seating arrangement on the Cathay Pacific Boeing 777, Colombo to Hong Kong; and Hong Kong to San Francisco B777 flights were quite uncomfortable due to the limited leg room, recline, shoulder space, and aisle space.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"no longer a premium airline"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Found the new 3-4-3 configuration in the economy class of Cathay Pacific 777-300 a disgrace. Boarding and meal services were extremely slow due to the now narrower aisle and larger passenger number (no extra crew member added). The new seat is uncomfortable with its 17" width and wafer thin seat back. Overstretched ratio of lavatories to passengers means there's always a long queue to use the facilities. And finally the new IFE is extremely difficult to operate. Overall very disappointed with the airline's decision to move towards the 3-4-3 configuration. Cathay Pacific is unfortunately no longer a premium airline. Have been a Marco Polo Club member since 2001. It is time to switch to SQ.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
10/10

"wide and comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | New A350, enough legroom (32ins seat pitch), wide and comfortable for a long haul flight (18ins), advanced IFE with new HD screen (Panasonic ex3, 11ins), very comfortable 6 way head rest and generous recline with useful little storage nooks. Overall, an outstanding economy class product.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA350-900
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes