British Airways

Seat Reviews


4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 189 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"privacy is pretty good"

(India)

Trip Verified | This flight was as I had experienced with all other BA flights I've had. The seats are comfortable, the bedding provided is pretty good, the food on-board (I always order an Asian Vegetarian Meal) was brilliant and the cabin crew brilliant. I sat on one of the window seats (rear-facing) and the privacy you get with the privacy divider up is pretty good. I always select the window seat on the last seat of the cabin (3A on this flight) to prevent having to step over someone else. The only possible criticism I can find for the set is the lack of storage space and how inconveniently placed the one storage bin is. BA is pretty good otherwise.
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-8
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerLeisure
Sleep Comfort 12345
Sitting Comfort 12345
Seat/bed Width 12345
Seat/bed Length 12345
Seat Privacy 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
9/10

"a pretty big improvement"

(India)

Trip Verified | Was disappointed at first to see I was on the Boeing 777-200 but realised it was the updated club suite cabin so wasn't sad for long. The 1-2-1 configuration is a step up from their 2-3/4-2 configuration and the privacy on the seats is pretty good. The door isn't helpful and is more of a gimmick (could've been higher). The new IFE screens are way better than the older ones, they are more clear and bright and responsive than the old IFE screens. The seats on club suite are still fabric, which in my opinion, is better than leather and more comfortable. The seats now have convenient storage bins and power ports which is a very big improvement when compared to the old club world. The seats also have adjustable armrests which make sliding out of your seat during meal services easy. The service, in general, was fantastic and very similar to other BA flights I've had. All in all club suite is a pretty big improvement over the old business cabin.
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200
Seat Layout1x2x1
Date FlownMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerLeisure
Sleep Comfort 12345
Sitting Comfort 12345
Seat/bed Width 12345
Seat/bed Length 12345
Seat Privacy 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
7/10

"increase the seat pitch by one inch"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | All I ask is that BA increase the seat pitch by one inch - one inch would make such a difference; as would a little more padding in the seat and lumber/small of the back region of the seat on this Boeing 777-200.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
5/10

"aircraft are getting too old"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Middle Row aisle seat 29D on Boeing 777-200. These aircraft are getting too old, I know BA are gradually upgrading but the seats were uncomfortable especially for a 10+ flight. The outdated entertainment system is put to shame by other airlines, you could see the squares on my one, plus you got cross over audio through the system as well from other channels. We’ll see what the return flight has to offer.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"these seats are narrow"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I upgraded to the front emergency exit seats so legroom was not a problem on the Boeing 787. But these seats are narrow and most uncomfortable. Is this a ploy to make us upgrade to premium economy? I will not use BA next time.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"The worst business seat"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The worst business seat I’ve experienced to date. Seat was too short, my seat did not go flat and you have to step over the feet of the passenger next to you to get out also no USB port to charge my phone. I had to pay £180 to guarantee to be seated next to my partner which I’ve never had to with other airlines in business. Never again BA.
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerLeisure
Sleep Comfort 12345
Sitting Comfort 12345
Seat/bed Width 12345
Seat/bed Length 12345
Seat Privacy 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"Main issue is privacy"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Boeing 777 in Club World business class. We were a party of 4, 2 Adults and 2 children aged 6yrs and 10yrs. We had 1 window seat and the seat next to it, which felt claustrophobic. We also had 2 middle seats and you are sitted making eye contact with total stranger. Yes you can shut the screen but if cabin crew having a conversation you have to put it up and down constantly. As the 2 middle seats in the 4 middle seat configuration were together with no real screen. It was an 8 hour flight and will not fly with British Airways again. Unfortunately it is so difficult to select seats especially booking outside the UK. Main issue is privacy!
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerLeisure
Sleep Comfort 12345
Sitting Comfort 12345
Seat/bed Width 12345
Seat/bed Length 12345
Seat Privacy 12345
no
1/10

"seat was not fit for purpose"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I had the misfortune of encountering these seats on a flight from London to Boston. Unfortunately, I am over six feet tall, and the larger gentleman in front of me decided to recline his seat fully and extend the head rest. There was no way for me to remain in the seat without pain. I ended up having a panic attack from the claustrophobia, and opted to stand for most of the flight. Flight attendants and staff were extremely kind, but this seat was not fit for purpose.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747-400
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"A320 seats were unacceptable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The new A320 seats were unacceptable. Very hard and slim, no padded area, no head rest, no back support. The angle is quite strange, with a small seat base and I spent the journey in pain and in cramped conditions. May be tolerable for a very short flight but having to seat there for more than two hours is torture. There are virtually no arm rests.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"poor for up to 4 hours long"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | British Airways have fitted out their A321 Neo with 15 rows of regular 3x3 seats at the front and then the rest of the seats are a new slim line design, similar to easyjet. The seat pitch is around 31 inch which is fine for short haul, however the new seat does not recline and features thin cushions for the seat and back rest. There is no lumber support! The seat work great for a flight that is an hour long, Kind of OK for 2 hours and poor for up to 4 hours long.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA321Neo
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no

British Airways Photos

British Airways is the flag carrier of the United Kingdom, with its main hub being at London Heathrow Airport where it operates from Terminal 5 and Terminal 3. The airline also has substantial operations from Gatwick Airport. British Airways is a member of Onweworld alliance, and part of International Airlines Group (IAG).

FIRST CLASS

British Airways offers First Class on many long haul routes operated by widebody aircraft (Boeing 747-400, Boeing 777, Boeing 787 and the A380). Most aircraft have 14 flat-bed seats in First Class, and 8 seats on the Boeing 787-9.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

Branded as Club World for long haul and Club Europe for short haul services, British Airways was one of the pioneers of flat bed seats in long haul business class. The product is overdue an upgrade, with the seat layout on a Boeing 777 being 8-across in contrast to the more standard 4-across layout. British Airways Club Europe cabin uses a standard Economy class seat, with the middle of each 3-across section left empty. British Airways charges business class customers to reserve seats for both long haul and short haul flights..

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
On demand dining
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
DiningComplimentary meal / snack

PREMIUM ECONOMY

British Airways offers a premium economy cabin on their long haul / widebody aircraft, branded as World Traveller Plus. With the exception of the larger seat, the onboard service and product varies little to the standard long haul Economy class.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 38 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 18.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

ECONOMY CLASS

British Airways has been reducing economy class standards recently and now charge for all food and beverages on short haul services. Further cuts are expected to their long haul product standards. The cabins are branded as World Traveller for long haul, and EuroTraveller for short haul.

LONG HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 29-30 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
Complimentary meal / beverages