British Airways

Seat Reviews


4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 181 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"A320 seats were unacceptable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The new A320 seats were unacceptable. Very hard and slim, no padded area, no head rest, no back support. The angle is quite strange, with a small seat base and I spent the journey in pain and in cramped conditions. May be tolerable for a very short flight but having to seat there for more than two hours is torture. There are virtually no arm rests.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"poor for up to 4 hours long"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | British Airways have fitted out their A321 Neo with 15 rows of regular 3x3 seats at the front and then the rest of the seats are a new slim line design, similar to easyjet. The seat pitch is around 31 inch which is fine for short haul, however the new seat does not recline and features thin cushions for the seat and back rest. There is no lumber support! The seat work great for a flight that is an hour long, Kind of OK for 2 hours and poor for up to 4 hours long.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA321Neo
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
4/10

"disappointed with the economy seats"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I was very disappointed with the economy seats on the Boeing 787-9, I was in seat 33C, having not flown long haul for several years, the last time being on Malaysia 747, I felt for a flight of 13 hours the seat pitch and width were totally inadequate. 31inch seat pitch that seemed much tighter and 17.5 inch width. Luckily my seat did not have the IFE box under the seat in front as this robs passengers of further legroom. The recline was ok on the seat and the adjustable headrest could be quite comfortable if there was just another 2 inches of legroom. When the seat in front is reclined however the IFE screen is in your face. Choice of IFE was however very good. The headphone socket in the arm of the seat is very easily damaged due to the location and care is needed if the headphones are left plugged in when leaving your seat. I feel on any long haul flight the passengers in the window and center seat should be able to get out to use the bathroom without disturbing the other passengers in the row. Getting up and moving around the economy cabin is a bit tight too as the aisles are very narrow.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-9
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"The seat pitch is poor"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Had booked with Japan Airlines unaware that our return flight was actually a codeshare with BA. On the outward JAL flight, the economy cabin seat pitch was decent so plenty of leg room. Also wherever they put the video boxes it wasn't under the seats so plenty of room to move your legs about under the seat. The return flight on BA (787) was a different story. The seat pitch is poor so my knees were practically touching the seat in front. Also, the boxes for the video are under a lot of the seats so a third of my meagre legroom under my seat was taken up by the video box. This makes for an extremely uncomfortable 12 hour flight and impossible to sleep as my legs jammed under the seat prevented me from reclining properly. JAL lets you book your seat when you make the booking. BA forces you to book no sooner than 24 hours before the flight (unless you pay them more money).
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
8/10

"Overall good seat"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seat 6D, isle seat. Seat was very comfortable with ample leg room while seated or laid flat. Several storage bins available so you could store your personal items. The controls were easy to use and understand. The drawback to this isle seat is the lack of privacy. In BA 787 layout you get one or the other but not both- Privacy or direct isle access. So if this was the overnight flight I wouldn't want such open access to the isle as it would be harder to sleep as people passed by. If you are going to plan to sleep the long flight you might want a window or center seat as they are closed to foot traffic. The other odd thing about the BA layout is you are looking face to face with the person next to you, not a big deal in our case as I was seated next to my travel partner. I will say that like other 787 I've flown, the interior is looking worn and a bit beat up with obvious damage. Overall good seat, good crew, and good flight.
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownMay 2019
Type Of TravellerLeisure
Sleep Comfort 12345
Sitting Comfort 12345
Seat/bed Width 12345
Seat/bed Length 12345
Seat Privacy 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"felt it was a waste of money"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Terrible seats in Premium economy, shabby, screen so dark you cannot see it, felt packed in. Not much different to economy. I felt it was a waste of money.
Seat TypePremium Economy
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"not what I expected"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Genuinely shocked at the legroom. It's not what I expected and I was disappointed to find my knees jammed up against the seat in front - and I'm 5ft 10ins. I like to think of BA as being a cut above the budget airlines for comfort and I'd be prepared to pay a little more for that. But, sadly, they seem to be going the same as everyone else and turning flying into a genuine hassle! Cabin staff were great.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
5/10

"good seat amenities"

(United States)

Trip Verified | A319 from London Heathrow to Edinburgh. Early morning flight. Sat right by the back, seat 23A. Poor legroom but bearable for a flight of only 55 mins. Food was available to buy onboard. Overall good seat amenities. A coat hook and adjustable head rest included.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA319
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
9/10

"most comfortable seats"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | One of the most comfortable seats on a European airline. Nothing to complain about for a short hall flight. You have seat space and good legroom. I’m 1.82mt tall and I find it very comfortable.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA321
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
10/10

"Extra leg room"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Another comfortable flight by British airways. Crew were very friendly. Seat 11F an exit row window seat. Extra leg room. Wider seat as the arm rest was on the window for emergency exit. They don't serve free on-board refreshments, but the items on sale was a good selection and easily transacted.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes

British Airways Photos

British Airways is the flag carrier of the United Kingdom, with its main hub being at London Heathrow Airport where it operates from Terminal 5 and Terminal 3. The airline also has substantial operations from Gatwick Airport. British Airways is a member of Onweworld alliance, and part of International Airlines Group (IAG).

FIRST CLASS

British Airways offers First Class on many long haul routes operated by widebody aircraft (Boeing 747-400, Boeing 777, Boeing 787 and the A380). Most aircraft have 14 flat-bed seats in First Class, and 8 seats on the Boeing 787-9.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

Branded as Club World for long haul and Club Europe for short haul services, British Airways was one of the pioneers of flat bed seats in long haul business class. The product is overdue an upgrade, with the seat layout on a Boeing 777 being 8-across in contrast to the more standard 4-across layout. British Airways Club Europe cabin uses a standard Economy class seat, with the middle of each 3-across section left empty. British Airways charges business class customers to reserve seats for both long haul and short haul flights..

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
On demand dining
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
DiningComplimentary meal / snack

PREMIUM ECONOMY

British Airways offers a premium economy cabin on their long haul / widebody aircraft, branded as World Traveller Plus. With the exception of the larger seat, the onboard service and product varies little to the standard long haul Economy class.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 38 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 18.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

ECONOMY CLASS

British Airways has been reducing economy class standards recently and now charge for all food and beverages on short haul services. Further cuts are expected to their long haul product standards. The cabins are branded as World Traveller for long haul, and EuroTraveller for short haul.

LONG HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 29-30 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
Complimentary meal / beverages