British Airways

Seat Reviews


4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 178 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"The seat pitch is poor"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Had booked with Japan Airlines unaware that our return flight was actually a codeshare with BA. On the outward JAL flight, the economy cabin seat pitch was decent so plenty of leg room. Also wherever they put the video boxes it wasn't under the seats so plenty of room to move your legs about under the seat. The return flight on BA (787) was a different story. The seat pitch is poor so my knees were practically touching the seat in front. Also, the boxes for the video are under a lot of the seats so a third of my meagre legroom under my seat was taken up by the video box. This makes for an extremely uncomfortable 12 hour flight and impossible to sleep as my legs jammed under the seat prevented me from reclining properly. JAL lets you book your seat when you make the booking. BA forces you to book no sooner than 24 hours before the flight (unless you pay them more money).
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
8/10

"Overall good seat"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seat 6D, isle seat. Seat was very comfortable with ample leg room while seated or laid flat. Several storage bins available so you could store your personal items. The controls were easy to use and understand. The drawback to this isle seat is the lack of privacy. In BA 787 layout you get one or the other but not both- Privacy or direct isle access. So if this was the overnight flight I wouldn't want such open access to the isle as it would be harder to sleep as people passed by. If you are going to plan to sleep the long flight you might want a window or center seat as they are closed to foot traffic. The other odd thing about the BA layout is you are looking face to face with the person next to you, not a big deal in our case as I was seated next to my travel partner. I will say that like other 787 I've flown, the interior is looking worn and a bit beat up with obvious damage. Overall good seat, good crew, and good flight.
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownMay 2019
Type Of TravellerLeisure
Sleep Comfort 12345
Sitting Comfort 12345
Seat/bed Width 12345
Seat/bed Length 12345
Seat Privacy 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"felt it was a waste of money"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Terrible seats in Premium economy, shabby, screen so dark you cannot see it, felt packed in. Not much different to economy. I felt it was a waste of money.
Seat TypePremium Economy
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"not what I expected"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Genuinely shocked at the legroom. It's not what I expected and I was disappointed to find my knees jammed up against the seat in front - and I'm 5ft 10ins. I like to think of BA as being a cut above the budget airlines for comfort and I'd be prepared to pay a little more for that. But, sadly, they seem to be going the same as everyone else and turning flying into a genuine hassle! Cabin staff were great.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
5/10

"good seat amenities"

(United States)

Trip Verified | A319 from London Heathrow to Edinburgh. Early morning flight. Sat right by the back, seat 23A. Poor legroom but bearable for a flight of only 55 mins. Food was available to buy onboard. Overall good seat amenities. A coat hook and adjustable head rest included.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA319
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
9/10

"most comfortable seats"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | One of the most comfortable seats on a European airline. Nothing to complain about for a short hall flight. You have seat space and good legroom. I’m 1.82mt tall and I find it very comfortable.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA321
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
10/10

"Extra leg room"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Another comfortable flight by British airways. Crew were very friendly. Seat 11F an exit row window seat. Extra leg room. Wider seat as the arm rest was on the window for emergency exit. They don't serve free on-board refreshments, but the items on sale was a good selection and easily transacted.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
10/10

"Very good legroom"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This flight was exceptionally busy. But the flight was smooth both take off and during flight. 12F Exit row and window seat. Very good legroom, there was arm rest missing by the window that made the seat feel wider and a lot more comfortable. All in all a very good flight.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
10/10

"Good storage features"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Just got off a Boeing 777 from Madrid to London Heathrow. Very good flight. I was able to travel business class this time. The service was excellent. Seat 15A a Window seat. Very good view. Good storage features. The power socket was well placed. Foot rest was excellent and very comfortable. British Airways delivered another excellent in-flight service. Baggage handling at Heathrow Terminal 5 was excellent. My luggage was on the baggage carousel by the time I got through passport control.
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Sleep Comfort 12345
Sitting Comfort 12345
Seat/bed Width 12345
Seat/bed Length 12345
Seat Privacy 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
2/10

"seats not to latest standards"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | The Boeing 777 G-YMMR (9 yrs old) (BA2041) and G-YMMD (19 yrs old) (BA2040) we flew on between Gatwick and Cape Town have a seat configuration of 2-4-2 in Business Class. The seats are not to the latest standards in the industry. Seats feel tight and look tired and forget privacy. Passengers have no privacy except you have the window side seats as the dividers only provide little sense of privacy. But stepping over a passenger on the aisle seat is also not nice when the seat is flat. The IFE system is old with touch screen with poor quality screens which need to pressed really hard to make a selection. Further the content is not much or varied. The plus of flying BA Club World is just more legroom, not sitting in World Traveller or Premium Economy and more luggage allowance. BA Wifi is now also available. Otherwise I think BA Club World is overpriced for what you get. It is not an amazing experience. The staff was attentive on the way to CPT but not at all on the way back to LGW. Unfortunately BA staff has quite often that attitude that you are a burden to them like "what do you want from us". That is not acceptable. The food was ok and nothing special and does not rectify flying Club World.
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout2-4-2
Date FlownMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerLeisure
Sleep Comfort 12345
Sitting Comfort 12345
Seat/bed Width 12345
Seat/bed Length 12345
Seat Privacy 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no

British Airways Photos

British Airways is the flag carrier of the United Kingdom, with its main hub being at London Heathrow Airport where it operates from Terminal 5 and Terminal 3. The airline also has substantial operations from Gatwick Airport. British Airways is a member of Onweworld alliance, and part of International Airlines Group (IAG). Since 2016 British Airways has been implementing cost-cutting across many parts of the customer product, with the 4-Star Airline rating held by BA for many years under review.

FIRST CLASS

British Airways offers First Class on many long haul routes operated by widebody aircraft (Boeing 747-400, Boeing 777, Boeing 787 and the A380). Most aircraft have 14 flat-bed seats in First Class, and 8 seats on the Boeing 787-9.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

Branded as Club World for long haul and Club Europe for short haul services, British Airways was one of the pioneers of flat bed seats in long haul business class. The product is overdue an upgrade, with the seat layout on a Boeing 777 being 8-across in contrast to the more standard 4-across layout. British Airways Club Europe cabin uses a standard Economy class seat, with the middle of each 3-across section left empty. British Airways charges business class customers to reserve seats for both long haul and short haul flights..

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
On demand dining
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
DiningComplimentary meal / snack

PREMIUM ECONOMY

British Airways offers a premium economy cabin on their long haul / widebody aircraft, branded as World Traveller Plus. With the exception of the larger seat, the onboard service and product varies little to the standard long haul Economy class.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 38 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 18.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

ECONOMY CLASS

British Airways has been reducing economy class standards recently and now charge for all food and beverages on short haul services. Further cuts are expected to their long haul product standards. The cabins are branded as World Traveller for long haul, and EuroTraveller for short haul.

LONG HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 29-30 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
Complimentary meal / beverages