Air Canada

Seat Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 59 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"seats are very narrow"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | The most uncomfortable long haul flight I have been on. I was seated in row 38, an aisle seat on the Boeing 787-9. I am fairly close to average size (barely 6 feet tall and 185 pounds), so not tiny but neither am I a giant by any means. My knees were just about touching the seat in front of me, the seats are very narrow, and thankfully the passenger seated in the middle seat was not large but he did fill the seat and needed all his elbow room. The seats are very short, offering little or no support to the thighs. This adds to the discomfort, particularly on a long flight. I could not stretch both my legs out fully at all while seated. Trying to use some of the aisle is next to impossible due to the extremely narrow aisles. There is barely room for the refreshment carts to pass. I spent a great deal of time on the flight moving my arm and shoulder inwards as the carts and other passengers were passing and bumping into me and there was no space. Seat backs are very thin and offer no support either. Due to all the factors mentioned, I found sleep to be impossible. The passenger at the window seat managed about an hour's sleep but basically had the same complaint, and needed muscle relaxers for her back towards the end of the flight. Anyone getting out of their seats found it necessary to pull on the seat in front of them for balance and leverage. For relief, I got up to stand and stretch at the rear of the plane 3 times on the eastbound flight and 4 times on the westbound leg. Also, on the outbound flight, our connection was a little late so we went straight to board our London flight without buying snacks, etc. Be warned, we found out on board that in economy you cannot buy snacks. You have to content yourself with the dinner and continental breakfast and I think you get a very small bag of pretzels with a drink. Cabin is beautiful. The in-flight entertainment system was excellent, although some people were asking why wi-fi was not available. The selection of movies, TV programs, and interactive games was OK for me. In summary, I will do everything I possibly can to avoid using this aircraft again. If it even means connecting through another city, I will do it. Three days later, I am still feeling the effects.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-9
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownOctober 2018
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"seats extremely uncomfortable"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Boeing 787 seats are extremely uncomfortable. Seat padding is thin and you can feel it on your back. On the other hand seat pitch and width is too tight. Basically this aircraft was designed for 8 abreast but airlines have squeezed 3x3x3 adding an extra seat. Aisles are so narrow that you continuously get bumbled by trolleys/passengers. Avoid this aircraft and try to use Airbus 330/350 if possible, because fuselage is about a foot wider with same number of seats
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownOctober 2018
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
7/10

"choose seat due to extra legroom"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | This review is based on exit row 31 on the Boeing 787-8. I was in seat 31J from Vancouver to Brisbane, a nearly 15 hour flight. I specifically chose this seat due to the extra legroom it provided. On this particular flight it was $150 extra to select the seat as it is classified as preferred (not to be confused with premium economy). When we boarded the plane there was a small overhead bin above our row that was able to fit all of my and my partners bags (2 backpacks, a suit bag and a shopping bag of snacks) as we were unable to store anything for takeoff. I was expecting brief instructions from one of the flight attendants on how the emergency door worked as we were right beside it however this never happened, I assume because there was a flight attendant jump seat facing us on the other side of the exit. Once the flight took off and the seatbelt sign was off we were able to get a few things from the overhead bin above and had no issues from the flight attendants storing the on the floor, we just made sure there were right against our seat so as to not block the emergency exit. The tray tables were in the armrests which made it difficult to get too if the person beside you was asleep with their arm on the opening. The entertainment screen was a folding arm below the armrest that swung up in front of you. For me it was not high enough and it did not quite sit centred in front of you which was slightly annoying.There were also 2 power supply outlets located on either side of the middle seat, nearly at the ground. I consider myself a tall with an average build (190cm 90kg, 6' 2" 200lb) but the seats were exceptionally comfortable compared to other economy seats. The recline was average and the moveable headrest was ideal for someone as tall as I am. With the new 787s the seats recline in a way where your seat moves forward slightly when you recline the back. I can see this being an issue when you already have limited legroom, but for this seat it was a nice touch as it seemed to be more comfortable than just the back reclining. The extra legroom was the true winner though. You basically had unlimited legroom as the next row of seats was about 1.5 to 2 meters away. I could stretch my legs out as much as I want and with the unique way the seats recline I believe it was the most comfortable you could be trying to sleep in a seated position. The biggest downside was that in the centre was the washrooms, one on each aisle. Although you could not smell anything for the duration of the flight, the door was quite loud when people let is slam. Also people would line up for the washroom in the area directly in front of you. At one point in the middle of a deep sleep a gentleman tripped over my legs as he was waiting in line and fell right on top of me! Other than that the flight went smoothly, I just put some earplugs in and that drowned out most of the people, children and washroom door slamming. I managed to get about 10 hours of sleep in 2 different periods, which made the 15 hour flight fly by.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-8
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownNovember 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
9/10

"seats do offer good recline"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Flight attendants aren't overly friendly, but they are helpful and attentive, walking up and down the aisles quite often. Aside from the in-flight meal, the cabin crew does come around with drinks and more complimentary snacks quite often. Because Air Canada use a 3x4x3 layout for their 777, seats may feel a bit cramped. This is particularly noticeable when you're trying to have your in-flight meals and you're bumping elbows with your neighbour (the food is good though, even for economy class standards). I consider myself to be average build for someone who is 5'8, and those seats were still reasonably comfortable. I would say however that for the seats on the middle-column, under-seat stowage is odd, since you only get 3 holes for 4 people to put their bags under, which means your neighbour's carry-on may encroach on your legroom. These seats do offer good recline, as the back reclines as the seat cushion slides forward. With the amount of leg room you get, this typically doesn't reduce your legroom dramatically enough to be uncomfortable. Seats are also quite plushy yet offer adequate back support, and the they offer an adjustable leather headrest. You will also find that throughout the flight, the new 777-300ERs feature the Boeing 787 mood-lighting which gradually changes colour throughout the flight. It looks cool and I did rest well on the flight, but there is a relationship between mood lighting and the quality of my rest has yet to be determined.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownNovember 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
4/10

"Seats extremely uncomfortable"

(Canada)

Verified Review | A330 seats are extremely uncomfortable. Airlines need to have a 'use-by' date on seat bottoms as older aircraft have seat bottoms which show a high degree of wear. It would seem a low cost to at least build in better cushioning in seats where the flights are 10 hours or more. Feels like some form of torture to make passengers sit in seats like this. A/V system is also very dated and laggy. Reinvest some of your profits in improved seats and a/V systems. Aisles ridiculously narrow.
Aircraft TypeA330
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownOctober 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"seats extraordinarily uncomfortable"

(United States)

Verified Review | I am 5'4" and normal weight. We were in row 30. We found the seats to be extraordinarily uncomfortable; little in the way of cushioning and no lumbar support. The seat pitch was terrible, they are too close together. I was unable to see or reach my belongings with my tray table down. This is particularly bad in the window seat. If you are on the aisle you can pull your belongings out to the side to reach them. If the seat in front of you is reclined it is in your face unless you recline yours too--creating a domino effect behind the first reclinee. We do not like the nickel and dime attitude of charging for seat selection ahead of time. On this flight from Portland OR to Toronto the charge is $45-46 for 'premium economy' (it did not look like seat pitch was noticeably better in these seats in front of the wing), and $21 for regular economy behind the wing. If you don't pay to choose a seat ahead of time, AC assigns you seats 24-hours ahead of flight time. Our seats were assigned by AC. We did get to sit together, but in row 30 out of 33. There is one toilet in economy class on this plane. The inside of the plane looked old and in need of minor repairs to seats and surrounds. Food and drink service was provided once at the beginning of the flight and once toward the end of the flight. Flight attendants were no-where to be seen between those times. (Probably serving in first class). USB ports at each seat, no AC outlet. Small screen on the back of the seat in front of you. A little high for me to comfortably view. But good movie selection. Under-seat storage was good, with no center divider to get in the way. Overhead bins were small, with just enough depth to accommodate a regulation size carry on placed sideways. Although we did get there and back without mishap, it felt like what I imagine it would be like to fly on Spirit Air. We will go out of our way to find an alternative carrier for our next trip to Toronto.
Aircraft TypeEmbraer E190
Seat Layout2x2
Date FlownOctober 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"horrible for big persons"

(France)

Verified Review | Boeing 767 is horrible for big persons. Absolutely no place for legs while 9 hours of flight and very unconfortable seats. No tv on seat, food of low quality and insufficient quantity. When linking to the internal flight at Montreal for Ottawa, the plane was 3 hours late with no explanation.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 767
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownAugust 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"seats are so tight"

(Canada)

Verified Review | New Boeing 787, seats are so tight with narrow pitch of 31 inch that it is terrible for long haul flights. Aisle are so tight that trolley barely passes.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownAugust 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"extremely uncomfortable "

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew premium economy Toronto to Sao Paolo. Seats extremely uncomfortable on long flights. The seat cushion tilts downward toward the front edge of the seat, so there is no thigh support and all your body weight lands on your tailbone, which becomes painful over a 9.5 hour flight. When the seat is reclined, you gradually slide forward off the seat and have to keep hoisting yourself back up. The headrest has no wings like in economy class, so your head can flop from side to side when you sleep unless you remembered to bring a neck cushion. Mine would not stay in the raised position, providing another source of constant frustration. Did not eat the dinner, but breakfast was a small plain omlet - I think the same as in regular economy. This flight was full and the crew were kept busy looking after the entire economy class section. There were sometimes queues for the single lavatory at the front of the premium economy section.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownJune 2017
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"seats are incredibly narrow"

(Canada)

Verified Review | The Boeing 777-300 economy seats are incredibly narrow that many people have shoulders touching their neighbors' shoulders all the time. It's even uncomfortable to turn your body during the flight worrying to wake the person up. Legroom is also not very good for a 186cm tall. Had to keep my legs open, especially when the person in front of me recline the seat. Entertainment system is good, but no good movies or documentaries for me to watch.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownMay 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1 to 10 of 59 Reviews