Ethiopian Airlines

Lounge Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Lounge Comfort 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms/Showers 12345
Internet/Wifi 12345
Staff Service 12345
Customer rating from 25 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"It is to be avoided"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Ethiopian Airlines lounge in Addis Ababa is nowhere near the level of other Star Alliance airline lounges. It is shabby, overcrowded, uncomfortable, and the bathrooms have few facilities and no showers. The internet is slow and the staff are so busy that they rarely smile. I have enjoyed my flights on Ethiopian Airlines. But the minute one hits Addis Ababa Airport and the Ethiopian Airlines lounge, everything falls apart. It is to be avoided.
AirportAddis Ababa Airport
Type Of LoungeBusiness Class
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Staff Service 12345
no
9/10

"unique lounge experience"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | I thought that this lounge was almost as good as the Thai Airways first class lounge, just with more people. The entrance made the lounge seem rather dingy, and the choice of font for the lounge entrance was not exactly that welcoming. The overall design of the lounge is weird. I get that Ethiopian seems to have three colour schemes, red, yellow and green corresponding to their logo, and this lounge was no exception. It had bright red and bright yellow sofas which were enough for the large banked capacity. They also had tables in front of them rather than the usual in between solo couches. The food selection here was something else. I was surprised by the eggs which are cooked in front of you, the unique coffee experience and the large array of food arranged in a restaurant-style buffet. These were incredible. Too bad the food on board is also as good, and I ate a bit too much! I would say that this lounge shone with the offering, but lacks the contemporary design modern lounges have. This lounge is not perfect, not the best, but definitely the most unique lounge experience I have ever had before. Would gladly visit again.
Lounge NameCloud Nine
AirportAddis Ababa Airport
Type Of LoungeBusiness Class
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Staff Service 12345
yes
2/10

"Design and comfort horrible"

(Brazil)

Trip Verified | On transit between my flight from Luanda I had to wait in ADD Ethiopian lounge. Expected the standard you have with regular 4 star airlines I was very disappointed. Food was good and traditional coffee services is excellent but except that services is more than poor. Newspaper limited. Design and comfort horrible. Nobody can expect such lounge for a 4 stars airlines!
AirportAddis Ababa Airport
Type Of LoungeBusiness Class
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Staff Service 12345
no
8/10

"Very pleasant lounge"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Ethiopian Airlines use the SAA Business Class lounge here. Very pleasant lounge, staff very friendly, good healthy food, nice drinks. And nice views over the tarmac!
AirportJohannesburg Airport
Type Of LoungeBusiness Class
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Staff Service 12345
yes
8/10

"Surprisingly nice lounge"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Surprisingly nice lounge, extremely large, especially in view of number of flights in Abidjan, but nice decoration and artworks from local artists, good choice of food and beverages (no self-service). Wifi good, without password
Lounge NameAeris
AirportAbidjan Airport
Type Of LoungeBusiness Class
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Staff Service 12345
yes
8/10

"relatively comfortable lounge"

(Oman)

Verified Review | Lounge was very crowded when we arrived in the early morning. Still relatively comfortable lounge seats were available. Especially considering the high occupancy, the lounge was pleasant. At the buffet, good food was regularly replenished by very attentive staff. Coffee etc. was excellent (espresso type but also the famous Ethiopian coffee made on request from fresh coffee beans). The bar was open but not interesting to me at this time of the day. The usual selection of newspapers was offered. Internet was rather on the slow side. Washrooms decent and clean.
Lounge NameCloud Nine Lounge T2
AirportAddis Ababa Airport
Type Of LoungeBusiness Class
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Staff Service 12345
yes
1/10

"was simply insufferable"

(Oman)

Verified Review | Watch out which terminal you are leaving from in Addis Ababa. Where T2 is decent and clean, the old Terminal 1 is a disgrace. It is reminiscent of a 1960s third-world market in the worst possible sense. This includes the business class lounge, which on our last visit in June was simply insufferable. One male toilet, flooded with water to about ankle high. Some plastic soft drink bottles and a cheap whiskey on a (plastic) table in the middle of the room, to be “enjoyed” in disposable plastic cups. The lounge was packed with people; finding a place to sit was a challenge. Nobody touched unidentifiable hot food in the corner, which had already developed a skin on top. Apart from the receptionist at the door, no staff was to be seen.
Lounge NameTerminal 1
AirportAddis Ababa Airport
Type Of LoungeBusiness Class
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
5/10

"get into an airconditioned room"

(Macedonia)

I believe this was the only lounge in Mombasa airport. I was able to use ith with my Ethiopian Airlines Business class ticket. Its not comparable to a European or international lounge but I was happy to get into an airconditioned room, because early afternoon at Mombasa airport is not a very pleasant experience. There is basic stuff like drinks and some sandwiches. I believe I was only able to connect to the internet for 15 min.
Lounge NameSafari VIP Lounge
AirportMombasa Airport
Type Of LoungeBusiness Class
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Staff Service 12345
yes
2/10

"not recommend to use"

(Swaziland)

There are two Ethiopian Airlines Cloud 9 lounges available for travelers to use. One for Star Alliance Gold and above members was the one that I used. The other is for the business class passengers. I went in to the lounge around 7:00am, it was already crowded. The cleanliness needs to be improved and maybe there were too many users but the quality of food wasn't satisfactory and even though the food stall was empty staff members of ET didn't seem to care to refill them quickly. The floor was dirty and the bathroom was dirty. Overall, I would not recommend to use the lounge if it is possible.
Lounge NameCloud 9
AirportAddis Ababa Airport
Type Of LoungeBusiness Class
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Staff Service 12345
no
7/10

"staff were all friendly "

(Myanmar)

A large, well maintained lounge. There appears to be two lounges in Addis Ababa- this was Lounge 2 - and though very busy, it was comfortable and clean. A good selection of hot and cold dishes were available as well as alcohol at the bar. Wifi was fast. The toilets were regularly cleaned, and were adequate. Staff were all friendly and helpful.
Lounge NameCloud 9
AirportAddis Ababa Airport
Type Of LoungeBusiness Class
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Staff Service 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 25 Reviews