Yangon Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 38 reviews
7/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"prompt and helpful assistance"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | I arrived at Yangon airport about 8.30am today (1 Dec 2018) and proceeded to be processed through security X-ray machines. I was in a hurry and thus quickly picked-up my luggage, but forgot and left my phone, wallet and spectacles behind. It must have been about 20 minutes later at the airline check-in when I realized my mistake. I was in panic and so backtraced my steps. However, I requested the wrong counter for my belongings. But the officers were very helpful and apologetic that they could not find my belongings. I then remembered the correct counter (near row D), and there the security officers were able to retrieve my belongings very quickly. I believe they had followed strict procedures and had kept my belongings safe while awaiting my return to claim them. After a simple verification, I have all my items returned in good order. I wish to thank security staff for their prompt and helpful assistance and making my return trip pleasant.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"There is plenty of signage"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This airport has undergone a transition from ugly duckling to something of a beautiful swan. Spacious, beautifully furnished, comfortable are just some of the words that come to mind. There is plenty of signage and even passengers on discount airlines are treated as if they are appreciated. Although it doesn't have a butterfly garden, I would compare this in ambiance to Singapore Changi, on a much smaller scale of course. Burmese charm is everywhere. The CIP lounges are spacious, well stocked, well staffed and offer a good selection of local and international snacks. I wish every airport in Asia was more like this one.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"very large and spacious"

(Brunei)

Not Verified | I have travelled to Yangon many times in the past and this was the first time I used the new airport extension. On arrival luggage has to go through baggage scanner (just like some airports in Middle East). Guests are also able to enter the airport too until immigration and passport control. The airport is very large and spacious, there are international branded shops and some that sell local products. The products in the convenience store were not over priced. The airport facilities are better than in some western European cities.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"undergone vast changes"

(Myanmar)

Trip Verified | This review is for Terminal 1. Terminal 2 is dramatically different. RGN has undergone vast changes during the last 10 years. There remain remnants of the underdeveloped facility that once was, but the outside world has arrived in Yangon, and at least as far as the airport is concerned, it is a good thing. Customs/Immigration at both arrival and departure is reasonably fast. On the absolute worst day, you might wait 30 minutes, but an average wait will be 10 minutes or less. Lines at check in counters move quickly, which is terrific. Departure lounges are a lot nicer than they once were. Now they sport clean, comfortable spaces, dependable WiFi, and food that works in a pinch. Restaurants in the airport are not great, but if you want a decent cup of coffee, some KFC, a Burger King something or other, you’ll be ok. Souvenir and duty free shops still have a long way to do. Alcohol and cigarettes are fairly priced. There are perennially empty luxury clothing brands without customers. There are a couple of small boutiques selling attractive textiles, carvings, local bath products, delicious local coffees, etc. Services are generally more than adequate in the pre-departure areas. There is a bag wrapping counter for flimsy luggage, convenience stores, plenty of seating, free WiFi, etc. Taxis downtown should be priced out before you leave. Money Change desks offer the exact same rate as all the other places in the country, so there’s no reason to hold on to your foreign currency. The airport is still a work in progress, but leaving and arriving in this amazing city is a lot less unpleasant than a few years back.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"airport is very clean"

(Myanmar)

Trip Verified | Yangon International Airport has 3 Terminals. 1 and 2 for International Flights and 3 for Domestic Flights. This is the review for Terminal 3 (Domestic). This Terminal 3 is a new build and many upgraded from the old terminal. The airport is very clean and you can find the check-in counter very easily. After check-in the 2nd floor is for departure and the 3rd floor is for lounges. The departure hall is very large and can buy goods and many restaurants which already open early morning 4:00 a.m. The gates numbers are easily to find.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"a relatively small airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | Yangon is a relatively small airport. It’s setup is strange in that you are required to pass through security just to access the check-in counters. Once in, it appears you can’t get back out, so if you’re there early, you have to wait in an area with no services and no WiFi until your counter is open. Air is circulated by fans only, so it gets pretty warm. They take security very seriously. Luggage is scanned three times, as are people. We flew out of T2, which has 5 gates, so lines were pretty much non-existent. Immigration took about 30 seconds. We used the Priority Pass Lounge, which was pretty sad and very cold, so we ventured out about half an hour before boarding. Shopping was sparse, as was food and beverage. Toilet facilities were basic, but generally clean. Gate services were good. I recommend it because it’s the only game in town.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"Airport vast and very clean"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Hugh brand new terminals both International and Domestic. Check in was the usual full baggage screening but the lines were not long. Once at check in again everything was easy, as we were a group of 7 our tour guide checked all the bags as we just sat and waited, all very efficient. Airport vast and very clean, once in departure lounge on upper level there were shops for snacks and good coffee or tea. Announcements made over loud speaker system but very difficult to understand.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"modern, clean and nice"

(Thailand)

Yangon Terminal 2 is very nice. It is not too large, immigration may be slow but they are friendly. Atmosphere is modern, clean and nice, including good restroom. Check in counter are totally empty at the time of my departure. Once can spend 5 minutes for check in process and wait at a few nice cafe they have, noted that you can't find anything to eat after passing immigration.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"a tale of two airports"

(United States)

Yangon is a tale of two airports - the modern international one and the substandard domestic one. The international airport is clean, modern, spacious and welcoming. Services are fine and lines are normally - not too long for check-in or immigration. The waiting lounges are spacious as well and pretty comfortable. There are a few places to eat but I cannot attest to their quality. There are several counters selling souvenirs, and though prices are certainly higher than in the city, there are still bargains, and bargaining is also possible. However, the domestic airport is a mess. It is dirty, dreary and uncomfortable. Baggage claim is a joke. All bags are dumped in the middle of the arrival room, and passengers are hounded by official looking porters who demand your bag tags and then overcharge you for dragging them out of the pile. Getting from the domestic to the international terminal can be challenging even though it is within walking distance. There is a lot of airport construction going on at the moment, so there is hope that the domestic side will be improved soon. There is also new international airport going up south of the city. Be forewarned that traffic in Yangon is bad, and you should plan to leave the city at least 3 hours before your flight between 9 AM and 6 PM.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"domestic airport is a scene of chaos"

(Australia)

The domestic airport is a scene of chaos. Around the terminal entrance the floor is littered with cardboard boxes. Getting to the airline counter is a wrestle all the way. At security they confiscate your cigarette lighter - not allowed. In departures there is a smoking room upstairs. Some people find that a lighter will get through security in your back pocket. Upstairs there is a lounge, it has wifi and a coffee machine, costs 5000 chats for session. Air conditioning in the domestic terminal is poor, but not unbearable.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 33 Reviews