Xiamen Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 17 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Flights are very often delayed"

(United States)

Actions speak alot. And to log in and post a review is alot to me. Anyways, the employees are severely understaffed for the amount of passengers there are. If you are departing from Xiamen, 50% you can expect them to fly a plane, halfway turn back and tell you theres a weather issue, then take the entire passengers on 4 busses to a hotel whom they promised us was free, then start charging the folks in the back of the line for a room. I paid for the hotel btw after employees suggested us to wait till the end. I did check the forecast for the city we were landing at and it was clear at 0% humidity with 1mph winds at 66 degrees fahrenheit. In my mind, there was an underlying motive for the delay. The airport, customs, wait line queues, incosistent boarding gate changes, and management are enough for me to choose a different place. Expect to jog or run or feel rushed when transferring. Flights are very often delayed. My rating is 4/10. You get what you pay for. This quote resonates deeply. Maybe I will mellow out with time because I am still shocked at my experience. But my 20hr flight turned into a 55 hour flight. So I could have reasons for writing a post. And I am sorry for sharing my experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"clean and modern"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was pleasantly surprised I didn't run into any issues the other reviews described. Yes, I did need to go through immigration again but there were absolutely no lines at 7pm on a Thursday. Every counter or checkpoint I went through whisked me through quickly and efficiently. I had plenty of time to sit down for dinner before my flight and check out some of the shops. The airport is clean and modern. Some of the seating areas at gates are not that comfortable (average), but some looked better.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"worst airport I’ve ever been to"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is the worst airport I’ve ever been to. I was only making a transfer back to my home country. Waited 2 hours to go one floor because they were too lazy to open the gates the the line of people going out the door. They separated my brother and I whom I was traveling with, so I had to explain we would like to be seated together. Then I was searched 2 extra times. The staff is extremely rude, racists (they hate Americans) and they also searched me as I was getting on the plane, although they already lifted my shirt up in front of everyone previously. If I had more time and I wasn’t just in transit, I would’ve complained then. But, honestly this airport doesn’t work. The atm they have was never available the two times I arrived in August and then again in November. They are poorly equipped and have a bad attitude.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Horrible airport"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Horrible airport with no options. Rude uncaring and pushy staff. No padded seating. Random bag searches aimed to make you buy a new ticket. NO wifi
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"the signage isn't helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Having read earlier reviews of Xiamen Airport, I wasn't looking forward to going there and changing from international to domestic. First, whatever the airline tells you at your point of departure, you will have to re-check your bags on to domestic flights, and vice versa from domestic to international. From international to domestic, the signage isn't helpful. After collecting your bags go upstairs to the domestic check in area and re-check your bag at the transfer desk of your airline. Transferring from domestic to international, if the international check in section isn't open you just have to hang around until they open the doors. There are plenty of cafes and noodle bars. Once through the security screening go to the check in desk for your airline and re-check your bag in. In fact, at my point of departure (Changsha) they managed to check my bags through to Amsterdam but when I went to the check in desk to pick up my boarding pass for the next leg, there was my bag waiting for me to check it in. Apart from all that the airport is spacious and pleasant. Lots of shops and cafes. All the people I approached for assistance spoke good English.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"nothing to kill time"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | I knew that Xiamen is known for being not so passenger friendly when it comes to transfering and long stayovers. I read that most of the time they won't transfer your bag onwards, meaning that you would have to go through customs and claim your bag on landside. Knowing that, I was pleasantly surprised that there was ground staff waiting for all transfering passengers at the arrival gate where my KLM flight rolled in to. They guided me all the way through security and told me that I wouldn't have to reclaim my bag at first but in the end thay said I needed to. The airport itself is quite clean and has a simple layout, although I had only seen terminal 4 (int'l flights). All the signs were in english too. So from then on it was playing the waiting game. I must say that that the amount of shops and only 1 cafe wasn't to nice. Nothing to kill time unless trying something to eat. Only staff at the gate could speak proper English. I was surprised by the drinking water fountains to be found everywhere on the airport. After waiting for 10 hours was able to check in for my flight to Sydney. Once boarding commenced there was a problem with a lot of carry on bags, so that took a while. After boarding was finished everything was ready to go until the captain made an announcement that we were going to be delayed by almost an hour due to traffic. Once the flight departed it was a pleasant journey onwards to Sydney, where we arrived on time.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"no buzz whatsoever"

(Netherlands)

A medium size airport. Clean and tidy, but very quiet. No buzz whatsoever. Not too many shops/food joints too. I was on a transit on my flight to Taipei and back. As the airline I flew with, didn't checkt through my luggage, I need to collect my checked luggage and checked in again. The Chinese immigration works efficiently but still a lot of paperwork and a long queue for the (transiting) passengers. The security checks still have old school metal detector ports and x-ray machines.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

Xiamen Airport customer review

(Australia)

Arrived at 1am after a heavily delayed flight from Lanzhou. Our gate was the furthest from the baggage hall in the new Terminal 4. After a long walk and a quick visit to the immaculately clean toilets, I collected my bags in a reasonable time. Naturally most of the shops were closed at this time and many passengers were sleeping in the arrivals hall on most of the benches. There was no line at all for the taxis, so I was able to quickly get away.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

Xiamen Airport customer review

(Australia)

Beautiful airport. Navigation wasn't the best lots of basics missing. But pretty good in general.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
7/10

Xiamen Airport customer review

(Israel)

Flights: NNG-XMN XMN-NIG. Little bit loaded (like all airports in China) incoming flight very efficient arrangements even if getting off the plane was by bus. Collecting luggage was fast and efficient going out -very fast. Outgoing on morning flight also very efficient very clear info. Very good shops for Chinese goods. Toilets were a bit unclean.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 17 Reviews