Washington Dulles Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 201 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"5.5 hour wait through customs"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | A lot of us poor passengers arriving on international flights at Dulles Washington DC airport late endured a 5.5 hour wait to be cleared through customs, no explanation or apologies for the inconvenience, it was quite traumatic to say the least. I feel not a good way to treat visitors, there was 3 of us from Australia travelling together. Very unhappy.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
3/10

"staff lost motivation"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | For international arrival it is just one helluva bad airport. For departure and domestic okay. Bad organized with a staff that seems having lost motivation for work. Customers are suffering. IAD seems to tell the same story as public transportation in the US, just neglected tragedy. Hearing tom Waits singing "see you tonight in the downtown train". so sad! In contradiction for departure is one very serious airport. I enjoyed it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Passport Control situation unconscionable"

(United States)

Not Verified | Flew back from Madrid to Dulles. Passport Control situation unconscionable. 4 agents open to handle over 300 passengers. If "facial recognition" is going to be used - instead of machine verification - certainly ought to be more than 4 stations open. I generally avoid Dulles, the cattle cars used to transport passengers from terminal to terminal point to what a poorly designed airport this is and the long wait at Passport Control is a waste of my time.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"embarrassing and shameful"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Terrible wait time at immigration. Was there to pick up my family visitors and we spent 4.5 hours waiting! There were hundreds travellers waiting to pass immigration and they had only a handful officers on duty. Four and half hours! What kind of the third world country are we? This is embarrassing and shameful. Yes, there were a few flights that came at the same time, but this situation is predictable, and the managers failed terribly to adapt and adjust. Not an excuse. Somebody needs to be fired!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"has made major improvements"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Washington-Dulles continues to improve both the departure and arrival experience. The TSA security checkpoint is large and efficient and a breeze to get through. On arrival upon landing my family were through immigration, had collected our luggage, and through customs in less than an hour. This is largely due to using the Mobile Passport app which any US citizen must have while traveling abroad. But Washington-Dulles has made major improvements over the past years and it has shown. Now if only they could finally retire the mobile lounges.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"it is definitely one of the better ones"

(United States)

Not Verified | Their TSA Pre-Check and Global Entry lanes are always clear. I rarely have to wait 15 minutes or more to get through security and I have yet to go through passport control where there isn't a kiosk free to use for Global Entry. Terminal A and B are the best (modern and open). C and D are the worst (dark and cramped). The AeroTrain is great and only had an issue with it once while it was undergoing maintenance. If you are an international arrival it will suck (sorry!). You have to take one of the "mobile lounges" (a weird bus) to passport control which takes some time and is usually crammed with people. You will also have to take a mobile lounge to get to Terminal D if you don't want to walk from C. Priority Pass lounges are great, my favorite is the Turkish Airways Business Class lounge in B. It is rarely busy during the morning but can get a bit busy during international departures. Their WiFi was fast enough to stream movies. For a U.S. airport, it is definitely one of the better ones.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"arrogant and unfriendly"

(United States)

Not Verified | It took me 2 hours to get through customs. This is by far the worst airport I have ever been too. The staff that are supposed to direct the proper lines had no clue of what they were doing. Furthermore, they were arrogant and unfriendly. I would not recommend this airport to anyone.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it took three hours to get through"

(United States)

Not Verified | Fly to Europe and have guests flying on from abroad average of 1 time a month through Dulles. Last time was Wednesday 7/26. Lines for customs went all the way up the escalators. For people living in the US with a visa, there were 2 booths open. In the end it took three hours to get through customs. Have contacted IAD about this several times, nothing changes. It is an insane situation.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"unreasonable wait time"

(United States)

Trip Verified | As usual, an unreasonable wait time to go though the arrival process, on 2 (two) manned booths for the visitors queue, a no-brainer considering the queue is 200+ people long.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a terrible experience to come back to"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I travel regularly for work, and Dulles is a terrible experience to come back to, every single time I arrive. Extremely long queues, majority of booths are unmanned (regardless of the hour of the day), leading to multiple-hour waits, always. The airport and facilites are nice, but it is all ruined by the wait.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no