Washington Dulles Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 195 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"No urgency, no accountability, no interest"

(United States)

Not Verified | Although luggage delivery has been much improved over the years - and not surprisingly was very quick for the lightly used flight I was on (UA107 from Munich had 35ish passengers in the 787), CBP continues to perform poorly! It took me (US citizen) almost 90 minutes to clear immigration. There were at most 5 booths manned and for what felt like 20 minutes zero booths were staffed. Especially when comparing the immigration line to the efficient process of German passport control for citizens of the EU, one feels like a felon returning to a third world country: standing around waiting for the whims of uniformed personnel that stand around behind the booths chatting or staring at their monitor while not processing travellers. No urgency, no accountability, no interest!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"An embarrassment to America"

(United States)

Trip Verified | “A third world hellhole” as a news outlet called Dulles is an accurate description. It is filthy. The employees resent travelers, many don’t speak English. TSA are utterly incompetent with jaded attitudes. I will pay a lot of money and waste a lot of time in the future to avoid them like the plague. An embarrassment to America.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This airport is a national embarrassment"

(United States)

Not Verified | Dulles is a horrible airport! It is amazing to me that in one of the busiest regions in the Nation nothing has been done at this airport to address the remarkable and ridiculous sprawl, the unreal security lines for domestic travel, the terrible, inefficient busing system, the terrible service, and the totally inadequate train system. This airport is a national embarrassment!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Dulles gets the job done"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Traveling through Dulles now the past couple of years, as it is my primary international airport in Washington, has been pretty consistent. On average it takes me under an hour from check in to the gate, and under an hour on return from immigration to the arrivals curb outside. The TSA officers are efficient on departure, and the return of Mobile Passport is a godsend for immigration on returns. The main problems basically were the management of the mobile passport and Global Entry lines at immigration and of course the dreaded mobile lounges one has to take to immigration. But overall Dulles gets the job done.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Simply appalling"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Simply appalling. Arrived about 9pm ex LHR, 3 officers on the international side initially, reduced to 2 part way through. We were there at least 1.5 hours and we were at the front of the line off our plane. Those behind must have been there at least 2.5 hrs. US public infrastructure is so often very poor. Pick another spot to enter if possible.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Zero compassion, zero kindness"

(United States)

Not Verified | I was coming back from my mother's funeral in Europe. The emigration officer was very kind to me and expressed his sympathy. Unfortunately, the baggage control officer behaved quite opposite. He treated me as a smuggler or someone like that. Took me to the side to check my luggage, flipping over all my clothes. Zero compassion, zero kindness. As a religious minister I serve the country for 20 years but yesterday I was treated like an enemy.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"little or no organisation"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Took 2 hours to get through passport control on a Sunday evening, when there were just 5 or 6 immigration officers on duty. Some of them just sat around chatting amongst themselves, then disappeared. Ridiculously under-staffed considering there were well over 1000 passengers in the arrivals hall, which was poorly managed, with little or no organisation. Two elderly ladies in wheelchairs had apparently just been abandoned by airport staff in the queue, with no-staff available to assist them to actually reach the immigration desks. If you’re flying into the US, suggest you plan to land elsewhere.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Terrible experience at Passport Control"

(United States)

Not Verified | Terrible experience at Passport Control. Insane that this problem has been going on for months (read other reviews) with no improvement. I got through in an hour because the kid managing the line made a mistake and put me through with the diplomats. Others waited for 2-3 hours. Part of the issue is the constant stream of airline personnel (pilots, attendants) being ushered to the head of the line. We'd see one crew take 20 minutes to finish, then here came another crew. As other reviewers have said, there were empty seats for more customs agents. Those agents that were there couldn't have cared less. I can't blame them. If management isn't working, why should they? I gotta find another airport for international travel.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Staff were indifferent"

(United States)

Not Verified | Horrible experience at passport control. 2 booths were open for most of the time. Waited almost 3 hours to get through. Staff were indifferent. I was embarrassed to be an American by the lack of respect for everyone’s time.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"It was disgusting"

(United States)

Not Verified | The ticketing/boarding agent prior to our boarding was the most unprofessional human I’ve ever seen. He yelled at an elderly women for not knowing what group she was to board. I spoke up and said you are being extremely rude and he yelled at me by saying he wasn’t being rude. We were the ones in the wrong. It was insane! He literally kept arguing with us! I have flown a lot in the last few years and I have never had an experience even remotely similar to that. It was awful! He owes that sweet elderly woman and myself an apology! It was disgusting!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no