Washington Dulles Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 205 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"unacceptable in the 21st century"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I support the many critical comments on the passport control at immigration via Dulles. Previously we have come through fairly quickly by using the automated terminals but these have disappeared. Why is this? The effect is that large numbers of passengers are handled by a handful of staff. US residents get better treatment than foreigners, but not much. We came through on a quiet night so only waited an hour or so but even this is unacceptable in the 21st century.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

"an embarrassment to the Nation"

(United States)

Not Verified | Dulles International Airport is an embarrassment to the Nation! I arrived on an A380, the largest airline in the World that carries 500+ passengers and crew members on a 14 hour flight from Dubai to Washington. Upon arrival, we had to board a bus-like car which took us to the arrival terminal. The drivers of these buses are invariably rude and the condition inside the buses are poor. That is definitely not the worst of it! Once we arrived at Customs and Immigration, to our utter dismay there was only one Passport Officer to service all these passengers. After a grueling 14-hour flight this is something you do not want to experience! After what seemed like eternity, we noticed a Supervisor pacing back and forth trying to figure out what to do! A tad too late buddy, did you not know or care to check on the flight schedule for that particular day/morning? What a pathetic situation to say the least! Finally, they opened up the Global Entry where 3 officers were on duty. After 2-hours in line for a 2-minute Passport Control check, we were glad to be out of my misery!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Very disappointing experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | The bathrooms are dirty and the doors are either broken or don’t have hooks to hang your coat or purse. The Air France Lounge was out of service. It would have been helpful upon check-in to have been notified of this and offer a share with a code share Lounge such as Virgin Atlantic. Very disappointing experience. Also, I tried to charge my phone at three different charging stations, and none of them worked. Ended up charging it in the bathroom.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"not good at all"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The customer service on this airport is the worse I have experienced, from when my mom and I landed, the lady that pushed my mother on the wheel chair demanded a better tip, after my mom gave her $5 she insisted that it was too little and wouldn't leave. After that we ask help trying to get out of the airport and no one could just tell us a simple you going the right way, thank goodness it is very easy to get around airport. The people at the stores didn't even say hello or thank you. Anyway, the service is not good at all and I am still annoyed from the lady demanding a tip.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"5.5 hour wait through customs"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | A lot of us poor passengers arriving on international flights at Dulles Washington DC airport late endured a 5.5 hour wait to be cleared through customs, no explanation or apologies for the inconvenience, it was quite traumatic to say the least. I feel not a good way to treat visitors, there was 3 of us from Australia travelling together. Very unhappy.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
3/10

"staff lost motivation"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | For international arrival it is just one helluva bad airport. For departure and domestic okay. Bad organized with a staff that seems having lost motivation for work. Customers are suffering. IAD seems to tell the same story as public transportation in the US, just neglected tragedy. Hearing tom Waits singing "see you tonight in the downtown train". so sad! In contradiction for departure is one very serious airport. I enjoyed it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Passport Control situation unconscionable"

(United States)

Not Verified | Flew back from Madrid to Dulles. Passport Control situation unconscionable. 4 agents open to handle over 300 passengers. If "facial recognition" is going to be used - instead of machine verification - certainly ought to be more than 4 stations open. I generally avoid Dulles, the cattle cars used to transport passengers from terminal to terminal point to what a poorly designed airport this is and the long wait at Passport Control is a waste of my time.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"embarrassing and shameful"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Terrible wait time at immigration. Was there to pick up my family visitors and we spent 4.5 hours waiting! There were hundreds travellers waiting to pass immigration and they had only a handful officers on duty. Four and half hours! What kind of the third world country are we? This is embarrassing and shameful. Yes, there were a few flights that came at the same time, but this situation is predictable, and the managers failed terribly to adapt and adjust. Not an excuse. Somebody needs to be fired!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"has made major improvements"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Washington-Dulles continues to improve both the departure and arrival experience. The TSA security checkpoint is large and efficient and a breeze to get through. On arrival upon landing my family were through immigration, had collected our luggage, and through customs in less than an hour. This is largely due to using the Mobile Passport app which any US citizen must have while traveling abroad. But Washington-Dulles has made major improvements over the past years and it has shown. Now if only they could finally retire the mobile lounges.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"it is definitely one of the better ones"

(United States)

Not Verified | Their TSA Pre-Check and Global Entry lanes are always clear. I rarely have to wait 15 minutes or more to get through security and I have yet to go through passport control where there isn't a kiosk free to use for Global Entry. Terminal A and B are the best (modern and open). C and D are the worst (dark and cramped). The AeroTrain is great and only had an issue with it once while it was undergoing maintenance. If you are an international arrival it will suck (sorry!). You have to take one of the "mobile lounges" (a weird bus) to passport control which takes some time and is usually crammed with people. You will also have to take a mobile lounge to get to Terminal D if you don't want to walk from C. Priority Pass lounges are great, my favorite is the Turkish Airways Business Class lounge in B. It is rarely busy during the morning but can get a bit busy during international departures. Their WiFi was fast enough to stream movies. For a U.S. airport, it is definitely one of the better ones.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes