Washington Dulles Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 190 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"Zero compassion, zero kindness"

(United States)

Not Verified | I was coming back from my mother's funeral in Europe. The emigration officer was very kind to me and expressed his sympathy. Unfortunately, the baggage control officer behaved quite opposite. He treated me as a smuggler or someone like that. Took me to the side to check my luggage, flipping over all my clothes. Zero compassion, zero kindness. As a religious minister I serve the country for 20 years but yesterday I was treated like an enemy.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"little or no organisation"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Took 2 hours to get through passport control on a Sunday evening, when there were just 5 or 6 immigration officers on duty. Some of them just sat around chatting amongst themselves, then disappeared. Ridiculously under-staffed considering there were well over 1000 passengers in the arrivals hall, which was poorly managed, with little or no organisation. Two elderly ladies in wheelchairs had apparently just been abandoned by airport staff in the queue, with no-staff available to assist them to actually reach the immigration desks. If you’re flying into the US, suggest you plan to land elsewhere.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Terrible experience at Passport Control"

(United States)

Not Verified | Terrible experience at Passport Control. Insane that this problem has been going on for months (read other reviews) with no improvement. I got through in an hour because the kid managing the line made a mistake and put me through with the diplomats. Others waited for 2-3 hours. Part of the issue is the constant stream of airline personnel (pilots, attendants) being ushered to the head of the line. We'd see one crew take 20 minutes to finish, then here came another crew. As other reviewers have said, there were empty seats for more customs agents. Those agents that were there couldn't have cared less. I can't blame them. If management isn't working, why should they? I gotta find another airport for international travel.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Staff were indifferent"

(United States)

Not Verified | Horrible experience at passport control. 2 booths were open for most of the time. Waited almost 3 hours to get through. Staff were indifferent. I was embarrassed to be an American by the lack of respect for everyone’s time.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"It was disgusting"

(United States)

Not Verified | The ticketing/boarding agent prior to our boarding was the most unprofessional human I’ve ever seen. He yelled at an elderly women for not knowing what group she was to board. I spoke up and said you are being extremely rude and he yelled at me by saying he wasn’t being rude. We were the ones in the wrong. It was insane! He literally kept arguing with us! I have flown a lot in the last few years and I have never had an experience even remotely similar to that. It was awful! He owes that sweet elderly woman and myself an apology! It was disgusting!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"badly operated airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | When I saw the bus on the tarmac I thought it was a joke I couldn’t believe that they do not only put us in an old dirty and noisy bus but also makes us wait until got full. I was traveling in business class and the chief flight attendant asked the bus driver if this bus will be only for biz class customers. Right? He answered. Nope. We will fill it out. After waiting and waiting we finally start moving and doing half a dozen stops on an active runway (not safe at all). Once at the terminal immigration officers were fine (I went through Global Entry). And the nightmare continues at the baggage claim where we waited for 45 minutes to get our “priority” bags. I will never fly again to that outdated and badly operated airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Only 3 to 6 screening agents"

(United States)

Not Verified | 90-120 minute wait to pass through customs for American passport/green card holders on Labor Day 2019. Only 3 to 6 screening agents were working on one of the busiest travel nights of the year, with at least half the booths designated for American passport/green card holders empty. An airport this poorly designed and inconvenient to downtown can’t afford to be so poorly run. Will pay extra to fly into BWI or DCA next time.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Badly designed airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | Very bad experience. Customs and immigration incredibly inefficient. Not enough space in the Concorde for the waiting travelers. Badly designed airport. Must create a terrible impression for tourists to the capital of the USA.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Antiquated, dated, unpleasant"

(United States)

Not Verified | This the worst airport for international travel. It took 2 hours to get through because they only had 6 people working! The nations capital and this is how we operate - how embarrassing and a joke. I travel internationally and this is by far the worst! Antiquated, dated, unpleasant!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Get more staff recruited"

(United States)

Not Verified | Wow. What an appalling entry experience to my new working life in the USA. Landed 1520. Entered arrivals hall 1552. It’s now 1712 and I’m so bored of waiting I thought I’d write this review to pass the queuing time! There are 3rd world airports in Africa which are better resourced and organized than Dulles. Get more staff recruited to cope with peak arrivals times. Get family-focused queue systems. Use more technology-based filtering systems. Mr Trump - You don’t need to spend money building a wall - just deploy the Dulles arrivals process to the Mexican border to deter anyone from coming to the USA!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no