Washington Dulles Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 170 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"A total shame"

(France)

Not Verified | A total shame. We had to wait 2h30 at the custom! We were not welcomed to the USA. The line was chaos with children crying, people angry. How can a country treat its visitors so badly.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"unnecessarily complicated and tedious"

(United States)

Not Verified | I've gone through this airport quite often over the years. They've changed their whole customs processing procedures which I found to be unnecessarily complicated and tedious. The customs agents were polite and friendly, but the change from the kiosks that most airports use to this new method seems counterproductive. I think that this change will entice travellers to go via other airports if their itinerary permits it. I also think that there are no actually good restaurants in this airport. We usually have a 3 hour layover and if you want a decent meal it is hard to get - why not have a Macaroni's or a good steak house. Lastly, the airport really looks run down and it is the main airport to our capital city.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the worst airport I've ever been to"

(United States)

Trip Verified | They killed Mobile Passport while promising much quicker passport control. Guess what, came from Belgium - huge line! This is in addition to their awkward mandatory bussing system of all international arrivals to the main terminal. In terms of arrivals this is the worst airport I've ever been to.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"dual experiences"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Washington Dulles is a airport with dual experiences, so this will be a two part review. If you are flying with any airline except United, you will have a great time. The terminal used for A and B gates are fantastic and feels like you are travelling through the political centre of the world. It's majestic and there is enough food and shopping to spare. Passport control is fast if you arrive at non rush hour and baggage claim is smooth (this goes for all terminals). If you are flying United from the C and D gates, don't get your hopes up to much. The gate area is old with carpets everywhere and feels like a British house in the 60's. There is some food and shopping, but not at the same level as the A and B gates. Check in at the airport is easy, but it's hard to find the airlines ticketing. If you flying anything but United: Use IAD If you are flying United: Avoid IAD
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"unacceptable in the 21st century"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I support the many critical comments on the passport control at immigration via Dulles. Previously we have come through fairly quickly by using the automated terminals but these have disappeared. Why is this? The effect is that large numbers of passengers are handled by a handful of staff. US residents get better treatment than foreigners, but not much. We came through on a quiet night so only waited an hour or so but even this is unacceptable in the 21st century.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

"an embarrassment to the Nation"

(United States)

Not Verified | Dulles International Airport is an embarrassment to the Nation! I arrived on an A380, the largest airline in the World that carries 500+ passengers and crew members on a 14 hour flight from Dubai to Washington. Upon arrival, we had to board a bus-like car which took us to the arrival terminal. The drivers of these buses are invariably rude and the condition inside the buses are poor. That is definitely not the worst of it! Once we arrived at Customs and Immigration, to our utter dismay there was only one Passport Officer to service all these passengers. After a grueling 14-hour flight this is something you do not want to experience! After what seemed like eternity, we noticed a Supervisor pacing back and forth trying to figure out what to do! A tad too late buddy, did you not know or care to check on the flight schedule for that particular day/morning? What a pathetic situation to say the least! Finally, they opened up the Global Entry where 3 officers were on duty. After 2-hours in line for a 2-minute Passport Control check, we were glad to be out of my misery!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Very disappointing experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | The bathrooms are dirty and the doors are either broken or don’t have hooks to hang your coat or purse. The Air France Lounge was out of service. It would have been helpful upon check-in to have been notified of this and offer a share with a code share Lounge such as Virgin Atlantic. Very disappointing experience. Also, I tried to charge my phone at three different charging stations, and none of them worked. Ended up charging it in the bathroom.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"not good at all"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The customer service on this airport is the worse I have experienced, from when my mom and I landed, the lady that pushed my mother on the wheel chair demanded a better tip, after my mom gave her $5 she insisted that it was too little and wouldn't leave. After that we ask help trying to get out of the airport and no one could just tell us a simple you going the right way, thank goodness it is very easy to get around airport. The people at the stores didn't even say hello or thank you. Anyway, the service is not good at all and I am still annoyed from the lady demanding a tip.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"5.5 hour wait through customs"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | A lot of us poor passengers arriving on international flights at Dulles Washington DC airport late endured a 5.5 hour wait to be cleared through customs, no explanation or apologies for the inconvenience, it was quite traumatic to say the least. I feel not a good way to treat visitors, there was 3 of us from Australia travelling together. Very unhappy.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
3/10

"staff lost motivation"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | For international arrival it is just one helluva bad airport. For departure and domestic okay. Bad organized with a staff that seems having lost motivation for work. Customers are suffering. IAD seems to tell the same story as public transportation in the US, just neglected tragedy. Hearing tom Waits singing "see you tonight in the downtown train". so sad! In contradiction for departure is one very serious airport. I enjoyed it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no