Vienna Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 213 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"People had to sit on the ground"

(Cyprus)

Not Verified | The D gates apron from which we departed was an abomination. No airside facilities and landside two very small cafes (basic) inadequate seating and a couple of shops like kiosks. People had to sit on the ground. Awful.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the most disorganised airport"

(Austria)

Not Verified | I have used Vienna airport for international flights, at least 8 times a year. I travel around the world, and I have to say Vienna is the most disorganised airport I have ever used. Even when my flights land sometimes it's up to 15 minutes before the gangway connects to the aircraft, and then one can expect a further 45 mins plus before you see your baggage! And please Vienna airport why no Christmas decorations up during the festive season. Has political correctness gone that bad?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Passenger unfriendly"

(Uzbekistan)

Trip Verified | Passenger unfriendly from the beginning - having my dog checked-in, to the last security clearance weighing my carry-on. While checking in my dog for the cargo hold, the employees at the airport's baggage department did not offer any assistance just, "do this and that and put the carrier here. And hey, give some water to the animal, we have no time filling up the water bowl." Whether they checked if the water during handling got spilled, I have no idea. With their attitude I doubt it very much. My own check-in procedure had been done fast yet without even asking my preferred sets. I got two boarding passes and that was it. I blame the desk employee - Austrian, though the airlines were Russian and they themselves usually handle this part and ask about the seating arrangements. Not this Austrian employee, though I objected. To no avail. There is no place to take a dog outside of the departure terminals unless one goes to a lower level of the terminals which are, by the way, narrow, over peopled and hard to navigate even without a dog. Elevators seems to be nearly non existent, and when they are, there are line-ups with stressed passengers. Shopping at Interspar was an other experience; I asked for a small paper bag since I was buying just three miniature boxes of famous nougat Ildefonso (they used to pack it previously into much larger boxes). There were small paper bags on the neighbouring cash register, but since it was unmanned, I could not have one. The reason given to me was that the cashier was away from her workstation, so no paper bag for my tiny items. All in all, I have been flying from Vienna for about five years now with fairly unchanged attitude of the airport employees during my departures or arrivals over the mentioned time. Not helpful, formal, never pleasant, not flexible at all.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security was horrible"

(Slovenia)

Not Verified | Will never fly from Vienna again. I am a first time traveller on this airport, with no flying experience in general, and the main security was horrible to me. Unprofessional, rude and mean. I was traveling with my friend, as I said, unaware of the amount of how many liquids are allowed per person. The security lady yelled at me, for having too many liquids (I am a makeup artist) and I generally have a lot of cosmetics to take with me. I completely obeyed their rules and was even scared of how they behaved towards me. And to be honest, in the end, I am not denying my mistakes, as I said, I am a first time and inexperienced traveller. This could have been handled in a professional way. I don't even care about my makeup going to the trash bin, what angered me the most was their attitude towards my friend, who is very prone to panic attacks, she had the same experience as me, by my side that day, although when she went last time it was completely fine. My friend had a panic attack right there and then, and absolutely no one aided us from the security, I had to hug her and calm her down, I was so scared for her well being. 0 out of 10 stars. I have to fly to Greece once more from this airport, but this will be the last time. The only positive thing was the paramedics, that helped me calm her down.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid if possible"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | After checking boarding pass and passport you are taken to the duty free area before security. Any liquids you want to take on board therefore have to be sealed in a bag by the shop which you cannot open. After the gate was announced, we were refused entry through security until the previous flight was boarded. This is because the area after security is very small and so passengers for the next flight simply stand around the gate in a random fashion for an hour. Whenever anyone enquires as to if they can go through the gate, they are dismissed with rudeness and anger as though this was obvious. Boarding cards and passports are checked again simultaneously with security whilst you are trying to get your belongings together. Avoid if possible. Ruined the end of our visit.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Very convenient airport"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | Very convenient airport, clean and easy to navigate. Good airport lounge. Every procedure was quick, despite some turmoil at border control. The location of shops and toilets is optimized.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"such a mediocre quality airport"

(Austria)

Not Verified | I’ve been flying out Vienna Airport for the past few years now and I must say this is among the least Traveller-friendly airports I’ve been through. Although I still think that it can be much better but haven’t seen any progress so far, and this is an indication of the unwillingness to make any valuable improvements by the airport management. It’s sad that such a great city like Vienna has such a mediocre quality airport. Starting with the check-in desks which are cramped and always somehow chaotic, to the lack of terminal services, lack of food choices, lack of seating options, lack of restrooms, poor-equipped lounges, small gates that can’t accommodate all passengers at a one-given full flight. Definitely Vienna deserves a better flying hub but this surely require an efficient management of first port of entry to Austria. Wake up Vienna airport management.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not passenger friendly"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flying via this airport was a mistake which is not going to happen again. Not enough seats, you have to take a bus to most gates, bathrooms are small, not nearly enough places to buy food/drink. The airport seems to be disorganized and not passenger friendly. I had to climb down 5 flights of stairs just to get to my gate. There was no food/beverage service so I had climb back up to find a place to buy some water. Avoid this place unless you got a majorly good deal on your ticket.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"amazing lack of restrooms"

(United States)

Trip Verified | On the good side, the security screeners here are the fastest I’ve ever seen, while still being amazingly thorough. The airport itself is nothing amazing for shops and food. A few small places, but they get the job done. The worst is the amazing lack of restrooms. They have several, but they each only have a couple of stalls. Every single time I’ve flown through Vienna 6-9 times a year- there is a line of people filling the restrooms and along the outside waiting for a toilet-male and female. Today I watched a grown man have a melt down due to an “emergency”. I saw a similar incident a few months ago. Seriously-put some more toilets in.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"They were not interested and were quite rude"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I had booked assisted travel and arrived, as instructed, just over 2 hours before take off. I was directed to the Assisted Travel disk, which had a queue in front of it and nowhere to sit. I pointed out that I could not stand for long periods, which was why I had booked assisted travel in the first place. They were not interested and were quite rude. An airport employee, whom we approached for help in getting a wheelchair replied "I can't do that, I'm not in the wheelchair department". Fortunately, I was not alone and my partner went and got a wheelchair for me. We were in the queue for 30 minutes. I was seated, but my partner, who is 84, was standing and quite tired by the time we were dealt with. I have been travelling with assisted passage for some years now, due to health issues, and have never encountered such a stupid and uncaring system and attitude. By the time I was moved, we were taken straight through tot he Gate, where there were no refreshment facilities or shops other than a machine. I shall be avoiding Schwechat if at all possible in future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no