Vienna Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 233 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"least user-friendly airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | A very strange airport! No security until you reach the gate. So no relaxing! Having reached the gate and queued for 20 mins or so we started to go through security, about twenty people passed through only to have to come back out as they changed the gate! Absolute chaos. Security appeared to know nothing regarding gate changes the London flight and the Edinburgh flight had to swap over. Security staff very rude and unhelpful. You have to get through security with all its trappings with a little table to redress and put your stuff away certainly not quick or efficient. This has to be the least user-friendly airport I have ever had the misfortune to use!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one of the worst airports I visited"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | I travel quite a lot and must say that Vienna airport is one of the worst airports I visited. I usually travel through Vienna for transit purposes, I don't have many other options (would do so if I could). When transiting through Vienna airport one should prepare for some serious queuing, chaos, unprofessional staff, rudeness and total incompetence. Yesterday I bumped into two security checks after arrival due to the illogical setting/structure of the connecting terminals. This means: two times scanning the bags, opening the bags for fluids, taking laptop out and in etc. The queues are not organized, people push and randomly try to get a basket to put their stuff in. A lot of people are in a hurry trying to catch their connecting flights, but staff adds to the stress by showing incompetence (with some rudeness on the top). After the two checks reached terminal D which is basically a bus-boarding hall with limited seating, overcrowded, no place to eat or drink something (only some vending machines). Toilets were dirty, a big mess. Advice: avoid this airport when possible. Unbelievable that a nice city like Vienna has such a poor airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Awful airport"

(Thailand)

Not Verified | Awful airport. There is no sign to say connecting flights. At 9 pm information counter is closed. Confusing gates and way to go upstairs and downstairs. No help desk or anyone who cares or guides you to your destination. Never again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
3/10

"Worst system I have seen"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Nice shops and food places. Business business lounge is pretty basic, and you need to do the security check right before the gate (Each gate has its own security check) that means whatever you buy in the duty free area you can not open it from the sealed duty free bag. Can not take half used water bottle You bought for crazy high price or anything, otherwise you need to throw that away at the security gate. After the gate you locked in this basic waiting area only 1 or 2 vending machines and a toilet. There you wait an hour to get onto the plane. Worst system I have seen.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"it felt very safe and secure"

(Canada)

Not Verified | The airport was very organized and it felt very safe and secure. It had many gift shops that I got to experience all across the country. The only thing is the very long check in area where I did a lot of walking to find my airline.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
2/10

"Very poor experience!"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Stuck in a small and overcrowded boarding lounge for over an hour. They call you through security 1.5 hours ahead. The security is right at the gate so once you’re through you’re trapped with no access to shops, cafe, restaurants. Just a couple of vending machines. Very poor experience!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"What a shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | What a shambles. Turned up early to clear security and relax. Security is not until the gates. You have to wait until your gate is announced, even then, security didn't start for half an hour. Great city, but please sort your airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"unattractive, cold and boring"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | For a country as rich both in history and wealth I find the airport in Vienna very unattractive, cold and boring. Not a good representation of the beauty of the country or the City of Vienna. Sorry excuse of concrete architecture. Do not feel welcome there and will try avoid it as often as I can. Having been born in Austria but not lived there in 30 years, I feel ashamed when I travel there with friends. Hope to see an architectural upgrade at some point. At least the last time there was no more public smoking allowed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
9/10

"many places for a meal"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | When I was in the airport it was easy to find a seat to rest (some seats were leather and very comfortable), many places for a meal (tried Vienna schnitzel), snack or coffee. Airport was clean, staff friendly and helpful. I'm writing this review to say another thank you to airport police. After check-in, in the gate waiting area I realized I lost my winter coat. Inside the airport was warm enough but when boarding (was after 5 pm) I will need it. Lost and found office is at the other end of the airport, I did inspection already, had about 20 min before the boarding so contacted the airport police what to do. In 5 min came officer, wrote my information and said he will try to find it or the airport will send it by mail. In less than 10 min he found it. So thank you very much airport police for help.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"night time facilities non existent"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | Waiting between flights from UK to Tel Aviv, night time facilities non existent, there are seats but if you are not aware of them you wouldn't find them tucked away behind the closed restaurant. Gate opens at 4.00 so why are the staff so aggressive at the start of the day? Why is it that everything that went through x-ray in Liverpool and sanctioned as OK was then removed in Vienna? Why having gone through x-ray did they still feel the need to body search? I have no issue with that, but the aggressive and overly intimate attention is not called for, without notification. I asked for a name to speak to and was refused yet there is a customer survey stating exactly my concerns. Be warned.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no