Vienna Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 236 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Vienna airport has shown to be very ineffective"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | Vienna airport has shown to be very ineffective: - Long waiting time (1.5h) for EU passports. Effectively, the shift ended with the responsible asking the remaining passengers to go to the end of the next queue "all passports" - Unfortunately I lost a wallet with a phone. While the wallet has been given to me, for the phone I was forced to submit a claim and pay a fee of 20eur to get it back, only on the following Monday (I travelled on a Saturday). I don't think is common to have a price range for lost items. Additionally, the working hours 9am to 1pm only on weekdays are ridiculous.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"security check are unprofessional"

(Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Not Verified | Airport doesn't have phone chargers, almost all coffee shops are closed because of covid19. Ground staff and custom police are very polite and professional. If you are not sure where you have to go because airport is a bit confusing and directions are not clear, you can ask and they will assist you. Some employees on body and security check are unprofessional. They took my staff even It's les than 100ml and they were so rude to me, but other passengers were passing normally.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not a memorable experience"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | Antiquated airport, bad WiFi, very limited shopping and eating possibilities. Overall not a memorable experience, its best feature is its location, being close to so many European cities.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"easy to find your way"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | It´s easy to find your way at Vienna Airport, public areas look well maintained, walking distances are not too long. There should be some more seats at the gates. VIE AP has excellent train connections to the City center and express trains to many parts of Austria. Sometimes there are queues at the train ticket machines - online reservation of tickets is a good idea! There are sufficient parking facilities and two airport hotels in walking distance. Lounges offer a high standard with good food and a high variety of drinks and newspapers. Staff usually is very friendly - as long as you are friendly and polite, too. Queuing times at Check In depends on your airline and your ticket. Waiting times at security control are not very long except some holidays, but there are fast lanes which may be added to your ticket at many airlines. There are some steps of comfort at the terminals: the new F and G gates (mostly for Star Alliance) offer most comfort and separated levels for arrival and departure, while C and D gates are a bit older and will be updated soon. (A gates - for unknown reasons- are not existing, B gates currently are not in use) Customers using low fare airlines are offered less comfort, that means substandard Check In terminal 1a situated outside the main terminal area, less convenient security and longer walking distances - but these lower standards are required by low fare companies wishing to pay lower fees. Many customers regard differences in ground handling as well justified - those who are ready to pay more for their tickets expect even better ground handling.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"least user-friendly airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | A very strange airport! No security until you reach the gate. So no relaxing! Having reached the gate and queued for 20 mins or so we started to go through security, about twenty people passed through only to have to come back out as they changed the gate! Absolute chaos. Security appeared to know nothing regarding gate changes the London flight and the Edinburgh flight had to swap over. Security staff very rude and unhelpful. You have to get through security with all its trappings with a little table to redress and put your stuff away certainly not quick or efficient. This has to be the least user-friendly airport I have ever had the misfortune to use!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one of the worst airports I visited"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | I travel quite a lot and must say that Vienna airport is one of the worst airports I visited. I usually travel through Vienna for transit purposes, I don't have many other options (would do so if I could). When transiting through Vienna airport one should prepare for some serious queuing, chaos, unprofessional staff, rudeness and total incompetence. Yesterday I bumped into two security checks after arrival due to the illogical setting/structure of the connecting terminals. This means: two times scanning the bags, opening the bags for fluids, taking laptop out and in etc. The queues are not organized, people push and randomly try to get a basket to put their stuff in. A lot of people are in a hurry trying to catch their connecting flights, but staff adds to the stress by showing incompetence (with some rudeness on the top). After the two checks reached terminal D which is basically a bus-boarding hall with limited seating, overcrowded, no place to eat or drink something (only some vending machines). Toilets were dirty, a big mess. Advice: avoid this airport when possible. Unbelievable that a nice city like Vienna has such a poor airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Awful airport"

(Thailand)

Not Verified | Awful airport. There is no sign to say connecting flights. At 9 pm information counter is closed. Confusing gates and way to go upstairs and downstairs. No help desk or anyone who cares or guides you to your destination. Never again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
3/10

"Worst system I have seen"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Nice shops and food places. Business business lounge is pretty basic, and you need to do the security check right before the gate (Each gate has its own security check) that means whatever you buy in the duty free area you can not open it from the sealed duty free bag. Can not take half used water bottle You bought for crazy high price or anything, otherwise you need to throw that away at the security gate. After the gate you locked in this basic waiting area only 1 or 2 vending machines and a toilet. There you wait an hour to get onto the plane. Worst system I have seen.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"it felt very safe and secure"

(Canada)

Not Verified | The airport was very organized and it felt very safe and secure. It had many gift shops that I got to experience all across the country. The only thing is the very long check in area where I did a lot of walking to find my airline.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
2/10

"Very poor experience!"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Stuck in a small and overcrowded boarding lounge for over an hour. They call you through security 1.5 hours ahead. The security is right at the gate so once you’re through you’re trapped with no access to shops, cafe, restaurants. Just a couple of vending machines. Very poor experience!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no