Venice Marco Polo Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 108 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"Didn't like the airport"

(Brazil)

NotVerified | Venice to Shanghai via Dubai. Bathroom not very clean. Very wet. In security, there was only 1 working. It took a very long time to go through it. Didn't like the airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"absolute chaos, no co ordination"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | As many have said before me, absolute chaos, no co ordination. 100s of passengers crammed into a small space, having to push and climb over each other to get their departure gates. This lead to hot, stressed passengers, the airport staff seemed unable to deal with upset customers, and as such the staff responded with anger, Not kindness and understanding as would be expected. Reading the previous reviews, it appears to me the owners of the airport don’t care or they would have done something about this by now. Such a shame, Venice is a lovey city.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"utmost chaotic airports"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | This is one of the ùtmost chaotic airports in Europe and the counters where to check-in are announced rather late. Also difficult to obtain decent information, not enough chairs at all so even a lot of elderly people had to stand and wait. Check-in procedures are in general extremely slow. Must be said cleaning was done continuously. Shopping is not bad and comparing to other Italian airports not that expensive.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"this is the worst experience I have ever had"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Horrible, horrible, horrible. 2 people working passport control on a Saturday afternoon. Led to our flight being delayed and a missed connection. Firstly I’m leaving and on a Canadian passport. Why am I waiting in a line to leave the country? Secondly we had to line up for a bus which drove us out to the plane which results in no one loading by zones so instead of taking 1/2 hour it takes over an hour to load an Airbus 330. I travel all over the world and this is the worst experience I have ever had.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"What an awful end to a vacation"

(Canada)

Not Verified | As some others have noted, Venice Marco Polo is not a good airport. In July 2019 we had the same experience as some others, with no gate assignment until merely 75 minutes before, at which point it was too late to be processed through the very long and extremely slow customs control line. Individual adults from certain countries could go through a sort of fast-track camera system, but children were not allowed. This left my family in an unmoving line until our flight's "last call" was announced, at which point we battled our way to the front of the line. This budding means that no one gets through customs until it is their flight's last call. The last bus to the airplane was filled with crying children and stressed parents who had followed the airport's rules to the letter of the law. What an awful end to a vacation. Bizarre that security clearance takes 2 minutes while customs takes 40 times longer, that they needlessly conceal your gate number until it is too late, that they insist on inflicting particular psychological distress on every child that flies out of the airport, and most of all that they don't implement any easy fixes year after year. Won't be back.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This airport is complete chaos"

(France)

Trip Verified | Venice Marco Polo airport is by far the worst nightmare for any traveler, as much as I enjoyed the city, instead of leaving happy and full of memories we just leave full of anger. This airport is complete chaos, people are seated everywhere on the floor, almost all the flights are delayed (and this is the second time I have come here and it’s the same scenario). This is really not an airport for a such touristy place. I don’t think I will come back here ever again, just to avoid the same experience in the airport which really ruined all the magic of the city.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Venice is poorly served"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | For a city that is supposed to be a prime tourist destination, Venice is poorly served by Marco Polo airport. I arrived on March 24 2019 aboard a fully loaded (160+ passengers) Boeing 737-800. Upon arriving at Venice, the passengers (many of whom had mobility problems) were forced to walk down a steep stairway and then loaded onto to two buses. So, here we have two buses, passengers crammed in like sardines with nothing to hold on to except metal poles or overhead straps. The bus driver made an abrupt stop, throwing the majority of the passengers off balance. Some fell. I managed to hang on to the overhead strap but the person(s) behind me lost their balance and hit me hard in back. (I had a sore back for several days.) Passengers who required wheelchairs only received them after the bus had arrived at the gate. Shame on you, Marco Polo Airport. You're negligence will eventually lead to a major lawsuit and further disrepute for the airport, the city of Venice, and Italy itself.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"departing is a nightmare"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Worst airport in the world. For such an important tourist place, Venice needs a bigger, more organized, better staffed airport. Arriving and departing is a nightmare, there are 12 immigration booths but only 3 or 4 are staffed in the rush hours, and the staff simply don't care. There is no information, no help, no air conditioning, people are forced to queue outside at 40 degrees Celsius, and it is so disorganized, it's pure chaos. Departing is just as bad, don't bother checking online, they will force you to queue again (surprise!) and after you pass security you have to queue yet again for a passport control? The waiting rooms are cramped, poorly ventilated, extremely disorganized, as usual there are no signs or staff to help, and the whole experience feels worst than rush hour in the New York city subway. Avoid this airport if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"thoughtful and professional attention"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | On arrival at the airport my wife twisted her ankle, the flight attendant immediately organised a wheelchair and my wife was treated at the first aid station. After her treatment she was driven to the water taxi, advised where to attend hospital for x-ray and assisted on and off the taxi. I cant praise the staff enough for their thoughtful and professional attention, and contrary to popular belief when I offered the driver a tip he refused saying 'this is what we are here for', we went on to have a pleasant 3 day visit to Venice.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"an appallingly arranged system"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The airport was something else, I feel this is a flight I have done many times without problems. But on this occasion, returning from Venice. You go through security then into big concourse of lots of shops and practically no seating - obviously to kep you moving and purchasing. You cannot leave this, so inevitably you have to keep walking around. I think I counted about 20 non food purchasing seats. From this there are 3 exit areas leading off to 30 possible gates. You cannot leave this area until your flight gate is depicted on the screen. So this area is heaving. Our gate was announced - but astoninishly our Bristol flight checks were having to pass through the same 1 of the 3 exits as concurrent flights to Edinburgh, Canada and I think somewhere in Russia. So you have 3 definite flights (possibly 4) all trying to pass through 1 gate into another area - 300 on each flight = 900 (could be 1200) plus people through a gate. We queued for over an hour and after this time we saw a screen saying - gate closing for our flight. No one was coming around to extract people from the queue if their flight was closing. Jumping the queue was required, not particularly well accepted, understandably. Once through this gate there was a further queue - about 10 windows to check ID but 5 of these were closed. Another push to the electronic passport check - so slow for many of the checks, I think the people might have moved but it all had to restart. What an appallingly arranged system, utter shambles.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no