Venice Marco Polo Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 114 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"It's a shame, do better"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Covid is not a good reason to leave people stranded for hours in an airport with no water. Everything closes before 9 pm yet flights depart until midnight? Really? There is not even a water dispenser and the tap water is hot. The staff of the last bar to close are ready to refuse to sell you a bottle of water because "they have already closed 5 minutes ago", and you have to beg the border police to let you go out of the extra Schengen area only to receive such an answer. It's a shame, do better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"everything working well and efficiently"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I read so many horror stories about chaos at departures here that I fixed to arrive two and a half hours early. In reality I found everything working well and efficiently. Check-in took five minutes simply because a family in front of us were crazy people. Security took less than five minutes with many channels very well staffed to choose from. Passport control was automatic and took thirty seconds. The entire airport has been rebuilt over the last three or four years and that probably caused problems but, today at least, it was a dream. My only criticism is a serious lack of seating in the main waiting area before going through passport control - too many shops and not enough thought given to passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
3/10

"inadequate seating"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Extremely slow check-in with Lufthansa which took almost one hour and then another 40 mins to clear security. Had I not arrived more than two hours early I may have missed the flight. The check-in gate counter was not advertised until exactly 2 hours prior to flight. Lufthansa was not available for self-check-in. The wifi did not work. There is inadequate seating, signage is difficult (check-in is split over two levels ) and the boarding time and gate information are not displayed until the last minute either. You need to walk to a bus to get to the plane which was overcrowded and we needed to wait longer still. There is nowhere to refill water bottles after clearing security. Overall the plane departed an hour late.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very poor advert for Venice"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Chaotic airport on Check- In and on attempting to get through Passport Control. Queuing everywhere and no apparent order of getting people through Passport Control in good time for their flights. Had to queue for 40 minutes being funnelled through narrow passage between shops, and very nearly missed our flight, though in queue in very good time. Very poor advert for Venice and left bad taste in mouth after very good weekend break.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Lounge and seating crowded"

(Canada)

Not Verified | The worst. Airline staff ok, but the signs aren’t great and the service staff in the upstairs food area were terrible. The pasta was mediocre and overpriced (expected), but I couldn’t believe that the service lady skipped right over me even though I gave her my order, to serve the next lady in line. When I asked her why she served the other lady behind me first she shrugged and offered no apology or explanation. Disgustingly rude in an international airport. Lounge and seating crowded and small. Leaving today (aug 24, lunch approx 13h). Never coming back here again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Passport Control experience itself was terrible"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | When arriving at the airport, heading through to Passport Control was easy, but the Passport Control experience itself was terrible. Those who tried to use the e-Gates and could not get through pushed into the 'Other Passports' queue and the airport staff did not care. Also, even though nearly the whole room for Passport Control was full, they only had three desks open and there were more than three members of staff that were capable of checking passports, meaning they could have opened more desks. After Passport Control, though, the process was more or less seamless. When departing from the airport, the self check-in machines didn't even let me print off a luggage tag for the Bag Drop and I had to wait for a member of staff to man the desk. Going through security was swift but after going through, there was not that many things that you could do but wait. There also weren't many places that served breakfast food, which was not very good. Overall experience at this airport was not great.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Didn't like the airport"

(Brazil)

NotVerified | Venice to Shanghai via Dubai. Bathroom not very clean. Very wet. In security, there was only 1 working. It took a very long time to go through it. Didn't like the airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"absolute chaos, no co ordination"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | As many have said before me, absolute chaos, no co ordination. 100s of passengers crammed into a small space, having to push and climb over each other to get their departure gates. This lead to hot, stressed passengers, the airport staff seemed unable to deal with upset customers, and as such the staff responded with anger, Not kindness and understanding as would be expected. Reading the previous reviews, it appears to me the owners of the airport don’t care or they would have done something about this by now. Such a shame, Venice is a lovey city.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"utmost chaotic airports"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | This is one of the ùtmost chaotic airports in Europe and the counters where to check-in are announced rather late. Also difficult to obtain decent information, not enough chairs at all so even a lot of elderly people had to stand and wait. Check-in procedures are in general extremely slow. Must be said cleaning was done continuously. Shopping is not bad and comparing to other Italian airports not that expensive.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"this is the worst experience I have ever had"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Horrible, horrible, horrible. 2 people working passport control on a Saturday afternoon. Led to our flight being delayed and a missed connection. Firstly I’m leaving and on a Canadian passport. Why am I waiting in a line to leave the country? Secondly we had to line up for a bus which drove us out to the plane which results in no one loading by zones so instead of taking 1/2 hour it takes over an hour to load an Airbus 330. I travel all over the world and this is the worst experience I have ever had.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no