Venice Marco Polo Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 118 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"I needed to get a quick Covid test"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Venice Marco Polo gave me more problems than any airport I've ever seen and I travel a lot. The biggest issue was the fast covid testing. I showed up at the terminal 2 hours before takeoff and after a long wait at Lufthansa check in was told I needed to get a quick Covid test to travel. There was only 1 doctor working and 3 different lines to get through. End result, I wasn't back at the checkin desk for 1 1/4 hours. It was still 30 minutes before takeoff but the Lufthansa checkin crew had left already and I missed the flight and had to buy a new ticket. With a missing flight I tried to get a new one using the Marco Polo free Wifi. Big problem there, The wifi kept dropping my page loading whether on my phone or new laptop and this was with their "faster" wifi choice. This was at an airport that had hardly anyone flying for a couple of hours. That went on for almost 2 hours. Are reticketing counter. The Lufthansa rep said I could use "Are" Marco Polo's in-house reticketing office, to book a new flight. There was one person working there and 6 people waiting. Finally after 1 1/2 hours, I got to speak with him. By then I had already seen him tell 5 customers that he couldn't help them. When I told him I wanted to rebook a flight, he started researching. But kept talking to customers after me in line who had questions. This went on for 20 minutes. He only had one suggestion, an Italia Air flight. I asked if there was any other choices and he got mad at me. I said, OK, please book the flight. He said he couldn't do that. There were other folks waiting in line. But there was an Italia counter next door that could do it. So I spoke with them and explained the Are counter guy's flight booking suggestions. They had no such flight Marco Polo or Rome. In fact they said the guy wasn't reliable at all. She was helpful enough to point me to an Air France flight the next day. It was good advice. So I found a close-by hotel, one that had Wifi, and booked the flight there.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Long queues for no reason"

(Greece)

Not Verified | Employees were rude and unhelpful. Long queues for no reason, air-conditioning didn't seem to be working, On the plus side, airport was quite clean, employees spoke English and the food available was of good quality and not very expensive as one would expect.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a rather offensive and humiliating experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I was waiting on a check-in for a boarding pass, since I didn’t receive it after online check-in due to current regulations. The check-in agent let seven people for the same flight as mine cut the line and after I complained he told me that he won’t be issuing my boarding pass until I say “please”. I said I want to speak with his manager and he answered that I can do whatever I want in my country, but there are rules in Italy. He kept insisting I should say “please”. It was a rather offensive and humiliating experience. Regarding the airport itself - the signs could be better, it’s quite confusing to figure out how to get to departures. Some of the agents (the one which I had the above conversation with) were not wearing their masks at some points and nobody checked my PCR test result on entry in the country, which says enough about the “rules” the gentleman was talking about. Worst airport I have been at so far.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"annoyed to be doing their job"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | I don’t recommend travelling through Venice Marco Polo. Hardly any of the employees speak English, they are unhelpful, ignore you and seem annoyed to be doing their job. It’s a small and narrow airport, no shops or cafes or anything nice, very weird and sleepy vibes overall. The wifi did not work for me.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"It's a shame, do better"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Covid is not a good reason to leave people stranded for hours in an airport with no water. Everything closes before 9 pm yet flights depart until midnight? Really? There is not even a water dispenser and the tap water is hot. The staff of the last bar to close are ready to refuse to sell you a bottle of water because "they have already closed 5 minutes ago", and you have to beg the border police to let you go out of the extra Schengen area only to receive such an answer. It's a shame, do better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"everything working well and efficiently"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I read so many horror stories about chaos at departures here that I fixed to arrive two and a half hours early. In reality I found everything working well and efficiently. Check-in took five minutes simply because a family in front of us were crazy people. Security took less than five minutes with many channels very well staffed to choose from. Passport control was automatic and took thirty seconds. The entire airport has been rebuilt over the last three or four years and that probably caused problems but, today at least, it was a dream. My only criticism is a serious lack of seating in the main waiting area before going through passport control - too many shops and not enough thought given to passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
3/10

"inadequate seating"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Extremely slow check-in with Lufthansa which took almost one hour and then another 40 mins to clear security. Had I not arrived more than two hours early I may have missed the flight. The check-in gate counter was not advertised until exactly 2 hours prior to flight. Lufthansa was not available for self-check-in. The wifi did not work. There is inadequate seating, signage is difficult (check-in is split over two levels ) and the boarding time and gate information are not displayed until the last minute either. You need to walk to a bus to get to the plane which was overcrowded and we needed to wait longer still. There is nowhere to refill water bottles after clearing security. Overall the plane departed an hour late.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very poor advert for Venice"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Chaotic airport on Check- In and on attempting to get through Passport Control. Queuing everywhere and no apparent order of getting people through Passport Control in good time for their flights. Had to queue for 40 minutes being funnelled through narrow passage between shops, and very nearly missed our flight, though in queue in very good time. Very poor advert for Venice and left bad taste in mouth after very good weekend break.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Lounge and seating crowded"

(Canada)

Not Verified | The worst. Airline staff ok, but the signs aren’t great and the service staff in the upstairs food area were terrible. The pasta was mediocre and overpriced (expected), but I couldn’t believe that the service lady skipped right over me even though I gave her my order, to serve the next lady in line. When I asked her why she served the other lady behind me first she shrugged and offered no apology or explanation. Disgustingly rude in an international airport. Lounge and seating crowded and small. Leaving today (aug 24, lunch approx 13h). Never coming back here again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Passport Control experience itself was terrible"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | When arriving at the airport, heading through to Passport Control was easy, but the Passport Control experience itself was terrible. Those who tried to use the e-Gates and could not get through pushed into the 'Other Passports' queue and the airport staff did not care. Also, even though nearly the whole room for Passport Control was full, they only had three desks open and there were more than three members of staff that were capable of checking passports, meaning they could have opened more desks. After Passport Control, though, the process was more or less seamless. When departing from the airport, the self check-in machines didn't even let me print off a luggage tag for the Bag Drop and I had to wait for a member of staff to man the desk. Going through security was swift but after going through, there was not that many things that you could do but wait. There also weren't many places that served breakfast food, which was not very good. Overall experience at this airport was not great.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no