Tirana Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 18 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"one of the worst airports I have ever had to travel to"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This airport is one of the worst airports I have ever had to travel to. As far as airports go, its infrastructure is mediocre at best. However, what really makes this pathetic excuse of an airport stand out are the police and airport staff. They are unbelievably rude and arrogant! I have travelled to the US before which is infamous for having strict airport staff and security who take their attitude too far - however Tirana airport takes the crown here! Once we landed and were shepherded to the terminal, I was accosted by what looked like a teenager in civilian clothing who started finger calling me and frantically pointing over to the queues. When I asked him what he wants me to do, he simply replied (shouted) 'just go' and waved me over to Customs! Upon making my way over to border control, I greeted the Customs officer 'Good Evening' - no response. Grabbed my passport, scanned it, once done, he simply slammed it down on the desk in front of me and simply stared back at me. At this point, I did not know what to do. I politely asked him, 'Is there anything else I can help with', to which he simply responded with a very stern 'No - go'. After I retrieved my baggage (which took a very long time to arrive, giving that we were the only late night flight arriving), I noticed people being ushered towards a scanner by people in civilian clothing with a 'Police' badge dangling from their necks. Once approached by the alleged 'police officer' he asks for my passport again (again no polite communication, just very stern shouting and ordering), and proceeds to ask me me personal and intrusive questions about how much money I have, where I work, as well as very random and trivial questions about where my birth place is located, which I found to be very inappropriate and infuriating giving that such questions are meaningless and mean nothing in the picture of airport security. Once he was done, he simply flicked the passport back to me with no 'Thank You' or 'Have a good evening'. Overall, if you would like to know what its like to be a free, law abiding citizen, but treated like a criminal, this airport will provide that experience for you! And the worst thing about it is, you cannot even complain to anyone, nor is there any sort of medium to submit complaints. Vile place and awfully rude people!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"easy to navigate"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Clean, easy to navigate, reasonably priced for an international airport. weak wifi signal. Security staff not very polite. The airport was easy to access.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"experiences were smooth"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Visited Tirana on 12/12/18 and departed on 12/17/2018. Both the arrival and departure experiences were smooth. There was a slight delay at passport control on arrival as the scanner was not working at the booth where we presented our passports. This is a neat and bright medium sized airport. There is a lot of seating at the departure gates. There is a nice Business Lounge that we accessed through our Priority Pass card. The staff are friendly and professional. Check in was effortless. There is no online check in for TIA, so one has to check in at the counter. Wi-Fi is available however it appeared to be spotty. We did not have to wait very long for our luggage to arrive in baggage claim. There are no jet bridges at TIA. All passengers are bussed to and from the terminal to the aircraft.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"a better airport will be necessary"

(Hungary)

Trip Verified | I was disappointed. I knew that Albania is a not so developed country, but I expected that at least the airport would come up to European standards. I failed. Checkin and passport control were okay. Security very eagerly took the small bottle opener which was easily allowed at other airports. There are a few shops outside, so it is worth buying things and drinking there before security check, because inside there are only very limited facilities, and they do not accept credit/bank cards. All prices are displayed only in Euros, which is strange in a country where Lek is the official currency. Wi-fi was okay, I cannot complain about that. Travellers have no other option than this airport, so let's hope Albania will step on the road to modernity soon. If more tourists come, a better equipped airport will be necessary.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"WiFi free but non-existent"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Arrival was great with no queues and security quick and easy. Luggage arrived on carrousel very quickly. Departure less good with long queues at security and long waits. Fortunately plenty of seats in departure lounge. Not much to do in lounge and poor range of food outlets. WiFi free but non-existent and unable to connect.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"a neatly arranged, medium size airport"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Flew to and from TIA airport several times during the last years. Overall, a neatly arranged, medium size airport. Accessibility by taxi is easy and affordable. Staff are professional and friendly. Toilets are in good conditions and clean. When departing, there are only short ways between check-in, security check, passport control and gate; one can make it in less than 15 minutes. Upon arrival, you usually have to take a bus to get to the terminal. According to my experience the real bottleneck is the baggage claim, recently it took 45 minutes after arrival to get my hold luggage. What is really nice are the opportunities to sit and relax outside in cafes/bars - both in front of the airport building and close to the departure gates (with a view to the apron).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"can't rely on WiFi here"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Relying on free WiFi is something that international travellers are forced to do in the majority of destinations due to the extortionate costs of data roaming.  Unfortunately you can't rely on WiFi at Tirana airport as never works, and never has despite this being a new terminal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
6/10

"very comfortable chairs/sofas open all night"

(Sweden)

Upon entering the terminal building the queue line to get a visa into Albania was very long. It took me about 45 minutes. Airport has good ATM service for getting local currency to use for taxi. Buses were not very frequent so I had to take a taxi, 25 € to Tirana city. My flight back home left at 3.30 am so I spent a night in the airport. Rental car return at 9 pm, no problem. Airport had a good café with very comfortable chairs/sofas open all night where I could spend the night hours. Check-in and security no problem at the night time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"nice small airport"

(Albania)

The terminal building for Tirana airport is new and clean. There are enough shops but the prices are much higher than the average in Albania. Its not really busy, check-in is fast, customs staff were rude. There are no jet bridges, you always board by bus. WI-FI is really complicated so I never use it. Overall a nice small airport and clean, but not perfect.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"very quiet and boring"

(United Kingdom)

Tirana airport had free WiFi only for 30 minutes and I got delayed so it was not enough - you then you have to pay. Limited shops and restaurants. There's 2 cafes where the gates are, selling low standard sandwiches. It is very quiet and boring.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 18 Reviews