Thessaloniki Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 23 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"affected by the lack of jet bridges"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The airport is much better than before after the construction of the new terminal and the renovation of the old one. Much cleaner, more shops, better signage etc. However the passenger experience is affected by the lack of jet bridges and the use of buses for going to and from the aircraft. The buses are hot in the summer and cold in winter and they are probably unsafe during the pandemic. If jet bridges cannot be added, then passengers should be allowed to walk to and from the aircraft with buses used only during poor weather. The external spaces also need some greening up and better maintenance.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Felt safe during Covid"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Lovely airport with friendly staff. Small with good facilities. Felt safe during Covid. Small selection of cafes open. Decent number of seats throughout. Clean bathrooms. Overall great experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"don't do a clean impression"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | No luggage carts. Nowhere. Drop off time unflexible short at 2h before departure. Fraport allows 23h before departure. Toilets don't do a clean impression. Airport is a major construction site. Whereas staff demands wear a mask, most of them dont do it properly (half worn mask). Security distance between passengers not respected at all. Good spacy Layout. Modern impression. Good connections to PT (shuttle to KTEL Intercity Bus) and Highway.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"have been excellent improvements"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Arrival and departure straightforward, all staff friendly. Departure lounge clean and tidy as well as the toilets, no problem getting a seat in departure lounge at 11am. Have been using this airport for 14 years and over the last 2 years there have been excellent improvements.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"airport is improving gradually"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Thessaloniki Makedonia airport is probably Greece's second largest airport and the main entry point to Thessaloniki, Halkidiki peninsula and the rest of Macedonia. The airport can be reach by public bus from the city center and the coach terminal and hopefully it will be accessible by metro in a couple of years. This airport is improving gradually. A new terminal is starting to get built next to the actual one. This airport is not very big but it can be crowed during summer peak times. The was no major line ups at check in and security at the time that I went. There is a good selection of shops and the duty free shop is big. Boarding is done only by bus but they are very fast and efficient for that process. I believe that Makedonia will get better over the next years.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Completely disorganised airport"

(Poland)

Not Verified | One of the worst airports I've been to, if not the worst, and I travel a lot. The biggest issue is with unqualified staff, especially working in the gates. I understand that opening the luggage is a normal procedure, but the woman checking mine was rude, barely speaking English, she took out almost all my belongings, throwing my lingerie outside, so basically everybody could see my pants and bras. She was completely confused, didn't know what and where she was looking because she was searching on both sides of the luggage trying to find something - anything in fact. In the end she has thrown out my cream (which was way less than 100ml and you could see that, but had more written on it) and took out the sweet (mastiha sweet vanilla) and wanted to throw it for unknow to me reason. It all took so long that other staff got involved and stoped her. Completely disorganised airport with unqualified staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"one of the worst airports"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Probably one of the worst airports ever created! I come from Greece but live abroad and every single time I come back I come across the chaotic terminals of Thessaloniki. Toilets have no paper, are dirty and overcrowded. There are immensely fewer seats than the people here (just now writing this review, a family in front of me also said where are all these people going to sit?). People who work here are super unfriendly and believe that there is common sense knowing where everyone suppose to go or do. If you can come to Thessaloniki by car, boat or parachute, choose this rather than coming through the airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"absolutely chaotic airport"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Absolutely chaotic airport. Renovations and expansion are in the plans but can’t come soon enough. Terminal is much smaller than photos suggest and is quite crowded and hot. Seating is limited, ATMs and restrooms are tucked away in odd corners of the airport. The bus to the city that runs every 30 minutes and is the only affordable transit option was absolutely packed with people each way and often gets stuck in traffic (doesn’t take an express route to the city center). Security was some of the rudest I had encountered, but to their credit was incredibly fast moving and efficient. Another upside - despite limited food options the pastry and espresso shops in the terminal are quite good, as one would want in a city with such exceptionally good food. Lastly, the approach over the Aegean can be beautiful.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a rather unfriendly place"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | To my mind Thessaloniki Airport is a rather unfriendly place for international travelers. On 12/2/2018 I traveled with Aegean Airlines to Frankfurt. Before the boarding practically no announcement was made in clear English or German. The plane had a delay, but because I do not speak Greek, it was not clear to me why the boarding did not start. When I asked a staff member at the counter she was really rude. It is very advisable that the staff gets appropriate training for customer service, especially for international flights. I am a frequent traveler and this is my worst experience at the airport. It is a shame when the rudeness of the staff ruins your vacation's memories. From now on I will avoid flying through Thessaloniki Airport as well as I can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security was confusing"

(Switzerland)

Arrived at Thessaloniki Airport and after I got my boarding pass I had to take my luggage to another counter to check my bag manually. I went through security which was confusing but the worst aspect was the gates. The gate numbers were all muddled up and had not been updated for 3-hours - lots of confused passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 23 Reviews