Tampa Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 48 reviews
7/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"too large for its own good"

(United States)

Not Verified | I have to say I have been flying in and out of Tampa airport since the 80's and I understand that as it has grown in passenger volume, it has gotten too large for its own good. I will say that, what I call a Mall with shops and endless food options is fantastic. However the extremely high escalator is ridiculous and the distance you have to go with the tram and the speed at which it goes to the rental car location is way too far and too fast. I have anxiety and the speed is just waiting for a accident as it is way too jittery. And once you are their you have more to walk. I am not old but I did have major heart surgery but for elderly it is not passenger friendly to have to walk that much. This all makes me wonder about choosing a different airport or a different way to travel. I loved when the garage housed the rental cars. It was perfect. I would have kept the 1st and 2nd floor of the garage for car rentals and the top floors for passengers who kept their cars there. And why dont you have stars below for the Tram to the rental facility or the rental car experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"always ample TSA agents"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I always love flying to and from the Tampa Airport. From the drive into TPA, the airlines are cleverly color coded and then you are directed to either arrivals or departures. Then you simply have to look for the door with your airline. Once inside the main terminal, head to the appropriate ticket counter. If you have pre-checked in online, just take the air conditioned tram to your terminal (A–F). There you will go through security. There’s always ample TSA agents there to keep the crowd moving along securely and swiftly. Once through security, you are welcomed into a massive airy terminal. There’s plenty of food options from Cigar City Brewing (a popular craft beer producer in Tampa) to The Colombia Restaurant, a staple in Tampa since 1905 serving authentic Spanish fair. There’s plenty of workspace and outlets to charge up your devices. I flow the flow of this airport with plenty of signage. It’s almost impossible to get lost and everything is relatively closeby.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"a reasonably good, user-friendly airport"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Have always found Tampa to be a reasonably good, user-friendly airport. Overall it's still not bad but had a few red flags come up this time. Arrived in terminal E and used the men's washroom only to find the floor completely flooded (helps if you don't think too much about that). Fair enough, stuff happens. Except when we left a week later the same washroom still had a flooded floor. Seriously? Are there no plumbers in Tampa? Pretty disgusting. Check-in areas in the main terminal are starting to show their age. Trek to the car rental facility is a bit of an adventure. Up and down endless escalators plus a far from smooth train ride. Layout of the car rental area also seems to be an accident waiting to happen. Pedestrian walkways are not well defined and (in the case of Avis) cars were parked on the walkway back to the main building. Still gets a recommended grade but barely.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"conflicting passenger flows"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Avoid this airport!! Passenger flow choke points, intersecting traffic, triple tram rides just to get to security check point, conflicting passenger flows, enter on fourth level, go down to second them back up to fourth. Three dimensional dysfunction! Time and frustration makes the chaos of Orlando much more appealing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Suggest to fly into Orlando"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Have been flying in and out of TPA for 15+ years. The experience was always a pleasant one. After landing, take the tram to the luggage area, get you bags, cross the street and pick up your rental car. The current set-up requires that after bag pick up - drag your luggage across the room, take an escalator up for 3 flights, drag your luggage to another tram, ride a run away twisting bumping tram for at least 5 minutes to the car rental counters (at least 2 stops on the tram), drag your luggage to the rental counter, take the escalator down 2-3 flights, drag your luggage to another rental car counter to get the car keys, and finally drag your luggage to the car. This entire process took over 1:30 hours. My 1,000 mile flight from Newark to Tampa took 2:21 hours, my 5 mile track to the car rental took 1:30 hours. Suggest for future flights is to fly into Orlando and drive the 1 .5 hours from Orlando to Tampa
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a total disaster in terms of customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have been traveling through this airport since the early 1980's. The airport was clearly well designed from the start with a central hub supporting multiple airsides via automated trams. The system worked and worked well for many years. After 911, the main long term parking terminal was closed and a remote long term parking garage was built away from the main terminal. It wasn't a great solution, but the shuttle buses ran quickly and delivered you right to the correct airside. Later, the original long term parking area was reopened with increased pricing. The new remote site was renamed "economy parking", though at $10 per day it was hardly economy. But that price was better than the $18 per day of the reopened long term garage. So, for many years I would park in the economy garage then ride the shuttle to the main terminal. From there I would check-in at curbside and take the tram over to my airside. Recently the airport has undergone major revisions which include a monorail system that joins the economy garage to the main terminal. Also, a new centralized car rental facility has been built which is next to the economy garage and also served by the monorail. The result is a total disaster in terms of customer service. I don't know who designed this mess, but I can tell they have no idea how to move people through an airport facility. First you must find parking in the economy garage, which isn't easy because the space inventory system is now broken. There used to be signs that would tell you how many spaces were on each floor. Apparently the new construction broke that system, so good luck finding a space. Next you have to take the elevator down to the first floor, even though the monorail is located on the 4th floor. Then, you drag your luggage to the middle of the garage road and jump on the moving floor system. Yes, they mounted the moving floor in the middle of the garage's shuttle roadway. Not on the sidewalk (where they have plenty of room), but right in the lowest part of the garage where surely the Florida rains will short circuit the machinery. The moving floor thing will slowly take you to the opposite side of the garage where a new elevator systems has been installed. Where next? No problem in deciding, there are only 2 floors to select. So now you go back up to the 4th floor to wait for the monorail. And wait, and wait. There appear to be only two trains and one was broken. Once on the train, prepare for a wild ride. First the train drops 4 floors and accelerates as it follows the access road to the main terminal. People and luggage fly about as the train dips and weaves at high speed. I'm sure injuries have already occurred due to this new system. As it approaches the main terminal, the train climbs quickly and stops abruptly at the station. If you've survived this far, you must now drag your luggage to the escalator for a trip down 3 floors. Now good luck finding your airline counter. If you're flying Southwest then you're in luck, it's the first one you find. Other airlines are scattered around and the signage isn't so good. Prepare for a lot of wandering around. Once you check-in, you now ride another escalator up and find that you are nowhere near your airside tram station. So, more walking to find the correct station and ride the tram over to your airside. In my case, the airside has been redesigned (which means less space and more expensive restaurants).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Much better before remodel"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Not enough places to eat. Much better before remodel. Lines are extremely long. Food and drinks expensive. $20 for a glass of house wine? This was in terminal C. Not sure what the other terminals are like. No complaints about the rest of the airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"it used to be a great experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have been flying in and out of Tampa for years and it used to be a great experience. The checking in and screening process are better than at most airports I know. One of the features of the airport I always enjoyed, was the availability of good restaurants, both in the terminal, before screening, and at the gate area. Last year the airport started to "remodel" the terminal and all of these nice restaurants were gone. I figured they would be back after the construction was over, but not only are they still doing construction a year later, the nice restaurants are gone, even in the gate area, and all they now offer is Chinese and fast food. They destroyed the whole pre-boarding experience, especially since you have to come to the airport early for your flight. The only place you can get a decent meal now, is in the airport hotel Marriott restaurant.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
10/10

"stress-free environment"

(Canada)

Best airport we have been to. Stress-free environment, easy to maneuver, people are friendly and helpful. Lots of seating, clean, quiet. Very smart of Tampa to put smoking areas after security checkpoints. Smokers can go through security early, find their gates and go for a smoke instead of waiting until the last minute to try and get through security. It also alleviates stress and irritable passengers if flights are delayed, etc. It is such a simple solution to create a win-win for smokers, non-smokers, and employees alike. It does not affect non-smokers at all, and instead creates a calmer environment. Good for you Tampa.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"clean and good variety of shops"

(United Kingdom)

BA2166, Tampa International - London Gatwick, Monday 16 November. Been quite a few years since I last used this airport - no queues at BA check in and through security in 5 minutes. Clean and good variety of shops and eateries landside. Looked ok airside but did not shop as used the International Lounge for BA customers. This was a disappointment - comfortable seats but food selection dreadful - a few curled up sandwiches that were not replenished and a few crackers and pieces of cheese with dips. Poor choice of wine. Not acceptable, Tampa, but from what I read no different from other North American Lounges. Apart from the lounge will use Tampa again certainly better than Miami, Washington Dulles, Newark, Chicago etc.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 46 Reviews