Taipei Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 115 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"very surprised how efficient and organised it was"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Flew to TPE during pandemic and was very surprised how efficient and organised it was. I was expecting long queues for immigration and luggage reclaim but it turned out to be the most pleasant arrival experience. Once landed I was directed to a separate line to purchase Taiwanese SIM card (which is essential so the CDC can track your GPS location during self quarantine). The staff at the SIM card counter were super helpful and they installed the SIM and changed my phone setting in a few seconds. Then I was shown by another group of the staff on how to register the arrival COVID information on the phone and was told the waiting to be checked would not be long. They were right - once I received the registration confirmation I was through in no time. The immigration was also very smooth as there weren't many flights arriving, and again the immigration officer was friendly. Once through the immigration my luggage was already waiting in the reclaim belt. I overhead some passengers saying that the luggage was wet and realised the ground service had disinfected the luggage. So impressive. Then I walked out the main terminal to get a taxi. A policeman apologized for having to let me wait in front of the red light for 20 seconds and then helped me to push my luggage trolley. Once I reached the taxi rank I had to do another registration (so in case anyone who used the taxi got COVID they can track the taxi driver etc), another disinfection before I got on. To my surprise my taxi fare was much cheaper than normal. The taxi driver told me it was capped by the government so I only needed to pay partial tariff and he would get the subsidies from the government - a bid to encourage arriving passengers to use taxi instead of the public transport in order to control covid. What a great arrival experience!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"exceeded my expectations"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This airport exceeded my expectations. Upon arrival, immigration, baggage retrieval and customs were an absolute breeze, the easiest I've ever encountered in a major international airport. Perhaps because my flight was the only one arriving at its time in mid-morning. When I departed, the crowds were much larger, but security and immigration were still very efficient. The airport is visibly dated, except in its lobby, underground dining, and train station areas. Even with the visible dating, the airport is still very clean and has good seating, and enough options open for grabbing a coffee, delicious meal, or beer either pre or post-security. The people working here, even immigration and customs, are friendly, courteous and helpful, generally. The train direct into the city isn't particularly expensive, and, when you buy the token before hopping on the train, the token is this cute little purple token with some sort of chip inside, making entry into the train station contactless. When you come back from the city, a 3-D, electronic, multi-lingual wall showcasing world cities and their current times greets you and can be fun to stare and look at for a few seconds as long as you aren't in people's way. One minor criticism I have is that transport between the two terminals could stand to be a little more efficient, but at least that interterminal bus is nice.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"airport is clean and well designed"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | The airport is clean and well designed. The departure procedure is straightforward, the arrival, however, is a bit confused. The terminal space is very limited so please expect long queue during peak hours for immigration or security check. Despite old facility, airport staff are helpful and friendly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"whole airport seems in my opinion ineffective"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | I arrived at Taipei Terminal 2 too early, and I had to wait for 90 minutes until the Air France baggage drop opened. But there are no waiting seats in the whole departure level of Terminal 2. Airport staff does not speak English. After a lot of searching and asking, I finally found that one has to go to the arrival level of Terminal 2 to find a seat. The whole airport seems in my opinion ineffective, slow, and not addressing international passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"Taipei airport exceeded my expectations"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Taipei airport is tastefully decorated and I felt like I was getting a tour of Taiwan without even stepping out of the airport. The signage for changing terminals is quite good. The terminal is not crowded and perfect for travelers who enjoy exploring. If you are traveling with kids, the play area and toy stores at this airport are excellent. The bathrooms were meticulously clean. Taipei airport exceeded my expectations and I look forward to visiting it again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"there were staff to guide travellers"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | On arrival, customs and security queues were long but there seemed to be many counters open to try to deal with the large number of travellers. However, we had to wait about 20 minutes on the aircraft on the tarmac to wait for a gate to be available. On departure, it took us quite some time to find our check-in desks. Security and custom queues were long but they moved quickly as there were many counters open and there were staff to guide travellers. Gates were easily reached from customs, and there were many restaurants and shops throughout the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"time machine back into the '70s"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I don't even know where to start. It's like arrived with a time machine back into the '70s. The airport facility is dated with useless improvement. The restrooms are stingy & stink. This is the only International airport that I know to have many sinks and share one hand soap dispenser on the wall. Please note, 1 hand soap dispenser per sink is necessary for a standard bathroom around the world. Please improve your cleaning procedure as well. I can smell the stink at the door before entering the bathroom. The important thing is how to keep it clean not just replacing the toilet. This is one of the longest and unfriendly boarding pass scan line for departure with manual scan. Please improve your TSA/Border control system. The entire experience is humiliated and wasting time. it doesn't matter how many duty-free shops or restaurants you put in; nobody is shopping since everyone is rushing to board their flights after the hassle wasted in the long unproductive security checkpoint line.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"staff unfriendly and unhelpful"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | The airport is clean but it's not a pleasant airport to spend any time in. There's very little seating and what is available is not comfortable. There were a few charging points scattered around, some worked. You have to go through security again even when just transiting from arrival gate to departure gate. This is greatly annoying and frankly, stupid. Lines are long, staff unfriendly and unhelpful, no clear instructions. I don't know what drugs the previous reviewer who said it was one of the best airports he's ever visited, was on. Maybe he's never traveled? More likely, he's a paid reviewer. This is probably the worst airport I've ever had the displeasure of going through, and I've traveled widely. There's a food court upstairs but it's not very good. I had no idea what the food stores were selling as everything was in Chinese. Airport shopping consists of a few stores with expensive junk and pop-up type stores in the corridor.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"very long lines"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | This is a large airport. Focus seems to be on Asian travelers, with limited communication with English speaking passengers. Facilities are adequate, but not at the same level as in for example Singapore. Finding your way between arrival dock and transit is not easy. Security check for passengers visiting the city is terrible, with very long lines, and no clear instructions from staff.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"well organized and clean"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Fantastic airport. One of the best in airports I have experienced. Many things to do and many places to reduce any stress you may be feeling. Very well organized and clean. All employees were very helpful and friendly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes