Sydney Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 336 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"cannot get coffee in ceramic cup"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Good overall but cannot believe it is not possible anywhere to get a coffee in a ceramic cup instead of a disposable cup in this day and age. And found nowhere where you would get a discount for bringing along your own reusable cup.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"WiFi at airport doesn't work"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Free WiFi does not give internet access so couldn't contact people on WhatsApp (no data on my SIM plan). And couldn't get an Uber. So had to use a taxi. Very expensive to get to CBD. Waste of time even having WiFi at airport if it doesn't work.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
4/10

"one of the worst"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Does anyone from the Airport ever really read the comments here? Whatever I want to say has been said plenty of times. If you are a traveller you can add this airport as one of the worst on your list. If the roadworks from the CBD does not annoy you enough, wait until you get to the airport and deal with customs/security staff. Early flight, early start of the day and it seems that the staff dreaded going to work. No smile on their faces, talks softly and expects you to hear them. When you asked them to repeat what they said they repeat it in a slow condescending tone, word by word, which is very offending. Went through the machines and out, staff said ‘put your bag there and open it’ waving a laminated piece of paper that he did not even give to me to read. Made me look and feel like a bad person plus my bags and I have just been through the x-ray, what is this for now? NO information or explanation said continued whisking the device he is holding around my belongings. Then said, ‘okay you may go’. I wish these people would show kindness and manners to their customers and should experience how people from other airports with the same job do the same thing a lot better. The airport itself is confusing, the signages will surely get you lost. Arrow for gate 30-50 points to a wall or tiffany & co. I hope next time I visit, I can say something nice about this place.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"appalling road layout"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Avoid taking a taxi to the departure levels at the Domestic Terminals. Or at least allow plenty of time to crawl through the traffic jams. This is due to pressure of traffic and an appalling road layout that forces T2 and T3 traffic to merge for about 100 metres before splitting. Although expensive the train is a much better option. T3 is calm and well organised compared with the chaos we experienced in T2 a year ago.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Terrible and punishing process"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Terrible and punishing process to get your tax refund. Had to go to arrivals level to check goods like liquids that have to be checked in, then after security had to line up for another one hour. They also make you show them each and every item of your purchase (I saw them force a guy cut open a phone packaging to show them the phone inside). The QR code app is completely useless. Will never buy anything worth getting a tax refund again in Australia. Staff at security were extremely rude and treated everyone like criminals. Meanwhile, if you say anything back they threaten to arrest you for being rude to them. Goes to show how some people abuse what little power they're given whenever they can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"always such a let-down"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | It's always such a let-down to land back in Sydney after travelling through modern, clean, efficient Asian and European airports. Everything at SYD is stuck in the mid 90s, except for the prices, which are astronomical for just about everything. The arrivals area (immigration, baggage claim, customs) is particularly depressing, dreary and inefficient, the staff are grumpy more often than not, toilets are dirty, the two exits confusing. What a terrible first impression for first-time visitors to Australia! The parking is not only overpriced, but confusing and impractical too. Departure gates lack adequate seating and charging facilities. Some areas are randomly blocked off, making the place feel like a building site. Oh and get this, this is a privately owned, for-profit operation yet in certain areas such as the check-in hall they use volunteers to provide help & information to travellers! Kudos and respect to the volunteers doing this, but I think relying on volunteer labour speaks volumes about the greed of the management. Lift your game, Sydney Airport, this is embarrassing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"noticed a big difference"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I usually travel with Jetstar and Virgin in terminal 2, I found it a nice change travelling Qantas. Terminal 3 is much cleaner, the food court tables, floors and especially toilets. I noticed a big difference, job well done.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Absolutely useless"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Absolutely useless. Had to wait 1 hour for bags, then endure a transit to the domestic terminal which intelligently uses a congested public road. Missed my connecting flight, which I had left 3 hours between to be sure I had plenty of time to make.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"toilets absolutely putrid"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Had to take my mother to departures today. Went into the toilets near to the check in desks by British Airways check in. The toilets were absolutely putrid. Messy cubicles, 2 blocked toilets, paper all over the floor. What filthy individuals lurk around us. On the up side there was a wonderful lady that escorted my Mum into the departure lounge for her assisted passage.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Everything was massively overpriced"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This airport is not one of my favourite airports. Check in was lacking the machines to get the ticket to go through the epassports. Why don't they install more machines? Then I had to catch a bus to a different terminal where there are no lounges except Qantas. Everything was massively overpriced, massive lack of powerpoints. It's almost like they have tried to make this airport inconvenient to use. Also the free wifi stops working as soon as you leave arrivals.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no