Sydney Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 396 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"Plenty of shopping and a reasonable food court"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Coming in on a flight from Singapore on a Sunday morning, I would not have expected that it would take 50 minutes to get through the transit process (security rescreening) - not nearly enough capacity in the transit area to handle four flights at once. That said, the staff worked hard to ensure that passengers with tight transits (not me) were expedited through. Plenty of shopping and a reasonable food court.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Will avoid this airport at any cost"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Sleeping outside the airport, waiting for a connecting flight. It seems surreal what travelers had to endure tonight. At 11pm the airport closed. Security asked all travellers waiting for morning flights to sit outside till 5am, in the middle of a thunderstorm. According to the security guard we should have catch a taxi and book a room in the city for the time the airport closed. On top of that, we had to pay 7$ to transit between T1 and T2 as the last free bus run is at about 8pm. Will avoid this airport at any cost.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"The transit system is terrible"

(Australia)

Not Verified | The transit system is terrible, 30 mins waiting on the bus for a ten min ride from international to domestic. I will avoid Sydney for any international flights from now on.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
4/10

"you should really try harder to provide the basics"

(Australia)

Not Verified | We arrived from Cairns at 7pm, had to wait for empty planes to move for 15 minutes, we entered the airport and no food services anywhere. Served beer but not coffee, toilets were disgusting, lots of children tired and hungry waiting for the next flight at 8pm. Very disappointed and never want to go to Sydney for any reason. For an international airport, you should really try harder to provide the basics.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the airport bathrooms are absolutely filthy"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | The staff in general were helpful when asked for directions. However the airport bathrooms are absolutely filthy. The basins were so dirty I think it has not been cleaned for weeks. The toilets had broken seats and the place stunk of urine. The pots were brown stained below the water line. I have just been to 2 African countries where even the service station on their main roads were clean and tidy. We flew with Qantas. Flight was delayed due to mechanical problems. But getting in the plane and see duct tape all over the left wing did not inspire me with confidence. One of the restaurants closed selling coffee at 4pm but was still trying to sell food. How bizarre.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Border control seriously understaffed"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Border control was seriously understaffed. One agent dealt with the wheelchair folk just fine. That left about 500 passengers with just one agent! The line barely moved. All of us docile as sheep. After an hour in line, a second border control agent finally came on duty. As a Canadian citizen visiting Australia, For the airport to keep people waiting so long made me feel unwelcome. Surely Sydney Airport can do better. Surely Australia's border should be better protected. Hire staff. Train them. Staff Border control that is respectful to incoming visitors.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
7/10

"Hygiene is an absolute must"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Was seeing family off yesterday back to NZ while waiting I had gone out to the designated smoking area I was appalled at how disgusting that area was near the the down ramp. It was absolutely filthy & the ashtrays were full. There were no cleaners about to ask them to clean it up so what do they get paid to do. I was not the only person to complain. Hygiene is an absolute must.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"cannot believe how low standards have dropped"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I have travelled to many developing nations, but have never seen such a disgrace as Sydney Airport has become. The long queues, the long waits, the inefficiency, and the plethora of "helpers" who have very little English and seem to enjoy chatting together in the corner, while the paying customers are forced to endure the anguish of almost missing flights. This is my experience with both international and domestic flights. I cannot believe how low Sydney airport standards have dropped. What an absolute disgrace and debacle.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"really hard to navigate"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I have many issues with this airport. It’s cluttered and really hard to navigate. They also charge you an sinfully expensive ticket to go one station to the international airport. 8,60 for one station? Their free shuttle service only goes every 30 minutes and is unreliable but a free trip to the international airport should be a given if you have a connecting flight. Just made the entire experience more stressful and due to canceled trains it took over 1 and a half hours of our 2 and a half hour transfer just getting through security, getting to the international side and then going through security again. Surely there are more seamless ways to do this. Staff at Qantas are also extremely rude and the waits are horrendous.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"2 hours to get through border control"

(United States)

Not Verified | This outdated airport really showed its shortcomings upon my international arrival. It took 2 hours to get through the understaffed border control. 3 officers working with lines literally out the door. Customs lines also brutal. Airport is a dump, at least on the international arrivals side.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no