Sydney Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 369 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Make no sense to me"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Are you kidding me Qantas. With coronavirus around you leave us all in the plane while the engineer inspects the plane. Why would you not have the plane ready and then load passengers. Make no sense to me and seems like you dont care about people catching the virus. Been stuck not moving for over 20mins. I better not get sick.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not an airport I can recommend"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | I travel through Sydney Airport a lot and have seen it change over the years, but for me it does not rank highly compared to similar sized airports around the world and certainly not as the main airport for a world city. The first thing is getting there. The underground train connection to the city was a long time coming, but it also came with a hefty price which is currently over $14 a single trip. Traffic at the upper level departure ramp is tedious, you often crawl along from the bottle neck that forms as three lanes merge to one to go up the ramp. The departure terminal on busy days is just simply a seething mess of people and very limited seating near the check in counters. The departure area prior to clearing security is just drab and old, with a small food area that is always full. They were refurbishing the departure security screening access late 2019 and it appeared to look fresh but still led to the maze of ribbon lane channels. Security is relatively quick and I like going through the full body scanner as it reduces need to remove belt etc. Inside and past security the departure area is more modern but still not bog enough for a city like Sydney and seating again can be at a premium and it just feels cramped. The food court does have a nice range and has good views out the glass to the apron. Very pricey duty free though! Arriving for me has always been easy, no need to walk far and the process to get a self service ticket for the Smart Gates is straight-forward and easy to exit straight to the carousel and out. The arrivals area again is very small once you have cleared customs and always congested. Need better instructions for the Smart Gate self serve kiosks, as many new arrivals and even Australian citizens have no idea how to use them or what they are for. I am looking forward to Badgerys Creek airport opening as Sydney's second in 2026 and hope Mascot or Sydney Airport gets a massive makeover of its International Terminal. Unfortunately not an airport I can recommend.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
7/10

"a surprisingly positive experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | There is obviously a problem with congested air space as despite being nearly an hour early we were not permitted to land until our allotment. Then after landing we had to wait approximately 20 minutes for a gate. Despite this I was impressed as compared to Melbourne. Immigration was speedy and our bags came out efficiently. Customs was equally efficient. We saw the Virgin domestic transit sign and followed that with our bags. Didn’t have to walk very far then we caught the bus to the domestic terminal, that was very crowded but there were lots of places to eat and plenty of “normal” shops, not just upmarket ones. It was a surprisingly positive experience. I’d recommend Sydney over Melbourne any day.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"expected this airport to be family and kids friendly"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | I was very disappointed. Flew with my daughter less than 2 years old. 15min before boarding while waiting at the queue they requested my to close the yo-yo stroller and carry the baby while waiting along with the bags and then walk 200-300 meters to the plane. So bad and unacceptable. I expected this airport to be family and kids friendly but unfortunately my expectations got destroyed! Unbelievable.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"carpets in the gate areas were excessively dirty"

(Australia)

Not Verified | The carpets in the gate areas were excessively dirty. They should be vaccumed regularly. Such a nice airport let down badly in this area. Maintenance need to monitor the same as toilets are. Lots of people passing through and not a good look. Carpet tiles are stained and littered withchewing gum/.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"chaotic and poorly planned"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Hard to imagine how this airport could more mismanage ground transport. Roads are chaotic and poorly planned, Uber tank too small, just one bus service and trains hugely overpriced. While some is outside the control of the airport company, there is much they could do.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport in Australia"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Absolutely the worst airport in Australia. Bad signage, terrible lack of seating, no adequate room to move. Beyond hopeless. Departure is a mess and completely disorganised. Very hard to find if you have never been here before. As a frequent traveller this is terrible and Sydney should be ashamed of this airport. How hard is it to have a sign on the bottom rental car park area saying this way to departures!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is beyond hopeless"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | This airport is beyond hopeless, too much air traffic, too many delays, inefficient transfers between domestic and international terminals and worst of all is the security screening. The staff are rude and slow, when you say your flight is boarding they will tell you its your fault and deliberately go slow and do additional screening, they are not getting their finest to do this job that's for sure. This airport should have never been privatised, its the poster child of what goes wrong when government assets goes to those that such every cent out of it for profits only.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a horrible experience"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | It's been a few years since I last flew from Sydney airport, what a horrible experience. I was there at 10 am on Saturday and the International terminal is extremely crowded (I think the airport needs to be twice the size to function), food choices are expensive and low in quality, toilets are not clean, the check-in and boarding process is slow and inefficient. There are some decent luxury shopping, but that really is the only nice thing to say about this airport now.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"the most impressive of the lot"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I travelled from Perth to Melbourne to Auckland and then Auck to Sydney to Perth. And I just want to say that Sydneys domestic airport terminal was the most impressive of the lot! It was very flash, like a shopping mall, with lots to keep me occupied for 5 hours. Plenty of seats and food options to choose from. I look forward to travelling back there again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes