Sydney Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 381 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"I was made to wait one hour and 10 minutes to get to security"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I was made to wait one hour and 10 minutes to get to security in the international airport. I was stressed that I would be late for my flight. Thousands of passengers were herded into a large hall with narrow snaking queues. There were 17 security stations but only 7 were open. As a senior, it was unpleasant to slowly walk, then stand, then walk though these lines. It is clear that the airport needed to open the other 10 security stations but it is cheaper for them to waste our time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Hands down the worst airport"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Hands down the worst airport I've ever had the misfortune to engage with. And I travel a lot for work. The systems are utterly disorganised and completely nonsensical. There are no staff. You simply miss your flight because every queue extends for hours. Whether it be check in, baggage drop, security, they're all hours long waits and an utter disorganised mess. You have to literally carry your bags from the international airport to a very infrequent bus, catch it to the domestic airport from whence ensues chaos.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Clearly not interested in tourists"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | International Baggage took an extremely long time to arrive at the carousel, with no announcements as to the status. Transit from international to domestic airports was a series of guess work, with minimal signage and even less staff to ask. Those that were asked were indifferent and treated as an interruption. Clearly not interested in tourists.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"very long queue for security"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Painfully slow check in procedure. Then another very long queue for security. In contrast, passport control was very fast and completely automated. Short version: scheduled departure at 10.00hrs. Joined check in queue at 07.45hrs. Only just made it to the gate during 'final call' at 10.00 hrs without stopping once even for a toilet break.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Absolute disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Very poorly thought out airport that doesn’t seem to flow naturally at all. Further, it’s $4 for a luggage trolley and then they have the cheek to charge $7 to transfer to the International terminal. Absolute disgrace that appears to be designed for only one thing, separating people from money. Utterly woeful and if I can possibly avoid it in the future, I absolutely will.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

"Get organised and be more efficient or don't run a service"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Just appalling. Don't even start with the 'unprecedented event of COVID', there is no need for such a lack of service at an airport. One of our bags was lost which would have been to the baggage handler shortage no doubt, but honestly not my problem. Get organised and be more efficient or don't run a service. More disappointingly was our arrival back to Sydney. I was actually embarrassed to be an Aussie. The way the customs officials bark at people. One family asked which way to go and was yelled at "which way is my finger pointing mate". If that is this family's first visit to Australia I apologise on behalf of the apparently "so very important' customs official. Every other country I have visited (even during this unprecedented COVID event), officials are still so polite and helpful. Not the sort of entrance or welcome I would want to have coming into a country especially if I had never been there before. Oh and no soap in the bathrooms, what is with that!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Nearly 3 hours of queueing"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Nearly 3 hours of queueing for departure, completely understaffed, all flights had to wait for passengers for over an hour. On return, passport reading auto gates were not working on my brand new passport. Massive queues again. Third world prestation. Avoid.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"Stay away from this place if you can"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Horrible place for international travelers. The terminals are far away from each other. Missed my flight once already due to transfer from one terminal to the other. Stay away from this place if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"poorly designed airport"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I agree with all the other reviews here, it is the most poorly designed airport in the world. I honestly can not say I been to an airport designed with more emphasis on inconvenience, little investment as possible and emphasis on revenue raising. The design adds incredible stress to flying to or from Sydney. Poorly located exits. Difficult to traverse food courts to get to gates. Incredibly long journey to pickup area, with difficult terrain for baggage and close to cars and multiple road crossing, making travelling with children stressful. Untrained staff which can be rude and unreasonable.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"it's an absolute nightmare"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Give yourself more than 2 hours to check in at this airport or you might miss your flight. Unlike the streamlined self-check in and bag drop process at Melbourne Airport, you have to wait in an enormous queue at Sydney. They have 6 people manning a bag drop for more than 400 passengers, it's an absolute nightmare. The terminal has some nice food options but you'll probably be sprinting for your gate.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no