Sydney Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 409 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"very poorly managed"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Utterly disappointed with the queueing service for customs. The sign for passport holders are not clear and changed rules half way through, it absolutely has no proper system to monitor the foot traffic and the staff just heard someone from airline made a complaint and changed the queue rule. For an international destination, this is a very bad experience as first time tourist, this is very poorly managed.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security personnel the rudest"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | I have traveled around the world a lot in the last year and the security personnel would easily be the rudest I have ever come across. Never again will I travel through this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Bitterly disappointed"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The most disappointed airport I’ve ever visited. Was absolute chaos, lacked signage, and staff seemingly not motivated to process people. Border security expressed there frustrations with machines and such. Why so much paper work to hand out just to collect? No proper checks were made - a joke. Bitterly disappointed I’d give you a minus rating if I could
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"impressed with new facilities"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Impressed with the new facilities at Sydney International (travelling with Singapore Airlines). In previous trips I have experienced old, cramped and unsatisfactory conditions, but this time everything seemed new, spacious and high quality. Still some issues to work on: Food is expensive. Car parking seems remote and the walking route to the terminal is badly signed and is not fully under cover. Sydney has the poor arrangement of a separate domestic terminal which is an expensive train ride away. Access and parking here seems even worse than the international terminal. Enormous queues for Virgin Australia flights, too few check-in staff. Quite a friendly atmosphere though.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"had a good experience at Sydney"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I had a good experience at Sydney, arriving at Domestic and transferring to International then away on Qatar. I read the horror stories and caught an earlier flight than I needed to from Ballina. It took about 40 minutes total to exit the plane, collect bags, go to the train station and arrive at International. Once there I had nothing to do for a number of hours so I gave myself a long tour of the airport. In my brief experience shopping options at airports are all the same so not much to say there. Check-in at Qatar was quick and smooth, but I was one of the first. Passport Control was very smooth. The WiFi was a bit confusing though.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"worst designed airport"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Without doubt the worst designed airport in the world. Shocking set up, confusing road layout for entry and exit via car. Parking has ridiculous pricing. Why do the entry lanes to international terminal drop off and parking cross each other? A person in hi-viz standing there will not help. Police are always nearby directing traffic (which is a huge help) but surely the incompetence of roads and maritime NSW for the road layout is preventing them doing actual beneficial police work? I hope those who designed the airport and surrounding road layout have nothing to do with the future designing of any important areas in the future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"really unpleasant experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Arrived at the same time as several other international flights it seems as there were thousands of people merging into a huge sea of heads. The smart gate kiosks were overloaded with people pushing and unsure where queues were. Several out of service. No staff offering assistance or directions. Took over an hour to get through the crush to customs so we missed our connecting flight. Really unpleasant experience and I can’t imagine what first time visitors to Australia think. Awful is an understatement.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"filthiest airport in Australia"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney Airport has been and still is the filthiest airport in Australia. Just walking into departures and arrivals outside there's years of grime, black dirt and more. It never changes, always disgusting. We can imagine what visitors to Sydney think. You really set the standard Sydney Airport Corporation. Suggest they do some overdue work.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Slowest immigration clearance ever"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Absolute disgrace. Slowest immigration clearance ever. What a joke. Cos that's the way we like to welcome visitors and return residents with non Aussie passports: Not have a parking position ready for 30mins at the airport. Then having a defective aerobridge for an A380 and then making hundreds of people queue for 45mins.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"really needs to improve"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney airport really needs to improve how prams and strollers are handled from airplanes. Normally the stroller is given back at the gate however Sydney Airport transfers the pram/stroller to the oversized baggage area which either takes a million hours or returned back to the gate for someone (staff) to bring it down to the oversized baggage area.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no