Stockholm Arlanda Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 137 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"by far the worst experience"

(Austria)

Not Verified | Awful security at Arlanda airport. I get they have a tough job, but they were so horrible, so rough and rude, so invasive I felt violated. I was screamed at by one of the security 'if you don't like it here then don't come'. I have travelled a lot, and this is by far the worst experience I ever had.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"throw almost 50% of my products"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | All my makeup and skincare products are less than 100ml, but i had to throw almost 50% of my products simply because it didn’t fit in the tiny plastic bag which was provided. The security staff told me that even lipstick or mascara is considered as liquid. They have the most ridiculous rule which does not make sense at all. By now the screening technology should be advanced enough where this draconian rule can be scraped, but not in Sweden. These guys will make you feel as if travelling with liquid is a serious crime. It is so annoying and i hope someone reviews this stupid rule.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"profile people based on how you look"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Horrible! First of all, nothing is open if you come or leave with a late flight. Not even a simple snack place. And when it is open the offer isn’t much. Secondly, the security check is criminal. The bag they provide for liquids is not one liter as it is supposed to be (20cmx20cm) but much smaller (15cmx19cm) and it barely fits anything so they made me leave some very expensive things because they wouldn’t fit in their ridiculously small bag. I traveled twice through Arlanda in the same month and both times they did a “random check” on me because I was wearing clothes that didn’t look Swedish (I live in Sweden so I know how Swedes dress and I wasn’t dressed like that). I noticed there were only foreigners in the “random check”, so there is nothing “random” about their check but instead they profile people based on how you look. I was passing through two different airports in other EU countries in that same month wearing the same clothes and had the same amount of liquids and had no problems at all. They also don’t have any indications or maps of how far the gates are and virtually no fast walking tracks even in extremely long halls. I found myself endlessly walking and in the end running to reach my gate in time though I came to the airport well before my flight. And if you happen to arrive, there are no options to get to the city by public transportation. You are forced to pay expensive tickets, and even if you wish to take the local train from the newly opened station they want to charge you an expensive fee for using the station. Ridiculous! So if you are not in a rush or just don’t feel like spending money, there is no option to take a cheap bus or train to the city. The airport itself is pretty clean as are most public places in Sweden, but everything else is below any standard.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"inefficient and incompetent security check"

(United States)

Not Verified | Most inefficient and incompetent security check I have ever seen. Went through the security with relatively light crowd. The guard scanning the luggage flagged almost all of the luggage went through, declaring there were liquids or something suspicious in them. We all had to open the luggage and rescan, within the half hour and at least 5 or 8 luggage that were all rescanned, nothing was found. Meanwhile, we had to work on the mess they created, which caused an artificial long que at the security line. Very frustrating experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"had to be satisfied with boxed food"

(Austria)

Not Verified | Not one of the 3 restaurants was open at 6pm. You had to be satisfied with boxed food. You had to eat on the chairs of the gates without a table. Von 3 Restaurants war um 18 Uhr kein einziges geöffnet. Man musste sich mit Schachtelnahrung zufrieden geben. Essen musste man auf den Stühlen der Gates ohne Tisch
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I had a really unpleasant experience"

(Italy)

Not Verified | Extremely rude staff at the security controls, it seemed that they were explicitly there to annoy travelers. Furthermore the terminal was extremely crowded airport. I had a really unpleasant experience. They should seriously consider to do something to change the approach of the staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | The worst experience of my life. The facilities themselves are not bad, but the staff are the rudest I have ever encountered. The security officer during the screening process, while going through my bag (I had more liquid than allowed) simply destroyed the packaging of an expensive perfume (it was a gift) and did it without even asking for my permission. He spoke terrible English and communication was awful. I have no issues following the rules and was selecting the liquid items I was going to discard so he had no right to destroy the packaging. I asked for compensation and I am waiting for an answer. If I have the choice I will never fly again from Arlanda. Terrible airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"passengers are tired and should not be subjected to this"

(United States)

Not Verified | Signage to direct passengers to immigration is lacking. Too few immigration officials. Security check personnel are rude and unhelpful, passengers are tired and should not be subjected to this. Signs should show expectations: remove computer, put small liquids in a plastic bag, etc. Please note everyone in transit has already gone through security once. Staff should be more polite, or get other jobs not in direct customer contact. Most workers in shops in the airport are languorous, which is frustrating when there are long lines. The international airport is a place where visitors get their first impression of a country. Arlanda gives a very poor impression.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport in Europe"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Avoid this airport. It is the worst airport in Europe. Small, rude, worn down, and chaotic. Make sure to be at the airport at least 3hrs prior to your flight if you have fast track. Without fast track arrive 4hrs before departure. Don’t check any luggage. The wait at the belt is always 30-60minutes. If you have time take a train to Copenhagen, Gothenburg or Oslo and fly out of there.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"never experienced anything this bad"

(United States)

Not Verified | I flew into Arlanda in May. After I departed the SAS flight, I was directed to customs. The room was way to small for the volume of passengers and the AC didn’t seem to work. There wasn’t enough customs people to handle this many people. Once out of customs, my luggage was lost and I had to walk some distance to find assistance. I got my luggage days later, but after several months, I still haven’t been reimbursed. When exiting the airport, the lot was full of predatory cab drivers charging 180$ just to get into town. On the way out, I requested assistance for my disabled mother. The SAS employee was on the phone for several minutes and told us she can’t find anybody. I found the assistance lime and it wasn’t moving. I finally had to help her my self. It was painful for here. Once at the gate (again, very hit and stuffy due to little or no AC) she needed to use the restroom. The elevator didn’t work and there was only one restroom with a very long line. This is a big issue with elderly people. On the way back, they lost the luggage again. I have been to developing countries and have never experienced anything this bad. I can’t believe Sweden can to so many things right, but handles airlines and airports worse than some of the poorest and I developed countries.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no