Southend Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 68 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Handy and efficient airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Handy and efficient airport and friendly service. However complete disregard of Government standards in respect of refunds (Coronavirus). Car park booked and paid for in advance on non flex basis. Refund refused despite HM Government Competition and Markets Authority direction. Beware sharp practice.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"There are zero positives about this airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | There are zero positives about this airport. In summary, the staff are rude and unresponsive, the entire airport smells of rotten eggs, is dirty and the runway has many potholes. The pilots even look depressed that they have to fly there. I'm hoping it'll be wiped out by COVID so we can demolish it and start anew.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely no assistance was given"

(United States)

Not Verified | I am disabled and was given a wrist band saying support and assist. Absolutely no assistance was given. Also at gate I was called back to security. I was told security needed to check my hold bag. Every item was removed, my clothes were falling on the floor. I had 2 new, in box nerf car launches for my grandsons. It says on Ryanair website not to carry nerf guns in hand luggage. As I said they were in my hold luggage. They were taken from me. As I said items were falling on floor. My clothes were then just stuffed back in my case. When I reached my destination items missing, electric adapter, socks, underwear and child's sweater. I did email security with my complaint. As I expected no reply. Very bad experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport closes at night"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Non è stato rispettato il mio diritto a rifiutarmi di sottopormi al body scanner, ne sono stato avvisato o informato dell'esame in questione. L'aereoporto chiude la notte, il volo alle 6 e nessun mezzo per arrivare a quell'ora. Chiusi fuori al freddo e le intemperie senza un posto dove sedersi riparati. - My right to refuse to undergo the body scanner was not respected, I was advised or informed of the exam in question. The airport closes at night, the flight at 6 and no means of arriving at that time. Locked out in the cold and bad weather without a place to sit sheltered.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"made to feel a nuisance by staff"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I was disgusted by the way I was treated as someone who needed help to access the plane. As a full time wheelchair user I was belittled and made to feel a nuisance by staff who didn't know what equipment to use and the safest way of using it. I was eventually, after a lot of arguments, forced to try and walk to my seat as there was no suitable transfer chair available that would fit into the aircraft. At one point the staff actually tried to manhandle me, despite me telling them that to do so would cause me immense amounts of pain and damage. All of this was despite having booked full assistance and carriage of my electric wheelchair in advance.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"terrible airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely terrible airport. Rude staff, security was a complete joke, rude arrogant staff again and everywhere you go outside people are trying to fine you for all sorts of parking or driving violations. Never again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Bye bye Southend Airport"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | My son dropped me off at the terminal entrance. I hopped out immediately and he left straight away. I was filmed by the (Stasi?), my son issued with a £60 fine rapidly escalating to £100. Bye bye Southend Airport. See you in another life maybe, but certainly not in this one. Stansted from now on. Same for all my family members. Enjoy your short-lived £60 gain. You are the loser ultimately. Enjoy your ill gotten gains. Your future cannot be good using such dishonesty on customers. Other customers be warned. Avoid this airport at all costs! Signed: "Once Bitten......."
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Over the top security"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Used Luton airport 10 days ago without a problem. Because I use a medical urine bag it shows up when I pass through the scanner, meaning I am subjected to being frisked. This is embarrassing enough, but Southend security decided to cause me even more embarrassment by taking me to a side room and taking a swab to test for explosives. Over the top security for a near 80-year-old. Last time I use this airport as apart from the above problem the set up is getting worse as the traffic increases
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Car park charges are astronomical"

(United Kingdom)

NotVerified | Car park charges at this airport are astronomical, you can’t even drop off and collect now without having to pay a charge. So greedy. Shame, otherwise it would be a lovely airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
5/10

"now the same as everywhere else"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Used to like the airport but now the same as everywhere else. Smallest airport charges to drop off passengers which is just greedy. Security is a joke and now you have to queue for an hour to get in. Would have recommended last year but get the impression their management can’t cope with the extra passengers, disappointing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 68 Reviews