Southampton Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 78 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

Southampton Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | It is the first time my wife and I have used this airport and, as frequent fliers, we would class it as one of the best we have used. However, on our trip out on 29th Sept to Jersey one of our party had left a laptop in the security tray provided. My wife and I had seen one of the security staff airside holding up a laptop and asking if anyone owned it. He then took it back from airside to the security area: As most of our group (40 in all) didn't know each other it was only later on our trip that we talked to the lady that had lost her laptop. We told her what we had seen referring to the security staff holding the laptop and suggested that on our return on 5th Oct we would accompany her to the lost property department. She had prearranged to meet the team leader on our arrival. At this point, I must emphasise that as I felt we were being fobbed off I was agitated and forceful as I determined to obtain a name that we could write to. In the first instance, the team leader told me that her company had just taken over the security and inferred that the matter was not their responsibility. I informed her that the responsibility was theirs and that I felt that because the laptop was in the previous company's care they should not just dismiss us. I admit again that I was very verbally forceful but didn't swear or make aggressive threats. I was then told by another member of the staff that we should email our complaints to a customer care department. I repeatedly stated that I needed a name to correspond with and was told there were no names in the department: This I found incredulous. Eventually, I obtained a name to complain to but informed the team leader that I would be writing to their CEO. Then we left: The following incident I have found the most worrying not just for me but for your company regarding how your security staff perceive their powers when confronted with someone that would not be fobbed off with excuses and emails to write to. The team leader followed us to the exit of the building (which was by the lost property department). She informed me that she didn't like the way she was spoken to and told me to come back inside: At first, I thought she had a change of heart. However, there was menace in her face and she ordered me inside. I told her "No thank you" and I boarded our coach. I felt rightly or wrongly that had I have gone back inside the building I would have been forcibly detained or worse as a measure of retribution. This behaviour I found to be threatening and worrying given her measure of responsibility: If this woman cannot deal with an extremely irate passenger without feeling the need to recourse to a misuse of power then you may wish to take this matter extremely seriously. Just to conclude: I was extremely verbally insistent that the matter of the lost laptop was their responsibility, I repeatedly asked for a name I could write to on the matter and didn't allow them to speak until I received one. In retrospect, my behaviour could have been more polite of course but not such that I risked this woman's wrath. The lady who lost the laptop is hoping to claim through her home insurance but if this is not possible we may have to pick the matter up again with the airport. Finally, I have three witnesses to the above circumstances.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"hopeless tinpot airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A hopeless tinpot airport. Our plane landed at 14:15 and it took nearly 30 minutes to get off the plane onto a bus and into the building. Why? The ground handling staff didn't seem to care that 100 passengers were stranded on a plane while they stood around doing nothing. We could have walked there in 2 minutes. When I complained inside the building later all I got was couldn't care less abuse. I'm afraid their greed means that their inadequate facilities can't cope with the volume of traffic. I won't be using Flybe or Southampton again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"outrageous rip-off"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Shameless, outrageous rip-off! Do not use this airport unless all South Coast options have been checked. I go to drop off my son and girlfriend and the drop off point is inside the car park that charges £2 to let someone down. It is unavoidable if you have luggage! I was in and out of the ticket barrier in 16 minutes and they take £2. They are immoral and unconscionable.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"Who are these baggage police"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | On entering the security area, we were accosted by three ladies who rudely and aggressively challenged our carry on baggage size, insisting that we place them in test frames. The largest fitted and then when I pointed out that they could clearly see the other was smaller on all dimensions (widths, length and height), they would not let us through without again requiring us to put the smaller bag in the frame. When I asked them to report to Flybe our intense annoyance at being treated as guilty and having to prove our innocence, they advised they were not FlyBe employees. Who are these baggage police and to whom do they answer? Everyone around us was angry at this abusive treatment
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Worst airport experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrival at Eastleigh was fine. Finding the Enterprise car rental cabin not so easy but I discussed the seperately with Enterprise. On my return it wasn't so good. Thankfully I only had a small bag so it was interesting to watch the Flybe staff checking every bag to see if it fit into their bag size checker. It caught a lot of people out. What Flybe need to do is to ensure they do the same procedure on departure. Be consistent at least. Now, the security queue was downright ridiculous. Its been many years since I've seen a queue as bad as this. The reason is simple. They want people to pay for priority security clearance. Other than if you're paying for business (not gonna happen with Flybe) this practice should be made illegal. People get agitated and think they are going to miss their flight so they panic and pay the fee. Unacceptable and unfair. There were two security check systems and only one in use. Again - clearly aimed at making profit at the expense of their customers. Worst airport experience for some time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst experience of travel"

(Saudi Arabia)

Not Verified | This has been the worst experience of travel that i have ever experienced. Airport parking is an extortionate price for a 3 day stay. On arrival was challenged to check my bag size. Another way of income generation for Flybe. The assistant was completely unhelpful and downright obstructive. Following this approach many passengers were then referred to check in where the increased volume was not catered by additional check in counter staff and resulted in extensive queues with many passengers about to miss their flights. Lounge area is dated and reminds me of Spanish airports in the 1970’s As an airport manager, Riyadh, myself i know the importance of customer satisfaction and strive for improvement. Clearly Southampton pay no attention or completely ignorant of its value. A dangerous precedent for a business. All in all i shall be reassessing my travel plans for the future and for sure SOU will not be featuring in these.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"pokey little airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Agree with all other comments before this post, best thing that could happen here is for Flybe to go bust and stop flying. Those here would then realise it's the passengers that they clearly hate who are the reason they are employed at the airport. A pokey little airport with all round poor facilities and staff who clearly hate passengers. The rating one out of ten is too high, it should be zero as zero is an achievable score.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"staffed by unpleasant people"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | As usual Southampton airport staff, with few exceptions, are surly and self important. And even though the airport is the size of a postage stamp, we nonetheless had to board a shuttle bus to take us the 50 yards to the plane. Only 1 bus was allotted so 20 minutes stuck on packed bus with people coughing, sneezing, babies crying etc. Then another 20 minutes for the bus to unboard and then board the plane. A most unpleasant airport staffed by unpleasant people (with the exceptions of the shops and restaurants there who seem to find lovely, helpful staff unlike Southampton Airport).
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"overall good experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | A quiet airport, nice seating and overall good experience. However in the past I have had unexpected delays that caused problems and have sometimes struggled to get through the check in ques quickly. This hasn't been the worst. usually it is quiet but when its not it is not managed the best.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"did not get the courtesy of a reply"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I had a bad experience with a staff member at Southampton Airport who was very rude to me on departure. I complained in writing, twice, with the last letter being addressed directly to the airport manager and sent by registered post. I did not get the courtesy of a reply for either letter which has lead me to ensure my company do not use this airport in future. I do not expect a customer complaint to be completely ignored but it seems to sum up the airport and my experience of it. Very poor.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 78 Reviews