Southampton Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 72 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"pokey little airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Agree with all other comments before this post, best thing that could happen here is for Flybe to go bust and stop flying. Those here would then realise it's the passengers that they clearly hate who are the reason they are employed at the airport. A pokey little airport with all round poor facilities and staff who clearly hate passengers. The rating one out of ten is too high, it should be zero as zero is an achievable score.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"staffed by unpleasant people"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | As usual Southampton airport staff, with few exceptions, are surly and self important. And even though the airport is the size of a postage stamp, we nonetheless had to board a shuttle bus to take us the 50 yards to the plane. Only 1 bus was allotted so 20 minutes stuck on packed bus with people coughing, sneezing, babies crying etc. Then another 20 minutes for the bus to unboard and then board the plane. A most unpleasant airport staffed by unpleasant people (with the exceptions of the shops and restaurants there who seem to find lovely, helpful staff unlike Southampton Airport).
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"overall good experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | A quiet airport, nice seating and overall good experience. However in the past I have had unexpected delays that caused problems and have sometimes struggled to get through the check in ques quickly. This hasn't been the worst. usually it is quiet but when its not it is not managed the best.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"did not get the courtesy of a reply"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I had a bad experience with a staff member at Southampton Airport who was very rude to me on departure. I complained in writing, twice, with the last letter being addressed directly to the airport manager and sent by registered post. I did not get the courtesy of a reply for either letter which has lead me to ensure my company do not use this airport in future. I do not expect a customer complaint to be completely ignored but it seems to sum up the airport and my experience of it. Very poor.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"threatening signage everywhere"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This must be one of the most car hostile airports in the world, threatening signage everywhere. Pay to drop, pay to collect, fines if collection more than 10 minutes, conflicting signage, access through a trading estate. This is a tin pot airport not Heathrow but still they charge.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
3/10

"have never received such rude treatment"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Myself and the 7 or so other non EU passport holders were forced to wait while they proccessed the entire flight of EU citizens before they processed us. Like we are unwelcome and 2nd class people. I have travelled the world and have never received such rude treatment such as this, ususally are processed as we present in the queue.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
2/10

"ground staff offered no explanation"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | "Breeze through Southampton Airport" says the slogan on the side of the bus as we wait in a queue outside the terminal after disembarking our flight into Southampton on 24th September. The Flybe flight was 15 minutes early landing - great job! We were off the plane within minutes only to be held in an exterior pen for 10 minutes by ground staff who offered no explanation and who clearly had not been to any sort of charm school. No breezing through here. We figured out the reason for the delay - passengers were departing through a gate that we had to cross to get to the passport check and the arrivals hall, so we were held. It's not the first time this has happened to us, so isn't it about time that the airport took a look at the way it moves travellers around the terminal to improve it's coordination of departing/arriving traffic? Plus some extra staff training for the ground staff handing these situations would go a long way to easing travellers' frustrations.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"surly, stressed staff"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We expected a fairly large airport with modern facilities. Instead we would a very small, provincial departure area with a tiny immigration area, poorly organised, two X-Ray machines and surly, stressed staff who lacked the pr skills to deal with the public with queues building up quickly. There seemed to me no logic to the checks - the elderly lady in front of us had to wait to get her walking stick back. Staff were insensitive and disrespectful whilst searching hand luggage - my own case just had everything pulled out and thrown around - oh dear a small bottle of gaviscon was found - less than 100 mls - decanted as obviously you can't take the 500 mls prescribed bottle with you. This was confiscated? Why? I was told it was because they don't know what was in the bottle. Logic here - how can you know what is in the other thousands of bottles of potions and lotions - many are decanted as mine was. The shampoos, conditions, creams are ok but as they are not examined or tested the reasoning of knowing what is contained is nonsense. In any case French girls two ahead had their bottles tested and then returned to them even though one at least contained much more than 100 mls. So here we are, our flight is delayed and waiting for us, I am in tears, my medication is confiscated, not a great start to the trip (which was only an internal flight). We have to say, Flybe staff couldn't have been nicer, kind, caring and very helpful. The parking in short stay was also excellent, very easy and convenient. We don't want to fly from Southampton again after this experience. We give it 2, purely for the parking.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"efficient and straightforward"

(New Zealand)

Day trip to Dublin from Southampton. Arrived early and was able to check in straight away via the Flybe machines. Security clearance was efficient and straightforward and the seating whilst waiting for my flight was sufficient although it was starting to get a little crowded as flights to other destinations depart at similar times (06.30 to 07.00). First time flying from my hometown of Eastleigh and overall it was a pleasant experience. Flight back in was even better, I was on the train within 20 minutes of arriving.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"airport very clean and tidy"

(United Kingdom)

Airport very clean and tidy. Staff very helpful. The queuing time to go through border control was long but 2 other flights landed at the same sort of time like ours. The Airport had a range of food and drink available for all customer types. Would fly regularly from Southampton if there was more flights available.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 72 Reviews