Sharm El Sheikh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 78 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the worst airport I've been to, ever"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | It would be really hard to follow Skytrax Editorial policy on that review and not to include swearing, but I'll try. It's the worst airport I've been to, ever. It's just a constant security check. I understand why they are so uptight, but I really don't understand why they chose this approach. There are a dozen security checks before you can get to the gate, most of which are manual (yes, they will touch you and open all your bags with their hands, but also there are multiple x-ray machines too). Pretty much at every step there would be a guy with a God complex, even if you won't say anything but make a look "duh, again?", they will give you hell. Their policy is that you have to shut up and comply with everything. I'm not sure how the situation is in other international airports in Egypt, but surprisingly all domestic flights were smooth.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"precautionary procedures being followed"

(Egypt)

Trip Verified | Excellent, hardworking and clean. The staff went out of the way to make everything smooth and easy from start to finish. We noticed all precautionary procedures being followed this summer and autumn from start to finish to include masks, gloves and social distancing. The Covid-19 test was also easy and straight forward with excellent communication and toilets clean. We could not ask for a better airport. All the staff should be commended and congratulated on delivering excellence
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"staff very helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Fantastic staff very helpful, airport security cant fault had 3 body searches bags checked and walked through xray machine only fault is duty free shop only opens 5 minutes before departure that makes the airport lose money as they do stock checking knowing a flight about to go when have 4 hours between 1am and 5 am to do this as no flights in that time period other than that very clean made sure distancing was done masks worn by passengers but half airport staff in duty-free or shop areas didn't wear then.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"Good social distancing"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | At first it was not really clear what departure hall we had to leave from. But as soon as we were at the right one it was simple, clean and calm. Good social distancing, clear signs (also English that was very nice since I can’t understand Arabic writing) luggage drop off was smooth. Did have a small problem with laptop drug test (no, I do not use any drugs!) but after my laptop was tested positive 5 times the security changed his gloves and that seemed to fixed the problem after that my laptop was clean and I was cleared to go!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"shocked by the aggressive and impolite security staff"

(Norway)

Not Verified | Special rules for this airport?! I have been to this airport 4 times and the building, the shops etc is okay. But, the "service" is not okay, especially from the security staff. People and luggage is scanned 2-3 times + 2 bodysearches. Some of the staff are nice and polite, but others should get a new job. This year (end of February) we encountered a new rule ("special for you" at this airport) - no small bottle of liquid (that contain alcohol) is allowed in hand-luggage. I have travelled all over the world, and never had any problems if I have small (5 cl) bottle of alcohol. But this time, after the second security scanning, I was yelled at in Russian (we don't even look Russian) by two security guys. I told them I only speak english, they told me I had to check in these small bottles. But that was of course too late. The explanation was - because of drunk Russians on planes! Then they threw them in the bin, including my antibac travel bottle (in these corona times we all need this). Both me and my 13 yr old daughter were shocked by the aggressive and impolite security staff.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"like a well-planned chaos"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | When we arrived at the departure hall, there was only one open entrance out of three and the queue was very long. A cheerful young lady greeted newcomers and offered so-called 'fast track' where you pay money and cut the queue; quite a number of exhausted passengers fell victim to this scheme and parted with their cash. A significant number of security officers, many of them wearing police uniforms, were imitating frenetic activity, while others either smoked cigarettes or drank tea. The queue moved very slowly. After about an hour waiting, another entrance was opened, but the passengers at the head of the queue were prevented from going there; instead, the police directed the tail of the queue to the newly-opened entrance. Thus, those who came last went through the security first. When it was our turn to take our suitcases to the X-Ray machine, a policeman demanded we show him our tickets, and as we hadn't bothered to print them out beforehand, we were unable to produce them. It's not a terribly busy airport with Turkish Airlines flying to Istanbul only three or four times a week, so everybody just shuffles up to their check-in counter and presents their passport. In the absence of tickets, the policeman asked for the flight number, but all we could tell him at 1:20 in the morning was, 'Turkish Airlines, Istanbul, 3:40'. My bad, I know, it's unforgivable not to memorise your flight number. I suggested that I go to the flight timetable in the centre of the hall and look up the flight number, but he was unrelenting and very serious; he ordered us to step out of the queue and wait aside, but then suddenly he smiled and waved his hand towards the X-Ray machine. I guess this was his sadistic way to entertain himself in the middle of the night. The security staff were younger and slightly more efficient; our first-aid pouch with aspirin, paracetamol and some other over-the-counter medications took them less than two minutes to inspect and they took no interest in the suitcases. The THY ground staff behind the check-in counters were reasonably fast, albeit numerous – no less than three staff at each desk. The elderly border guard who was checking and stamping the passports was more concerned about collecting cash from various uniformed people escorting the 'fast track' passengers. One such passenger, rather young and slightly hysterical because he thought he was missing his Fly Pegasus flight, arrived at the border without having been checked in for the flight; his uniformed escort received some dressing-down from the border guard, collected the passport and turned to go back to the airline counter, but the border guard called after him and returned the wad of cash that had been given to him half a minute earlier. Some honesty and propriety at last. I cannot comment on the terminal seating arrangements and other amenities because we did not have time to enjoy the duty-free shopping or just to buy a bottle of water; as soon as we cleared through all the security barriers, we boarded the plane. Overall, the whole operation looked like a well-planned chaos created in order to distort money from captive passengers. I do not think my country, the Russian Federation, will soon restore direct flights to Sharm El Sheikh; I am sure the relevant authorities are well aware of the situation at this airport and the venal practices of the police.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"leads to enormous queues"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Horrible experience! This was the second or third time we had to undergo this new control delusion at SSH, and it grows worse every time we pass it. Three controls! Not only for hand luggage and personal wearings, but also for the contents of your suitcase. For each control you have to get of your shoes and clothes (one gentleman had to strip unto his naked torso because his pullover had buttons and was suspected to be a cardigan! I was glad they left him his trousers.), You have to open your laptop, put each electronic device on the tray. Then you have to get it back into your bags and put everything on again for it makes more fun to unpack and strip again at the next control. Of course, this leads to enormous queues, and sometimes 2.5 hours are not enough to get only through the first control. The message to us tourists is clearly: Keep away from sinai! You are not wanted. We are so fed up with this disrespectful treatment that we won't return to sinai as long as these police state manners do not change.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"random unorganised chaos"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | I'm half Dutch Egyptian and I lived in both countries over 10 years. I've traveled to over 30 countries in my life and let me tell you, security in Sharm el-Sheikh Airport is the worst I experienced in all my life of travel, it was not like that years ago. Security staff are unfriendly, everyone has to go thru 3 security checks but if you are lucky they chose you randomly another 3 times to check your bag and register your name and destination. No manners, unfriendly, a lot of useless questions just out of curiosity, my wife was checked for any money or jewellery, just out of curiosity. No system, no ethics and no clear explanations. Instead of improving it in a professional manner you end up with this subjective random unorganised chaos. Please write your review so we can make a change. Tui flights were forced to let their passengers out in Hurghada on the way to Europe for no clear reason and just for 30 min. This has to improve and today we can wait on the plane during transit. I believe we can make a change by reporting it and complaining.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the staff are getting worse"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I have been to this airport on several occasions, the staff are getting worse each and every time, they are rude ignorant and they think it’s a fun game to talk on their phones and screw us around. Their security is overkill, security is important but 5 times just to make it to the boarding terminal is a bit much and that’s not including getting in the bus to go to the plane. Some of the guards like to mess around with you and the very next person going threw just gets waived.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"nonsense and chaotic experience"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | The airport's security has been 'improved' only to become a true nonsense and chaotic experience to travelers with security checks being implemented one after the other, even when entering the airport facility you have to show your 'boarding pass' even though you haven't reach the check in area still. Oddly enough, before checking in you have to pass through a security check where your baggage could be open. After visa procedures there's even other security check where you have to take off your shoes, normal procedure in Egypt but they don't give you plastic bags here for the feet. Visa and passport procedures on entering the country are also very complicated and slow even at night when there are very few aircraft movements. Airport staff generally very unfriendly and not knowledgeable of international procedures.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 78 Reviews