Seattle Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 167 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"Not kid friendly"

(United States)

Not Verified | Not kid friendly. We went to three different restaurants (for breakfast) and all of them turned us away because I had an 8 year old who was not old enough to drink. I’m guessing that’s a law but perhaps there could be more options. Also struggled to find family bathrooms.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"closure of all services at this terminal by 10pm is unreal"

(United States)

Not Verified | A ton of money was used to 'remodel' the N gates. I’m so annoyed and wish my airline didn’t constantly use this terminal. It’s cleaner than most, but the lack of amenities and closure of all services at this terminal by 10pm is unreal. We arrived after a 6 hour flight to find all kitchens and quick food in this terminal closed. Even the newsstand, closes at 10. There isn’t a single thing open and after 6 hours, one might like to grab a quick bite or drink or heck, even buy a new magazine. Zero options tonight. Super unfortunate and super frustrating. Sorry Seattle, I’m unsure why you can’t seem to make this place inviting and functional. Lastly, for being brand new, it’s already becoming filthy, please allocate more cleaning crews.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Friends don't let friends use Sea-Tac"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Friends don't let friends use Sea-Tac. After multiple arrivals into and departures from Seattle, all I have to say is, "What a joke!" How, oh how, does the metropolis which gave the world Microsoft, Amazon and Starbucks, and served as the setting for the classy '90s sitcom "Frasier," manage to have an airport that would shame Satan himself? It's almost as bad as LAX. Staff aren't so much rude, as they are "aggressively passive-aggressive" - pushy and aloof, but polite the whole time they're doing it. The passengers indeed can actually seem rather hostile, perhaps because they're crammed like sardines in an old, outdated, small, dingy, filthy airport that always seems to be under construction without any tangible progress in modernization. There is no logical connectivity between the terminals, whether you're relying on signage or the inter-terminal tram. I mean, isn't the purpose of a tram to logically piece the airport together? The floors don't look like they've been cleaned since 1987. The restrooms, unkempt sometimes. Delays in arriving to, and departing from, the gate are common, because this airport has had a dramatic spike in flights without any accompanying increase in people-handling and gate capacities. If you have to visit the Pacific Northwest, fly into Portland, OR or Bellingham, WA in the US, or Victoria, BC or Vancouver, BC in Canada (though Canadian immigration and customs aren't exactly any more pleasant than their American counterparts).
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"one of my least favorite airports"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Has become one of my least favorite airports. Overcrowded, never can arrive or depart on time due to gate shortages, most restaurants are closed for remodeling, bathrooms are dingy and gross. Seattle is dying.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an assault to all your senses"

(United States)

Not Verified | What a depressing place. There is no doubt I am at Tacoma airport. I don't know what hits you first. The grime or the smell. It is like an assault to all your senses. There is trash visable everywhere. I can count 8 coffee cups at gate B6 rigjt now. This airport always seems to be under construction, yet nothing ever seems to appear better. Added to this is the fact that all the store employees seem to be bothered when you have to interupt their conversations. If you have a connecting flight I recommend you avoid Tacoma Airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a poor experience every time"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The slowest and most inefficient airport I've ever had to arrive at. If you are not a US citizen, do not, I repeat, do not make a transit at this airport, you will not make it in time. Of the 6 times, I've arrived here internationally, it took an average of 1.5 hours just to clear the immigration checkpoint each time, with a maximum of 3 hours from personal experience. After clearing customs, all other airports that I've been to have your checked luggage up and out on the carousel in 20 minutes max. Here, it's at least an hour's wait so it doesn't even matter if you've cleared the immigration checkpoint quickly. Finally when you exit to ground transport, do not use the bag conveyor belt to deliver your luggage separately before taking the transit train to Seattle exit and ground transportation else you'll have to wait another 10 minutes for your bags to arrive by the conveyor belt after you've arrived by the transit train. This airport is not just understaffed, it suffers from very visible underemployment and operation inefficiencies. For example, the airport management has in their infinite wisdom decided to station not one but two workers at each luggage carousel to arrange bags neatly on the carousel as they arrive by the conveyor belt so that they don't tip over. This task is absolutely pointless - I've still seen bags tip over and being rearranged by other passengers standing beside it. So now you have two persons being paid to just stand by the carousel chit-chatting and occasionally moving a bag or two when they could be doing something more useful like delivering the bags quickly. All in all, too much waiting and a poor experience every single time. Is it too much to ask for an airport to do its job quickly so I don't have to stand for another 3 hours after a 12-hour transpacific flight? I've arrived in the US from LA and San Fran and both are much, much faster.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"increase duty-free shops"

(South Korea)

Trip Verified | My departure and arrival are here at Seattle-Tacoma airport were good. Starbucks was crowded by people but it is ok. In addition, the airport needs to increase duty-free shops.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"very pleased with customer service"

(United States)

Not Verified | Although it seems that every time we fly into SeaTac, it is under construction, we were very pleased with customer service at check in, and gates. And TSA line very short. 4 days after Thanksgiving, it took 20 min to get from check-in to gate, which is unheard of. Good experience, except construction caused the terminal to be very cold.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"cheerful, humorous, kind"

(United States)

Not Verified | There was a security officer named Williston who was cheerful, humorous, kind and absolutely over the top with positive energy who made our trip to the airport at 7 am, memorable and delightful. If more employees enjoyed their jobs and made it a point to enrich passengers' lives as he did, the world would be a better place.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"shocked at the dirty carpets"

(United States)

Not Verified | Curbside check-in was a snap. The security line was almost empty. My wife has PreCheck and has to walkway down from the rest of the security and it took her three times as long to clear bag check/body scan as I did without PreCheck. We walked down to the gate and I was shocked at the dirty carpets. All kinds of food debris are on the floor, all over. There is no one cleaning or vacuuming and it is late afternoon. My wife dropped her coat on the floor and I was grossed out. We moved to the other side of the building to wait at Gate B9 vs Gate B10. Otherwise, the experience was uneventful. Nice sunset with a good view of the mountains. Then I got my bag in San Diego and someone has been through it. It is not a TSA inspection. One side has been ransacked. The strap I always put around the bag is gone and the stupid expanding section is now bellowed out. Inside the contents are as if they were tossed in a blender. What a mess. I don't know who or why but this is really bad news. SWA runs a great organization and I doubt they were the source of something nefarious. But it happened there and could not have happened on arrival because it came out with everyone elses. Who does that? How cheesey and lame. And I lost a bag strap that has been around the world with me for years.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no