Seattle Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 138 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"need some additional training"

(United States)

Trip Verified | TSA checked baggage inspectors need some additional training! I took two boxes of candy in a checked bag as gifts for friends in Mexico. One of the see-thru boxes had been opened, the plastic seal removed along with two pieces of candy. Are you kidding me! Because the candy was in see-thru plastic containers it was totally unnecessary to open the box and remove the plastic seal. Crazy. Also, I had a bottle of liqueur padded with plastic on two sides and taped in place so the inspectors could clearly see the labels on the front/back of the bottle and see exactly what it was. They removed all the padding and didn’t bother to tape it back on after inspecting it. It’s a miracle it didn’t break and spill all over the contents of my suitcase. Why can’t they repack items the way they found them? This isn’t SeaTac’s fault, but some of the TSA people working there reflect poorly on an otherwise excellent airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"nightmare experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We arrived at Seatac airport to get a Hawaiian airlines flt. We already did online check night before flight but needed to get a bag tag from a malfunctioned kiosk and waiting for one to open up. Then stand in a long line to check bags in. Although I was pre check I chose to go with the rest of my family who weren't. After that the craziness began. Among our group of 6 was my 91 yr old mother who maneuvered those very very long zig zag lines thru TSA as good as we did. There were only 2 lines to general tsa check for hundreds of people zig zagged sometimes 4 abreast. What I carried through TSA Honolulu and TSA Las Vegas in 3 pans took 6 pans at Seatac. The young agent had me put all my belongings in separate pans. Shoe, purse, hand carry, jacket and ipad/cell phone, 6 pans total not counting my mother's 3 pans with her hand carry, purse and cell phone. After we went through my mother's purse went missing and we panicked running around looking for it only to find that an agent had it and brought it to us to search. By the time we got the tram to the boarding gate with 7 minutes left to board I was happy to be leaving that nightmare experience behind. It took 1 hr and 10 minute thru TSA. Come on seatac we've been going thru this since 2001, get it together! You are the last people your visitors go through. Fix your TSA lines! Six of us almost missed our flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"traffic control delays"

(United States)

Not Verified | Seatac has become the most miserable airport to transit through. Air traffic control delays all regional flights constantly. Alaska airlines had not had a single flight that hasn't been delayed that I've been on for 2 years. The construction projects have not been named correctly.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"TSA lines are outrageous"

(United States)

Not Verified | TSA lines are outrageous and the security process throughout is simply terrible. They have 2 pre-check only security checkpoints right next to each other, fully staffed with officer with very little to do because they usually have just handful people in pre-check line. However, if you don’t have the pre-check, you have to walk long ways to the checkpoint in the middle of the airport, which has the line that wraps forever. It turns into a very stressful process because both the passengers and the officers are overwhelmed. Getting thru security may take you 40+ minutes. Unacceptable. This is an exptremly poorly managed TSA process and it has gotten worse in the last year.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a miserable experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | While the airport is trying to make the terminal nicer, the security lines are horrible, poor management, long lines and they move so absurdly slowly, that you end up racing to your gate. It’s possibly even worse returning from international flights!! As a result, it’s always a miserable experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"food options are limited"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport lacks enough seating for the amount of people waiting to board flights. The food court has been closed for about a year and consequently food options are limited and again there is no seating if you manage to find something to eat. People were sitting on the dirty floor and blocking the entrance to shops. The bathrooms were crowded and dirty. The PA system sound is very poor. In a cosmopolitan city like Seattle I expect better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"has severely gone downhill"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | SeaTac has severely gone downhill in the past fifteen years. On arrival, I was shocked at how extremely long the immigration and customs queues were, staff were handing out bottles of water and many passengers were missing connecting flights. Announcements advertised an e-passport app but no WiFi on which to download the app until quite far into the queue, and no advertisement that there was WiFi. Overall, it took two hours to get through as a US citizen. After immigration (literally walking through, wondering if I was going to be arrested) I ended up confused and bewildered in Customs with people playing Human Snake around the baggage claim waiting for their turn, which took another hour. The way out was no better, with ridiculous security lines and a rush through screening that must be cutting corners. Seating before security also scarce and the cafes were crowded. Poor, retirement-age volunteers had been brought in to help queuing and give passenger info - a disgrace that they're not being paid. Come on SeaTac, get it together. Until you do, I'm flying into Vancouver.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This needs to be fixed"

(United States)

Not Verified | TSA lines are outrageous. At 5am they force everyone without precheck into one line. That wraps forever. The worst. No wonder whty you need to be at airport 2 plus hours before your flight. This needs to be fixed.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"most poorly managed airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | This is the most poorly managed airport I have ever experienced. The lines were mind bogglingly long without the traffic to justify it. Seattle will not be on my list of places to return unless they have another airport to try.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"they never fix the outlets"

(United States)

Not Verified | Year after year, we fly in and out of Seattle airport. And it never ceases to amaze me (and others) how they never fix the outlets for people to charge their phones. We are usually in the N6 area, for Alaska airlines. People running from seat to seat, trying to plug in their phone or laptop. How frustrating. All the money they rake in, and cannot get adequate outlet service for their customers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no