San Juan Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 28 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"not a single person could help me"

(United States)

Not Verified | I arrived at San Juan airport on May 20 around 2 pm I speak no Spanish me and my boyfriend came for vacation. He speaks it I don’t. I got lost and was crying and freaking out I had lost my phone. And I had all these bags plus my cat. I had no clue where my boyfriend was. I talked to 5 different people that were working at the airport and not a single one of them could help me. The lady for lost luggage area was super rude to me and told me she could not look after any of my bags so I could go look for my boyfriend. Then I talked to a luggage guy and he literally ignored me. Then I even talked to an airport security and he could not help me either. I thought this was a tourist airport but not a single person could help me or understand me. No one would even let me use a phone they had. I think this is messed up on so many levels because I spent so much money to fly here and I got lost and not a single person could help me. Imagine a child getting lost and people just ignoring him or her because they speak english only and don’t understand them, leaving them to fend for themselves,It’s sad and a very scary thing, I am now afraid to go back to San Juan airport because of my experience and it needs to be heard and something needs to be done about it.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
3/10

San Juan Airport customer review

(United States)

Not Verified | It is a shame that San Juan Puerto Rico has such a poor airport! The outlets dont work, the chairs are awful, not enough shopping and lets not start with the condition of the bathrooms! The food is over priced and bad. I will suggest for the management of this airport to visit Punta Cana airport! This will put them to shame. Puerto Rico a commonwealth of the USA you will think that the amenities or standards will be similar to those of USA? Wrong....nothing to be excited here!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"very disappointing"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flew out of SJU early this morning, decided to wait to have breakfast at the airport, that was a big mistake. There are no proper breakfast places to be had at Terminal B. There was this over priced coffee shop, with prepackaged pastries, and prices that would make Starbucks blush, a Margaritaville, great if you are an alcoholic and wanted early morning booze, and a Viena restaurant offering chicken wings, burgers, hot dogs and meat patties, seriously?Not a single item containing eggs on site, yet alone any proper breakfast foods. I am really shocked they did not even have a McDonalds, Burger King or Mesón, heck, any restaurant known to offer real breakfast foods, it's really very disappointing that an airport this size cannot even provide sufficient and proper restaurant options. Hoy por la mañana salí de la terminal B, no comí afuera del aeropuerto, ni antes del control de seguridad pensando que encontraría un lugar apropiado para desayunar. Pero ocurrió todo lo contrario, un local de café, con precios más caros que un Starbucks, un restaurant tipo bar, en serio! Y el Viena vendiendo comidas de almuerzo, cena a las 5:30 am, en serio? No podían poner un Mesón, o hasta un McDonalds o Buerguer King, al menos esos ofrecen desayunos como Dios manda, y algo común y normal en cualquier restaurante del tamaño del LMN por todo el mundo, da vergüenza ver empanadillas, alitas, hot dogs o dulces en vez de comida verdadera de desayuno.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"the bartender was rude"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The airport personnel were very helpful and the girls at Popeyes were very nice! Tried to get a cocktail at Mango's village bar and restaurant the bartender was rude, in fact he was so rude I walked away. Puerto Rico was wonderful just don’t go to Mango's on the way home!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"displeased with security staff"

(United States)

I loved San Juan airport and the facility. I was very displeased with security staff. I travel at least 3 times a month and have never encountered such rude people. I had 3am flight, was very sleepy, and forgot to throw away a tiny bottle of water (from the hotel). It was my fault and I do not minimize that. But after that I was treated with such disrespect like an offending criminal. My message to security staff - please be nice and more human. Just because somebody forgot to empty a bottle of water, you have no right to treat them poorly.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"less options for eating"

(United States)

I have flown into and out of the San Juan airport often. The airport was not as bad as I had read online. Yes, there were many people because of the time of year, with very long lines. If they were better organized, they could move at a decent pace. I didn't have to wait too long to go through security. There are less options for eating but this is to be expected since the airport was taken over another company. They did away with a number of eateries. In fact, comparing before and after, I find the airport was more efficient when it was run by the local government than what it is with this different company.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"can and will take hours"

(United States)

The TSA inspection station can and will take hours. Yes hour(s) plural. The lackadaisical way they operate insures hours of standing in line and a definite crunch of passengers panicking as their flights leave. They have four scanning stations with proper bag scanners etc. but you will find only two open despite huge snaking lines. Good luck.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"If you can avoid this airport"

(United States)

I'm very frustrated with the way the new airport is set up. When you arrive from St Thomas, nobody directs you where to go. The employees are clueless. The terminal layouts are in disarray. The last time I was here there were many eateries and now there are only a handful. A breakfast spot only operates from 6 to 11. It was very frustrating when someone directed people to go outside to reach terminal A when you can easily walk to the terminal from the inside. And yes, please put readable signs and train the staff. If you can avoid this airport. Also, getting a flight out of this airport from 6pm to 12am is hell.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

San Juan Airport customer review

(United States)

I arrived yesterday at SJU. The airport looked clean but it has changed a lot since my visit last year. A lot of the eateries were removed so choices are few and far between. The biggest change is moving the car rental companies to a parking lot across the street. There are no shuttles to take you where the car rentals are. If you have a lot of luggage you are going to have to hire a baggage handler to take your luggage where the car rental companies are at. Even if you don't have a lot or no luggage at all you have to walk a significant distance to reach the car rental companies. There a no pick ups for the disabled if you have to go there you'll have to do that on your own power. When asked about it to the car rental person she said that the Mexicans that operate the airport changed it. This arrangement surely violates ADA if someone wants to push with the Federal government I think they should.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

San Juan Airport customer review

(United States)

1st time at SJU. Am a United 1k flyer. Looks like a modern airport but it truly is just for show. TSA pre-check line was allowing all kinds of non pre-check people into the line causing major confusion and delays. No Star Alliance lounge yet this is an airport with increasing passenger traffic and over 8.5 million passengers a year. Completely amateur. Avoid if possible.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 28 Reviews