San Francisco Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 134 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"Thanks a million for the person who reported it!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I arrived in SFO as I did many times in the past, except I lost my passport in the airport this time! After frantically searching for it in vain, with help from SFO Info desk and SFPD Officer, I was extremely lucky in finding it via United Airline and local personnel. It was found outside a security check point, someone picked it up and gave it to local officials and then to United supervisors. As I was walking with Officer Whitney, the local official approached us and asked “Did you lose a passport?” That’s how we found it! Thanks a million for the person who reported it!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Appalling immigration setup"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Appalling immigration setup. No attempt by uncaring female observing immigration staff to usher families with babies and toddlers to front of near 100 metre serpentine line of non US travellers. As a transit passenger I spent near 3 hours and made my connection by minutes. Why as a transit traveller with an e-visa did I need my R fingers, R thumb, L fingers, L thumb imaged plus a photo? Never had to endure a pat down top to toe when had a handkerchief in pocket. Had to remove a plastic tooth pick! Man on moon 50 years ago but this chaos. Go to Vancouver airport. All this and bio security via self serve consoles. Through immigration in 5 minutes.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst experience"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Landed at 1pm. Stayed on the tarmac till 1:30. Got into the immigration line at 1:45. 3 hours later we are still not even close to the counter. Still, have to get our bags and clear customs!! Easily the worst experience at an international airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no one is taking control to organize this experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airport I have ever been to. Every time I have been here, my flight gets changed, there are no food or drinks stores open after 10pm, they are very disorganized to the point where the flight attendants don’t even know what’s going on. People are everywhere and no one is taking control to organize this experience for others. I am not happy as I have been waiting two extra hours due to no explanation for our flight being delayed. I will not be back.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport I have ever seen"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I travel all around the world, and without a doubt this is the worst airport I have ever seen. Poor signage. Completely understaffed and disorganized chaos in the security area. Everything was a complete disaster and took twice as long as it should have.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"made us wait on the tarmac for 30 minutes"

(United States)

Not Verified | We arrived at 1am in the morning and they made us wait on the tarmac for 30 minutes. When we off the plane the baggage claim area doesn’t show our flight at all and we have no idea which carousel to grab our luggage from. The airport is almost empty at this time and these guys still can’t figure it out.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"a total mess"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The airport, and especially the TSA check, is a total mess. Only a handful of lines open, with people queueing up in their socks (first time I saw a security check with mandatory shoe removal, without providing any sanitary bag to use on the extremely dirty carpet) while the luggages went through the X rays. Unlike in London Heathrow, no passport check before arriving at the gate, so make sure to call in at the check in even if you have already done it and you don't have any checked baggage to drop off, otherwise you will be called at the gate for passport check. The organization is truly terrible. Also the duty free area is pretty poor.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"It was a disorganized mess"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Went through TSA Pre-check line at 10:30 am on a recent Sunday. The wait was over 45 minutes, and we timed people in the regular line getting through in 15 minutes on average. They kept letting all the flight crews go in front (understandable, but why not hold up the 'slow' line instead) and had only two lines open. There were no bins anywhere. If you had keys or a phone in your pocket, you were completely out of luck. My husband had a sweater they made him take off, but it got caught on the conveyor and damaged. Who has run into a baggage scanner which has no bins in use anywhere? If you have a big carry-on, you can put stuff inside - but then that, depending on your bag, means opening up your whole bag on the conveyor belt while they are yelling at you to move it along. I have knee replacements and told them, they sent me through the regular line which beeped of course, then made me go back through the body scanner line, holding others up, and then they had to do a manual search anyway. It was a disorganized mess - the worst security screening we've seen in the past year with about 60 flights in at least 24 airports. Shame on you, SFO!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"No sense of urgency"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | 3 staff processing 600 people! The majority of reentry by ESTA got the dreaded X on their biometric scam meaning joining that dreaded queue. No sense of urgency, people missing flights as a result - hopeless!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Complete chaos"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | An absolute nightmare. After an 11 hour flight we stood in line for passport control for 2 hours 50 minutes. People were passing out, paramedics called to someone. Complete chaos. Thought perhaps it was a one off but later met someone in SF who waited for 3 and a half hours in a similar queue. When we eventually got through no belt info for our flight and found all bags had been taken off the carousel. People missed connecting flights. A complete nightmare - one I never wish to repeat so will avoid SFO in future at all costs.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no