San Francisco Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 145 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Very unhelpful and rude"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | We arrived from from New Zealand at 6am on 13/01/2020 and needed to catch a connecting flight to New Orleans at 9.30am. At the time we thought this would be ample time to get through customs, pick up our bags and then recheck them in for the domestic flight and go through security again. There were three lines one for US citizens, one that said global and one that said all other passengers. We asked a staff member, which line we should get into, global or other passengers and his response was 'I can't help you.' Very unhelpful and rude. It took nearly 2 and a half hours to get through customs and we had nothing to declare. I would estimate there were about 1000 people needing to get processed and about 5 officials on duty. I felt most for the families with young children as there didn't appear to be any sympathy from the staff and everyone had to wait their turn. Some of these children had been on our flight, which was over 11 hours long. Any request such as changing a babies nappy was met with an annoyed response from staff. There were multiple people who missed flights and as expected were very distressed. When we finally got our turn we asked the guy who processed us, if it was always like this and he said it was worse in summer! If our flight hadn't been delayed 45 minutes, we would have missed it too. They really needed to have more staff on processing people.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"incredibly inefficient immigration"

(United States)

Not Verified | Horrible wait time during immigration after landing into San Francisco from an international flight. Expect 2.5-3.5 hours wait time in line before you pass immigration to get your baggage There were very little staff on duty and the wait/lines were very poorly managed. This is comical for international tourists whose first experiences arriving into Silicon Valley is backward customer service and incredibly inefficient immigration.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"SFO is a disaster"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Nightmare in the city of SFO. On arrival no wheelchair attendant as requested. I had to push my husband in the wheelchair myself. We went through customs easily with the chair, but when we collected our luggage, I couldn’t handle the luggage and my husband. He rolled himself from the luggage to where United Air collected luggage. We then had to go through TSA again. I inquired about pre-check in TSA and the official directing people yelled at me and because of her strong accent I couldn’t understand her. When I asked her again she just got furious and turned her back on us. We ended up in the non-pre TSA which was a nightmare with all our carry ons and a wheelchair. They took the wheelchair away and made my husband go through a complete search because his arm and hip replacements set off the equipment. Finally we reached the United Gate and they were almost through boarding even though we allowed plenty of time for this transition. We were sent out in the rain to get to our plane to San Luis Obispo. Because of the weather, they needed 8 volunteers to get off the plane for weight reasons. Finally they decided to remove all the baggage so o one had to leave the plane. (Good idea). The plane took off 1.5 hours late. United Air did a good job of Tracking our luggage. It went down to LA and arrived several hours later in San Luis Obispo. When I tried to pick up my luggage in SLO, the clerk at the united counter was the rudest person and of no help. She instructed me to stand by a door and hope someone would help me. It took 20 minutes. A very nice airport employee, arriving for work took pity on me and opened the door that had the luggage. We spent 2 mos. traveling. We were in Frankfurt airport, Rome Airport, Bangkok Airport, Auckland Airport and Tahiti Airport and never had a problem. SFO is a disaster and SLO needs a baggage handler.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"so humiliating in all aspects"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Today we experienced the worst customer service by the TSA staff. My wife is on crutches and was forced to stand on one leg in the body scanner. I am glad this was amazing to their staff. We repeatedly ask if she could pass through the easier side in which she would be able to use her crutches, but for some reason she was denied the opportunity numerous times. However, once it was my turn to go through (noted I was only 2 people behind my wife) I was pushed to the other side of the metal detector machine instead in which we had ask for my wife to go through. Once the scanner had done its job she was expected to hop with one leg out of the machine since her crutches were being scanned. She was holding up the line, so the TSA tried to assist her by putting hands on her, but obviously my wife couldn’t take the help since she is not able to maneuver without the crutches. This was so humiliating in all aspects. TSA officers need to go through a sensitive and judgement course in which they are thought to be human beings and make better decisions. The supervisor was rude and backed her employe even though she was wrong. She continued to argue that her employee was not aware of the anxiety she was causing my wife, she had a meltdown while being patted down. Until that moment she realized she was in the wrong and contacted customer services to get my wife a wheelchair.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"how behind this airport is"

(United States)

Not Verified | I had a flight from New Zealand to San Francisco (3:34-6:30) and a connecting flight from San Francisco to Cancun Mexico (8:41-4:54). As soon as we landed I was informed that all check-in bags would need to be picked up and rechecked, sure no problem I thought to myself because I had 2:20 min to spare. I ended up standing in the customs line for a 1:45min. I talked to 3 workers who were "in charge of managing the lines if I could skip the line ... they said no" I asked the customs agent if I could cut in line and he says "sorry not our problem" Mind you that there were only 2 agents working the whole time. So after already accepting that I missed my flight (boarding time was at 8:05), I get to the baggage area where there were no signs saying where my bag would be because it already been close to 2 hours since we landed. I find my bag thrown in a pile of other suitcases. I get to my airline desk explained the situation and they rebooked my flight .. great! But they made me go through security all over again which ended up costing me another hour to which I barely ended making my rebooked flight by 5 min! If you can avoid this airport at all costs, go to SJC or even Oakland they'll probably take better care of their passengers. It is ridiculous how we do not use computers like many European countries as customs! Very outdated methods that are broken. To make matters worse I wanted to file an actual complaint but they want you to mail it in, instead of emailing a complaint. Just shows how behind this airport is. I thought we were in Silicon Valley!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"airport is not at the level it should be"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco is a fantastic city and its airport is not at the level it should be. The queuing time is the most important and performs too poorly. Tops - Wifi is easy to connect and fast - you get your bags fast. Bottoms - Security lines are extremely long (30 to 45 min) - Customs are way too long for visitors (1h to 2h easily).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
4/10

"Dirty, slow, no signage"

(France)

Not Verified | Simple review: one of the worst airports I have ever flown into. Dirty, slow, no signage. Employees unfriendly and useless. Lounge is a complete disaster. There is so much to fix that they would be better off closing it and opening a new one.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"unfriendly employees"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | I've never seen anything like it. There is complete chaos and arbitrariness at the security line (departure Terminal International). The ladies at the entrance distribute the guests as they please - even as a priority guest you are put in the longest queue. The duration of the control due to bad-tempered and unfriendly employees is the longest I have ever experienced at an airport worldwide. Especially the unnecessary taking off of shoes with modern scanners is not comprehensible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not passenger-friendly"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Cannot believe how backwards the immigration, security and departures are! The airport is not passenger-friendly at all! Definitely will not be coming here again! No one is helpful and signage is non-existent.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"longest time ever to pass the immigration counter"

(Germany)

Not Verified | The longest time ever to pass the immigration counter - over 2 hours. Many of our co-passengers missed their connection-flights. During our waiting time in the queue most of the people, working at the counters, left their place and didn't come back. Golf-Baggage totally destroyed.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no