San Francisco Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 166 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"30 min to get to our occupied gate"

(Switzerland)

Not Verified | Travelled twice through this airport in the last 7 days. Twice we waited more than 30 min to get to our occupied gate. Unacceptable. Not that airport management would care but better resource planning will give you more stars in the future.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"security highly stressful and chaotic"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Had appalling service from ground staff manning the gate for my United Airlines flight from SFO to SEA. I was one of the last few to board (with 25 minutes to spare before takeoff) and was told by a male staff that they were out of overhead bin space for remaining passengers. I was asked “Will your bag fit under the seat in front of you?” To which I answered “Yes, it’s just clothes.” He then yelled at me and said “I didn’t ask what you had in the bag, I asked if it would fit.” This threw me off guard and I just said yes, but was fuming as I stepped away from the gate. Security was also highly stressful and chaotic, with more shouting from the TSA officers than you would expect in a local fish market. United Lounge was meh. The most substantial item on the menu was chicken noodle soup.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"dreadful service"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Dreadful service through immigration. 3.5 hours to get to baggage carousel. Announcements inaudible and no respect or regard for travellers. They don't care if you miss your connection. The TSA are arrogant and ignorant to travelling visitors.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"facilities around the gate were very few"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | I departed from gate A3 International terminal. Security check and other process were smooth. But the facilities around the gate were very few. Few restrooms, 2 vending machines and all out of service. Little and a few duty-free shops. A very long line of passengers waiting to buy a bottle of water from the vending machine but they were all cracked.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"not up to international standards"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Very disappointing as we had a 4 hr wait for our flight. Once through security there were no USB ports to charge phones etc. only the odd socket. The seating was very basic so we lay on the floor to stretch out before our 14 hour flight. The toilet queue was ridiculous as there were no toilets near the actual departure gate downstairs. There was 1 duty free shop and a couple of dining options plus a couple of vending machines. No bookstore or news stand, coffee shops etc. Pre security offered better options but not by much. Flight departure was delayed so we missed our connecting flight. Very basic facilities and not up to international standards.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"airport is clean and tidy"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The airport is clean and tidy however I had to queue for over 2 hours to go through immigration control which is far too long. There were only between 2 and 3 immigration officers on the desks with room for at least 20. This was a long haul flight and my chauffeur was also kept waiting then for 2.5 hours due to this delay. The Delta business lounge was completely full and was being shaken continuously by something on the roof very loudly. It was also extremely hot. Not a pleasant experience and one i'll try to avoid in the future. For a $10,000 ticket this is not really good enough.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"announcements were completely inaudible"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Further to my review headed "nowhere near as bad as I was expecting" published 31 July I want to expand on one remark. When the flight was called it was indeed a scrum - people milling everywhere in no apparent order. The Priority Lane was not accessible without pushing through the crowds (we flew Business Class and were presumably Priority), and announcements were completely inaudible. There must be a better way to organise boarding than this. Apart from this, we found the airport OK, but then again we did have access to a Lounge.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
1/10

"it is unreliable"

(United States)

Not Verified | Let me make this short and to the point. I am done with flying in and out of San Francisco because it is unreliable. Flights are delayed and often cancelled by the SFO air traffic control because the airport cannot handle the flights scheduled. If it were a weather issue I would be forgiving but it is not. My departing flight was cancelled so I had to reschedule and fly out of Oakland. When I returned my flight was delayed due to construction and one of the runways was closed. Really! You mean to tell me that with the planned construction there was no pre thought on affecting runway access. It is not just construction, with SFO there is always some excuse why a flight is delayed or cancelled. I am done! There are other choices: Oakland and now San Jose. I have been delayed and cancelled for the last time SFO. Adios!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"nowhere near as bad as I was expecting"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Used San Francisco to depart on July 23. To be honest we found the airport perfectly OK (bearing in mind some of the reviews) but we only used it for departure. Travelled in by BART train from Pioneer - very easy journey even with luggage as the train terminated at International A - and about 3 minutes walk from the BA check in desks. Couldn't be easier. Checked in and got Pre TSA screened which meant through security in not much time at all. Flight was 4 hours away (the second of 2 BA flights) and flying Club Class so used the BA Lounge. The actual International Departure area after security looked quite small but it didn't have the usual hordes of people aimlessly milling about between the fast food outlets, coffee shops, sports bars and departure gates. Also quite wide so gave an airy uncrowded feel, and had some nice seating areas with tables. Probably would have been pretty dull and boring if we weren't using BA's lounge. It did have a couple of restaurants at the very end of the terminal which actually looked very nice with great views of the runways. A real scrum with no apparent order when the flight was called, but all in all nowhere near as bad as I was expecting from the previous reviews.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
2/10

"Boring terminal"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | I was surprised that on Terminal G of SFO, after security check, there are only very few shops that were opened, with only Gucci as the international brand, and three restaurants. Boring terminal!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes