San Francisco Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 150 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"social distancing is very hard to achieve"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I disliked this airport after a horrible experience a few years ago but it seems it’s only gotten worse. 70% of restaurants were closed with only limited options available, all of which were fast food or fast casual. This greatly reduced the amount of available seats for those who did need to eat, and therefore social distancing is very hard to achieve. Quite possibly the worst place to spend a layover during Covid!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"do not recommend this airport"

(Northern Marianas)

Not Verified | This airport had terrible customer service for the most part. Only few employees were understanding and accommodating. They took away my 74 year old aunt’s wheelchair that she needed when she sat down. Not to mention, one of her escorts left her in a corner for an hour or more. The escorts just displayed terrible customer service. The experience was so horrible for my cousin that she had a complete panic attack and had to run from one end to the other for her stuff. I do not recommend this airport to anyone.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"6ft distance is not honored"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Most personnel has no mask nor gloves and comes really close, not honoring 6ft distance. I m wearing mask and gloves and counter and security is harassing me, i had to go thru security line then back to counter then security line and they openly harassed me, making me wait, not helping, making it difficult, going tru all my stuff and patting me down it took an hour total and i lost my flight. Security is worst because it is without masks and come close to you to pat you down. I asked they do talking at 6ft distance and then come to pat me and they had no clue what i was talking about. They want to pretend corona doesnt exist. Airport is quite empty but practically nobody wears a mask or gloves and 6ft distance is not honored.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"good WiFi is imperative"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have used SFO 8 times a year on average for the last 4 years. The WiFi is often weak or there is no connectivity at all. This is surprising and ironic, given the airport is near the center of most of the largest online tech corporations in the world. Many people using SFO concur with this pattern. I wish someone in charge would get it fixed. A good WiFi is imperative for those traveling through any airport!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"SFO was a terrible experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | From landing after an international overnight flight to transfer to another flight, SFO was a terrible experience and I will avoid at all costs. TSA customs entry was very poorly stationed, as was re-entry. The food establishments in this airport remain so poor. We are currently waiting in Terminal F with music so loud that we cannot hear gate announcements sitting at our gate. Celebrating Black History Month is wonderful and appropriate. Celebrating with music so loud that jet-lagged passengers get no reprieve and customers have to yell and can’t hear gate announcements is so bizarrely inappropriate. I cannot believe this is allowed and I hope to never return to this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very unhelpful and rude"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | We arrived from from New Zealand at 6am on 13/01/2020 and needed to catch a connecting flight to New Orleans at 9.30am. At the time we thought this would be ample time to get through customs, pick up our bags and then recheck them in for the domestic flight and go through security again. There were three lines one for US citizens, one that said global and one that said all other passengers. We asked a staff member, which line we should get into, global or other passengers and his response was 'I can't help you.' Very unhelpful and rude. It took nearly 2 and a half hours to get through customs and we had nothing to declare. I would estimate there were about 1000 people needing to get processed and about 5 officials on duty. I felt most for the families with young children as there didn't appear to be any sympathy from the staff and everyone had to wait their turn. Some of these children had been on our flight, which was over 11 hours long. Any request such as changing a babies nappy was met with an annoyed response from staff. There were multiple people who missed flights and as expected were very distressed. When we finally got our turn we asked the guy who processed us, if it was always like this and he said it was worse in summer! If our flight hadn't been delayed 45 minutes, we would have missed it too. They really needed to have more staff on processing people.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"incredibly inefficient immigration"

(United States)

Not Verified | Horrible wait time during immigration after landing into San Francisco from an international flight. Expect 2.5-3.5 hours wait time in line before you pass immigration to get your baggage There were very little staff on duty and the wait/lines were very poorly managed. This is comical for international tourists whose first experiences arriving into Silicon Valley is backward customer service and incredibly inefficient immigration.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"SFO is a disaster"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Nightmare in the city of SFO. On arrival no wheelchair attendant as requested. I had to push my husband in the wheelchair myself. We went through customs easily with the chair, but when we collected our luggage, I couldn’t handle the luggage and my husband. He rolled himself from the luggage to where United Air collected luggage. We then had to go through TSA again. I inquired about pre-check in TSA and the official directing people yelled at me and because of her strong accent I couldn’t understand her. When I asked her again she just got furious and turned her back on us. We ended up in the non-pre TSA which was a nightmare with all our carry ons and a wheelchair. They took the wheelchair away and made my husband go through a complete search because his arm and hip replacements set off the equipment. Finally we reached the United Gate and they were almost through boarding even though we allowed plenty of time for this transition. We were sent out in the rain to get to our plane to San Luis Obispo. Because of the weather, they needed 8 volunteers to get off the plane for weight reasons. Finally they decided to remove all the baggage so o one had to leave the plane. (Good idea). The plane took off 1.5 hours late. United Air did a good job of Tracking our luggage. It went down to LA and arrived several hours later in San Luis Obispo. When I tried to pick up my luggage in SLO, the clerk at the united counter was the rudest person and of no help. She instructed me to stand by a door and hope someone would help me. It took 20 minutes. A very nice airport employee, arriving for work took pity on me and opened the door that had the luggage. We spent 2 mos. traveling. We were in Frankfurt airport, Rome Airport, Bangkok Airport, Auckland Airport and Tahiti Airport and never had a problem. SFO is a disaster and SLO needs a baggage handler.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"so humiliating in all aspects"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Today we experienced the worst customer service by the TSA staff. My wife is on crutches and was forced to stand on one leg in the body scanner. I am glad this was amazing to their staff. We repeatedly ask if she could pass through the easier side in which she would be able to use her crutches, but for some reason she was denied the opportunity numerous times. However, once it was my turn to go through (noted I was only 2 people behind my wife) I was pushed to the other side of the metal detector machine instead in which we had ask for my wife to go through. Once the scanner had done its job she was expected to hop with one leg out of the machine since her crutches were being scanned. She was holding up the line, so the TSA tried to assist her by putting hands on her, but obviously my wife couldn’t take the help since she is not able to maneuver without the crutches. This was so humiliating in all aspects. TSA officers need to go through a sensitive and judgement course in which they are thought to be human beings and make better decisions. The supervisor was rude and backed her employe even though she was wrong. She continued to argue that her employee was not aware of the anxiety she was causing my wife, she had a meltdown while being patted down. Until that moment she realized she was in the wrong and contacted customer services to get my wife a wheelchair.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"how behind this airport is"

(United States)

Not Verified | I had a flight from New Zealand to San Francisco (3:34-6:30) and a connecting flight from San Francisco to Cancun Mexico (8:41-4:54). As soon as we landed I was informed that all check-in bags would need to be picked up and rechecked, sure no problem I thought to myself because I had 2:20 min to spare. I ended up standing in the customs line for a 1:45min. I talked to 3 workers who were "in charge of managing the lines if I could skip the line ... they said no" I asked the customs agent if I could cut in line and he says "sorry not our problem" Mind you that there were only 2 agents working the whole time. So after already accepting that I missed my flight (boarding time was at 8:05), I get to the baggage area where there were no signs saying where my bag would be because it already been close to 2 hours since we landed. I find my bag thrown in a pile of other suitcases. I get to my airline desk explained the situation and they rebooked my flight .. great! But they made me go through security all over again which ended up costing me another hour to which I barely ended making my rebooked flight by 5 min! If you can avoid this airport at all costs, go to SJC or even Oakland they'll probably take better care of their passengers. It is ridiculous how we do not use computers like many European countries as customs! Very outdated methods that are broken. To make matters worse I wanted to file an actual complaint but they want you to mail it in, instead of emailing a complaint. Just shows how behind this airport is. I thought we were in Silicon Valley!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no