San Francisco Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 155 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"one of the worst designed airports"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport may be attractive and very clean, but is one of the worst designed airports I have ever seen. Walk from the gates to baggage is extremely long. If you have any mobility issues and don’t use a wheelchair, it will be a real struggle. Once you finally make it to baggage claim, you have to go back upstairs and hope you see the one small sign for rental cars. This is yet another long walk with about half of it being an uphill ramp. Then, the signs are terrible. Nothing indicated rental cars until you get to the escalators. I can’t tell you how many people I saw looking around bewildered, as well as heard complaining about the walk. Follow the signs for the AirTran and take that all the way to the end. I will never fly in or out of this airport again and willing to pick less desirable flights from Oakland or San Jose just to avoid it.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"choose any airport over this one"

(United States)

Trip Verified | If I were you, I would choose any airport over this one. If it's not the weather, it's "runway renovations" that cause flight delays for which apparently no one is responsible. For over 20 years, I have disliked this airport - it is dirty, with customer service representatives who apparently hate their job. It has been my only option for a specific sole airline that flies into a small airport north of SF, where my family lives. A couple years ago, I was heading to my family's hometown on a Friday for my husband's memorial service the next morning, where he had spent most of his adult life serving the public (the local service where we lived at the time of his death was for friends at our new home). Soon after my husband's death, due to shock, I had fallen down a ladder and broke my heel. For the trip, I had been recovering for 3 months and still used a cane. My flight to SF was delayed by SF due to weather - a common occurence. My connecting flight from SF to the hometown was delayed over and over on the hour. When I asked a customer service rep about this and explained that I needed to get to my husband's memorial service, he just shrugged. He had no answer whether the flight would go or not. At 11 p.m. that night, I requested wheelchair service to go to the car rental station, and the customer service rep just stared at me and acted like she didn't understand English. I went to a different desk and requested the same thing, then I rented a car to drive 5 1/2 hours to our hometown to make sure I could get to the memorial service. My understanding is that my connector flight never flew there that night. The airline carrier also did not refund me for that leg of the journey. In the most recent case this April, I recently flew the same route to visit family over spring break. On the return trip, SF delayed our takeoff for an hour, causing me to miss the last flight out of SF to my hometown. The reason -- runway renovations. By the time we arrived in SF Airport, there were no customer service reps available, no food available, and the airline customer service rep's only option was to hand me a flyer with an 800 number to reserve a hotel room "at a discount" for the night through Roomstorm, whereby I was charged by both Roomstorm for the very expensive hotel reservation as well as the hotel. I would not recommend this airport to anyone. I am thankful that soon the hometown airport will have a different carrier option, with direct flights to and from that completely bypass SF.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"San Francisco Airport is gorgeous!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco Airport is gorgeous! We anticipated food courts may be closed and brought our dinner with us. We did take a later flight so it was not crowded at all. The only frustration I had was with long-term parking. Domestic long-term was closed with no forewarning, we were directed to international by an employee we could not understand clearly. We were given a ticket to use once we returned, I later noticed it was dated the 8th, we pulled in on the 10th. I had also found a coupon for 2 days free parking, from sfo website that was not honored. Other than that, it was a good experience. Parking is extremely expensive! Next time we will get a ride
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"there was no food available or open"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Terrible is all I can say. We landed for our layover after a 5 hour flight and there was no food available or open. There was no food offered on our flight either. We have a layover for 2.5 hours and then another 4 hour flight. Somebody didn’t think this through.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
10/10

"Poorly placed signs with missing information"

(United States)

Not Verified | Poorly placed signs with missing information. Way too big of an airport with rude staff. Navigating is impossible and for how much we pay and how many rules we have to follow which some honestly make no sense, you would think this airport could offer more than confusing giant art that people can't even admire because they're trying to figure out this labyrinth. Why charge so much, to be treated so badly because of a poor building design. If it were for better employees, better directional tools or at least some correct information instead of being told to, and I quote Delta Air Lines disgraceful employee, "I should've read the fine print", maybe I wouldn't be making sure I share this experience with every single option I have, so no one has to be screwed over, after all I went through to get this ticket, like I did. And seeing all the comments on all the forums I've been on so far, doesn't look like I'm alone.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"social distancing is very hard to achieve"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I disliked this airport after a horrible experience a few years ago but it seems it’s only gotten worse. 70% of restaurants were closed with only limited options available, all of which were fast food or fast casual. This greatly reduced the amount of available seats for those who did need to eat, and therefore social distancing is very hard to achieve. Quite possibly the worst place to spend a layover during Covid!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"do not recommend this airport"

(Northern Marianas)

Not Verified | This airport had terrible customer service for the most part. Only few employees were understanding and accommodating. They took away my 74 year old aunt’s wheelchair that she needed when she sat down. Not to mention, one of her escorts left her in a corner for an hour or more. The escorts just displayed terrible customer service. The experience was so horrible for my cousin that she had a complete panic attack and had to run from one end to the other for her stuff. I do not recommend this airport to anyone.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"6ft distance is not honored"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Most personnel has no mask nor gloves and comes really close, not honoring 6ft distance. I m wearing mask and gloves and counter and security is harassing me, i had to go thru security line then back to counter then security line and they openly harassed me, making me wait, not helping, making it difficult, going tru all my stuff and patting me down it took an hour total and i lost my flight. Security is worst because it is without masks and come close to you to pat you down. I asked they do talking at 6ft distance and then come to pat me and they had no clue what i was talking about. They want to pretend corona doesnt exist. Airport is quite empty but practically nobody wears a mask or gloves and 6ft distance is not honored.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"good WiFi is imperative"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have used SFO 8 times a year on average for the last 4 years. The WiFi is often weak or there is no connectivity at all. This is surprising and ironic, given the airport is near the center of most of the largest online tech corporations in the world. Many people using SFO concur with this pattern. I wish someone in charge would get it fixed. A good WiFi is imperative for those traveling through any airport!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"SFO was a terrible experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | From landing after an international overnight flight to transfer to another flight, SFO was a terrible experience and I will avoid at all costs. TSA customs entry was very poorly stationed, as was re-entry. The food establishments in this airport remain so poor. We are currently waiting in Terminal F with music so loud that we cannot hear gate announcements sitting at our gate. Celebrating Black History Month is wonderful and appropriate. Celebrating with music so loud that jet-lagged passengers get no reprieve and customers have to yell and can’t hear gate announcements is so bizarrely inappropriate. I cannot believe this is allowed and I hope to never return to this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no