San Diego Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 54 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Ridiculously crowded"

(United States)

Not Verified | Hated this airport. I will avoid Southwest connections at this airport in the future. Had to go through security again after landing to get to my connecting flight. Ridiculously crowded, minimal seating, ancient-looking, gloomy, low-ceilinged dinosaur of a terminal. This terminal (Southwest gates 3-20) and any others like it should be torn down and replaced.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
1/10

"This is a total joke"

(United States)

Not Verified | Connecting flight had to go through entire security screening process again. This is a total joke, if the airport is going to expand Gates then they need to do a better job to about this as it is a waste of money and frustrates travelers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"no sign showing the way"

(United States)

Not Verified | We had an early morning flight on Alaska Airlines, leaving San Diego at 6:45 a.m. When we got off the bus from the Car Rental Center and entered Terminal Two, there was no sign showing the way to the Alaska counter. We had no idea which way to go, and there was no one to ask. We went left, up the escalator, and ended up at the Delta counter. Alaska, it turned out, was at the opposite end of the terminal. We are senior citizens, with luggage, and we had to reverse course and go all the way back to the other end. Is there some reason why the airport can't put signs at the entrance, pointing the way to the various airline counters?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Beware if planning to catch connection and need to overnight"

(United States)

Not Verified | Beware if planning to catch connection and need to overnight. So disgusted with San Diego airport. My young son and I had a late night flight and planned to rest at the airport until our early a.m. flight. Security woke us up and kicked us out at 2 am claiming they aren't a 24 hour airport. We are welcome to be on the cold, cement floor at baggage claim and have to be rechecked through security in the a.m. Are you kidding me? I've stayed overnight in airports throughout the states to catch connecting flights. They said the airlines should have told me this. Thanks for the hospitality for weary travelers. All airports should have areas where travelers can rest warmly and somewhat confortably. People can get stranded or not have the time or money to get a room and get back early, utterly ridiculous. Plus, on the other side of security you're somewhat safe, any unticketed person can sleep out here. Unless the security loudly zooming on motorized standup bikes makes things better. Can't believe how annoyed I am while they blast Christmas music and intermittent announcements bouncing off the cold tiles. (Inside the airport they didn't have the announcements).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"poor design and workflow"

(United States)

Trip Verified | When is the San Diego Airport going to come into the 21st century? One airline three different terminals and 3 different checkpoints. Land in terminal 1, get off the plane and have to go through security to get to the terminal 2 and or 3. This airport doesn’t even have a expedited lane for transferring or connecting passenger through security. Every transferring or connecting passenger has to do a complete TSA screen before they can get to there next flight. How inconvenient is this for families with children, the elderly in wheelchairs and walkers, and for passengers who have close connections. I am all about security, keeping us safe. But let’s be honest, this isn’t about safety, it is about poor design and workflow. I personally have missed a flight do to this set up, where in any other airport this wouldn’t of been a issue. As much as I love San Diego your airport is poorly designed and completely frustrating for travelers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"the absolute worst airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Departed from terminal 1 on August 11, 2019. There is absolutely no where to sit. It took 25 minutes standing in line to get a cup of coffee. As a frequent traveler, San Diego Lindbergh Field is the absolute worst airport I have flown in or out of. Come one San Diego, it is time to expand so people at least have somewhere to sit while waiting for their flight. What a joke.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"crowded, loud and no seating"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst airport ever, terminal 1 has 1 restaurant, terminal 2 has 2 dozen. If your stuck in terminal 2 don’t come hungry as there is not enough seats to eat! Since there is very little seating for those waiting to board everyone sits at the restaurant and stays there! It’s crowded, loud and no seating, terrible service! Why have such a huge terminal in 2 and nothing in 1, bad job on the part of the airport to not make the terminals equal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Few seats available"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seating (standing) situation is terrible. Few seats available, dirty, crowded. Restaurants and bars crowded and inaccessible. If you're travelling more than two in a group you'll likely not find space together.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
2/10

"Long queues at immigration"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The new international arrivals facility is terrible. Significantly more walking required, up and down escalators, huge amounts of rope barriers. You now clear immigration after collecting bags, mitigating any advantages of arriving in First or Business (at least on BA). Long queues at immigration. What used to take 30 minutes now takes 90 minutes. Such a waste of money and bad planning on the part of the airport. And for some reason you have to show an airport employee your passport to get into the immigration queue - creating another bottleneck. And after clearing immigration and customs you are then dumped out into a little arrivals annex far from the rest of the airport and normal terminal services - requiring a 10 min walk to the taxi or uber areas. SAN has gone from one of the best international arrival ports to one of the worst.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"terminals are far too small"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Diego International Airport is a perfect example of infrastructure which hasn’t kept up with community growth. The terminals are far too small for the volume of flyers passing through it, and it’s setup is a logistical nightmare. I arrived at Terminal 1 this afternoon and flew out of Gate 2. First problem I noticed was that one can only access certain gates through certain security checkpoints. Gates 1, 2, and 2A are located behind their own security checkpoint which doesn’t have TSA Pre-Check. I am a business flyer and carry an extensive amount of electronics in my baggage, all of which had to come out (in their own, separate bins) to go through the X-Ray. Also had to remove my liquids which took forever. The security line moved extremely slow due to the lack of separated TSA Pre-Check, so arrive early. Once through security, you are guided into an extremely overcrowded waiting area with very limited vendors (similar to MCI, you have to go outside of security to get something to eat). Seating is very limited and the room itself is very dirty, and the boarding posts have zero room to move around. Overall, a very unpleasant experience today.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 54 Reviews