Salt Lake City Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 193 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"not elderly friendly at all"

(United States)

Not Verified | I am elderly and when leaving discovered the long walk to gates. Upon arrival home I was told there are no carts to help to the baggage claim and a wheelchair is the only option. Wheelchair would be at least a 15 minute wait. I decided to go it on my own. The people movers are length ways apart, this surplus not elderly friendly at all. No trains, inadequate people movers and no carts to assist people. If I did not live in SLC would avoid this airport all the time!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"avoid this airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | This clearly is an airport catered to Delta airlines only and every other airlines is given 2nd or 3 priority starting with the placement of the gates and the waiting on the run ways. Terminal B for anyone with a disability is over a one mile walk, require the use of an elevator and wheel chair assistance. On the return flight my son and I had to wheel my parents from check in to terminal B-they were disorganized and understaffed. We told them we were all TSA pre checked but they sent us to the wheelchair lane where we received no priority-had to remove shoes and electronics and coats. Not easy for two 87 year olds in a wheel chair. They separated us through security so my parents had to wait for my son and I to go to the back of the line instead of keeping us all together. For a State who knows how to manage its budget, this new airport represents a lack of thoughtfulness, organization and efficiency. Will find another way to get here and to avoid this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This place is horrendous"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Last night was my third “delay” at SLC this year. This place is horrendous. Having spent two nights in hotels at SLC this year because of flight delays last night was the final straw. Flying from SLC to HLN arrived SLC from ATL. Delta 3784. B Gate Sit at gate, walk down a long ramp to a bus which has 22 people on it. Board plane. After 40 mins informed heat sensor problem. I know this is a Delta problem but bear with me. After further delay informed we will sit on the plane for another hour as it “takes too long to go back to the gate.” After the hour is up informed problem cannot be fixed. Same bus back to the airport (don’t we have COVID!) wait in the airport another hour and told get back on the bus (same scenario) Board plane. Asked the flight attendant politely why they did not bring the plane to a gate and was told “if you don’t like it you can get off this plane. So much for DELTA respecting Diamond Medallion First Class passengers. Finally depart. DELTA needs to stop sending all flights from HLN to SLC. SLC cannot handle the traffic. Everyone is stressed out.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Somebody missed the mark!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst experience for anyone with health challenges or tight connections. The walk is daunting for some. The food options are small for the amount of travelers. Somebody missed the mark!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Security screening is a mess"

(United States)

Not Verified | Security screening is a mess. It took 30 minutes to get to my gate. Once I got to the gate I had to get on a bus that takes you to the plane. The restaurants are too small and there isn't many of them. People in long lines waiting to be seated at most of the restaurants. It is pretty to look at, but was designed horribly for passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport that I have flown"

(United States)

Not Verified | You have to walk for about 1/2 an hour to get to your gate. They have moving walk ways but they are short and broken down most of the time. Nothing like Denver’s moving walkways. How can you spend this kind of money and not have a tram or something. Not to mention their restaurant selection is horrible. Don’t try getting breakfast before a 7 am flight, everything is closed. Worst airport that I have flown.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"you make flying into Salt Lake City a disaster"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is the worst airport design ever - they talk about a linear design (just a straight line) the car rental area is at the end of the terminal - I was in and out of A7 nearly the longest walk possible - even with the moving walkway it was very very long. The signage was terrible - how do you know where you are supposed to go? The car rental was at the end (of course) and the car pickup was a further walk. The old airport was far better than the new one - how could you move backwards by spending billions of dollars on a failed experiment (linear design). I will not go thru or to your airport ever again - you make flying into Salt Lake City a disaster.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a truly awful and time-consuming experience and several levels"

(United States)

Not Verified | We live in Salt Lake City and so are stuck with using this abomination of an airport. If you can avoid traveling through Salt Lake Airport you should do so - it is a truly awful and time-consuming experience and several levels. Whoever designed it should be fired and sued. What a complete waste of money it was to spend $4.1 Billion on making everything worse than the old airport. 1) Entrance is big and airy but pointlessly so - a lot of utterly wasted space with very poor signage leaving you wondering where you should go. 2) Seating stations with strange stepped horizontals which are I'm guessing are supposed to mimic rock formations but are very expensive safety risks for any children. It is only a matter of time before they get sued relating to a fall from one of those silly designs. 3) Terminal A layout - you enter at one end (rather than central) to new Terminal A. This means it is a very long walk down a bland design large corridor that goes on for seemingly miles - and that is just Terminal A. Bad luck if your gate is at the far end. 4) If you are in terminal B then even worse news - you have at least a ten to fifteen minute walk underground to get there. If you are elderly or unwell then tough luck as there is no transport system. To add insult to injury the tunnel you walk through is awful and smells stale. 5) Pick-up arrangements by private car more or less just copy the inadequate old airport model and are hopelessly inadequate. Really - no-one has given this any thought out of a $4.1Billion Budget! It is hopeless chaos at most times. Cars line up beside the road on the airport approach as there are no proper convenient waiting facilities provided and this can get quite dangerous. Someone should be held accountable for this diabolical airport design.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"We want the old airport back"

(United States)

Not Verified | We want the old airport back. This was a waste of tax payer money and just an excuse to build a new airport. What was wrong with the original spoke and hub design that allowed passengers to circulate through only one concourse rather than walking the length of one concourse, then through a connecting tunnel to another long concourse and then walk the length of that concourse to either get to a departure gate or arrive at a gate. I arrived at night around 9.30 when most airports are quiet but found that our aircraft had to park far out on the tarmac. The passengers had to wait and leave the plane on roll up ramps to then enter shuttle buses to go to the terminal. Only it was not to the terminal - it was to enclosed unheated temporary walkways about 1/10 of a mile long leading to the terminal. Then found that we entered the terminal at the far end of the farthest concourse and then had to walk through that concourse, thru a tunnel, and through another terminal to exit the airport. Travel time from aircraft seat to my car in the parking lot - 1 hour and 20 minutes. All that time spent walking. Be prepared for long times moving thru the terminal and bring good walking shoes.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"It is horrible"

(United States)

Not Verified | While being attractive that is where any accolades stop. It is horrible. If you fly Southwest get on your hiking shoes and plan an extra 30 minutes to get to your gate. If you fly Sky West, besides the two mile hike, it is a third world experience of long ramps and busses and always a 30 minute delay to take off. What a multi billion dollar disaster. Pickup car lines often extend to the freeway. Short term parking exit requires a multi-point turn to get out and not scratch your car. Oh how I miss the old airport. Great job SLC.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no