Salt Lake City Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 90 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"a beautiful new airport which is not user friendly"

(United States)

Not Verified | This is a beautiful new airport which is not user friendly. The hike from gates to baggage claim is ridiculously long. Baggage took an extremely long time to reach baggage claim during non-busy time. Directions to get from baggage claim to passenger pickup are confusing at best. Airport employees are very courteous and helpful but tsa employees are rude and loud. Hike from tsa to gates is once again, ridiculously long.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"it takes you forever to get anywhere in the airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Horrible experience every time. As law-enforcement, military I show up with ID’s and badge and get targeted every time for secondary inspection so TSA doesn’t have to do paperwork on a safe passenger but they can meet their quotas. Lines are long and it takes you forever to get anywhere in the airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"we intensely dislike the new airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | My husband and I agree that we intensely dislike the new airport. We heard a pilot say that it went from the best airport to the worst. I have no idea who designed it but you need to get your pencil out, sharpen it, and make a new design. Horrific would be out experience. We decided that other than overseas flights, we will drive, our drive to another airport to avoid using this one.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Completely disappointed by our innovative city"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Completely disappointed by our innovative city. Old airport was 100 times better when I worked here. Everything from park n ride lot drop off area to having to go up two floors just to check in and then the ridiculous walk to b terminal? No shuttle? Train? Continuous fast moving sidewalk? Eating choices are horrible? No McDonald's? Burger King? Nothing but fancy choices and very income discriminating options especially for low income travelers with children. How could you spend so much and get the whole, I mean whole idea wrong. Did you not travel to great airports like Denver or Fort Myers? Feels more like elite club then fun travel center. Designers should be released from duty and citizens hired to fix who actually travel. Medellin Colombia has better airport at half the cost. You spent all this money and the security checkpoint is all you kinda got right. 1 star rating for design and execution.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"They really missed the mark!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Am absolutely dumfounded by the lack of customer/passenger flow dynamic in the design of the new airport to get from the terminal to gates if you are not flying Delta airlines. It's literally a mile of walking each way. Did the design get awarded to the lowest bidder?! Upon arrival and departure on my United flights, I/we had to walk over a mile to/from security to the gate, which only boarded you on to a ramp to get on a bus that took you to/from the plane a half mile away on the tarmac. If I was on the board of United, Southwest, American, etc. I would be up in arms about this lack of competent design flow for my paying customers. Calling it a work in progress is a cop out for a really poorly thought out concept. I've been flying in/out of SLC for 3 decades, and I am in awe that this was allowed to move forward like this. It's a significant step backward. The aesthetics of the main terminal are nice and interesting, but it's a small consolation for its poor layout. The murals on the south half of the underground walkway from concourse A to B are nice with the seasons of Utah being depicted, but the North half looks like it got awarded to a middle school in the district. Given all the revenue dumped into this project, I am left scratching my head that this concept moved through as many levels of review necessary for this type of new construction, and no one raised the very legitimate point of ease of use by their customers. They really missed the mark!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"New design is terrible"

(United States)

Not Verified | New design is terrible. It’s like I’m in Chicago O'Hare and its endless delays. I fly twice a month in/out of SLC and the new design is woefully lacking. Extended taxiing, long waits on the parking ramp for gates you have to be bussed to while there are open gates at terminals A and B. 10-15 min walk to bag claim or your gate. Long waits for baggage. Minimal concessions with very long waits. Traffic for passenger pickup is slow and terrible, there are cars constantly waiting on the shoulder. Parking garage is $5 for under 30min. Parking garage is very tight and cars are constantly making contact with the concrete walls. Somebody should lose their job and be drummed out of engineering, architecture or whatever made this abomination. On another note...the security check-in is swift and has some nice innovation. The facilities are clean.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Awful customer experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Awful customer experience. Long walk to gates. No assistance for those who can’t walk. I miss the old restaurants Adobe. I travel to 26 airports a year and had such high hopes.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
2/10

"What were they thinking when they designed this airport?"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst Airport Ever! What were they thinking when they designed this airport? Long walks to baggage claim, took an hour to get bags, totally unimaginative terminal. I feel like I went back in time and am pining for the old terminal. This airport makes LAX look like the Taj Mahal. After flying over 50 times a year I can honestly say that the designers of this fiasco should be barred from ever picking up a grease pen ever again. As an aside..let's be Covid safe by not putting four incoming flights onto one baggage carousel and concentrating 150 irate passengers in close proximity while the other carousel sit idle.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"This is the worst designed airport ever"

(United States)

Not Verified | This is the worst designed airport ever. Way too far to walk. No electric chairs available. Confusing signage to some degree. There is hardly anywhere to rest. And security kept ringing alarms when they could not find anything. I used to enjoy this airport, now I really dislike it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"this airport is an absolute pain"

(United States)

Not Verified | I travel often for work and have been through many airports. None of them are as horribly designed as Salt Lake City. Unless you are flying Delta this airport is an absolute pain, and get ready to walk forever. To get to any airline gate other than Delta be prepared to walk a mile in a concrete tunnel to get to the B terminal. Walking from the high number B gates and then through the concrete tunnel, and then through almost the entire A terminal is ridiculous. On top of that, don't follow the ground transportation signs if you have a private vehicle picking you up. As soon as you leave the airport you only have access to buses or Lyft and Uber. Private vehicles are blocked by an 8 foot concrete and metal wall. There are zero signs pointing out that you have to then go back upstairs across a sky bridge and back down an escalator to have access to your private transportation. Extremely poor design, and even worse signage to point you in the right direction. Oh, and I better not forget don't plan on decent food if you have a layover. The food options are pathetic at best.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 90 Reviews