Salt Lake City Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 160 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"Arrival and departure areas much improved"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Uninspiring architecture inside, although blends in well to surroundings externally. Very few restaurants with long lines, which makes one wonder what purpose a Lego store is there for, for instance. The number of restaurants per given space less than any major US airport I have been. Others have commented on long walks. Although I agree there are long distances between moving walkways, those passengers have clearly never been to Minneapolis. In the lobby, the plastic white blobs are incredibly ugly. I don’t even know their purpose. Are they sculptures or seats? No one was sitting on them in any case. Arrival and departure areas much improved, and they are now up to standard of every major US airports. I saw 10 departure boards in concourses, but not one arrivals screen to see baggage claim or connecting flight arrivals.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Extremely disorganized border control"

(United States)

Not Verified | Extremely disorganized border control. There's a dozen different lanes and none of them line up with the actual desks to go up to, and the person in charge of directing traffic was totally lost. Most of the global entry machines weren't working. I waited in line for 90 minutes at a brand new airport which only had a single half-full international flight arriving at that time. Once you clear customs, they don't have a dedicated security spot set up (they do but its all blocked off), so you have to exit the security area and re-enter in the main terminal with everyone else. For a brand new airport design that's completely unacceptable. Finally, the design is just an extremely long terminal building (think San Jose on steroids). There are huge gaps between the moving walkways, and the signage is really unclear if you're trying to get to B-gates. Overall it's very new/shiny but absolutely horrendous for a traveler in terms of usefulness.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"extremely disappointed with the new airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | We have been extremely disappointed with the new airport. Most of airport gates are a huge trek from security and also to baggage claim. They need a tram or similar system considering how spread out everything is and how crowded it is (think DFW). The lines for the food places are consistently far too long now. The LED screens for baggage claim is too small and seem to be located only in one spot. All flights funnel through one security line that can be massively long if you don’t have TSA or Clear! The lines to get on the parking lot shuttle are often very long, too. We miss the airport and it’s ease of use that existed prior to this expansion. Please improve this airport!!!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"How terribly disappointed we are"

(United States)

Trip Verified | When we were told Salt Lake was to get a new airport we were excited as population growth made the previous airport over-busy. How terribly disappointed we are - as are most of our fellow Utahns who fly much. Whoever designed this airport should be fired/sued for a truly awful job - it is unbelievably passenger unfriendly. 1) Ridiculous walk times and distances from Terminal B. 2) Vast areas of wasted space. 3) Terrible seating design in dangerous ladder type format. 4) Hopelessly inadequate drop-off and pick-up facilities - probably worse than the old airport. 5) Food and refreshment facilities are lacking. Those of us who live in SLC are stuck with this dreadful airport probably for the rest of our lives but to anyone who has a choice do not fly from/to/or through Salt Lake City!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"poor excuse for an international airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | Anything more than 1 star is a lie! Horribly planned airport. Not customer oriented or even considered in the design and planning. Traveled through large and small airports worldwide and this is the worst! Much wasted, non efficient space. Poor seating and even worse signage and direction notification. I have cut my travel flights by 80% with this poor excuse for an international airport. Will leave from Jackson or Rock Springs if possible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"It’s about as traveler unfriendly as could be conceived."

(United States)

Trip Verified | With 10 million miles between (and over 3 million on Delta that has SLC as a major hub) I can tell you SLC is the absolute worst airport for arrivals, departures and particularly transit/connections. I get the linear design concept what the distances are incredibly long with very poor passenger transportation, except for a few sparse and slow moving walkways. Detroit, perhaps the best example of linear design, has a tram system. SLC has nothing. Also, there is only one Delta sky club and it is located at the farthest point from all gates. Long tunnel, long concourses, 30 minute walk (no exaggeration) and then a bus to the plane. This SLC is perhaps the poorest airport design in all of my extensive travel experience and certainly not what you would expect from a “new” airport. It’s about as traveler unfriendly as could be conceived.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it's laughable how poorly it is designed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | If it was your goal in life to make the worst airport possible, you would fail, because there is no way you could make it worse than this new multi-billion dollar airport. It's almost like they took everything good about the last airport (and there was a lot of good) and tried to do the opposite. Starting with something the old airport struggled with, pickup and drop-off. The old airport was almost always packed and difficult to deal with, so what was their solution? Make less space to pickup and drop-off...brilliant!! Off to a great start! Now let's take something the old airport did well and completely butcher it. You had very little distance to walk with the old airport because you had two terminals with separate security lines (three if you count the international terminal, it was a genius layout). This new airport has one security line and then once you're in the terminal, you start all the way at the end of a quarter mile (at least) corridor. Then if you want to get to the next terminal, you have to walk halfway down the first, then another 1/8th of a mile under the tarmac, then walk all the way down to wherever your gate is. I mean, it's laughable how poorly it is designed. Especially given that most people in Utah have a ton of kids. I only have two (very) young kids and it is a nightmare to get luggage and kids from the drop off area all the way to the gate. We were lucky enough to have another couple help us each time we've done it. The brain power and decision making that went into this new airport is embarrassing. At least look at what works at other airports and copy that if you can't come up with a better idea. I can only think of one nice thing to say about this new airport, it looks nice.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

"Horrible selection of stores"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Loved the old airport. It had character. I was hoping for an exiting new airport with an experience. SLC started with a clean slate and created one of the most boring vanilla airports in the world. The development maybe had the best intentions, but not only did they miss the mark, SLC is a poorly designed airport, boring & one could not make it more vanilla if they tried. I travel a lot & I have been to tiny airports that had more character. It works, it is an airport, long walks, which is ok, but not for the elders at all. Plain strait line & not much to brag about here at all. Horrible selection of stores, boring, not enough restaurants and just so, so. Catch your flight or arrive. That is all one can say. The development team must have been a group of amateurs or a high school design class. Definitely not professional at all. One could even assume they did not visit other airports & that this was the teams first endeavor.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"slowest, most inefficient, and horrendously long walking distances"

(United States)

Not Verified | Even if there were no other large and super efficient airports to go and have a look at, it's mind-blowing that this is what the designers came up with. I've been in small to mega airports all over the country and the world and SLC takes the prize for the slowest, most inefficient, and horrendously long walking distances. I can't express what a super disappointment this place is, and I know of no other passengers who've been through it, who do not feel the same way. I mean seriously! Did the designers not look at any other airports to see what's working? Dumb, dumb, dumb. You'd think that for the billions that it's costing, we would have gotten something better than this disaster.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"What a disaster"

(United States)

Not Verified | What a disaster. The trip from B Terminal to baggage/ground transportation on foot is a ridiculous. What were the designers and the ious approvers thinking? Someone was clearly asleep at the office or thinks only 18 year olds in track shoes frequent the SLC airport. The team responsible for this should be called out. This needs to be fixed!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no