Riga Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 51 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

" comfortable places to sit"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A nice small airport I'd have to say. The signs point you to the quickest possible route. Queuing times were quite quick. There are comfortable places to sit. The staff are able to speak Latvian, Russian and English. The wifi was not great. The signal was poor, slow and cuts off every other minute.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"staff are not well organized"

(Spain)

Not Verified | Rude and unprofessional staff, stuck in the line to the security control for 1.5 hours. The checking in and queuing times are far too long, a mess when boarding the plane. The staff are not well organized.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"never been treated this poorly"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I've been visiting this airport multiple times a year and never had any particular problems, however this time ruined any previous experiences. As we were passing security we put a basically new suitcase on to the x-ray machine and walked through. My girlfriend does not speak Latvian so she called me over and showed me the same suitcase. The handle was ripped to shreds. As I approached one of the employees and asked if he could explain what might have happened he waived me off and said he didn't serve my girlfriend and to get someone else. As we waited it was clear that the employee who did serve her was just ignoring us and hoping we'd leave. After a while he came over and I politely asked what might have happened. The employee was extremely rude and started saying how we have put in a broken bag and are wasting his time. I was speechless.. After this experience we instantly wrote a complaint however no one cared to reply. We have never been treated this poorly in any other airport around the world.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"the staff seemed happy and were pleasant"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The arrival was completely painless and quick, OK we had no hold baggage so there was no wait for the bags. But I did notice has we walked though the baggage reclaim that the bags were arriving. We flew in from the UK which meant we arrived into the newer of the terminals. This was a slight walk to the border control area but it was well signed and there were plenty of staff to guide you. At the border control all desks were manned and it was quick from landing to leaving the airport was 15 minutes, and in fact we were on the bus into the city 20 minutes after landing. Departure, again was painless and quick from arrival from the city to getting to the gate area again in the newer terminal 20 minutes with no wait in security, but been a seasoned traveller it helps if you are ready. When I say ready I mean laptop out, watch off, belt off etc., even the staff seemed happy and were pleasant when reminding people. Once though the security you have a walk though the duty free shops but the area has been well designed and the walk way does not run the gauntlet of the hard sales push. There are plenty of places tto eat both before security and after. The Gate control was well managed and we did have a gate change which was flawless managed by the staff. The broading as well controlled and painless.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"The service is awful"

(Lithuania)

Trip Verified | The service is awful, our flight was delayed a couple times for 30 min then it was totally cancelled. We were told to go to the ticket desk for a refund or to rebook our flights. I was standing in a queue for 7 hours, it was so unprofessional, there were no barriers for proper queues, people were just going through. Airport services did not even offer tea, coffee or water. It was the worst airport service I have ever had. No one gave any information as to what was going on. Did not get any compensation or anything from Ryanair.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Horrible customer care service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Horrible customer care service at Ryanair stand. The information board says you can go to drop your bag at a certain gate, but after queuing for 20 minutes I am told I am to early to drop my bag. Why inform customers to go to a particular gate, if it’s not open? No common sense in the way they operate the airport and information for passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"a compact and clean airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is a compact and clean airport with plenty of cafes and souvenir stores. It has several restaurants, both before and after border control. Yes, prices are high, as in any other airport in the world. For hungry passengers I recommend the restaurant Lido, it's located in the public area on the 3rd floor and has a good choice of food at reasonable prices. The airport has clear signage and considering its small size, it's very difficult to get lost. I use this airport often and never had problems finding seating. The main problem for passengers arriving at RIX is taxi service with crazy and unpredictable prices, but this is not a criterion to evaluate an airport. If it were, I would give this airport only four or five out of ten stars. Some unscrupulous taxi drivers could charge several times more than regular fare. Regular fare from the airport to the city's center is about 14 Euro on average and if you need a taxi, I would recommend Red Cab, a company with a better reputation than others.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Substandard service"

(Finland)

Not Verified | I have liked Riga airport before, it's small so its easy to proceed to a connecting flight. Also the services have been ok. Today I had to wait for connecting flight at port B2. There are no seats at all. Most of the passengers had to stand up for a long time, if they didn't want to enter an overpriced cafe. This in unacceptable. Substandard service.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"felt like I'm in 3rd world country"

(United Kingdom)

I am travelling a lot across all Europe. And this is he only airport that starts check in 2 hours before. I thought Latvia part of EU. However I felt like I am in 3rd world country. Staff was extremely rude. Everywhere: bars, info, desks etc. I will not recommend to use this airport. Fly to Lithuania or Estonia and then get a bus!!!!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"a nice and clean airport"

(Czech Republic)

Trip Verified | Riga airport is a nice and clean airport with plenty of shops. There is a lot of seats with power plugs in it, so you won't run out of battery. The design of this airport is scandavian, so you can see wood everywhere and the view from gates are really good. It is a small airport, but worth trying.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 51 Reviews