Rhodes Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 91 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"this experience has been my worst by far"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Well I have traveled to all the Greek islands and this experience has been my worst by far. I knew before booking that this year all the Greek airports are undergoing major upgrades but was told it would cause minor disruption, well that was far from true. We arrived in Rhodes on the 3/9/19 on a 4.15 pm flight from Stansted, with the time difference and a delay for a French computer glitch we arrived at 11 pm and was met with utter chaos, four flights had turned up together and the queue left us a long way back from the doors of the terminal, here we stood shuffling one place forward every 15 minutes, an hour goes past and we are still outside, no information, no help, no nothing apart from the fact we found out there was one person operating passport control for nearly a thousand people. Anyway achy legs later we finally got in the building where another guy wearing a football shirt has joined in with the passport control (how professional), all the time we got through we had no trouble getting our bags as they had been going around and around for some considerable time then to the coach we go for a hour transfer where we eventually arrived at our hotel at 2am. I have to say though our return journey was fine, we had no problems at all.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"no queue at passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Having read the largely negative reviews my friend and I were apprehensive but I can only call it as I found it. On arrival with BA we were transferred to buses quite quickly. Passport control had at least 5 booths open and we queued for approximately 20 minutes. Baggage took slightly longer at around 30 minutes but not too bad - Gatwick on the return was far worse! On departure with EasyJet (12.15 flight), check in took approximately 15 minutes. There was literally no queue at passport control and security another 10 minutes - all told less than half an hour from check in queue to being at the departure gate. There was plenty of seating and I purchased some gifts in the duty free which had lots of options. The Boarding process was a little chaotic but not sure if that was down to the airport or EasyJet but we waited for the crushed panic to subside then easily boarded the bus to the aircraft.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"absolutely chaotic"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Luggage collection on arrival is absolutely chaotic. Three different flight arrivals luggage was all coming through on one small luggage belt. It took an hour and a half for our luggage to arrive. Pandemonium is the only description I can give. Then you have to queue again outside arrivals to find your transfer. This is the worst airport I have experienced in over 40 years of travel. Our departure was a slightly better experience. But after going through check in and security check. there is another huge queue again for another passport check before your gate. My experience at this airport is the reason I would not return to Rhodes
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"This seriously needs sorting"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | What chaos! Went through security quickly without problems and went to duty free where we saw a large queue, assumed at first it was for a flight, no this was for passport control and it stretched the length of the airport. We waited in it for 1 hour 20 minutes, 3 members of staff checking passports in booths designed to take 8 staff. People were in danger of missing flights. It seemed like there were a number of new eating and drinking stands since the refurb, what a shame no-one had time to use them! This seriously needs sorting, it has put me off returning to Rhodes which is a shame. No information from staff or announcements.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Horrible conditions"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flight delayed by at least 2 hours. No information available. No air conditioning. Heavily pregnant women sat on floor as no seats. No water available. Horrible conditions.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Departures is much better"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The airport is under renovation/re-construction. Arrival was like entering the old Wembley stadium, crowds of people cramming into a small cramped space with no apparent tape barriers to marshal the flow. Two officials staffing six booths to glance at your passports before waving you through to bag collection - took just under 2 hours! Bags were ready and waiting on the carousel though by this time. Departures is much better. Check-in desks had tape barriers guiding you, cases went off and then off you are sent upstairs to the passport check in to eventually get outside for your flight. There are no announcements. You constantly have to check the screens. It is a very busy place but not as bad as made out to be. They are getting there gradually!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Absolutely shocking experience here"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely shocking experience here. Currently sitting waiting for a flight which is apparently delayed. We know this because we have checked with an independent flight information service. It’s midnight now yet the departure boards haven’t been updated past 23.10 so we have had no information from the airport and there are no staff to be seen. All other flights to the UK also seem to be delayed and again no one has any information. Hoping we’re sitting in the right departure lounge because again there is no information given. I was expecting a better experience since the overhaul done to the airport since our last visit but apparently the money they have ploughed into shops and eatery’s has left inadequate facilities for boarding lounges, people sitting delayed on the floor and extortionate prices for food and drink. Seriously making me consider returning to Rhodes for a fifth time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Chaos everywhere"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Departures was awful. It has clearly had an overhaul recently so there’s no excuse. Several thousand square feet of retail and over-priced food outlets (€65 for 4 burgers with drinks and fries) and yet only enough seating for a couple of flights worth of passengers. Chaos everywhere, people sitting on the floor so you have to step over them to get anywhere. Toilets woefully insufficient in number for the amount of passengers that are passing through at peak times. It could be forgiven if this was just a quaint old airport but with the money they have recently spent on it they really can’t have spent any more than 5 minutes on the planning for it and obviously focussed on coining it in via the tills rather than bothering to think where the passengers would go whilst they waited 2 hours for their flight!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"It quickly descended into chaos"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | At the time of travel we lived in Germany and therefore had no need to go through Passport Control. This was, we thought in the first instance lucky as three other aircraft were offloading their passengers from planes with UK registrations. When we arrived in baggage reclaim this suspicion was confirmed when the arrivals sign said the planes had come from Luton, Birmingham and Leeds. This is where the 1st problem occurred, all four aircrafts' luggage was being sent to one delivery band. Because we did not have to wait to transit passport the 150 or so fellow passengers from Saarbrucken stood next to the luggage reclaim band, however our luggage was not the first to arrive, in fact I think we were probably the last to receive our cases. Of course as we were at the front the passengers from the UK flights could not get to the band to collect their luggage. It quickly descended into chaos. To cut a long story short we waited around 90 minutes to get our cases. When we arrived at our hotel, were with TUI, we had the usual rep meeting. One of the complaints made to the German rep was the events the previous day at the airport. Her reply, in German so it may not be word perfect, was yes it is like this every week. To make sure I got the gist of the reply correct I spoke to the UK TUI reps who said yes it was terrible and even worse when you had to check-in for the return flight. They said I should pay €42 to enter the private departure lounge. Did this, yes the lounge was disgusting, rubbish everywhere, little or no food or drink and very quickly it filled up. The only good thing, about 10 minutes before the flight a man appeared and called the passengers to Saarbrucken to follow him. We did straight to the front of the departure queue.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"excellent experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Reading previous reviews l was really concerned about travelling home. To my surprise travelling on Wednesday 24th July, we arrived at the airport for our flight at 18.40 to Gatwick. No queues and there were eight members of staff on TUI check-in. The airport staff were friendly and helpful in duty-free, passport control - no queues, straight through. We decided to go though to the gate as gates 1 to 4 you have another passport check. Once through there was plenty of seats, toilets, shops and a couple of restaurants. The airport has loads of shops and the staff were all very helpful. Obviously, this was our experience and if there are delayed flights as a busy airport you may encounter problems. I would recommend going straight though passport control and getting to your gate to avoid queues and missing flights in busy times. But excellent experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 91 Reviews