Rhodes Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 93 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Worst airport ever!"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Worst airport ever! Avoid going to Rhodes at all costs, it really was that bad. There were fights in the queue (really bad ones) with children present all because of how this place is run absolutely shockingly! Secondly was the rudeness and understaffing of the place, no security so when all the fighting broke out there was a mass brawl. Thirdly during a pandemic there was about a foot squared of space per person, completely unacceptable! Again this was my first and most definitely my last visit to Rhodes which is a shame because the islanders and island is beautiful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst experience at an airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Rhodes was awful during my arrival and departure from it. We landed on time and the ground staff waited until half the passengers had almost walked in the wrong way before getting us on the buses like they were meant to. Arrivals was awful and there were 2 officers at Passport Control for 3 arriving flights luckily my flight was the first of the 3 to get to Passport Control. The baggage hall was in an absolute mess with the belt for oversized bags being ripped out. There was no safety signage around the belts warning people of it's auto on/off system which is very dangerous. My departure from Rhodes started off okay because of the TUI reps on the bus, if I was driving you wouldn't have a clue how to get to departures as there were no signs until actually in the terminal building. Security was badly laid out by people who didn't know what they were doing. The duty free section was also weird as 50% of it was directly after security, then you had gates 7-12, a Starbucks and a Burger King both of which are ridiculously overpriced. It came to 34.69 EUR for 3 meals at Burger King when the same three meals in Rhodes Town came to 19.89 EUR which shows the overpricing here. Our Flight was leaving from a gate after passport control which was just past Gate 7 even though this was hardly signposted. The Gate number was also not on the screens either and the staff after put you into one of three rooms which have no seating. Boarding was terrible as the doors opened for our flight from Gate 6 which was only announced on the screen (no announcements) 35 minutes before departure with the actual gate opening at the same time There was like my arrival, 2 flights leaving at the same time and Gate 05A (next door to 6) were put in a line next to us and escorted to their plane first but it actually wasn't their's it was our's so they came back and we boarded we were already 12 mins behind. The confusion even lead a couple to get mixed up in the terminal and arrive late to the plane which was just about to depart My worst experience at an airport!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"this experience has been my worst by far"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Well I have traveled to all the Greek islands and this experience has been my worst by far. I knew before booking that this year all the Greek airports are undergoing major upgrades but was told it would cause minor disruption, well that was far from true. We arrived in Rhodes on the 3/9/19 on a 4.15 pm flight from Stansted, with the time difference and a delay for a French computer glitch we arrived at 11 pm and was met with utter chaos, four flights had turned up together and the queue left us a long way back from the doors of the terminal, here we stood shuffling one place forward every 15 minutes, an hour goes past and we are still outside, no information, no help, no nothing apart from the fact we found out there was one person operating passport control for nearly a thousand people. Anyway achy legs later we finally got in the building where another guy wearing a football shirt has joined in with the passport control (how professional), all the time we got through we had no trouble getting our bags as they had been going around and around for some considerable time then to the coach we go for a hour transfer where we eventually arrived at our hotel at 2am. I have to say though our return journey was fine, we had no problems at all.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"no queue at passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Having read the largely negative reviews my friend and I were apprehensive but I can only call it as I found it. On arrival with BA we were transferred to buses quite quickly. Passport control had at least 5 booths open and we queued for approximately 20 minutes. Baggage took slightly longer at around 30 minutes but not too bad - Gatwick on the return was far worse! On departure with EasyJet (12.15 flight), check in took approximately 15 minutes. There was literally no queue at passport control and security another 10 minutes - all told less than half an hour from check in queue to being at the departure gate. There was plenty of seating and I purchased some gifts in the duty free which had lots of options. The Boarding process was a little chaotic but not sure if that was down to the airport or EasyJet but we waited for the crushed panic to subside then easily boarded the bus to the aircraft.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"absolutely chaotic"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Luggage collection on arrival is absolutely chaotic. Three different flight arrivals luggage was all coming through on one small luggage belt. It took an hour and a half for our luggage to arrive. Pandemonium is the only description I can give. Then you have to queue again outside arrivals to find your transfer. This is the worst airport I have experienced in over 40 years of travel. Our departure was a slightly better experience. But after going through check in and security check. there is another huge queue again for another passport check before your gate. My experience at this airport is the reason I would not return to Rhodes
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"This seriously needs sorting"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | What chaos! Went through security quickly without problems and went to duty free where we saw a large queue, assumed at first it was for a flight, no this was for passport control and it stretched the length of the airport. We waited in it for 1 hour 20 minutes, 3 members of staff checking passports in booths designed to take 8 staff. People were in danger of missing flights. It seemed like there were a number of new eating and drinking stands since the refurb, what a shame no-one had time to use them! This seriously needs sorting, it has put me off returning to Rhodes which is a shame. No information from staff or announcements.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Horrible conditions"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flight delayed by at least 2 hours. No information available. No air conditioning. Heavily pregnant women sat on floor as no seats. No water available. Horrible conditions.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Departures is much better"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The airport is under renovation/re-construction. Arrival was like entering the old Wembley stadium, crowds of people cramming into a small cramped space with no apparent tape barriers to marshal the flow. Two officials staffing six booths to glance at your passports before waving you through to bag collection - took just under 2 hours! Bags were ready and waiting on the carousel though by this time. Departures is much better. Check-in desks had tape barriers guiding you, cases went off and then off you are sent upstairs to the passport check in to eventually get outside for your flight. There are no announcements. You constantly have to check the screens. It is a very busy place but not as bad as made out to be. They are getting there gradually!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Absolutely shocking experience here"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely shocking experience here. Currently sitting waiting for a flight which is apparently delayed. We know this because we have checked with an independent flight information service. It’s midnight now yet the departure boards haven’t been updated past 23.10 so we have had no information from the airport and there are no staff to be seen. All other flights to the UK also seem to be delayed and again no one has any information. Hoping we’re sitting in the right departure lounge because again there is no information given. I was expecting a better experience since the overhaul done to the airport since our last visit but apparently the money they have ploughed into shops and eatery’s has left inadequate facilities for boarding lounges, people sitting delayed on the floor and extortionate prices for food and drink. Seriously making me consider returning to Rhodes for a fifth time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Chaos everywhere"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Departures was awful. It has clearly had an overhaul recently so there’s no excuse. Several thousand square feet of retail and over-priced food outlets (€65 for 4 burgers with drinks and fries) and yet only enough seating for a couple of flights worth of passengers. Chaos everywhere, people sitting on the floor so you have to step over them to get anywhere. Toilets woefully insufficient in number for the amount of passengers that are passing through at peak times. It could be forgiven if this was just a quaint old airport but with the money they have recently spent on it they really can’t have spent any more than 5 minutes on the planning for it and obviously focussed on coining it in via the tills rather than bothering to think where the passengers would go whilst they waited 2 hours for their flight!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 93 Reviews