Rhodes Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 84 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Chaos everywhere"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Departures was awful. It has clearly had an overhaul recently so there’s no excuse. Several thousand square feet of retail and over-priced food outlets (€65 for 4 burgers with drinks and fries) and yet only enough seating for a couple of flights worth of passengers. Chaos everywhere, people sitting on the floor so you have to step over them to get anywhere. Toilets woefully insufficient in number for the amount of passengers that are passing through at peak times. It could be forgiven if this was just a quaint old airport but with the money they have recently spent on it they really can’t have spent any more than 5 minutes on the planning for it and obviously focussed on coining it in via the tills rather than bothering to think where the passengers would go whilst they waited 2 hours for their flight!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"It quickly descended into chaos"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | At the time of travel we lived in Germany and therefore had no need to go through Passport Control. This was, we thought in the first instance lucky as three other aircraft were offloading their passengers from planes with UK registrations. When we arrived in baggage reclaim this suspicion was confirmed when the arrivals sign said the planes had come from Luton, Birmingham and Leeds. This is where the 1st problem occurred, all four aircrafts' luggage was being sent to one delivery band. Because we did not have to wait to transit passport the 150 or so fellow passengers from Saarbrucken stood next to the luggage reclaim band, however our luggage was not the first to arrive, in fact I think we were probably the last to receive our cases. Of course as we were at the front the passengers from the UK flights could not get to the band to collect their luggage. It quickly descended into chaos. To cut a long story short we waited around 90 minutes to get our cases. When we arrived at our hotel, were with TUI, we had the usual rep meeting. One of the complaints made to the German rep was the events the previous day at the airport. Her reply, in German so it may not be word perfect, was yes it is like this every week. To make sure I got the gist of the reply correct I spoke to the UK TUI reps who said yes it was terrible and even worse when you had to check-in for the return flight. They said I should pay €42 to enter the private departure lounge. Did this, yes the lounge was disgusting, rubbish everywhere, little or no food or drink and very quickly it filled up. The only good thing, about 10 minutes before the flight a man appeared and called the passengers to Saarbrucken to follow him. We did straight to the front of the departure queue.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"excellent experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Reading previous reviews l was really concerned about travelling home. To my surprise travelling on Wednesday 24th July, we arrived at the airport for our flight at 18.40 to Gatwick. No queues and there were eight members of staff on TUI check-in. The airport staff were friendly and helpful in duty-free, passport control - no queues, straight through. We decided to go though to the gate as gates 1 to 4 you have another passport check. Once through there was plenty of seats, toilets, shops and a couple of restaurants. The airport has loads of shops and the staff were all very helpful. Obviously, this was our experience and if there are delayed flights as a busy airport you may encounter problems. I would recommend going straight though passport control and getting to your gate to avoid queues and missing flights in busy times. But excellent experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Shocking staff"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely disgusting, would not praise this airport in any aspect. The service was appalling, nobody knew where to go and everyone was piling into a bundle rather than a line as nothing was moving. We finally managed to get into line for passport control with only 2 minutes until boarding, no help was offered and the cleaning staff were incredibly rude to the passengers. Before even getting to this stage we were greeted with the worst possible staff in the duty free, specifically at the makeup counters, the treatment we received was embarrassing. As we got to the airport with 3 hours until our flight we spent two hours in duty-free, being girls who love makeup we spent almost all of these 2 hours at the makeup counters. From the minute we walked into the shop and tested a product on our hand we were followed around from counter to counter by the staff who continually gave us dirty looks and made it very clear they were talking about us and laughing at us. On multiple occasions members of staff grabbed testers out of both our hands and told us “they are not toys”, being involved in makeup this irritated me as we were trying out products on our hands which we were considering buying. Four members of staff then continued to approach me on different occasions and try to tell us we were doing wrong and should leave the shop, only for trying out tester products on our hands, we were spoken down to and they were so rude to us, when I then asked why they had been following us about and making us feel uncomfortable the full time four members off staff started arguing with us and threatening to check cameras which I was more than happy for them to do as we had done nothing wrong. When our flight was called and we left the shop all of the staff involved went into a group and started laughing while talking and looking at us as we walked out of the store. It was incredibly childish and I have never been treated so badly in any facility, ever. This has made me sure I will not ever return to the airport. Shocking staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Nightmare experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Nightmare experience, will not be returning ever. Sat in departure lounge watching screen with our Jet2 flight no, time went over expected departure time still no flight info. Delayed 1/2 hour came up so sat waiting for gate which then came up saying boarding so made way to gate 3. Couldn’t get through to gate 3 so asked and was told we had to join this massive queue which apparently was “passport control” with only 2 booths. We stood at the back of the queue witnessing a group of people who had had the same problem as us but with Ryanair and their flight had been delayed but then came up as boarding but got to the massive queue of people and then were told the gate had closed and they had missed their flight! On hearing this and after standing and not moving we flagged down a couple of officials and said can you help us please as our flight is boarding and we are stuck here! Unbelievably one of these women was so rude and said “yeah yeah all you people stupidly just standing staring at the boards when you should be down here at this end it’s your own fault and walked off“! At this point we realised that we would miss the flight so lifted up the queuing barrier tape and walked past everyone till we got to the front of the queue and pushed in straight to the passport booths. When we got on the plane 6 people were missing! Be warned this area of airport is totally chaotic and not customer friendly. I have been flying for 40 years and never ever have experienced anything like this. Those poor people were treated appallingly through no fault of their own! This airport makes up its own rules and the staff are appallingly rude and unhelpful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely horrendous"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely horrendous. No organisation and no help from staff who are mainly surly and unhelpful with a don't care attitude. If you wait to see your flight on the board you will probably miss it. Check your boarding pass and head to the gate soon as no one tells you you have another massive queue to go through passport control again and if you are close to your flight time they will not help you. Many miss their flights! If they do not do something at this airport it will in the end affect tourism. I’ve traveled to many airports for business around the world and this is one of the worst!!! Be warned. Rhodes is lovely but we won’t return due to this god awful airport and the staff attitudes. The tour companies need to get more involved to resolve the problems!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"very smooth experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I had read some horrendous reviews appertaining to this airport and was rather concerned about what I would experience when I went on holiday just recently. However, my experiences were all very different to those that I had previously read. On Tuesday 18 June 2019 at 21.45 hrs our TUI flight landed at Rhodes Airport. Passenger disembarkation was carried out quickly and efficiently. Airport Buses standing by to transport us to the Arrivals Area. We proceeded to Passport Control, 4 Officers on Duty, and without any delay continued to the Baggage Reclaim Area. The toilets in this area were more than acceptable, very clean, spacious - lady cleaning at that time of night! Baggage was delivered very quickly without delay. Left terminal for TUI transfer coach. On Coach in 20 minutes from disembarking plane. On Tuesday 25 June 2019 at 19.40 hours arrived at departure terminal by TUI transfer coach. Entered Terminal and small queue for Check In Desk Number 43. Check In was efficient and quickly dealt with. Previous customer caused a baggage belt to jam with a very overweight suitcase. Cannot blame the airport or staff for that occurrence! Security of hold luggage done at check in counter and not separate as previously experienced in Greece - very smooth experience. Up to first floor on escalator through boarding card check, no waiting, and onto security - very efficient and quick and no queue or waiting - better than most other airports I have visited. Nice and clean duty free shopping area. Departure Lounge spacous with plenty of seating, toilets again clean and very acceptable. Adequate eating, drinking, coffee etc. outlets - but did not partake of any food or drinks. Boarding Displays upto date monitors. Through Passport Control with no waiting or delay to Boarding Gate. Buses to Aircraft when needed to board aircraft at stand. Whilst, there is still work to be finished on moderning the airport the operational aspect worked very well on my visits. Fraport the company making the changes and operating the airport seem to have got the expertise and professionalism to ensure that it is successful. When I contacted staff for advice or help they were very obliging, couteous and helpful - much appreciated. When all the work has been completed it looks as if Rhodes Airport will be a jewel in the crown for the Island of Rhodes.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Shocked and disgusted"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I don’t know where to begin with this airport experience. Arrival awful waiting underneath ripped up ceilings with two passport control. Don’t even do a job may as well just let people walk Straight through. Departure, let me tell you. I will not be returning. The worse experience of my life. I can’t go into depth about how awful it was, I would need a novel to do so. Busy, over crowded understaff, not organised. Felt like a pandemic. We were at the airport for three hours, waiting in front of their departure screens constantly checking. For it to be delayed delayed delayed just delayed no more information provided. To suddenly, final call. No gate open, or boarding. Delayed to final call. Subsequently we missed our flight, through their fault. To be told we have to buy a ticket for the lack of organisation and ability. No one was able to help, no one cared. They have three screens to display flights within this airport. We were at the one by Greek restaurant tucked behind Burger King. Apparently this happens a lot after reading this website I believe it. Shocked and disgusted.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"We were in disbelief that this happened"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived late last night (8th June 2019) to fly home from Rhodes airport. As we were one of the last flights out, the queues were ok, so I have no complaints about that. However we were absolutely shocked to witness a female member of staff refuse to allow two passengers (who were due to board the 3am flight to Manchester) through to gate 7. It was totally misleading that passengers had to go via another passport check to go to gates 7 and 8. The Manchester flight was still boarding and the bus was still boarding passengers, however this staff member told them the bus had gone? We then witnessed other Manchester passengers go in after them and board? They were told to get their bags back from security? Now this was the last flight out and the early hours so the couple would of been stranded. They had done nothing wrong. We were in disbelief that this happened. I loved Rhodes etc, but the way the airport is run and the attitude of the security staff (not the restaurant/cafe) is appalling. If things like this continue then it will have detrimental consequences to tourism. I really hope the couple managed to get home somehow the next day.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the worst airport experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I have been a regular tourist to Rhodes for the past 14 years and love visiting the country. Over the last few years the airport experience has not been good and this year was the last straw dreadful - utter chaos, complete shambles. The staff at the airport do not understand English which makes it impossible for them to respond to any questions you have. I waited an hour in the baggage queue then a further hour and 10 mins in the passport queue,totally unacceptable by any stretch of the imagination. Staff have no respect and don't care how long you have to wait. Still have a holiday booked for September however Will be looking elsewhere next year. Must be the worst airport experience I have ever had and I have travelled to many airports over the years. Won't be back.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 84 Reviews