Raleigh-Durham Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 36 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"I am extremely dissatisfied"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I had a Frontier flight that was scheduled to depart at 9.46pm and found out it was delayed. Upon hearing that I was ok and figured I could just enjoy some of the restaurants and found out that every bar and restaurant closes at 8pm. I was told by an employee that when flights are delayed they are supposed to receive a memorandum that will keep the restaurants open until those flights have departed. There are too many people that pay good money to fly and there are no accommodations to keep them comfortable and entertained until their departure. I strongly recommend the hours change from 8 to 10pm for closing time. I understand these places open up at 4.30 or 5am but you still have fliers who take flights late in the evening. These little stores that stay open does not meet the demands of customers. I am extremely dissatisfied.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"extremely clean and efficient"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have flown to/from RDU 4-5 times now at different times and hours during 2020-22. I must say that it is one of the best run mid-tier airports in the country. Beautiful and thoughtful design, airy and welcoming, extremely clean and efficient. The security wait times have always been under 10 mins. Decent food and shopping options too. It's hard to fault this one, just needs to step up when it comes to wifi and entertainment options. Otherwise, it's a great airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"poorly run arrival area looks like a COVID hotspot"

(United States)

Not Verified | The Terminal 2/AA/Delta etc arrival area, where most airlines come in, is the most poorly run pick up area I have ever been to. Twice this summer I had to experience the gridlock of cars attempting to pick up people at this terminal. There is no way to pull over to pick up people, even when they are right there waiting out front. The security officers yell at you to keep driving around, adding to traffic issues and do not give you a chance to pull over. My 80-year-old mother was stepping across several lanes of traffic to try and reach me and the security officer was yelling at both of us. I had already circled around 3 times! The poorly run arrival area looks like a COVID hotspot. If they would let you pick up passengers, there would be fewer problems. They should redirect rental car buses to another location or spread arrivals out so there are fewer people trying to be picked up at the same time. The security officers should get off of their Segways and try being helpful instead of yelling at elderly people and those picking them up.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no free internet available"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Remarkable that they speak several languages over the loud speaker but have no free internet available. A disgrace to the travel industry. I will rethink coming through RDU ever again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

"give yourself far more time than you think you’ll need"

(United States)

Not Verified | The airport staff, especially American, appears to be inept. You’d think in a small regional airport that you’d get through it more quickly than a major international one. If you thought that like me, you’re gravely mistaken. RDU is the worst-functioning, most difficult-to-manage airport I have been to! Be prepared to wait, and give yourself far more time than you think you’ll need.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a negative experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | TSA employees in Terminal 1 were rude and totally unnecessarily aggressive in screening/searching people. Worst I've seen. We were surprised as we never had such treatment in Terminal 2 which we normally use. Found Terminal 1 to be like a bus station. Insufficient restaurants, limited seating. Overall a negative experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"TSA agents couldn’t have been more unprofessional"

(United States)

Not Verified | I was traveling from RDU back home to Pittsburgh with my son and daughter. We had an 8.15 am flight so we arrived at RDU by 6.30 am to give us plenty of time check our luggage and pass through security. The TSA agents couldn’t have been more unprofessional and down right rude. There was no explanation of what to do they just started yelling at my son and daughter to walk in a line and telling them they were “moving to slow” and “walk at a normal pace”. My son has ADD so when no instruction is given I’m not sure how he would no what to do, especially being 9 years old and never flying before.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"My wife, son and I missed our flight"

(United States)

Not Verified | The TSA need to either hire more employees or find a faster way to get people through to their flights. My wife, son and I missed our flight because of the TSA line being wrapped all the way around the building. We would have made it had they done a better job moving people through with flight times leaving soon!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"hour wait for security"

(United States)

Not Verified | Leaving Raleigh-Durham airport in the morning is a nightmare! I have never seen anything like this. An hour wait for security alone. The situation is a disgrace to the Triangle area. If Atlanta, Chicago and other massive airports can accommodate a morning crowd without a wait like this, RDU should be able to. Get your act together!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
5/10

"TSA person scolded me"

(United States)

Not Verified | TSA person, I felt scolded me for wearing the type of personal undergarments I was wearing. She very harshly pointed to areas that had to be verified safe. As a fuller upper body, I am accustomed to being patted down due to being of ample upper body and whatever but this time, the TSA person, in my opinion went to far. I told her I had on spandx and she said “that’s just not spanx, you have something else”. I was absolutely flabbergasted. So, after being patted down to a degree of humiliation, she said” you can go.” There were all male TSA and male employees around. I know all this is for security. It’s not pleasant but I do understand. However, some things are just common sense. All other agents that day were professional and kind. Where as I would have rated this experience a 10, the TSA episode bumped the rating to 5.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 36 Reviews