Pisa Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 70 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"only 1 passport checkpoint open"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The passport control queue (on departure back to England) at this airport was absolutely appalling. We arrived with plenty of time and went straight to the departure gate as soon as it appeared on the screen. Upon arrival here, there was a long queue, with only 1 passport checkpoint open. The room and queuing system was small and people kept coming up the escalators/stairs, despite there not being any room. After about 45 minutes of queuing, people started to panic that they were going to miss their flights. A second and third checkpoint was opened for a little while (although these were shut again), but there was no apparent order as to who got checked first. This caused chaos and panic and people started pushing, shoving and shouting. I am normally fine in crowded situations, but even I started to panic at this point. I was so squashed in the crowd that I couldn't even move to find my phone to let my mum (who had got through a little earlier than me), know that I was stuck. People were starting to shout and get agitated. There was absolutely no recognition that another counter should have been open, and at points it felt as though the police were working even slower than usual. It was an absolute joke and I would recommend everyone to stay away from this airport, save the hassle and fly directly to Florence!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"insane and terrible queuing"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This airport is hell on earth ... it’s like a human experiment to see how many ways they can break you! Firstly the intense heat secondly the insane and terrible queuing system ensures that every part of your transit is torturous. Save the hassle fly to Florence and pay more.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"massively overcrowded"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Must be the worst airport in the world. Massively overcrowded, no seating, horrible delays. I am not generally an alarmist but as other users stated it is a massive safety risk. It is incredible that this airport is allowed to operate and the airlines using it are making themselves as liable by exposing its passengers to this risk.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a serious overcrowding issue"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I use Pisa airport 4 or 6 times a year. Leaving from the upstairs departure lounge gate number 19 20 21 22. 9 times out of ten there are departure delays. There is a serious overcrowding issue caused by these delays. If there was any kind of event, fire or security breach the resulting panic and crushing would be devastating. In the past I have written to Easyjet and the Italian airport authorities. There has been no attempt to control this situation. It’s a disgrace. There needs to be some sort of crowd control, make the area infront of the passport control into a holding area.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"this airport left us speechless"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Possibly the worst airport in the world, we are frequent travellers and have travelled across the globe but this airport left us speechless. It didn’t help our flight was delayed by over 3 hours with a 2 year old and a member requiring special assistance but the worst bit was the lack of seating in waiting areas and rude staff that were trying to take advantage of our already inadequate food compensation vouchers. It felt like a disaster evacuation zone. WiFi didn’t work, queues at check in and security horrendous. Avoid and pay more to fly out of another airport!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"passport check brisk"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I was concerned by the poor reviews but my (our) experience was fine. Arrival was smooth, passport check brisk (in contrast to return at Stansted). Departure, the budget airline gates slightly out of the way, very short queue for Ryanair bag drop. Security slightly disorganised and no fast track, trays too small, but no big problem. Adequate shopping and cafes beyond security. Seating at gate (22) left many standing and then the usual Ryanair practice of being checked through gate only to stand for many minutes in sloping corridor.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Staff unfriendly"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Really bad structure of check-in, bag drop, and security. Not much space inside terminal. Bad sound in speakers, and bad info in english. Staff unfriendly.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very disorganised"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Avoid if at all possible. Reading some of the other reviews sounded familiar to our experience. Very disorganised, not enough information, very poor English spoken and some of them just rude. We too experienced the danger of queuing on the stairs. Had been called to go to boarding area but check in desks were unmanned. People were going up escalator with nowhere to go and I was sure an accident was going to happen as people were shouting move on please as they came off escalator! Eventually a member of staff came from somewhere and just turned it off. By this time people were queuing on escalator and stairs. Sometime later two security men sauntered in and opened the check in desk. When waiting to get on plane, fast track people were going through but in the end we were just in one big queue together again on stairs. Bearing in mind this was a hand luggage only flight this was madness and proved very difficult for some passengers with heavy bags. Other problems, not enough seats, poor food, overpriced. Just stay away if you can!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"should really be avoided"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Pisa airport is very disorganized. Passport control takes ages as the officer show up at their desks way after the gate opening time. The staff is quite unhelpful as they never informed the passengers of what is going on in case of a flight delay. Last December I was going to London from Pisa and I was due to leave at 1500. All passengers had to wait until 2100 in the evening to see the face of staff coming around to communicate a very obvious delay and didn't add more info. The flight cancellation was finally confirmed at 2330 and we were moved from the airport heading to a hotel. The day after no one could tell us when we would leave at the checking desks. An awful experience. Then today again I have been flying to Liverpool and the flight was late. We were standing in the queue for an hour but the staff didn't feel the need to give us any info and were surprised when people started to complain about this bad service. Really this airport should be avoided.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"chaos with no organisation"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Horrendous organisation. Airport Staff are completely in chaos with no organisation. Last night travelling home to Dublin from Pisa the queue to get through security was 45 minutes then the queue to get up the stairs to passport control was an absolute safety risk! People hoarded onto a dormant escalator and a set of stairs! The staff announced nothing - people missed flights, there was no organisation, only 2 security immigration officers on for 4 full flights leaving at the same time one being an international long haul where every person requires stamped out of the country. No fast track, no priority. It was awful, it was hot and it was a major accident waiting to happen! The Ryanair team cannot get the blame on this one they were kept in the dark as much as anybody else and it was informed 40 people missed their flights. There was no excuse the team at Pisa will need to compensate people. My photo shows the craziness and at the top of these steps which took 1 hour to get up was another 45 minute queue if you were pushing and fighting people who were all in desperation to get the 200 ft away to the gates!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 68 Reviews