Phuket Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 97 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Very very displeased with our whole experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | The entire experience was stressful, as staff were very unhelpful and unclear on direction. Staff were very rude and we found ourselves going in circles because we could not find one staff member in the entire airport to help us. Our flight was from Phuket to Bangkok, which should have been a simple flight. We were very disappointed with this airport's departure organization. Also, I highly recommend that you do not go to "Daddy's Box" cafe inside of this airport. There were two girls working in the cafe who had terrible service and not the slightest ounce of customer service. The cafe has misleading signs advertising what their prices and offers were. I ordered a panini, the lady automatically put cheese on the panini, and then charged me because cheese is extra, however it did not say on their advertised poster menu that cheese was extra, she also did not give me the option to not have the cheese! They also advertised free water with anything on the menu. When I asked for the water, they said you have to purchase fries for the water. What a joke! Very misleading menus and signs posted outside the cafe, scams you for what you really get. Not even that tasty of food. Very very displeased with our whole experience at this aiport. I am used to rushed and/or rude airport staff, but this was by far the worst traveling experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"What a circus"

(Australia)

Not Verified | What a circus. Poor and confusing signage from the moment you get off the plane and into the terminal. Good luck finding maps and directions to international departures. My 2 small children and I waited with our luggage for near 10 minutes for what appears to be the only lift to departures only to be pushed aside by 5 airport staff (who turned up after we did) who could have easily taken the escalator or stairs. 3 points awarded for functional and clean toilets, the food choice in the international terminal, and the free WiFi that has allowed me to share my story of this place.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst and most ridiculous we have ever had"

(Austria)

Not Verified | Our experience at Phuket International airport was by far the worst and most ridiculous we have ever had having been to more than 50 airports! It started with placing a national flight to Bangkok on the International Terminal, seemingly oblivious to the fact that Bangkok is the capital of Thailand. After initial confusion, we made it to the check-in where we found a queue of approximately 40 metres. After an acceptable waiting time at the security check, we tried to make our way to the gate - at least we thought so. The airport was seemingly not capable of implementing a normal, embarrassingly simple gate-system but forced hundreds of people into one (!) exit to dozens of planes. My mom almost fainted after being forced to stand with hundreds of other people in the queue for more than an hour. Even the most frugal, least organised and oldest military airport in Myanmar or India offered a far better experience than Phuket International Airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"facilities are reasonably clean"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Not too many direct flights to this airport from other countries so presumably fairly common to travel via Bangkok to and from the airport. Firstly however, when arriving, we arrived via domestic from Bangkok but needed to walk through the airport to international to retrieve our bags - despite there being our flight number on a baggage collection area in domestic. The only way we found out was a man walking around calling out various cities of origin. He had a clipboard with our names on it then directed us to the other terminal. As a result, our pre-booked taxi was at the wrong terminal and we had to walk back to domestic to find them, just happened to cross paths with them as they came get to international terminal to find us. Secondly, when leaving, we were heading to Bangkok first, so one would assume we would leave via domestic and then international from Bangkok, but were instead told to walk to international to leave from there. Also on departure, we needed to clear immigration in Phuket, but had misplaced a departure card. Most airports provide a table with spare departure cards and pens so that they can be filled in there within the immigration area. But a staff member told us to go all the way back to where we checked in to get one instead. When I said that was crazy they didn’t have the those cards available in that area, the staff member wanted to argue with me about it. So we needed to ask a closed counter for a card then another counter for a pen before we could go back to the immigration area. Security check from there was also quite rude when directing to queues. Queue lengths were ok on this particular occasion. And facilities are reasonably clean.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff at security is disgusting"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The staff at security in this airport is disgusting, the way they treat you is horrible. I only wanted to know why I couldn't take an item through she couldn't explain and got very nasty, even tho the counter desk said battery packs can go in hand luggage. Advise the staff to learn how to treat customer with more respect.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"the rubbish is pointless"

(France)

Not Verified | The airport in itself is ok, staff seemed nice. I was pleased to see that the airport has 2 types of bin - 1 for recycling, and 1 for general. But then I was very disappointed when I saw the cleaners come and empty both bins and put them in the same bag! So the whole point of separating the rubbish is pointless! So sad for the planet.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
1/10

"staff very rude"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | The staff in this airport are very rude. They treat visitors like prisoners. Would need to see the manager to complain again if they never take any action on changing their attitudes towards visitors. Very bad experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
10/10

"I was pleasantly surprised"

(United States)

Not Verified | If you’re arriving at the Phuket airport and you’re thinking about booking a tour go to the Taxi and Minibus stand at the airport. They will give you a tour which was actually cheaper than on Viator and your taxi ride is free! You’ll save over 1000B. If you book two tours you’ll get your ride back to the airport free. I was pleasantly surprised.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"airside was very pleasant"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This airport experience is not as bad as many holidaymakers' make it out to be. And yes both arriving and departing did take a rather long time at immigration, due to not enough booths open and many flights arriving at the same time. I guess I was lucky to arrive in the middle of the night, and get pass passport control and collect my baggage within an hour. On my departure, finding my check in desk got me parading up and down the terminal a couple of times - as the signage was not that clear. The staff although friendly, gave me different directions, and wasn't really an issue, as it's not a huge terminal to walk anyway. However the airside was very pleasant. Set in two levels, with plenty of seating, and architecturally spacious and modern. You couldn't miss the gate numbers, displayed big and bold, and the Duty Free shopping areas looked elegant. There were several small eating outlets and shops, including a 'Boots'. The staff were very helpful too, and when I was searching to buy genuine Thai Tea, one escorted me from shop to shop until I found it. I would give this airport thumbs up.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"This is highly unacceptable"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | My battery pack was taken by security when it was 1500 amh as it was showing 1.5A, the staff did not know the simple conversion so they withheld the pack. I told them that the capacity had been checked when I arrived in Bangkok and it was acceptable as it was less than the 32000 limit, they called me a liar. There were 5 customs officers and 2 supervising staff who laughed when we tried to show them the conversion on the internet. This is highly unacceptable, they had no right to withhold the pack so where do I stand now? As far as I am concerned this is negligence and theft.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 97 Reviews