Penang Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 41 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"Departure is less comfortable"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | This is considered large considered it's mainly used as a domestic airport, with a few airlines that fly here from other International destinations such as Taiwan, China, Hong Kong and Indonesia etc. Arrival is a bliss, due to the small amount of international traffic, one gets pass immigration and custom fairly quickly. Departure, however, is a less comfortable experience. Due to the heavy traffic from budget airlines passengers, the airport is very busy and long queues are everywhere. Getting pass immigration is also takes a fair bit of time. For those who flies budget airlines, DO arrive earlier and give ample time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"good quality and ambiance"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | My first experience with this airport was in 2012 and now in 2019 it happened to be my next experience with this airport. In overall, good quality and ambiance for international but not so big airport. Can improve better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"helpfulness and honesty"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | I would like to thank the airport information counter staff for her helpfulness and honesty. I lost my branded wallet somewhere at the airport and it was found by a kind passenger and it was passed to this staff member. Later on, I received a call from the staff member and then realized I’d dropped it at the airport. However, with all the help from the rest of the airport information counter staff, I was able to get back my wallet with correct amount of money returned. Penang airport has given me a brand new impression, thanks again!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"cleanliness is a major problem"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Penang Airport is generally a fair airport with fair facilities. However, cleanliness is a major problem for this airport. Toilets are flooded with water and seats as well.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the airport is not a match for me"

(Indonesia)

Not Verified | Went to this airport in March this year. Possibly one of the most disappointing airports that I have ever visited. When I got down from the airplane, staff greeted me with no smile, immigration staff were the same. Only the customs and the SIM Card staff were friendly. Immigration lobby was quite dirty at some spots. Slow Wi-Fi, passport control was painstakingly slow as a turtle. On the positive side, F&Bs and dinings were quite good, departure area's passport control was fast, and the signs were easy to look at. Still, I think the airport is not a match for me.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"rude and unwelcoming"

(Australia)

Not Verified | The staff were very rude and unwelcoming. We weren't welcomed with a smile or friendly hello. The Jetstar staff need a serious talking to about friendly happy customer service! Why be so rude??? A simple smile and friendly hello isn't asking too much I don't think. Very unhappy with the Jetstar staff at Penang airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Would be happy to recommend"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A nice and easy small airport to use. Security a breeze and no over the top checks. Some small shops and eating places. Customs easy upon arrival and check in efficient. Clean. Toilets are ok too for quick stop before a flight if basic. Would be happy to recommend and use again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Most unfortunate end"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | Arrival was a breeze with quick clearance and good airport pick up. Unfortunately the entire opposite happened for the departure segment. Check in at the airport counter was slow (counters were not activated even though it says open on the main screen), immigration clearance was even slower and lacklastre, and the officers didn't even bother to help or speed up the clearance even though many in the queue had their flights departing in 10-15 min. Our new fifa soccer ball got confiscated as deemed not suitable as hand carry (hmm I just wonder why) and the flight just came in (!) when it was close to departure time. And of course, the flight was delayed. Most unfortunate end to a very good family trip.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not located in a suitable location"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | The smoking room is not located in a suitable location. I can barely inhale fresh air when I sit around waiting area at b7. Please be alert that second hand smoke is definitely more hazardous to our health! Hope the responsible authorities take action for improvement.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"staff very unprofessional"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | I recently went on a holiday with my family to Penang, Malaysia. Upon arrival, we took the escalator down to the immigration hall. It was swarmed with people! There was so many people I almost couldn't see or move! The staff should do more to help control the crowd. After passing through immigration, I decided to go to the toilet. But to my utter horror, the toilet was filthy! I saw the toilet janitor just standing outside the toilet doing nothing! The toilet was so filthy I decided to not use it. After a few days, my holiday in Penang had finished. I went to the airport for my ready to depart flight. I took AirAsia and it was clearly printed on the boarding pass that boarding will be at 11:10! But in the end, we managed to board the plane at 11:41! They kept us waiting on our feet! I saw the ground staff still looking calm and relaxed as if they are oblivious to the boarding time! One of them was even sleeping! They obviously don't care about us! All they want is for us to go on the plane and disappear! They did not show any care or efficiency. The staff were very unprofessional! They should learn from Changi Airport, Haneda Airport or Incheon Airport! Never going through that lame airport again!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 41 Reviews