Penang Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 42 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"smell the cigarette smoke"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | I frequented Penang Airport on business functions. As one arrive the hall gate B7 one could not help smell the cigarette smoke from the smoking room nearby Gates. I would recommend an airtight double door to the area or improve the intake/discharge ventilation fan or better still no smoking area in the waiting hall
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"Departure is less comfortable"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | This is considered large considered it's mainly used as a domestic airport, with a few airlines that fly here from other International destinations such as Taiwan, China, Hong Kong and Indonesia etc. Arrival is a bliss, due to the small amount of international traffic, one gets pass immigration and custom fairly quickly. Departure, however, is a less comfortable experience. Due to the heavy traffic from budget airlines passengers, the airport is very busy and long queues are everywhere. Getting pass immigration is also takes a fair bit of time. For those who flies budget airlines, DO arrive earlier and give ample time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"good quality and ambiance"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | My first experience with this airport was in 2012 and now in 2019 it happened to be my next experience with this airport. In overall, good quality and ambiance for international but not so big airport. Can improve better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"helpfulness and honesty"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | I would like to thank the airport information counter staff for her helpfulness and honesty. I lost my branded wallet somewhere at the airport and it was found by a kind passenger and it was passed to this staff member. Later on, I received a call from the staff member and then realized I’d dropped it at the airport. However, with all the help from the rest of the airport information counter staff, I was able to get back my wallet with correct amount of money returned. Penang airport has given me a brand new impression, thanks again!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"cleanliness is a major problem"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Penang Airport is generally a fair airport with fair facilities. However, cleanliness is a major problem for this airport. Toilets are flooded with water and seats as well.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the airport is not a match for me"

(Indonesia)

Not Verified | Went to this airport in March this year. Possibly one of the most disappointing airports that I have ever visited. When I got down from the airplane, staff greeted me with no smile, immigration staff were the same. Only the customs and the SIM Card staff were friendly. Immigration lobby was quite dirty at some spots. Slow Wi-Fi, passport control was painstakingly slow as a turtle. On the positive side, F&Bs and dinings were quite good, departure area's passport control was fast, and the signs were easy to look at. Still, I think the airport is not a match for me.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"rude and unwelcoming"

(Australia)

Not Verified | The staff were very rude and unwelcoming. We weren't welcomed with a smile or friendly hello. The Jetstar staff need a serious talking to about friendly happy customer service! Why be so rude??? A simple smile and friendly hello isn't asking too much I don't think. Very unhappy with the Jetstar staff at Penang airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Would be happy to recommend"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A nice and easy small airport to use. Security a breeze and no over the top checks. Some small shops and eating places. Customs easy upon arrival and check in efficient. Clean. Toilets are ok too for quick stop before a flight if basic. Would be happy to recommend and use again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Most unfortunate end"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | Arrival was a breeze with quick clearance and good airport pick up. Unfortunately the entire opposite happened for the departure segment. Check in at the airport counter was slow (counters were not activated even though it says open on the main screen), immigration clearance was even slower and lacklastre, and the officers didn't even bother to help or speed up the clearance even though many in the queue had their flights departing in 10-15 min. Our new fifa soccer ball got confiscated as deemed not suitable as hand carry (hmm I just wonder why) and the flight just came in (!) when it was close to departure time. And of course, the flight was delayed. Most unfortunate end to a very good family trip.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not located in a suitable location"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | The smoking room is not located in a suitable location. I can barely inhale fresh air when I sit around waiting area at b7. Please be alert that second hand smoke is definitely more hazardous to our health! Hope the responsible authorities take action for improvement.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 42 Reviews