Penang Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 44 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"staff was very rude"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | The staff was very rude and doesn’t even know important information to guide the customers. I asked her which queue is the economy class she called me to go business class lane then later she call me to go economy class lane - she kept on calling me to go here and there and I was frustrated. I suggest to the airport have more training for the staffs and especially learn more courtesy to customers. Hope you’re improve on your service
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"we were so disappointed by his actions"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I would like to make a complaint about my experience at the departure gate. I had myself and my husband traveling together and we only have one AirAsia mobile app which contains our AirAsia boarding passes. The male officer wouldn’t let us pass the departure gate as he claims we had to use 2 different mobiles to show the tickets and he stated it is the airline’s policy. I was so surprised as we have been traveling across Malaysia and have been using the same app as my husband didn’t have the app on his mobile. The male officer also took a photo of my passport, then I told him I would make a complaint and took a photo of his name tag. But then he took a photo of me and my husband. I guess I would never be welcome back to this country, but never mind, we were so disappointed by his actions.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"smell the cigarette smoke"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | I frequented Penang Airport on business functions. As one arrive the hall gate B7 one could not help smell the cigarette smoke from the smoking room nearby Gates. I would recommend an airtight double door to the area or improve the intake/discharge ventilation fan or better still no smoking area in the waiting hall
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"Departure is less comfortable"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | This is considered large considered it's mainly used as a domestic airport, with a few airlines that fly here from other International destinations such as Taiwan, China, Hong Kong and Indonesia etc. Arrival is a bliss, due to the small amount of international traffic, one gets pass immigration and custom fairly quickly. Departure, however, is a less comfortable experience. Due to the heavy traffic from budget airlines passengers, the airport is very busy and long queues are everywhere. Getting pass immigration is also takes a fair bit of time. For those who flies budget airlines, DO arrive earlier and give ample time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"good quality and ambiance"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | My first experience with this airport was in 2012 and now in 2019 it happened to be my next experience with this airport. In overall, good quality and ambiance for international but not so big airport. Can improve better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"helpfulness and honesty"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | I would like to thank the airport information counter staff for her helpfulness and honesty. I lost my branded wallet somewhere at the airport and it was found by a kind passenger and it was passed to this staff member. Later on, I received a call from the staff member and then realized I’d dropped it at the airport. However, with all the help from the rest of the airport information counter staff, I was able to get back my wallet with correct amount of money returned. Penang airport has given me a brand new impression, thanks again!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"cleanliness is a major problem"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Penang Airport is generally a fair airport with fair facilities. However, cleanliness is a major problem for this airport. Toilets are flooded with water and seats as well.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the airport is not a match for me"

(Indonesia)

Not Verified | Went to this airport in March this year. Possibly one of the most disappointing airports that I have ever visited. When I got down from the airplane, staff greeted me with no smile, immigration staff were the same. Only the customs and the SIM Card staff were friendly. Immigration lobby was quite dirty at some spots. Slow Wi-Fi, passport control was painstakingly slow as a turtle. On the positive side, F&Bs and dinings were quite good, departure area's passport control was fast, and the signs were easy to look at. Still, I think the airport is not a match for me.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"rude and unwelcoming"

(Australia)

Not Verified | The staff were very rude and unwelcoming. We weren't welcomed with a smile or friendly hello. The Jetstar staff need a serious talking to about friendly happy customer service! Why be so rude??? A simple smile and friendly hello isn't asking too much I don't think. Very unhappy with the Jetstar staff at Penang airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Would be happy to recommend"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A nice and easy small airport to use. Security a breeze and no over the top checks. Some small shops and eating places. Customs easy upon arrival and check in efficient. Clean. Toilets are ok too for quick stop before a flight if basic. Would be happy to recommend and use again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 44 Reviews