Panama Tocumen Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 83 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"so inconvenienced"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airport. I went through a security screening upon arrival for a connecting flight right after disembarking the plane. In order to board again (without leaving the airport) I went through another security screening. I had purchased coffee and water assuming that I could keep them since I had already gone through security at the departing country, upon arriving at Panama, and then at the last screening, I was told I couldn't take any liquids! There are no water fountains offered at the gate either with very limited seating. I had to also remove my shoes again and everything else while they thoroughly insoected my backpack, although it had already been searched once. All they said was, "it's the US that has placed these policies in place." I've been to many airports around the world and have never been so inconvenienced. I thought LAX was bad.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"terribly expensive"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport is terribly expensive, for everything. Food, drinks are way way over-priced. If you buy water in your terminal, they still take it away upon boarding. If you have a turbulent flight and the service is delayed, just dehydrate I guess. Smokers have to leave the entire airport, no outdoor designated area. Why? This is not cutting down on smoking, this is just severely increasing the anxiety of those who do before they fly. No free WiFi.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Avoid this airport"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | Worst airport I have been to. Very disappointing. The selection of places to dine here is atrocious. Nothing of a decent standard. Ridiculously overpriced! Rude staff. The selection of shops - well it’s one duty free shop after another, selling the same overpriced produce. Don’t purchase water to take onboard at any of the shops there after you’ve passed security, because they won’t let you take it onboard. At $6 a bottle! Absolutely disgusting! Avoid this airport. I can’t think of anything positive to say.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"To be avoided"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | To be avoided at all cost. Used it for transit but will never again. My checked in luggage was opened. The lock was cracked. Everything in was a mess. In addition the staff is horrible. When you try to ask something they hide and avoid to attend you. Last but not the least, at the security check the lady made a drama screaming that i have a perfume with me. She dug through my bag as if it was a matter of life or death. She wanted to confiscate the perfume so much - lost her interest when she saw it was a mosquito repellent.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"everything looks disgusting"

(United States)

Not Verified | If zero stars were avail it would be it. The worst airport ever, everything looks disgusting. They make you do a pointless 2nd security check at your gate and confiscate your liquids that you buy from here. Staff members can’t speak English at an international airport, they are also extremely rude as I have a medical boot and they forced me to take it off, which isn’t safe for someone who has a fracture. They need to rethink their 2nd security check.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"extremely expensive"

(Barbados)

Not Verified | This airport is extremely expensive. I suggest buying what you need before you get there or after you leave there. A SIM card in the city will cost you USD 5 with unlimited data whereas in Tocumen it costs USD 30. It's beyond ridiculous. There's a second security screening right at the boarding gate that is roped off. If you like to arrive early to alleviate stress you will only find more stress. Better to sit at another gate until it's closer to boarding time in case you want to do simple things like go to the bathroom.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no one spoke a word in English"

(Hungary)

Not Verified | I had a bad experience at Tocumen due to the following reasons: no one speaks English (at an international airport!). I was in 4 different shops and in 2 restaurants, no one spoke a word of English. At half of the shops they did not take card, they put out a piece of paper: cash only. Again, this is unacceptable at an airport. Food court is very hard to find (no signs indicate), and the customer care/queue management is very poor.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport I've been to"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is by far the worst airport I've been to. First of all they pick on all the Americans who go through the 1st security check point claiming you have items in your bag that you can't take to the US. I came from the US with these items so yes they are accepted there. In my case they tried to take away my tweezers. I've traveled all over Europe, Asia and South America with these said tweezers and never had an issue. They also tried to take my boyfriend's chargers and converters. Then to add insult to injury, if you're traveling to the US you have to go through a 2nd security screen. Like others have said, the food is very overpriced. The workers just stand around and look dumbfounded when you're trying to make a purchase.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"The best bit of the airport is leaving it"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | The best bit of the airport is leaving it. First is the con with the porters - they quote $2 to move your baggage a few yards to check in, then demand $1 per item. My wife must have been the very first person with metal knees to go through security. The security personnel did not have a clue what to do. They stared at her blankly when she asked for a chair in order to sit down and take her shoes off. At least 4 security people became involved. After having everything scanned, we were getting all our stuff together when a rather gruff security guy wanted to open our handbags because 2 lighters had been scanned. These were then confiscated, my opinion is it had nothing to do with security but more to do with people smoking in the terminal, which is forbidden. The 2 electronic Kindles we had were either missed or ignored. Also, I do not recall seeing any notices or signs that lighters were prohibited. This means if you own an expensive lighter, it could be confiscated. All airports I've flown from allow at least a couple of lighters per person. The airport was very crowded and even the Copa lounge was at bursting point. The range of food in that business lounge was rather pathetic. The shops were expensive and I saw a lot of signs with "cash only". For an international airport, the extent of English speaking security staff and shop staff was abysmal. The highlight was getting on to the plane and leaving.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"grossly inefficient"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Health hazard, forces people to fly without water or liquid food. Due to the “second” line of security by each individual gate, which is grossly inefficient, it’s also unsafe as they require you to throw out purchased water from the airport. I bought water after the first security line and was forced to throw it out and they told me the airline would “serve me water”. Well six hour flight I only got one glass of water. This practice is dangerous for diabetics and those who are sick.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 73 Reviews