Panama Tocumen Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 78 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"extremely expensive"

(Barbados)

Not Verified | This airport is extremely expensive. I suggest buying what you need before you get there or after you leave there. A SIM card in the city will cost you USD 5 with unlimited data whereas in Tocumen it costs USD 30. It's beyond ridiculous. There's a second security screening right at the boarding gate that is roped off. If you like to arrive early to alleviate stress you will only find more stress. Better to sit at another gate until it's closer to boarding time in case you want to do simple things like go to the bathroom.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no one spoke a word in English"

(Hungary)

Not Verified | I had a bad experience at Tocumen due to the following reasons: no one speaks English (at an international airport!). I was in 4 different shops and in 2 restaurants, no one spoke a word of English. At half of the shops they did not take card, they put out a piece of paper: cash only. Again, this is unacceptable at an airport. Food court is very hard to find (no signs indicate), and the customer care/queue management is very poor.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport I've been to"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is by far the worst airport I've been to. First of all they pick on all the Americans who go through the 1st security check point claiming you have items in your bag that you can't take to the US. I came from the US with these items so yes they are accepted there. In my case they tried to take away my tweezers. I've traveled all over Europe, Asia and South America with these said tweezers and never had an issue. They also tried to take my boyfriend's chargers and converters. Then to add insult to injury, if you're traveling to the US you have to go through a 2nd security screen. Like others have said, the food is very overpriced. The workers just stand around and look dumbfounded when you're trying to make a purchase.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"The best bit of the airport is leaving it"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | The best bit of the airport is leaving it. First is the con with the porters - they quote $2 to move your baggage a few yards to check in, then demand $1 per item. My wife must have been the very first person with metal knees to go through security. The security personnel did not have a clue what to do. They stared at her blankly when she asked for a chair in order to sit down and take her shoes off. At least 4 security people became involved. After having everything scanned, we were getting all our stuff together when a rather gruff security guy wanted to open our handbags because 2 lighters had been scanned. These were then confiscated, my opinion is it had nothing to do with security but more to do with people smoking in the terminal, which is forbidden. The 2 electronic Kindles we had were either missed or ignored. Also, I do not recall seeing any notices or signs that lighters were prohibited. This means if you own an expensive lighter, it could be confiscated. All airports I've flown from allow at least a couple of lighters per person. The airport was very crowded and even the Copa lounge was at bursting point. The range of food in that business lounge was rather pathetic. The shops were expensive and I saw a lot of signs with "cash only". For an international airport, the extent of English speaking security staff and shop staff was abysmal. The highlight was getting on to the plane and leaving.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"grossly inefficient"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Health hazard, forces people to fly without water or liquid food. Due to the “second” line of security by each individual gate, which is grossly inefficient, it’s also unsafe as they require you to throw out purchased water from the airport. I bought water after the first security line and was forced to throw it out and they told me the airline would “serve me water”. Well six hour flight I only got one glass of water. This practice is dangerous for diabetics and those who are sick.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"there is nowhere for passengers to sit"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | In order to fund its expansion, the airport appears to have sold all its chairs, meaning that there is nowhere for passengers to sit. While there is a vip lounge, this is almost as squalid as the rest of the airport, with large groups of people hovering around, in search of an empty seat. Outside the airline lounge, it is worse, with multiple security checkpoints (each with bag and magnetic scanners). Passengers squat on their haunches outside boarded up duty free stores, counting the floor tiles. Exhausted childrens’ screams echo down the travellators. The bathrooms are worse still. Even the mens’ restroom has a line; these are less than clean. On a plus, the air conditioning is working, currently.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"No decent sit down restaurant"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Wow — just wow. Until today I thought that LaGuardia held the record for worst airport facilities in the world. Panama takes the crown. One tiny, horribly overcrowded lounge for the Copa Hub. No decent sit down restaurant. Crowded corridors and very small, poorly serviced rest rooms. Ridiculously pricey fast food options only. A mess of secondary screening which makes for crowded chaos. Copa deserves a better hub and ASAP!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"I'd rather avoid this airport"

(Argentina)

Trip Verified | Worst airport ever! Airline and shop staff are really rude! Unnecesary security checks and filthy restrooms. I'd rather avoid this airport! Food is far too expensive (above 30 USD for a sandwich, a salad and two drinks). There are not a lot of options to choose from, anyway. No vegetarian food in so-called "healthy" bars. And everything is chaos! People everywhere going who knows where and no staff to keep the order. I'm not happy at all! Shops like duty free only accept cash (no credit or debit cards). Who would think an international airport these days takes only cash?
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"good place to connect"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Panama Tocumen is a good place to connect between the U.S. and Latin American destinations: the gates are never far apart, there are interesting eating and drinking options, and it is not necessary to go through immigration or customs. The airport can be really crowded, however, and the security process before boarding U.S.-bound flights can be a pain. The lines can get long and slow, yet there is little seating at the gate itself, and no toilet facilities. It's time for a major redo if Copa Airlines (the main carrier) intends to expand.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"What a terrible place"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | What a terrible place. I had to do an extra security check at the gate for no reason at all. Lufthansa staff in Panama couldn't manage to put me next to my friend on our 14 hour fight to Frankfurt. When I was trying to buy a drink in the bar nobody would help. There is no duty free for rum, perfume etc. Instead its all bags and clothing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 68 Reviews