Panama Tocumen Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 77 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"dirty, overpriced, and has very few options"

(United States)

Not Verified | It’s the worst airport experience I’ve ever had. Please avoid it at all costs if you can. The staff are extremely rude, trained to treat passengers like cattle, not like human beings. Even if you haven’t left the terminal and are just taking a connecting flight, they make you go through improvised security checks right at your gate, where they disrespect you in every possible way. And this is when you are lucky enough to know what gate your flight is taking off form! There is nobody to guide you at the premises, to tell you where to go or how long to wait, and your flight won’t be posted on the screens until maybe 30 minutes before departure! Employees are disorganized, untrained, and don’t give you reasons for anything. It’s dirty, overpriced, and has very few options when it comes to food or miscellaneous shopping.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff here are very unorganized"

(United States)

Not Verified | The staff here are very unorganized, instead of telling us to line up for a search they let everyone settle down. Next, they lie about taking ones purchasing of product/s from another airport and say "They just tell you to buy it so they can make money" and then try to deny the fact that we can take it with us. I would never recommend this airport or the staff of having good service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"wasn't a bad experience"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | After reading some reviews on Tocumen Airport I expected the worst. I even arrived at the airport 3 hours in advance because of the countless security checks I read on here. I took a plane twice at Tocumen Airport in the last 10 days: One to Medellin and one to Madrid. Both times it took me between 5 to 10 minutes to get from the check-in counter to the gate. Not bad at all. Also, there is no 2nd security if you fly to European countries or other Latin American countries. This only applies to flights to the US. Thank the US government for that. I also purchased some food (not that bad) and a bottle of water each time. Water was 3.25 USD, not 6 or 8 USD. Same price as in any other airport. The airport is also larger and wider than I read on here. I've been to over 100 airports in the last 10 years and Tocumen is definitely not in the top 20 of worst airports I've ever been. Not really sure what all these reviews below me are about. One thing I can agree on is that is the cold/warm situation. It can be a bit chilly in some parts of the airport and quite warm 100 ft. further. Overall, Tocumen wasn't a bad experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"a horrible airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is a horrible airport. The air conditioning is terribly inconsistent hot in one place cold in another. The gate changes are all over the place and the the security is irritating making you redo security even though you haven't left the terminal. The Wi-Fi is only free for 30 minutes and it forces you to see advertising.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"so inconvenienced"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airport. I went through a security screening upon arrival for a connecting flight right after disembarking the plane. In order to board again (without leaving the airport) I went through another security screening. I had purchased coffee and water assuming that I could keep them since I had already gone through security at the departing country, upon arriving at Panama, and then at the last screening, I was told I couldn't take any liquids! There are no water fountains offered at the gate either with very limited seating. I had to also remove my shoes again and everything else while they thoroughly insoected my backpack, although it had already been searched once. All they said was, "it's the US that has placed these policies in place." I've been to many airports around the world and have never been so inconvenienced. I thought LAX was bad.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"terribly expensive"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport is terribly expensive, for everything. Food, drinks are way way over-priced. If you buy water in your terminal, they still take it away upon boarding. If you have a turbulent flight and the service is delayed, just dehydrate I guess. Smokers have to leave the entire airport, no outdoor designated area. Why? This is not cutting down on smoking, this is just severely increasing the anxiety of those who do before they fly. No free WiFi.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Avoid this airport"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | Worst airport I have been to. Very disappointing. The selection of places to dine here is atrocious. Nothing of a decent standard. Ridiculously overpriced! Rude staff. The selection of shops - well it’s one duty free shop after another, selling the same overpriced produce. Don’t purchase water to take onboard at any of the shops there after you’ve passed security, because they won’t let you take it onboard. At $6 a bottle! Absolutely disgusting! Avoid this airport. I can’t think of anything positive to say.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"To be avoided"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | To be avoided at all cost. Used it for transit but will never again. My checked in luggage was opened. The lock was cracked. Everything in was a mess. In addition the staff is horrible. When you try to ask something they hide and avoid to attend you. Last but not the least, at the security check the lady made a drama screaming that i have a perfume with me. She dug through my bag as if it was a matter of life or death. She wanted to confiscate the perfume so much - lost her interest when she saw it was a mosquito repellent.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"everything looks disgusting"

(United States)

Not Verified | If zero stars were avail it would be it. The worst airport ever, everything looks disgusting. They make you do a pointless 2nd security check at your gate and confiscate your liquids that you buy from here. Staff members can’t speak English at an international airport, they are also extremely rude as I have a medical boot and they forced me to take it off, which isn’t safe for someone who has a fracture. They need to rethink their 2nd security check.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"extremely expensive"

(Barbados)

Not Verified | This airport is extremely expensive. I suggest buying what you need before you get there or after you leave there. A SIM card in the city will cost you USD 5 with unlimited data whereas in Tocumen it costs USD 30. It's beyond ridiculous. There's a second security screening right at the boarding gate that is roped off. If you like to arrive early to alleviate stress you will only find more stress. Better to sit at another gate until it's closer to boarding time in case you want to do simple things like go to the bathroom.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 77 Reviews