Panama Tocumen Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 89 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Worst customer service I’ve received at an airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | If you have staff in the international wing of the airport they should be bilingual and at the very least not laugh at passengers trying to do their best to communicate. Had several staff laugh as I was using google translate since they made no effort to try to explain what they mean. In addition due to a miscommunication with your staff about the one pager we have to sign upon arrival (we did this before we got to Panama via the us embassy website but apparently that doesn’t matter bc they didn’t ask for it) my friend and I got split and they wouldn’t allow me to wait not even two seconds for her to fill it out. My phone was dead and we ended up losing each other for a hour. Worst customer service I’ve received at an airport. I get this is your home but it’s no excuse to be rude.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"most of the time the air conditioning does not work properly"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Please, do not chose this airport as an alternative connection for your trip. This airport is small and most of the time the air conditioning does not work properly, it is hot most of the time. The food is terrible, similar to their customer service, and expensive. The airport only offers a terrible 30min free wifi every day, if you want more, you need to pay. And finally, the airport it’s been under construction since 2012 thanks to the Odebrecht construction company; therefore, don’t expect to see much in their new section of the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"We were forced to wait 8 hours"

(United States)

Not Verified | This is the worst airport I've ever been. My girlfriend came from Colombia and I came from the US to meet for our vacation. The day before we both have a covid test done to help get through the airport quicker. Nope, not only did they force her to have another test they forced her to pay $85 for the stupid thing. Guess how long we had to wait at the airport while they are forcing people to take redundant tests and charging nearly a hundred dollars? We were forced to wait 8 hours. That's right, my travel time was already 12 hours long and I had to turn around and wait another 8 hours in this God for saying he'll hold. Never again am I visiting Panama.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very bad experience"

(Panama)

Trip Verified | Very bad experience. When you pick up your luggage from the conveyor belt and you want to get a cart they immediately want to charge you 5$. That's ridiculous. On every airport on the world you can get your cart for free. They could really do better in providing better service to their flight guests. Next thing is when you leave the airport the taxi drivers want to charge you 50 USD for a 20 min ride to the hotel when you can get it for like 5-10 USD in the other direction.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Huge slow queues"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrival at customs - all officers playing games on their telephones. Huge slow queues. No assistance to any requests, they just stare blankly and say "Yes, coming" but then carry on playing with their mobile telephones. Elderly and diabetic requested some water and food repeatedly for one hour. Nothing ever arrived. Rude, disinterested. We will never visit Panama again and changed our arrangements and left the next day.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"never seen such miserable airport"

(Ukraine)

Not Verified | Probably worst experience. To start with immigration counters - everything extremely slow. And there was not too much people in queue. It is very scary to think how it is going when full house at home. No seats in check in area. Personnel unresponsive. No, they are responsive but do not doing promised. I had connection in Panama with 16 hours stopover, my luggage was set to final destination. Unfortunately my flight from Panama was cancelled and this “good” airport designated only one counter with two clerks to sort out people for this flight. Needless to say that all was going extremely slowly. Due to the nature of my business I had to catch another flight very soon. I’ve approached lady at the counter with simple question: do I need to receive my luggage first and after go to the next check in or luggage will follow seamlessly. Response was Yes. Knowing the nature of local clerks Asked two more times. Still Yes! Ok, then I contacted my travel agent and requested another flight ( I really could not wait till local guys will offer me substitute for my flight ). I received my ticket immediately and followed to next check in. On the next check in I am again asked whether my luggage will be forwarded to new destination and received same reply: Yes. Ok. After few more hours I am sitting in the plane and waiting for take off but suddenly assistant approached me and said that unfortunately my luggage could not be loaded to this flight so I have to leave the aircraft. I am missing another flight now. And this is not the end. Again I have to wait for immigration formalities and although I was promised that my luggage will be located soon another three hours passed away. Most funny is that airlines involved did not offered nothing as excuse. They were only pointing fingers at each other saying that this was their fault. As a result I missed important appointment, had to book hotel on my own spent 7 hours of my life for nothing in Panama airport. On a separate note: smokers beware. There is no place to smoke even outside of airport building! Ok, I understand that smoking not so good but we are as we are. And this is complete shame to put No Smoking signs all over approaches to airport and designate a policeman who chasing people. Guys we are also humans and if you would designate some special place for smokers this will not harm you in any case. Free wifi allowance is 30 mins only. You can imagine how much I’ve spent during my time in airport trying to sort out new tickets, appointments etc. As a wrap up: I never seen such miserable airport. I will always try to avoid it by any means.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"rudest security ladies ever"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Why on Earth do you take empty water bottles on the security check between two airports to fly to Fort Lauderdale? TSA rules state empty bottles are ok in carry on or packed luggage. Everybody just shrugged. The rudest security ladies ever!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid it if you can"

(United States)

Not Verified | No free Wi-Fi (30" free then pay). No charging stations at gate, people still sitting on floor next to outlets, and this is the new terminal. Tickets say "terminal" yet the airport signage says "sala". The signage uses a color coding system, but without explanation anywhere. Departure monitors show a limited # of flights and rotate very quickly which makes you wait and wait to see your flight. This is the new terminal! Avoid it if you can.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"What a disaster!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Arrived Panama City. Airport arrival and departure screens confusing and sweep through info fast. Hallways narrow, crowded and filled with people “meandering” along. Hard to get from one gate to the next. Food court horrible. Service slow, poor food quality and not attempt or agenda that “this is a airport and people trying to get somewhere”. At the gate, there are signs that say “group 1 or group 2”. No one minds these signs ... just mass chaos. People cut in line and board when they want to. Almost felt like a concert where people get crushed from stampede of crowd. People in the back of plane just fill up overhead luggage storage at front of airplane. We alL got on plane and then United had “shift change”. So we sat and waited over and hour to take off. The way back was more of the same. Will avoid Panama City airport next time we flew to South America. What a disaster!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"do not have any problems with this airport"

(Brazil)

Trip Verified | I do not agree with most negative comments here. I am a frequent visitor to Tocumen airport, and I can tell things have improved since 2008 when I had my first visit! The airport is huge, with plenty of seats, food and shopping options! You just have to look around, yes it can be pricey but it is like that on any international airport, the extra screening is done only on passengers flying to the USA due to USA gov's demands, not Tocumen's fault. Many hotels offer free transfer, but still if you do not have a transfer you can take a 0.50 cents bus outside the arrival hall on the other side of the road. I agree on the strong air con issue, bring a sweater, some parts of this airport is freezing. I do not have any problems with this airport whatsoever.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 89 Reviews