Palma de Majorca Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 87 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"unprofessional and poorly organised"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Extremely unprofessional and poorly organised with significant risk factors. On arrival at Palma de Mallorca airport on 5/8/19 at 1pm our company of passengers were ushered into an already full terminal A for passport control. There was standing room only and several crushes as passengers swarmed - ill informed of what was happening. Unfortunately it remained this way for the hour and a half of queuing up, meanwhile, more flights were arriving all the time and continuously pushing from behind. Once finally at the queue for passport control our family was separated - Women with children was sent to the passport control booths - only 2 were open!! - while men and people without children went through an alternative route. Being a mother with a baby and another child and several bags and no water i found this a massive physical and disorienting struggle - however I saw older couples struggle much worse health wise - probably due to the heat in the terminal and lack of access to water and toilet facilities. It wasn’t until I arrived with the children at baggage reclaim did I find my partner which was in the next building. The staff were very unhelpful in explaining what the queuing was for. Why did they not just signpost two queues - one for families and one for people without children in their company thereby cutting their waiting times and risk in half? Why were there so few officers on duty? Literally operations were performed with a backbone of staff - I counted five for more than what was easily 2500 passengers. Had they’re been a terror threat under these conditions I shudder to imagine the outcome. Extremely unprofessional and poorly organised with significant risk factors. Departures were much more efficient, however, again the terminal was far too hot and there were massive delays for some passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"treated us pretty well"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Been through Palma a few times now and I have to say this airport has treated us pretty well. We have always been around the tail end of the main summer season, so this was our first just inside peak tourist season. We were departing with Easyjet though concourse ‘A’. Arrival was late night/early morning and went off without a hitch. If coming to ‘A’, you are likely (but not exclusively) going to be flying with a tour company/low-cost airline and as such will be taken to/from the plane and terminal by bus, although there are still plenty of sky-bridges. It was a well enough run system with good efficiency and was done quickly. The terminal is well enough sign posted and immigration and baggage reclaim were also both fast and efficient. This was late at night as said, so can’t vouch for busier times. Right the way through to our Transunion bus connection to our final destination was fast, friendly enough and hassle free. On returning home it was largely the same experience. However when under pressure to meet a flight, I was much more conscious of just how far you have to walk from check-in to the gates, especially as we were the very furthest gate away (11 I think it was) in ‘A’. This was compounded a little by the check-in agents holding the queue for our flight before letting us join the main check-in/bag drop queue. This meant that by the time we dropped off our baggage, cleared security, and walked to the gate, there was about 10 mins before we boarded, so no time for coffee or even a brief glance at the shops. Also of note was that due to the layout there are security procedures to pass through (showing passport/boarding passes etc) on the way into concourse ‘A’ after you have done the main X-ray metal detector bit for hand luggage. This means that you cannot re-visit the duty-free or shopping facilities here and once through this second security point will be limited to the food and beverage offerings in concourse ‘A’ and your gate area. I believe this is to do with ‘A’ operating like an almost separate facility due to closing during the winter months when the tourist season is over.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"minimal staff to help/explain"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Worst airport ever. Huge queues for checking in for TUI flight, minimal staff to help/explain. Then you have to walk miles to your departure gate. Won't be going back to Majorca again if this is the disrespectful way they treat customers, yes customers, who pay for the privilege of being treated like cattle!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"staff are friendly"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Palma de Mallorca airport is quite big, so it takes some time to get from point A to B. The staff are friendly but have to improve their english. Is clean and with a lot of light.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"disgraceful airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely disgusted, disgraceful airport. We returned back to the uk today then picked one of our cases up from the luggage belt then waited another hour only to find that Palma Airport “forgot” to put 30 of the Birmingham airport cases on the plane! Of course one was mine. How on earth can you “forget” to put the cases on when we checked them in together! And they were labelled with the airport we were coming from and going to! Absolutely careless bunch of staff. Not only this but we have to wait another 2 days for to fly them back and over to us!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"no hold-ups at security"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Since our last transit through Palma Airport in May, new electronic passport gates have been installed and these seem to have made a big difference. There is a long row of them for each of arrivals and departures and, at the moment at least, plenty of agents standing by to assist passengers. Trying simultaneously to read the instructions and face the camera was a little tricky on arrival, but familiarity with the process made things easier on departure. Doubtless there will be more pressure on the new gates in the high season, but for us there was no delay at all at passport control. It did mean that we took a new route out of the airport and it was a few minutes before we reached and recognised the old gate area. Apart from the novelty of the new passport control, everything was much as usual for us as we navigated the airport. There were no hold-ups at security and we had the half-expected long walk to a distant gate, but we look upon that as useful exercise before 2 hours plus confined in an aircraft seat.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
3/10

"tannoy system won’t update you"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I am currently sat in the airport after standing in a queue for over 20mins to be told I can’t check in until 9am and I need to get back in the queue at this time. I think this is disgusting there are two check in desks open for Ryanair, surely it would have been easier to just check us in and get us through otherwise you should have a member of staff giving this information because the display screens give you the check in desks and the tannoy system says it won’t update you. Now the queue has doubled in size!! May I suggest you don’t put check in desk numbers on the display screens until Ryanair are ready to check people in.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"inaccessible to a wheelchair user"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We arrived after our flight and a family member experienced a terrible ordeal as they needed assistance to disembark. Two people arrived on the plane, threw them onto a small wheelchair as they do not know anything about handling people with mobility problems and proceeded to push them the full length of the aeroplane banging their hip on every seat even though they were shouting out in pain! On the return journey they required an accessible toilet on arrival at the airport which we could not locate. We were approached by someone with a wheelchair symbol on their back, indicating they were there for people with disabilties. We were directed to the main toilet and told that the accessible toilet was at the end of the row of the others. Due to the narrow access into the main tolets, it was totally inaccessible to a wheelchair user. We were then taken to the desk for assistance to be greeted by really rude people. My family member could not go to the toilet downstairs as it appears they think wheelchair users can push past people queueing and get through a very narrow space, absolutely disgusting. Terrible service for people with needs!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"What a terrible experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Hell on earth is the only way I can describe our experience. As a seasoned traveller this has to be the worst airport so far. Horrendous walks from gates to passport control only to be greeting by terribly long queues, 1 staff at passport control who are content to laugh and chat with each other while 100s of holiday makers wait. Return journey 4 desks on for 3 flights massive queues for so bad and delays so high that the ended up having to pull us and our flight members out of the queue as check in had passed then had long walk to passport control to face more queue to then rush to queue to board plane l. What a terrible experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"45 minutes to show our passports"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I as a norm like this airport. When we where on are way home we had to stand for 45 minutes to show our passports. There were hundreds of people waiting even young children. It was grim. One person tried to run through as they where going to miss their flight. There was only 2 staff on for 45 minutes and they where deliberately going very slow. If it happens again we will give Palma a miss. When more inspectors did arrive hundreds of passengers raced through to their gates - grim service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 87 Reviews