Owen Roberts International Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 8 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"airport although complete remodelled is poor at best"

(United States)

Not Verified | Been coming to GCM for 15 years. Yes tourism has increased based on reports by almost 100% over last 10 years, which is fantastic for this beautiful Island. But, the airport although complete remodelled is poor at best. Aesthetically pleasing, it is too small and very uncomfortable. Why go half way for something inadequate from the start. Fortunately, the entire staff are awesome and eased the pain. Suggest a change in schedule of when flights arrive may assist even by 20-30 minutes. Two recent issues I dealt with. The runway pothole was a total screw up. From accounts in paper it appeared that new asphalt from night before was destroyed by a jet blast. Asphalt needs to cure. Second, and personally involved is that our plane needed to wait one hour after everyone was boarded for maintenance to return a log book. This made our connection for our next flight impossible with all the inconveniences associated. How can you allow this calamity to occur is still not sitting well with me. If you expect tourism to continue to visit your beautiful Island you need to improve.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"they should be ashamed"

(Canada)

Not Verified | They are not equipped to handle large crowds. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon with 6 other large flights. It took 1/2 hour just to get inside to the customs area and 2 hours from the time we got off the plane until we left the airport. No air conditioning, no offer of water and no seating while lining up for customs. For an island that depends on tourism they should be ashamed. They are not equipped to receive air travellers.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"a good airport experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Arrived into Grand Cayman from Miami on Saturday night. Immigration took 10 minutes and bags were already off the belt when we came into baggage hall. Only recommendation is a larger canopy by car pick up point as needed during heavy downpour - we got very wet. On departure - took 15 minutes from arrival to check in and clear customs check. Limited seats at gates but more seats to right hand side as you enter departure lounge. A bit warm but not too bad. More space needed by desks at each gate as gets crowded. Food and shopping limited but sufficient. Few restaurants and duty free but food items very expensive. Boarding is via walk to plane which is great if weather is good. Passengers were crowding the gate before Boarding Zones were called. All in all a good airport experience at a small airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"it was absolutely horrible"

(United States)

Not Verified | It is extremely unfortunate that the residents of the Cayman Islands paid such a significant amount of money for this airport remodel. We departed Grand Cayman on Saturday March 30, 2019 and it was absolutely horrible. No place to sit, waited in line for 45 minutes for a bottle of water. There are currently no restaurants or bars to have a drink at before departure. The departure hall was packed wall to wall. The air conditioning was obviously not size properly for the building and the amount of passengers. We had a similar experience on our arrival. We stood in line for over an hour to get through customs and immigration. I have to say "bring back the old airport" it was actually better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"The design is terrible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The airport was recently rebuilt and opened. The design is terrible - no place to sit, very hot, waited in line 45 minutes for two bottles of water. There are no restaurants just a concession stand. We will not return to Grand Cayman next year. This airport is one of the worst airports I have traveled through. Time to go back to Aruba or St. Thomas.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Horrible security experience"

(Cayman Islands)

Not Verified | Horrible security experience. The random security checks were one in every 4 people. There was not enough staff to tend to security checks on a very busy day. I stood waiting for a long time without my shoes, as they were part of the security check items. The guy checking took forever as he slowly emptied and scrutinized every single little item in my purse! My children and husband waited for me at the gate as it took nearly half an hour just to get through with a random security check! Worst security check experience ever and I travel often.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no way to avoid this crummy airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | One of the absolute worst! I was connecting from Little Cayman through Grand Cayman to go back to the USA. First they are in the middle of renovations and so you had to walk a long way- maybe 1/2 a mile outdoors - with all your checked luggage to go from the arrival are to the departure area. Then when you get to the departure check in to go on United, it seems that only Cayman Airways staff works there and can only handle routine matters. So I was not supposed to have to pay to check my bags but she couldn't figure out how to do it. Finally, I just paid and planned to sort it out later. Then the flight is cancelled and no announcement made. The Cayman Airways people took more than three hours to get us on our way to a hotel and rebooked because this was no longer a routine matter. As for the building it is hot, stuffy and there are too many people in it. The chairs are OK - not good but not the worst. I tried flying out on Sunday to avoid the Saturday cruise line crunch but after this, I doubt I will return to the Caymans as there is no way to avoid this crummy airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"every aspect of this airport needs to be updated"

(United States)

Verified Review | We vacationed in Grand Cayman for the Christmas holiday. All of the buildings date back to the 50’s. Every aspect of this airport needs to be updated. The bathrooms are inadequate, the gate seating is terrible, the duty-free kiosks and shops are all scrunched together with no order and not easy to move around in especially if the airport is crowded, the computer systems are arcane, the gate staff is disorganized and rude. The right hand didn’t know what the left hand was doing. The screening personnel were beyond rude. Terrible attitudes and a bit full of themselves. The British government needs to spend a few pounds and modernize these facilities since these islands are British-owned territories.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no