Oakland Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 24 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"friendly wheelchair assist"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Extremely friendly wheelchair assist personnel! I am disabled and was being moved from gate to gate and since I had some layover time I decided that I would like to get a snack at one of the fast food shops. The wheelchair assistant not only took me there, but he helped me get my order as well! The people everywhere were friendly. Cleanliness wasn't top grade but adequate.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Someone wasn't doing their job"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flight DI 7073 landed at 4:15 and waited 45 mins for a gate at 5pm. After clearing immigration at 5:15 there were no bags. It as 6pm before we exited the airport - 1:45 after landing! Someone wasn't doing their job. That delay for bags, on top of lack of gate capacity, is unacceptable service. This isn't a one off. Other family members had a similar experience on June 26 for the same flight where they waited 15 minutes for a gate again and weren't allowed to deplane for another 15 minutes due to a backup in the immigration hall. Departing OAK June 8 was another exercise in lack of airport capacity. Check-in took an hour. The gate had people sat on the floor everywhere due to lack of space for the size of the aircraft. OAK isn't equipped to handle the number and size if international flights currently using the airport. There are similar reviews from a year ago. Clearly Oakland Airport management don't care about customer service.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
9/10

"arrival was amazingly quick"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We arrived and departed on the BA flight from LGW. Arrival was amazingly quick. It took less than half an hour to deplane, go through passport control and collect bags. Being a Club World passenger undoubtedly helped but even so we were pretty impressed. There was almost no queue to go through security at the time of departure (lunchtime midweek), so the process was painless. Again we were lucky that it was so quiet. A new business lounge has just opened by Gate 8. It's rather small, but has good food choice. Getting to San Francisco is a cinch using the BART connector shuttle to Coliseum and thence onwards to downtown San Francisco. In fact the whole experience is much better than at SFO. And because of the competition between BA and Norwegian fares from the UK are very reasonable at present.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"they've changed their queuing"

(United States)

Verified Review | Typically the best airport to travel from in country. I travel out of Oakland 15+ times per year. Today, however, they've changed their queuing and the wait times are 30 minutes plus despite only about 100 people in line. Miultiple agents checking IDS at A-List queue with no one in line. Agents are insulting if asked a question. Is this a sign of Oakland airport taking a turn in the wrong direction? Hope not.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"An inefficient process to say the least"

(United States)

Unverified | I arrived at Oakland via Norwegian Air from London Gatwick. We were asked to remain in the airplane for an additional 45 mins due after landing to the delays in immigration. When we were finally allowed to deplane we then had an additional hour wait in the queue at immigration. Immigration itself does not make sense, one waits in line to go through the process at the machine and then waits another hour to have an individual stamp the passport. There were 3 officers tending to US citizens and another 3 to tend to non US passports. They need to employ more immigration officials! Oakland is trying to become another hub for SF, but cannot seem to get it right. We landed at 4.15 and received baggage at 6.30! An inefficient process to say the least.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"what is wrong with Oakland?"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | Immigration on foreign flights is one of the worst in the whole US, and I have seen lots. Typically, there are 2-5 immigration officers trying to get through a dreamliner with 200+ passengers. Twice, I had to wait 30 mins+ on the airplane, because another plane landed ahead of us, and immigration wanted to process them first. 2-3 hour waits are not unheard of. Please, just employ more immigration officers - what is wrong with Oakland?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"extremely poor service"

(United States)

The absolute worst baggage claim ever. I travel a lot and try to use San Jose and SFO before OAK. Does the airport oversee this and if so why would you not have a management team that would address this? We are at 20 minutes and no sign of bags on a direct from Denver. Extremely poor service.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"baggage service is horrible"

(United States)

I fly often and like the location of Oakland Airport. Unfortunately the baggage service on inbound fights is horrible. Almost always 20 plus minutes. Today 2/14/16. Inbound flight 2457 from Spokane. Over 30 minutes and there were no other inboards in claim area. Someone needs to get the staff to work a little harder or most of us will drive to Sacramento or San Jose and be home quicker. Does the airport or airlines care?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"food options are limited"

(United States)

Oakland Airport is as convenient to San Francisco as SFO, especially now that the BART connector is open. There are good public bus connections too. The consolidated car rental facility is out of the way, but it isn't as bad as the one at LAS. OAK is much smaller and faster to use than SFO, so it is my preferred airport in the Bay Area. T1 and T2 are connected behind security, and both terminals have a spacious seating layout and plenty of restrooms. Security screening speed is variable but faster than SFO. Food options are limited, so it may be necessary to walk form T1 to T2 or vice versa to find something appetizing. There are interesting exhibits to peruse if stuck waiting for a delayed flight. Wi-Fi is free and tolerable, but there is a 45-minute time limit.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

Oakland Airport customer review

(United States)

Worst layout I have seen. Rental car area is 20 minutes away. Airport is crowded, dirty and loud. I fly a lot and #1 worst is SFO but OAK is a very close second.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 23 Reviews