Norwich Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 84 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"the staff were friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Used Norwich this year for my summer holiday after driving to Stansted for the last 3 years. The place does look a bit fresher with a Costa Coffee land and air side and a new revamped pub called The Navigator, but the main plus point for me was the fact that within 30 minutes of putting my cases in the Taxi I was air side ordering a breakfast (I live 5 miles from the airport). Its never busy and compared with Stansted and I have to say the staff were friendly. But on returning the last passengers off a 737 were still queuing in the open to get through passport control.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"sleepy, lazy and incompetently-run airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A sleepy, lazy and incompetently-run airport - with an outrageous £10 "airport improvement" tax. OK, Norwich airport does have some advantages: it is small, and it's possible to park 20m from the main entrance. But that's about it. Check-in staff were fine, but then all passengers have to pay £10 for a ridiculous "Airport Improvement" fee. It's just rent-seeking by a lazy management team - no sign of any improvement since I last travelled through Norwich airport 10 years ago. And then security were unable to scan phone-based boarding passes. In an airport. The lack of urgency or interest in giving customer service from the security screening staff was about as poor as I've seen anywhere in the world. Just shameful. The Business lounge was equally laughable. There was tea, coffee, a couple of soft drinks and a few bits and pieces of snacks. And that was it. OK, it's a small airport but clearly they do the absolute minimum consistent with having a lounge for Business-class travellers. Barely worth being in. Arrivals experience was a bit better - the plane had to wait 15 minutes for ground staff to bring up some steps, which was poor. But passport control took seconds, and bag delivery was only about 10 mins. Still, I would avoid flying out of Norwich if there's a sensible choice to go elsewhere.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security wasn't doing the job"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The airport is just as disgusting as it has always been but the Department of Transport, the CAA, or whoever, really could and should do something about the appalling inefficiency of security at the airport. Normally people write about how rude and primitive the security checks and checkers are. This time though they got themselves completely flummoxed this morning with a TUI flight and the KLM to Amsterdam. They simply were not processing the pax through the screening gate. It was not that there were too many pax all at one time, it was simply because security wasn't doing the job. Everything had to come off and out, as usual, no up to date equipment for Norwich in spite of the £10 charge and then a line of about thirty of us waited to get through the gate. We waited for about twenty minutes in the line for the scanner. That's slow, really slow, even densely slow! The result was that either the KLM was going to be delayed or that security had to ignore yellows and instead check reds only. I stress, this was not because of the mass of passengers. There wasn't a mass of passengers, just a normal sort of line of us waiting patiently forty five minutes prior to departure. It was all entirely due to the inefficiency of the people operating the security channel. Check the cameras, view the jam. There are, incidentally, now two scanners at Norwich. One stood miserable all the time this was going on. Perhaps they didn't have the staff to man both scanners but someone knew the night before that there were two flights going out within five minutes of 06.00 the next day. Norwich airport invites the travelling public to conceive of Norwich, Norfolk and East Anglia as a deprived area of dismal mediocrity. Norwich airport security needs a new sheriff in town and a whole bunch of new deputies. PS: I have no idea what the revenues from the duty free shopping are but it's so shoved in your face immediately after security is over that I would be surprised if anyone ever did feel inclined to open the purse strings after the experience they've just had.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
4/10

"Very poor"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Drop my wife and 2 girls to go see her brother in Holland. Airport hasn't changed since 2002. Cafe a joke. Have to pay airport tax for improvements. See none. Picked the girls up on Saturday evening not to late arrived early for 9.10 filght due in only 1 set of toliets in use. Also no were to get coffee/drink . Not even a machine. Very poor.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Another depressing day at Norwich"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Another depressing day at Norwich. The poor staff at check in really haven't been given the training to cope with passenger queues. They are far and away too busy in trying to extract every kilo of baggage excess from the travelling public. Had a slight argument about hand baggage weight allowance on KLM. The business allowance is 18kgs. Security was awful as usual. What is it with these people? Is it so strange that my laptop is wrapped in bubble wrap? Why is this such a cause for concern? Why should it be a point of argument as to which hip is an artificial one. When I say left hip and point with my left hand at my left hip, that's the hip I mean. If I were as rude on these pages about Norwich security as Norwich security are to me, I have no doubt that I would be in trouble. The passageway to the airside lavatories has been painted in a sort of pleasing battleship blue grey. It's an improvement so subtle that I cannot describe it. Norwich airport can be praised for its consistency of awful mediocrity. It really doesn't merit the appellation of airport. Tarmac strip with glorified hanger would do the official descriptions act justice.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security is a farce"

(Bulgaria)

Not Verified | This airport could be so good if they operated efficient and stopped concentration on the money grab. Airport development fee is stupid and a con, and the condition of the airport is way below Eastern European standards. Food is overpriced, toilets dirty. The security is a farce! Its like getting into fort Knox. More security staff than passengers and are so bored they want to root through every bag. The staff are rude and take themselves too seriously. Its for reasons such as this airport that east Anglia remains a cut off, third world vestage of the UK.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"bunch of jumped up jobsworths"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Security are a bunch of jumped up jobsworths. But what do you expect if you have nine people doing two peoples jobs. Impolite and search almost every bag I saw pass through as they have nothing better to do.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"hygiene is despicable"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This is the worst airport we have ever used. It is worth travelling by train to a London airport and we will do just that from now on. The hygiene is absolutely despicable and they rip you off at Norwich. The development fee is a way of the airport forcing you to pay for their own failings. The sooner a new airport opens in Coltishall or Great Yarmouth the better. Use this disorganised, disgusting, greedy and despicable airport at your peril. You have been warned.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Usual run down services"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Notified by KLM the previous night that my scheduled departure had been delayed by two hours and was sent a new boarding pass. On check in at business, was given significant scolding by check in staff who insisted that KLM should have been ignored and that we should have arrived at normal time instead of reschedule time as notified by carrier. If a carrier reschedules a flight, notifies the passenger and sends the pax a new boarding pass then what business is it of the airport staff to dictate times to the passenger. The matter has nothing to do with them. This is just the usual officious bad manners one has come to expect from all the staff who derive such thrills from working at this anachronism for an airfield. Wobbly trolleys prevailed as usual at Norwich, bring gloves so the rust on the push bars don't stain your hands and make sure you get a trolley with two front wheels, not one. Usual run down services, smelly lavatories, darned cold too. Must admit the entire departure hall smelt of bacon and eggs. Managed to find a spray sampler in the shop to counter the big eggy smell lurking in my sweater. Security had been its usual pedantic self. Just because my computer is wrapped in bubble wrap doesn't mean anything other than I care for my computer. Still, if it makes you happy, swab the thing for residue. Here we are in East Anglia in the middle of pheasant shooting. What would you do it you found a trace? They need to learn about profiling and a lot more too at Norwich security. On passing through security you are forced to face the shops. Try to stand up for your human dignity and buy nothing form bazaar owners who thrust such stuff in your face.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no improvement seen over the years"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The worst airport ever. Staff incompetent and ignorant. Airport overpriced and will knock all other airlines to raise price. 10 pounds to enter lounge, no improvement seen over the years. Boss should be sacked airport closed and turned into theame park.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 84 Reviews