Norwich Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 90 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Where does the airport development fee go?"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | August 2022. I swore never to use Norwich airport ever again after using it in Sept 2019 but, because of the chaotic departure experience at Gatwick earlier this year, my partner has sworn off using Gatwick so that leaves us with Norwich - which I’m dreading. Where does the airport development fee go? Straight into the pockets of the owners? It’s certainly not used to enhance passenger experience. No shop landside, expensive and minimal range of refreshments airside. Upon arrival airside, passengers are still expected to wait in a draughty, open-ended bus shelter outside the building before clearing customs. That is just an insult. Norwich, a beautiful city, deserves more than this travesty of an airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"having to wait an extra hour"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Was disappointed as we had a delay coming back from Turkey, and on arrival we were told to stand back from the carousel to collect our luggage, as the KLM flight that came in after us had priority. We saw parents with young children and babies having to wait an extra hour which is beyond a joke, this is very disturbing and should not be allowed to happen.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"no retail outlets available at Norwich"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I cannot believe that in these times there is still no retail outlets available at Norwich. And now on top of a £10 development fee, which is never developed, they still wont open any retail there. Whilst I appreciate covid has made some issues, Aberdeen was back in lock-down and still opened there duty free/ retail so magazines, drinks etc could be purchased. Some people are sitting for several hours and cannot get anything, I don't think I've ever seen an airport like it!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"everything very expensive"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Staff extremely rude, everything very expensive, had to pay the £10 development fee but could not see any changes since I last used the airport a number of years ago. Thought that I would just see if there were any improvements since I last flew from there but unfortunately not. I regularly fly from Stanstead,far better Airport and far cheaper.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Security staff were rude"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Nothing was above average but I would like to criticise the security personnel. I was trained by British Airways many years ago and have been in travel, including as a writer and travel website designer, for almost 40 years. Security staff were rude, told that next time I put two plastic bags with mini toiletries into the same plastic tray, that they would confiscate one of them! The tone was rude, basically disrespectful. I expected an issue because as my partner of 35 years and myself approached the security area the two officers on duty visibly gave us an acid look which was jarring and unsettling to say the least! The experience was unnecessary and frankly, together with our experience on our return, led us to suggest, after our return home, to equating the personnel as resembling SS guards of WW2. And no joke! Like Hello Hello! Without the humour! Not a nice comparison but the attitude of the security and passport staff must be a lot more respectful and polite. They need retraining. This is the least we should expect of so-called professionals, to be treated with respect, dignity and politeness! Advice, if you come up against any aggressive rudeness, simply politely tell then not be quite so rude! If they escalate the situation by becoming even more aggressively rude, demand to speak to a superior and complain. That is your right.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"good enough for us"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Flew to Menorca with TUI for a weeks holiday. There was a queue at check-in for bag drop but we only waited 10 minutes. Paid our £10 fine, it’s annoying they still charge it but I’d rather pay that than have to drive to London. Security is thorough and the staff aren’t particularly nice but it was quick. There is now a WH Smith and Costa as well as a new bar in the departure lounge which is a welcome improvement compared to what used to be there. Airport was clean and tidy and the gate staff were pleasant. Choice of shops is limited but not sure what else you would expect when flying from a small airport. On way home had to queue outside before immigration but was still in the car 20 minutes after landing. Not a perfect airport but was good enough for us and would definitely use again instead of Stansted or Gatwick
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"the staff were friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Used Norwich this year for my summer holiday after driving to Stansted for the last 3 years. The place does look a bit fresher with a Costa Coffee land and air side and a new revamped pub called The Navigator, but the main plus point for me was the fact that within 30 minutes of putting my cases in the Taxi I was air side ordering a breakfast (I live 5 miles from the airport). Its never busy and compared with Stansted and I have to say the staff were friendly. But on returning the last passengers off a 737 were still queuing in the open to get through passport control.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"sleepy, lazy and incompetently-run airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A sleepy, lazy and incompetently-run airport - with an outrageous £10 "airport improvement" tax. OK, Norwich airport does have some advantages: it is small, and it's possible to park 20m from the main entrance. But that's about it. Check-in staff were fine, but then all passengers have to pay £10 for a ridiculous "Airport Improvement" fee. It's just rent-seeking by a lazy management team - no sign of any improvement since I last travelled through Norwich airport 10 years ago. And then security were unable to scan phone-based boarding passes. In an airport. The lack of urgency or interest in giving customer service from the security screening staff was about as poor as I've seen anywhere in the world. Just shameful. The Business lounge was equally laughable. There was tea, coffee, a couple of soft drinks and a few bits and pieces of snacks. And that was it. OK, it's a small airport but clearly they do the absolute minimum consistent with having a lounge for Business-class travellers. Barely worth being in. Arrivals experience was a bit better - the plane had to wait 15 minutes for ground staff to bring up some steps, which was poor. But passport control took seconds, and bag delivery was only about 10 mins. Still, I would avoid flying out of Norwich if there's a sensible choice to go elsewhere.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security wasn't doing the job"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The airport is just as disgusting as it has always been but the Department of Transport, the CAA, or whoever, really could and should do something about the appalling inefficiency of security at the airport. Normally people write about how rude and primitive the security checks and checkers are. This time though they got themselves completely flummoxed this morning with a TUI flight and the KLM to Amsterdam. They simply were not processing the pax through the screening gate. It was not that there were too many pax all at one time, it was simply because security wasn't doing the job. Everything had to come off and out, as usual, no up to date equipment for Norwich in spite of the £10 charge and then a line of about thirty of us waited to get through the gate. We waited for about twenty minutes in the line for the scanner. That's slow, really slow, even densely slow! The result was that either the KLM was going to be delayed or that security had to ignore yellows and instead check reds only. I stress, this was not because of the mass of passengers. There wasn't a mass of passengers, just a normal sort of line of us waiting patiently forty five minutes prior to departure. It was all entirely due to the inefficiency of the people operating the security channel. Check the cameras, view the jam. There are, incidentally, now two scanners at Norwich. One stood miserable all the time this was going on. Perhaps they didn't have the staff to man both scanners but someone knew the night before that there were two flights going out within five minutes of 06.00 the next day. Norwich airport invites the travelling public to conceive of Norwich, Norfolk and East Anglia as a deprived area of dismal mediocrity. Norwich airport security needs a new sheriff in town and a whole bunch of new deputies. PS: I have no idea what the revenues from the duty free shopping are but it's so shoved in your face immediately after security is over that I would be surprised if anyone ever did feel inclined to open the purse strings after the experience they've just had.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
4/10

"Very poor"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Drop my wife and 2 girls to go see her brother in Holland. Airport hasn't changed since 2002. Cafe a joke. Have to pay airport tax for improvements. See none. Picked the girls up on Saturday evening not to late arrived early for 9.10 filght due in only 1 set of toliets in use. Also no were to get coffee/drink . Not even a machine. Very poor.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 90 Reviews