Norwich Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 72 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"cheap and exploitive"

(Oman)

Trip Verified | Very small which is very advantageous. However, at departure we were forced to pay £10 for airport expansion. A surprise fee that neither we nor the travel agent knew about, that was so cheap and exploitive! It was so funny that we went home with a funny story. I’m not from there, a 4-day tourist, why would I pay for your expansion project? Moreover, nowhere this fee is mentioned, we found out after we checked in with the KLM counter, we just saw the funny machine and receipt scanner. Moreover, it’s my first time to wait in the street for an airport to open up! Can they at least have some seats outside!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"run down little anachronism"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | An original little airport that neatly encapsulates so much that one remembers of awful travelling in the early sixties. Check in can be a remarkable experience. The attention to detail on baggage weights can be quite extraordinary. Hand baggage is weighed and people often seem to have to unpack suitcases in front of the check in staff and move their kit around, even when they are travelling together. Flexibility might not be key to the weigh in here, bags is bags and weigh them they must. Then you could have something to eat at the cafe queue up line and explore the ground side ablutions which are no better than the airside ones. They all have that old and tired, slightly unpleasant smell of foot worn linoleum that reminds one of ancient Portakabins. The airport shopping system is a revelation that could be resisted. It's an obvious exercise in passenger entrapment. I do so very much hope that this refurbishment is not what the £10 compulsory per head passenger charge has been spent on. The shop seems to be the newest thing around and you can't avoid it. It dry gulches you just as soon as you've passed through the more than usually overbearing security checks. It's not an indication of how thorough you are if you don't know that some cameras operate with film, so that to open the camera back would not be a good idea. It's not what they do in Norwich, it's the way they do it and the attitudes that are so often unpleasant. Once that experience is over you can visit the airside business room, not a vibrantly thrilling place of course and no contiguous lavatory so it's back to the lino in the departure hall I am afraid to say and jolly cold it gets in midwinter too. Speaking of film, a request to security to be searched in a room away from the security belt was refused on the grounds that the entire event was being filmed. It's all very well to expect passengers to treat security with respect but it certainly isn't a two way tramline at Norwich. Entry control personnel are always pleasant in their little pulpits but don't draw verbal comparisons with The Spy Who Came In From The Cold, or even historically earlier parallels. The baggage arrivals hall always seems to be unmanned these days. I am sure that the single baggage carousel has had no upgrade for decades. Be sure you test drive your trolley before you try to navigate with a suitcase on board. I always make sure I wear gloves at Norwich. That helps with shifting the baggage around when it becomes stuck or jammed on the carousel and the gloves stop one's hands getting scratched up on the rusty trolley handles. I suppose, as in all matters of personnel, there are good staff and bad ones. It's just such a shame that so many of the ones one meets at NWI seem not to enjoy their work. Still, apart from the fact that Norwich airport seems to be a run down little anachronism that charges a special tax to deliver poor facilities, it's a much easier jaunt than Stansted. Then too one always gets to shuttle through Schiphol on KLM thus avoiding the horrors of LHR, LGW and BA.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"things here have improved markedly"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Glad to see that things here have improved markedly since my last visit 6 months ago. Check in was much swifter, simply by virtue of the fact that there were more desks open, and the refurbished departure lounge and shops were more pleasant. On arrival back, the baggage carousel was working without jamming up. Still not entirely clear what the 10 quid (not 2 quid by the way!) development fee is all about, despite being in correspondence with the owners following my last visit. The impression given is that without this, flights to places like Bulgaria (to where I was headed) would not be offered, but why, then, not just include it in the flight/holiday cost, rather than making people cough up more money just to get airside? After the horror stories from Stansted over the summer, I'll certainly be trying though, to use NWI wherever possible following this recent visit.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"what a joke"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Flight was for 6am. Checked-in but no cafe open. Paid £10 airport fee and then only duty free and small cafe was open. Plane was ready to go a 5.50am but we waited at the runway for 30 min for the tower to open - and they call it Norwich International airport, what a joke.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"small, well run airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I actually live 16 minutes walk from the Terminal Check-In! Which is good. So convenient! For sheer convenience and user experience we really appreciate this small, well run airport. It is perfectly clean and well maintained and its size is a huge advantage over hellish Stansted, etc. Worth the little extra you have to pay. Previous reviewers sounded 'unfortunate' as we have used the airport twice and never had any issues at all. The landside cafe/bar has great views of the aircraft up close, and the two pound charge to go airside, is fine with us, as it will be used to expand the airport considerably, with a new Terminal etc. over the next decade or so. Staff all polite, security was a breeze. From the point you get your ten quid tickets and go through security it takes no more than 20 minutes max. The airside cafe is actually very good; food above average and coffee taste good too! Comfortable lounge and VERY easy boarding make the experience VERY good overall. The Executive Lounge, just off of the lounge/cafe area, is just £20 per person, and it has recently been refitted so looking good! A great start to your holidays!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"customer service is zero"

(United Arab Emirates)

Not Verified | Norwich airport has the most ‘job worth’ security I have ever come across in 35 years of traveling the world, in some of the most high security countries. The go over kill in emptying bags to justify their jobs and seem to take great pleasure in being difficult and obstructive in going through the security process. Small Example: you have to put lighters in a clear plastic bag, which I’ve never been asked to do. They are rude and truly to worst I have encountered. When I complained, the response was, ‘if you don’t like it, fly from another airport’! Customer service is zero.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"the departure area is dull"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The £10 airport development charge has been in operation for about 10 years now so one would think we would be enjoying a modern exciting airport! Well the departure area is dull! Who on earth decided to build a bar with no outlook? Cafe is basic! Most food is in packets and self service coffee/tea machines. Duty free shop sells nothing local, the travellers shop has been shut for two years! And, the WiFi is like the most of Norfolk, non existent! Where has all our money been spent?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the facilities you get are poor"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The extra 10 pound charge is hidden and the facilities you get are poor. No wifi. Lack of people. Poor. Why charge an extra 10 pounds on top the ticket that isn’t clearly identified and when you turn up at the airport and have to pay another 10 pounds? This must be to trick people in to thinking it is cheaper to fly from Norwich than it really is.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"not fit for purpose"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Having recently moved back to Norfolk after living abroad, I was quite looking forward to using Norwich rather than the horror show which is Stansted. So I was dismayed to see how little it had been updated in the intervening years. And the concept of having to pay £10 for the privilege of using such an outmoded operation is a total joke. Despite checking in online, the queue for the TUI flight check-in took over 35 mins. Once through security (having been relieved of our 20 quid en route), there was no shop airside, just a café selling the usual overpriced food and drink. A long walk outside to the waiting 737 followed which would be absolutely horrendous in cold wet weather (luckily for us,it wasn't). On our return, all I can say in that the baggage carousel might be OK for a small plane from Manchester, Scotland or Amsterdam, but simply not fit for purpose on a fully loaded 737. The volume of cases kept jamming, and, as there was no-one from the airport to rectify it, it was down to a burly passenger to get on the belt and sort it out. I am caught between a rock and a hard place. I despise travelling from Luton or Stansted with a vengeance, but I'm afraid Norwich provides little better in the way of experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"The whole place is a joke"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Very expensive Airport to travel from, I paid over £300 for a return flight to Aberdeen! And just to rub salt in the wound, £10 "development" fee that you have to pay before you can enter the most uncomfortable departure lounge in Europe. I know some people might find this hard to believe but there isn’t even Free WiFi in the Airport. The whole place is a joke. A few of us just grab a taxi down to Luton Airport now and it still works out cheaper!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 72 Reviews