Newcastle Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 132 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"shocked to see the drop off charge has increased"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I am a local NE taxi driver and just dropped off customers this morning, first airport job of the year. I was shocked to see the drop off charge has increased to £3, how can they justify that, I literally pulled in took the luggage out of the boot and drove away £3 I'm furious. They say they are under pressure because of covid 19, well guess what so am I, my business is suffering really badly but do I sting my customers and hike up the price no I don't. Things are bad for everyone and upping prices will only lead to people not being able to afford holidays. My customers are charged the drop off cost on top of the fare and I told them it was £2, they offered me the extra pound but I wouldn't take it, not their fault Newcastle Airport are greedy. I really hope Newcastle Airport suffer massively with regards to profit over the coming years, greed is not the way to go.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"easy to use layout"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | As someone who travels from this airport 5 or 6 times a year as well as from other airports, I have to say that I have rarely found an airport to match its easy to use layout, check in area as you enter on the ground floor, escalator up to security, then into main shopping and food hall then down another escalator to the departure gates, simple. However where the airport lets itself down is A) Car parking is expensive B) Cost of food and drink is extortionate C) Limited destinations, the airport claims to fly to many places on its website yet many are not available by direct flight, some location only have 1 or 2 flight a year, in fairness this may be down to the the airlines and not the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"absolutely abysmal"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The process of going through Border Control at 2.30 am is absolutely abysmal. I have travelled around the world and Newcastle has got to be the worst, total chaos and no thought for tired little ones. Lack off staff. I don’t get it. Dalaman total different kettle of fish and totally efficient. It took us an hour to get out the Airport. Totally unimpressed.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"appalled by the price of parking"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Was absolutely appalled by the price of parking. Went to pick up a friend arriving at 22.22. Arrived at .30, they didn’t let her out for more than 30 mins (I wonder why?). When she did I had the grand total of £10 for just over 30 mins parking. How they can justify this? Embarrassment.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"I think a little training is required"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | On arriving at the airport this morning at 8.45 proceeded to Aspire lounge with 2 friends. On producing my Dragonpass I was informed that we could not access the lounge, it was fully booked with passengers flying to Mexico and Dubai. That would be fine, I understand that bookings supersede Dragonpass. At this time in the morning the airport was very quiet and the customer service we received from the receptionist left a lot to be desired, very curt and when I asked if it was possible to come back a little later and was told definitely not. I think a little training is required. I have used Dragonpass in numerous airports, this is the only airport where I have been unable to use the pass.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"was shocked by the cost of parking"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I went to the airport to pick up a friend and was shocked by the cost of parking. Extortionate to say the least. The slightest of delays will cost you dearly so if you are going to use the pick-up or short stay car park make sure you time your arrival and departure perfectly. Outrageous.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"Shockingly bad"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Shockingly bad, moved one airport car park but didn’t bother with any signs so chaos in old car park as car after car had to come and go. Self service kiosks not working but again no one can be bothered, security backed up and too many flights for facilities at 6am in morning. More bothered about employing people to tell you to go and stand in a particular queue then having people actually working. Machines at immigration arrival do not work with 25% having to go to the old fashioned man in the booth. - they now employ twice as many people telling which queue than they used to have manning the booth and it takes twice as long. Most people who work they do try but weak management.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"insufficient staff and information available"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This airport has insufficient staff and information available. The security area is ill thought out. Inadequate displays and lack of space when busy. Too much space has been sacrificed to retail areas and sales outlets. The airport screams out profits before comfort.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"simply a money making racket"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Dropping off and picking up a passenger at Newcastle international airport is a disgrace. The airport management has decided car drivers pay £2 to merely drop off or pick up. This is a 100 percent increase overnight simply because they think they can get away with ut. It is far more than that if you get slightly delayed. Hence surrounding slip roads and bridges near by are congested as drivers await a flight coming into arrivals simply to try and reduce their costs. It’s simply a money making racket and nothing to do with security or customer care. It’s a decision that needs rethinking.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"New taxi service is disgraceful"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | New taxi service is disgraceful. You can’t simply get in a cab, you have to book inside the terminal and pay in advance based upon your address. The cost for my journey has gone up over night from £7.00 to £11.00. Told them to stick and got the Metro.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes