Newcastle Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 125 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"insufficient staff and information available"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This airport has insufficient staff and information available. The security area is ill thought out. Inadequate displays and lack of space when busy. Too much space has been sacrificed to retail areas and sales outlets. The airport screams out profits before comfort.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"simply a money making racket"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Dropping off and picking up a passenger at Newcastle international airport is a disgrace. The airport management has decided car drivers pay £2 to merely drop off or pick up. This is a 100 percent increase overnight simply because they think they can get away with ut. It is far more than that if you get slightly delayed. Hence surrounding slip roads and bridges near by are congested as drivers await a flight coming into arrivals simply to try and reduce their costs. It’s simply a money making racket and nothing to do with security or customer care. It’s a decision that needs rethinking.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"New taxi service is disgraceful"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | New taxi service is disgraceful. You can’t simply get in a cab, you have to book inside the terminal and pay in advance based upon your address. The cost for my journey has gone up over night from £7.00 to £11.00. Told them to stick and got the Metro.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"shocking parking charges"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely shocking parking charges, two cars transporting family with two small children, we were going to go into the airport to help carry the luggage whilst the family were checking in but looked at the car parking fees. How do you justify these charges?, this is helping a small family avoid stress before holidays. Money making at its best. Always flown regular from Newcastle but this year not using but Leeds Bradford and Manchester, not purely due to parking I add but remember there are other alternatives! I would say generally Newcastle is a decent airport nothing more, you expect to pay a little more for food etc but all these negative reviews means someone has to take notice, and this review, the first one I have ever left is from a very lucky regular well travelled flyer.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"Well done Newcastle"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | First time travelling through Newcastle using the hidden disabilities lanyard scheme. Excellent idea and it worked very well. Staff were friendly and helpful and made passing through airport so much less stressful. You have the added bonus of passing through fast track security and with easyjet get speedy boarding. Well worth doing for those with disabilities. Well done Newcastle.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Absolute disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolute disgrace, there are 48 public seats which at busy times is not sufficient. All of the public areas have been taken over by bars with exorbitant prices and loud music. Doesn't give a good impression of the North East. Total shame that they have done this.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"herded through like cattle"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | When arriving at Newcastle airport at 01.25 this morning 13/10/2018 I was happy to be back home after a great holiday in Greece. When walking to security I could see there was a big queue to get through passport control. What an absolute disgrace it was to be herded through like cattle. 3 to 4 flights had landed at the same time. People were going under the barriers to get to front of the line and no one battered an eye lid. I eventually got through at 02.15. Then going to the baggage reclaim area our suitcases wernt there. 50 minutes after the plane had arrived at Newcastle. I have always had a good experience at Newcastle airport up untill now. It will be a long time till I fly from or arrive back at Newcastle airport as I find Leeds Bradford airport a lot easier and the staff are a lot more pleasant to their customers. As a Geordie, born and bread, shame on Newcastle airport to treat passengers this way.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"shame on you Newcastle Airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | It is beyond belief that when arriving back from holiday into Newcastle the queue was so bad to get through passport control that the escalator had obviously been disabled by the airport. The e-gates have been installed, a grand total of 5, when I believe 3 holiday flights had landed, the area consists of around 10% of the overall space of machines and the other 90% for customers to be pushed through the area like herded cattle! When I mentioned to a member of staff that the situation was really unacceptable, having arrived from Malaga where they had 14 e-gates for one area of the airport, I was greeted with “not enough staff, what do you want me to do” I don’t really know when it became acceptable for paying passengers to be treated like animals and idiots but shame on you Newcastle Airport, shame on you!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the worst airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We live in the North East and choose to fly from Newcastle for convenience, however we may choose to fly from Manchester or Leeds next time. The check in with Jet2 and through security is spot on but once you get through to the departure lounge it is a different story. We were flying at 06:45 and although relatively quiet at the time the general seating was dirty with rubbish lying around. The best is yet to come. £30 for 2 drinks and 2 bacon and egg sandwiches. We waited 45 minutes for the sandwiches and when they came we could not eat them. They looked like slop and they tasted just as bad. No time to argue though as we actually needed to board the plane. It has to be the worst airport we have ever been to.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"it just gets worse"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is my third visit to Newcastle airport this year and every visit it just gets worse. No complaints with check in or security, it is the general cleanliness of the whole departure area. From filthy tables chairs floors and fixtures of the establishment's. The dust and dirt is thick and the staff do not seem to care, walking past full tables with litter and glasses. Try and find a clean table, impossible. Coming from Newcastle myself, I feel annoyed that tourists must see this and first impressions of our wonderful city are not great.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no