Newcastle Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 138 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"The airport is absolutely filthy"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | First the good stuff, we arrived at the airport relatively early for a flight due to leave at 16:45. Security was well staffed and there were no queues. I was relieved as I had queued for over 2.5 hours at another northern airport only a month before which I found to be completely unacceptable. One gripe though why charge for plastic bags to put liquids in? The airport is absolutely filthy. The floor was sticky with spilled drinks, my husband and I managed to find a stool overlooking the airfield adjacent to the BK outlet and the windows were covered in cobwebs there was spilt food and drink everywhere. Whilst I appreciate many airports are struggling to recruit staff given the state of the departure lounge management might want to ask themselves why anyone would actually want to work in such an unhygienic environment. I was actually quite thirsty and hungry when I arrived at the airport but a look around the place made me resort to a bottle of water and a prepacked sandwich. The management of this airport must walk round with their eyes closed or be working from home not to notice how disgusting the departure lounge is. If i had had more charge on my phone I would have taken pictures to prove just how dirty the building is.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"charging £5 just to drop someone off"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I had to drop off my husband at the airport today. The layout for parking has completely changed and the road markings are not clear. I ended up unable to get out because I'd only taken cash and not a credit card. It took me 15 minutes to finally get assistance to get out. Newcastle Airport are charging £5 just to drop someone off now - a total ripoff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
no
2/10

"Do not enter the car park to drop off"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Do not enter the car park to drop off a passenger. It will cost you £4 to get back out no matter how few seconds you take. There are no signs to say you will have to pay this ridiculous fee - which has increased by 300% in two years. Welcome to Newcastle Airport - here to rip you off from the second you arrive. I know times have been hard but you cant expect much sympathy when you cheat visitors like this.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"environmentally irresponsible"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Nasty cynical rip-off merchants, and environmentally irresponsible. There is no public transport from anywhere west or north of the airport - which has more than 5m passengers annually. This is disgraceful - everyone from these areas has no option but to use private cars or taxis, and pay the airport whatever they feel like charging for parking (min £52 for two days) or drop off charges (£4 to jump out the car). The absence of public transport has been engineered - there was a comprehensive range of services up till recently - as the buses disappeared, the parking and dropoff charges went into orbit.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
9/10

"Airport very empty"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | No complaints. Airport very empty and not many passengers when I left. Breezed through security to met by the usual shops, bars etc. Will use again in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"One of the most disgraceful airports"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | One of the most disgraceful airports you will ever travel through, unless you are female. The airport employs disgracefully disrespectful women to wander around the men's toilets while they are in use. They have no respect at all for our privacy. Complaints are mocked by staff and airport managements claim of commitments to equality and respect for people is an insult. Hire some men or close the rest rooms for cleaning. Its 2021 and we are supposed to be a respectful and civilised society.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"shocked to see the drop off charge has increased"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I am a local NE taxi driver and just dropped off customers this morning, first airport job of the year. I was shocked to see the drop off charge has increased to £3, how can they justify that, I literally pulled in took the luggage out of the boot and drove away £3 I'm furious. They say they are under pressure because of covid 19, well guess what so am I, my business is suffering really badly but do I sting my customers and hike up the price no I don't. Things are bad for everyone and upping prices will only lead to people not being able to afford holidays. My customers are charged the drop off cost on top of the fare and I told them it was £2, they offered me the extra pound but I wouldn't take it, not their fault Newcastle Airport are greedy. I really hope Newcastle Airport suffer massively with regards to profit over the coming years, greed is not the way to go.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"easy to use layout"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | As someone who travels from this airport 5 or 6 times a year as well as from other airports, I have to say that I have rarely found an airport to match its easy to use layout, check in area as you enter on the ground floor, escalator up to security, then into main shopping and food hall then down another escalator to the departure gates, simple. However where the airport lets itself down is A) Car parking is expensive B) Cost of food and drink is extortionate C) Limited destinations, the airport claims to fly to many places on its website yet many are not available by direct flight, some location only have 1 or 2 flight a year, in fairness this may be down to the the airlines and not the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"absolutely abysmal"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The process of going through Border Control at 2.30 am is absolutely abysmal. I have travelled around the world and Newcastle has got to be the worst, total chaos and no thought for tired little ones. Lack off staff. I don’t get it. Dalaman total different kettle of fish and totally efficient. It took us an hour to get out the Airport. Totally unimpressed.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"appalled by the price of parking"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Was absolutely appalled by the price of parking. Went to pick up a friend arriving at 22.22. Arrived at .30, they didn’t let her out for more than 30 mins (I wonder why?). When she did I had the grand total of £10 for just over 30 mins parking. How they can justify this? Embarrassment.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no