Newark Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 296 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"long lines, filthy bathrooms"

(United States)

Trip Verified | There is a reason this airport ranks so low on all reviews-and apparently the management/owners couldn’t care less! It is so bad it is like you are proud of the bad service, long lines, filthy bathrooms in the hallway-like port-potties, rude wait staff, rubbish coffee, horrible, overpriced. Do you work at making the experience a misery? Gut the place and start over-admit your epic fail and try harder next time, try like you care.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"nothing appeals to me"

(Mexico)

Trip Verified | Terminal C Seems airport made anagreement for the same operator run the majority of the non-fastfood restaurants. They all have ipads everywhere. Seems the kiosks are run by the same company. What a lack a vision by management. Take a look at Copenhagen which I know well. All restaurant are franchises of popular restaurants in the city, there is an H&M and all the usual luxury shops. You actually want to eat and shop there. In EWR nothing appeals to me. Not enough seats as they have all been replaced with bigger ipad desks.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Did not enjoy the experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Customs clearance took over an hour. Not many desks open and people cutting line. Suitcase found thrown off the belt in baggage hall. Faceless check-in where we were unable to change our seats to sit together at the front desk. Not everyone is computer savvy or has the time to check in on line and not everyone carries a credit card. Ordering a drink by the app took over an hour to receive as we did not know where our order went. Eventually did get some help and our drinks by asking someone. Did not enjoy the experience of going through Newark airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"customer service is very bad"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Almost everyone in the airport has a terrible attitude and customer service is very bad, the ladies who push the the disabled passengers were pushing us to get in front of us in the elevator. The airport is very dirty, airports in third world countries are cleaner than this airport. No couches or even carpeted area to lay down incase your flight was delayed, my flight was delayed 7 hours and my rear end became like a piece of brick from sitting down. Again almost everyone in this airport was very rude!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very bad customer service"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Very bad customer service. The agents are disrespectful and don’t try to understand the problems of the travelers. I got treated as a less than nothing and they canceled my ticket for no reason. I stayed at the airport without a solution for 9 hours. I hate this airport and I don't recommend.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the worst airport in the US"

(United States)

Not Verified | So whose the genius who thought that 4 urinals and three commodes in the men’s bathroom was enough for 8000 people roaming Terminal C! This is the only men’s room at any airport where there’s a line. What a joke! Add that to the “friendly” TSA people whose faces would crack if they ever smiled plus the basic look of all the Terminals and you have the worst airport in the US!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible security process"

(United States)

Not Verified | Terrible security process. Directed to wrong line, then had to wait 1 hour in line and another 30 minutes waiting for baggage to go through security. Got a bottle from duty free in the Dominican and this airport said it wouldn't fit on their machine and I had to check it or toss it since I didn't have enough time as flight was boarding. Terrible customer service and awful process.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"only one person checking IDs"

(United States)

Not Verified | This is the worst airport security process ever. So bad that I am currently in the security line and taking my time to write this. There’s a very long line and only one person checking IDs while 2 others stood and watched. Imagine over 50 people in a line going to one person. Now I have a 5 am flight and been dealing with this line since 3:15 am. It is now 3:53am and I haven’t gone through security yet! There’s no urgency here, 10-15 people at security standing around. Like get it together! It’s going into 2019, there’s no reason it should still take this long especially at this time of day. Hire more people! Make people want to use your airport. Then the staff looks at us with blank stares when we ask them to open more lines or do something so people don’t miss their flights. This airport is a -5 star!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"terrible airport for transfer"

(United States)

Not Verified | Absolutely terrible airport for transfer. I was traveling with a baby. After 14 hours on the flight from China, I was waiting for a domestic connection. The waiting areas provide very uncomfortable chairs. The announcements about no smoking and safety were blaring super loud from the speakers every 15 min. Neither the baby nor I could have a nap or rest between flights. The bathrooms are outdated and not that clean (such a shame in comparison with bathrooms in Asia). Few times airport and airlines employees took breaks in the gate areas. They had loud conversations and their radios were loud. Shouldn't they be working instead of disturbing travelers? Doesn't the airport provide break rooms? Or were the emoyees hiding from their duties?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"new security procedure is flawed"

(United States)

Not Verified | The new security procedure is flawed. The person at the front of the line is blocked by bags slowly going into the screening process. So everyone wants to stand at the end and get going. The TSA agents are also rude and don’t help the process. All they do is bark at people. I only fly when absolutely necessary and hope the poor service makes everyone do the same. Poor service should not be rewarded, if a few loose the job because of low ticket sales. I’ll throw a party.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no