New York JFK Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 488 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"comfortable and modern"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Check-in attendant was grumpy and did not allow us to choose seats. That portion of the airport was boring, but after immigration and security check, you can see lots of shops and restaurants. The ambience is also comfortable and modern. Plenty of accent seats in going to the gates.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Take a yellow cab"

(United States)

Not Verified | Just warning everyone not to be stupid like I was. i went to the taxi line and a man in a black suit with a tie said “taxi?” I said yes. He said “the taxi is waiting for you.” It was a black SUV. I told him “this is not a taxi “. He replied that it was an UBER and it was cheaper than a taxi. I have taken taxis before and it was around $60. This driver told me I had to pay $8.50 in tolls. Talked the entire time telling me how hard he works and only makes $10 an hour. Takes me to my destination and asks for cash and charges me $160 for the ride and then asked for a tip. My fault for being stupid!! Take a yellow cab!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"one of the most unorganized airports"

(United States)

Not Verified | This was one of the most unorganized airports I’ve been in. I arrived way early and spent the entire time standing in lines. I was ultimately herded to a line for babies and handicap which merged with another line, when babies and handicap should have been in one separate line. I will never fly out of this airport again. Also, it is too far from Manhattan.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Basic human decency could be exercised"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Terminal 1 had the rudest staff I've ever encountered throughout any airport in the world. Completely unnecessary the way they talk with people. If you work at an international airport expect people to not speak English, yelling at them and talking down to them is not going to speed things up. I am not sure what the training procedures are for this place, but for any establishment to allow their staff to talk to their guests like this is wrong. Reading other reviews I am not the first to experience this. I am not sure who is running this place, but just because you are airport security doesn't give you the right to be a complete jerk to anyone. Basic human decency could be exercised even minimally and it would be a drastic improvement. Food selections are scarce and the place isn't exactly clean. Restaurant staff were friendly and prompt especially for the amount of business.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"horrible rude airport staff"

(United States)

Not Verified | The most horrible rude airport staff we have come to encounter on the planet, the woman taking mine and my childrens tickets just before entering the terminal departure area screamed at my family for a wall divider falling over when we where in line to which was not in any way our fault: "You are horrible guests! you are not welcome here do not return! you are making a mess!" As well as the woman doing the scanning yelling at my young son for having water and not removing jackets after a meer secound. Honestly people incarcerated are treated better. My goodness to tramatize young children in such a way, shame on you.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"queue times were awful"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The most rude and unfriendly staff I've ever encountered anywhere in the world. I never write reviews but I was so disgusted by the way the staff at this airport spoke to customers, I feel I need to. The queue times were awful and it was hot and crowded. Avoid this airport if possible!!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Employees are unfriendly"

(United States)

WiFi is erratic, unpredictable and largely unavailable. Employees are unfriendly. Eye contact by frontline customer service from airlines, airport to security seems taboo. Port Authority, you can do better. Benchmark yourself against the top global airports. NYC is a global city.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very poorly placed signs"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We had our return flight from terminal 4. While looking for where to queue for security (very poorly placed signs), one airport staff member called us and asked for our boarding passes. My husband asked him if the queue was for economy passengers (because the sign read for first and business class passengers only), this person replied ‘I am not here to answer your questions, show me your boarding pass’, taken aback by his rude reply my husband opened the bag to take out the passes, then this man started shouting ‘Don’t hold the line’ again and again in the most disrespectful manner possible. All this shouting and rude language was in the presence of our 4 year old child. Finally, we were in queue for security check. He was, without doubt, the most disrespectful staff member we have ever encountered having travelled across Europe, Asia and America. He needed training on usage of basic words like ‘please’ and ‘thank you’. Avoid this airport if possible. We have head of similar experiences from others and negative comments about behaviour of staff at this airport. They should take tips from British airport staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"airport is expensive"

(Hungary)

Trip Verified | I went from the city center to the Airport by subway. It is a long journey, but cheap. The JFK is a very large airport. You have to leave time for everything. The directions are good. The checkin is relative fast. The airport is expensive. The walk way is long. Our plane waited about 40 minutes to take off
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"staff treat passengers as cattle"

(Sweden)

Not Verified | Arrived 2.5 hours early. When we got to the check in desk we were told we had to get our hand luggage 'cleared'. This is prior to check-in. The line took 45 minutes, and then we were told that our hand luggage was too big and heavy. The bags were even ligher than when we traveled to the US. Ridiculous. Had to pay 100$ per bag after standing in another line for 1 hour. When we got angry, the JFK staff removed 100$ from the total. Which means it’s all utterly rubbish fees from the beginning. We traveled with Norweigan and I will never in my life fly with them or pass JFK again. The staff treat passengers as cattle. If travelling from/to Sweden, book SAS. It’s worth every dollar to travel with an airline who treats you respectfully - and used Newark instead. We got to JFK 2.5 hours early, and we nearly missed our flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no