Munich Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 272 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Really poorly designed airport!"

(United States)

Not Verified | Terminal 1 of the airport was designed poorly. The terminal is a straight line with ~10 foot wide hallways to walk between the “concourses” (A gates, B gates etc). Alongside this hallway is a row of chairs for people sit while they wait, making the actual walkable portion of the hallway even smaller. To add further congestion to these crucial pedestrian transport routes, there are gates located in these hallways and when boarding the flights, it creates a queue alongside one side if the wall. Between that and the chairs there is then only enough room for the flow of traffic in one direction. There are dozens of gates on either side so the traffic is always two way but there isn’t enough room. So everyone is doing the side shoulder dip to get around people then tuck into a small alcove to let oncoming traffic pass. Have you ever been in a very crowded nightclub or bar and you’re trying to get to the bathroom or across the room and you have to slide in between groups of people like a worm saying "sorry man. Behind you. Coming through. Excuse me?" The Munich airport experience is kind of like that, except there’s no music and everyone is in a foul mood. Does not hold up to German standards of efficiency! Really poorly designed airport! The architect failed on this one. It was clean though. Grade: C-
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Fast track was 75 minutes long"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The worst experience ever in trying to depart. One passport security station to Terminal (C) was closed. The other was nightmarish long. Fast track was 75 minutes long. Nobody was was providing guidance to expedite or explain issues. Passengers were left to fend for themselves. Don't know what is going to happen if I am later to gate. Somebody needs to take responsibility for this terrible process.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"whole experience was a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Chaos reigned at Munich Airport last Thursday while trying to negotiate all the queues. There were only two BA staff checking in passengers, hence the queues to check in were horrendous. We were waiting at check in for well over an hour and 15 minutes before BA opened their check in desks. I was given no information how to locate security control. When I did eventually find security control area, the queues were massive. I asked one member of staff that I might miss my flight because of huge queues at security but he simply replied he couldn’t do anything to help. Indeed, it me took me well over an hour to get through security and then to make matters worse, it took me an hour and a quarter to get through passport control. The noise in these queues was deafening, with lots of pushing and shoving. There were no marshals or customer service representatives from the airport to assist customers or to answer questions. It was every man for himself! The whole experience was a nightmare.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"passport control will give you a great deal of attitude"

(Serbia)

Trip Verified | This is my 2nd time to transit this Munich Airport and it just doesn’t get better. If you’re not Schengen and trying to get into there or in there and trying to get out, passport control will give you a great deal of attitude. My connecting flight was announced while I was standing in line and they said, “not my problem” get back in line. Of course I missed the flight and my only option to get to my destination was to stay overnight. Granted LH was a bit late but I could have made it if there had been an ounce of compassion from passport control to let me out of Schengen. This is my 2nd time through here and now I get to go back into Schengen and back out tomorrow morning. She even caused her fellow officers extra work declining to understand that facilitating smooth operations is a small part of her job.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"After 15 minutes of scrutiny, he let me through"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | I travel a lot internationally, and it always took me 1-2 minutes to clear EU passport control, once I was at the counter. This time, I was transiting through the Munich airport on my return trip from Georgia (the country) to Switzerland. The passport control agent decided to treat my U.S. passport and Swiss residence permit as possibly fake. He examined my passport slowly and repeatedly, and eventually asked if I have a problem with my passport. He also took a long time looking at my residence permit, and I think he said something about its color. After 15 minutes of scrutiny, he let me through, but the delay was long enough for me to miss my connecting flight. The airline rebooked me for the next flight, which was 3-4 hours later, but my schedule for the day was negatively affected.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"3 out 3 my flights has been delayed every time I come here"

(United States)

Not Verified | If you are an American and have a connection flight at this airport I would suggest changing flights and avoiding Germany. 3 out 3 my flights has been delayed every time I come here. Super un-organized and have to re-enter security and end up showing your passport 7 times before entering the plane!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"efficient and friendly staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I love this airport, spotlessly clean, spotlessly clean toilets and efficient and friendly staff. The food is the best and reasonably priced. I think this is the best airport I have used.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"a bus from T1 Non Schengen to T2 Non Schengen"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Credit where credit is due: Even though my flight was departing from T2 I decided to opt for the World Lounge in T1 which is operated by Munich airport. I prefer this lounge over the Lufthansa lounges since it has a very good selection of warm and cold dishes, plenty of seating and nice tarmac views. There is a bus from T1 Non Schengen to T2 Non Schengen which leaves every 20 minutes. While the signage from the Lounge to the Bus could be improved, there now is a monitor at the Bus stop indicating the next shuttle bus departure. That’s a big improvement. If the airport could also install a monitor in the lounge that would be even better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"the delivery of bags was delayed"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | We landed in Munich at a gate at Terminal 3 (the satellite terminal). While the flight attendants ensured an disembarkation row by row to provide social distancing, we all ended up on the same bus. Unfortunately, the satellites infrastructure is not yet operating and buses have to be used. No separate buses for commercially important passengers. In addition, (as always) the delivery of bags was delayed. They made an announcement that the delay was caused by technical issues. If you ask me, not only the infrastructure for passengers but also for luggage is not working.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"social distancing was impossible"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Half of the airport is still closed - now that vacation starts it was quite full and social distancing was impossible. Munich Airport seems to save money where it can while charging fees whenever possible. Even a baggage trolley costs money - it was not even cleaned and had the filthy masks from previous passengers hanging on the handle.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no