Munich Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 282 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"wonder for what you are paying for"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | You better avoid German airports. In Amsterdam, you are through security in a few minutes - in Munich, it always takes long. Long walks, and bad operations. Today most flights delayed because they have not enough people in ground services. You wonder for what you are paying for.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2023
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Staffing was seriously lacking"

(United States)

Trip Verified | MUC has always been one of my favorite airports, but during the 2023 summer high season, this gem of an airport felt like it has hit some hard times. Staffing was seriously lacking, and on our flight day, customers had issues with online check in. So at the airport lines were snaking with people trying to make their flights. We arrived 3 hours before our flight to JFK, and we barely made it. Not the efficiency I expected. Is this the new norm?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"a billion sign posts"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | If you could design an airport which maximises frustration, confusion and misery, you would design what they have regurgitated from the beautiful lands of Bavaria. Imagine a billion sign posts to god-knows what. It’s like playing a game of snakes and ladders except that rolling a dice is replaced by walking hundreds of metres and hoping that you don’t run into a dead end. Good luck trying to find your check in desk.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2023
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an hour to get through passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Worst airport experience ever. Upon arrival took over an hour to get through passport control, seemed like the people working in passport control took delighted in holding non Germans up Upon departure there is nothing good about this airport. Lack of signage at Terminal 1, long walk to get to departure gate, lack of toilets and the ones that were were dirty and busy, queues at the limited eating areas resulting in us getting nothing to eat. Will never come back through this airport (thought Turkey was bad but that was expected) actually felt like we were being treated like cattle
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"change the departure gate last minute"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | It can change the departure gate last minute so you either end up running to the gates or miss the flight. This time I have passed the security gates and received the info that the flight would depart from K14 to which I proceeded immediately. Before sitting down I checked once more if the gate shown is still the same, which it was, both on the large announcement board and the small board at the gate. When it came to boarding, I was wondering as no announcement was made. At this point I realized that they have changed the gate within the last few minutes without announcement causing me to miss my flight. The initial gate was shown to be K14, according to the staff at the service desk it got changed to K6 and according to data sources such as flight radar and cirium the departure gate was K22. This airport is understaffed, staff doesn't like to work there and the signs and directions at the airport are horrendous. Terminal 1 is definitely the better terminal. Terminal 2 doesn't have plug sockets and only 2 what i don't even want to call a restaurant with limited choices of food.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2023
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Passport department was crowded"

(Saudi Arabia)

Trip Verified | On arrival, immigration was smooth. We wait for baggage more than one hour to arrive, flight arrived 30 minutes after our arrival received baggage. On Departure, there were priority at security screening when I asked them they denied any priority and I have to take the line again. Passport department was crowded, and passenger bypass the line without any questions.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2023
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"airport is attractive and clean"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I was just catching a connecting flight here and my first impressions were positive. The airport is attractive and clean. But it's let down by basic poor signage.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2023
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
5/10

"urinal stalls were closed off"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Long walking distances are made more difficult by poor signage. Today as we used the toilets before boarding our flight to Singapore we used the men‘s toilets near gate 31 and the urinal stalls were closed off. Several of the automatic towel dispensers were defect. The outside area bus stop was dirty with cigarette butts and stains in the ground from gum. The airport needs more charging stations for electronic devices at the departure areas.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"some basic needs are missing"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Had a 4 hr layover at this airport to catch a flight to the US. The airport is spotless clean, some basic needs are missing. Long walks to the boarding zone with no resting spots/ chairs makes it hard for little kids. Water fountains or refill stations could not be found. Shops to buy water were mostly closed at early am. Water bottles from the previous connecting airline had to be thrown away at the security check.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2023
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"long walk with poor signage"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Terrible design for airport. On inbound flight to T2 25 minute walk from pier to the baggage carousel. On outbound flight from T1 sent from Area B to C to level 4 then 5 then 4 to get to gates - again long, long walk with poor signage - 30 minutes walking time. Airport is also an hour by taxi / 45 minutes by train from city.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no