Munich Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 221 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Severe understaffing at all points"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Do not fly through Munich Terminal One! You will be sorry! Severe understaffing at all points results in interminable lines. Although already checked in online, we experienced a one hour long line at our specific airline for passport verification, then another one hour long line at Passport Control. Further delays at security included: 1) Waiting on daypack set aside for search, then only a quick unzip/no search. 2) Waiting for pat down, then only a quick swipe under the arms. Nearly everyone seemed to have an object searched, a pat down, or both. We arrived at Terminal One 3.25 hours before our flight departed and never sat down—in lines or running through the terminal the full 3.25 hours. Then a full international flight of passengers was loaded onto three large buses and transported some distance across the tarmac to board the plane. Many previous reviews document these are well-known problems at Terminal One, and yet they continue. Terminal Two serving Lufthansa seems to offer a completely different experience. We will never travel through Munich again. It would be preferable to take a train to airport at Zurich, Basel or Frankfurt than to fly through Munich Terminal One.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"it is not efficient at all"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is probably the worst airport in Europe. Apart from being ugly and old it is not efficient at all. You need to take a bus of about 10 min to reach the plane or when you arrive. Be careful for connection flights, it's a trap! The signs are very poorly exhibited and is you step in the wrong line the don't let you go back and you need to go and check in again. Worst connection flight airport I have ever been.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"40 minute queue for security"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I have used Munich T1 (for airlines other than Lufthansa) numerous times. It has always been the poor relation to T2, poorly resourced, quite slow, inadequate restaurants and areas of comfort, but my experience yesterday was easily the worst experience in all the years I’ve used it. The BA check-in staff has no idea of the queues at security or passport control, no warnings given for 40 minute queue for security and a further 35 minutes at passport control. Inadequate security and immigration staff, seemingly under no pressure at all to keep the queues moving. No concern at all for passengers about to miss flights, as they were more focused on changing shift. Shambolic, incompetent and pathetic for a major airport like Munich - they should be embarrassed. Will never travel by BA out of Munich again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Inadequate room for checkin"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Terminal 1 is a mess. Inadequate room for checkin counters with queues overflowing each others including Delta Sky Priority queue conflicting with security. Waiting for queues to get out of control to staff up/react. Security screening stuck right behind custom with no room to stage passengers. Not enough gates at the terminal, lots of remote stands. Overall time from arrival to gate which is longer than other airports visited in Europe for US departures. The only thing that is nice is the free and fairly fast Internet but that is not what makes an airport great!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"totally disappointed"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | We, among at least 15 more passengers, missed our flight to Dublin today, due to the incredible queue at the passport control of Munich airport. Obviously more passengers missed other flights, since the situation was totally unprofessional and unfriendly for passengers - clients of the airport and the airline companies. We arrived at the airport at 08.00 am, and our flight was at 10.15. We had already checked-in at home, so in theory there was plenty of time to drop-off our luggage and go to the gate. However, everything started with the delay even at the luggage drop-off, where the lady did not let us drop off the luggage, saying that my wife should have a visa to Ireland (my wife is a Russian citizen with EU family member residence permit). Though the official website of Irish Consulate stated the opposite. We needed at least 40 minutes to clarify this issue, before they let us, finally, drop our bag off. Moreover, the lady at the check-in counter was neither polite, nor speaking English well, and she also did not inform us that our gate is in the different terminal section from where the check-in desk and luggage drop-off counters are. So we first tried to use the Security Check at section D. Then we were sent to section C (by an employee who did not speak English at all). Where we found ourself on the "fast track" to the Passport control (we would travel with the infant) that didn't move at all for 40 minutes. We were just standing there with the crying child, among hundreds of people, and nothing was going on! Then I tried to go to the security check on another floor, where it looked like less people. So we spent more time waiting for the security check, and finally hoped to do automatic passport control. However, when we already spent at least 10 minutes trying to scan our passports there, the policeman told us that we can not use it because we have a child with us. So we proceeded to the passport control, where we were waiting again among all the passengers who were going to miss their flights. We were 20 minutes late to our gate, and we arrived 2+ hours earlier to the airport. 18 people (at least) from our plane lost their flight. We were waiting 2+ hours afterwards to take our luggage and the baby's stroller, that airport stuff did not let us take up to the plane, so actually we were carrying 13 kgs baby through all these queues for hours. We missed our flight and we will miss also our return flight, because we did not find anybody in the airport who could take responsibility for the situation, offer us another flight, give us an explanation or an apology. We simply could not afford to pay another ticket for today, and therefore, we lose our return flight from Ireland. I am not saying about spending the extra night in Munich and all the other troubles with our child, pre-paid car parking,etc. Totally unaccepted situation, totally disappointed by the passport control, the personnel, the total absence of any interest.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst experience so far"

(Germany)

Not Verified | We had to wait for 3 hours in border control / passport control after arrival. This is the worst experience so far. There are no enough staff at border control. Airport staff was unfriendly and could not assist in any manner. There should be minimum priority for pregnant woman aged passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"the worst airport I have been to"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is far by the worst airport I have been to. I am a frequent flyer, and I have been to different airports flying back and forth within the last 5 consecutive days and I am astonished by this one. Extremely disorganized and are quick to send you to other places by pointing fingers at everyone else. Apparently they close around 9 pm and then tell every passenger they "need to go home". I came here overnight and was hoping for lounge access, but they told me that their airport was currently closed, which I had never heard of before but seems to exist. Everything including food, services, gates, security, and lounges are all closed by 9-9.30 pm. They open again around 5 am or so, but no one around here seems to be sure. If you are coming to Germany, avoid Munich Airport at all costs. You will regret coming here, and sadly the employees here also seem to be very unhappy with their jobs, so they do come off a slight bit disrespectful, just a heads up. The Wifi is terrible, and runs about 2G.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"A lot of room for improvements"

(Denmark)

Not Verified | After several experiences from around the world the worst security procedure is by far in Munich. I arrived from Hong Kong with my daughter and had a connecting flight 1.5 hours later. We nearly missed the flight after a ridiculous security check. It was so inefficient that we waited more than half an hour which was were frustrating. Everybody was checked by a scanner followed by a personal check which took way too long. People with connecting flights had no opportunity to get help or assistance nor a fastlane solution. Very frustrating after 12 hours flight to experience Dich a bad efficiency. A lot of room for improvements!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Horrible security experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Horrible security experience. I am a German citizen travelling back with my son to London. There are new security lines installed at terminal 2. We queued a few minutes to go through the body scanner. It was noticeable that everyone had to go through the scanner and everybody was search afterwards. Clearly this takes much longer than usual. When I got to the end to pick up my stuff I was told I had liquids in my bag. I said I am sorry I forgot about the water bottle from my son which wasn't empty. Now comes the crazy part. I was told I had to leave the secure are to dispose the water. I stared at this woman in disbelief and said: "Can I not drink here??" Answers was no, same to the question of disposing it right here. I had to leave my son behind, was escorted literally a few meters back behing the scanner where I was allowed to drink it. I had to queue again for the scanner, was patted down again. All completely ridiculous. My comment that about every airport in the world allows passengers to dispose liquids at security earned my snotty comments from the staff. Enough said.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Not signposted well"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | I cringe every time I hear about this airport and tell anyone who wants to know not to fly via Munich. Airport staff are so very unhelpful. I was shouted at by a woman for asking her where I should go to get my oversized baggage (as the information desk was empty and there was literally no one around who could help - and I had my 2 young kids with me 4-year-old and a 6-year-old who later asked me 'why was the lady so angry?') Check-in desks, although many are available, only 2 were open (this I noticed the 3 times I flew to this airport with Aer Lingus and Ryanair). Passport control queues were very long both when flying into and out of Munich. Very unhelpful staff for families travelling with children who cannot go through the autogate. No proper instructions or signs to let families know that children are not allowed through the autogate. Security staff were nice but so slow! Food extremely expensive and of bad quality. Not signposted well. Sign for car rental up to a certain point and then you're left to figure it out yourself basically! We were so stressed out by the time we left the airport! (and I wish I could give a minus rating for this place!)
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no