Munich Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 244 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"Arriving at Munich is horrible"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We are a group of skiers and we were traveling to the mountains to/from Munich. Departing from Munich was good and we loved having a beer at the Airbräu restaurant and then board at terminal 1. Arriving at Munich is horrible! Passport control is incredibly slow. But luggage delivery is even slower. I have no idea how they handle it - it seems like they really do not care. Our airplane was only half full otherwise we would still be waiting for the luggage I think. Even the critized hub airports and the worst Eastern European airports are better than Munich when it comes to baggage delivery.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport experience"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | I was standing in a queue to drop my bag more than 2 hours in advance (before it actually started). Then I went to the security check which is unreasonably long (1 hour). Then I was staying for 40 min for passport check - for now EU citizens it was a long queue with just 3 cabins working. Families with children staying there as well and risk to miss a flight. Eventually I got through the queue and was at the gate when it was closing - 30 min before departure. Ryanair had to wait others like me who slowly passed the control. Arriving 2.5 hrs before the departure I was barely able to get into the flight. This is the worst airport experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"such long waiting at the luggage belt"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Arrival at Munich airport at the satellite terminal. Signage to which train departs next to the main terminal is poor. Waiting at the train. Long waiting at the baggage claim for the suitcases too arrive. Considering the already long “walk” from the satellite to the main terminal I would not expect such long waiting at the luggage belt.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
3/10

"Arriving at Munich is frustrating"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Arriving at Munich is frustrating. The baggage delivery is very slow. If you have a priority bag tag rest assured that the airport staff makes sure that your suitcase will be last on the belt. Good luck at Munich, a so called 5 star airport!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
8/10

"everything went very fast"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | It was the First Day of christmas holidays in Bavaria and the airport was very full but everything went very fast and without long waiting times. The only criticism is that when I’m flying back to Munich I already know that I will wait an hour for my baggage to come. I hope they surprise me!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"priority luggage arrived among the last"

(South Korea)

Trip Verified | Lufthansa luggage delivery substandard. I had a big priority tag on my luggage and it arrived among the last. Really not good, where is the German efficiency?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
no
2/10

"immigration already takes long"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Waiting at immigration already takes long. Waiting for the bags takes even longer. And it gets worse and worse. The airport could not care less about delivering efficiency to the customer.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
4/10

"A total mess"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | A colleague and I were traveling from Vienna to Munich Airport. So far so good. Unfortunately, it took ages to get out of Munich airport: There is an underground train in the basement to connect the satellite terminal to the main terminal and one has to take it. There is not possibility to walk. The stupid part of it are the two platforms - if you want to change between platforms you have to go 3 levels up and then again three levels down. Since there is no indication at which platform the next train departs you have a 50% chance to be at the wrong platform. The train from the airport to the city takes another 50 minutes, providing that you will even make it to the train station. But the worst part of the airport is the handling of baggage and how incredibly long it takes. It took us some twenty minutes to get from the arrival gate to the luggage belt just to see a screen that says delivery of luggage will start in 24 minutes. And when it finally started, the bags were coming slowly one bag at a time. A total mess. Next time I am flying with bags I will take the train between Vienna and Munich.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
4/10

"Munich airport is slow and inefficient"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | When it comes to handling luggage, Munich airport is slow and inefficient. Luggage delivery was finished exactly one hour after deplaning (see attached photo). Both the app and the screen above the luggage both showed that belt 9 would be the correct belt. In the end, some 70% of bags were delivered at a completely different belt - belt 15 - Without any information provided, which meant that quite a few passengers Waited an hour or more before they were informed that the bags arrived somewhere else. If you’re at Munich airport just for the Christmas market or the brewery, you’re fine. But if you’re arriving by airplane, avoid traveling with bags.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"arriving there is time consuming"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Munich airport is nice when you are connecting or departing. But arriving there is time consuming: Long bus ride from the airplane which is parked in front of the satellite Terminal to Terminal 2 arrivals, long queue at passport control - and as always one still has to wait for the luggage. Delivery of luggage 35-40 minutes after deplaning is not five star service. And as always priority tagged luggage comes last.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
yes