Munich Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 227 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"easily reached by train"

(Taiwan)

Trip Verified | The airport can be easily reached by train from the central station in 40 minutes. Signposts are clear in both German and English. Passengers can get around easily. Staff are friendly. The airport is clean.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"is an old building"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | My flight was from Terminal 1 and i have to say that is an old building, the carpet dirty at the arrival area. The escalator does not work and the Lift was out of order. The waiting time for the luggage was about 30 mins. I did not find the City Information Point, only Flight Information, and found no playground. Connection to the City via Bus or train.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"surprised at how unorganized this airport is"

(United States)

Not Verified | Every time I travel here, I continue to be surprised at how unorganized this airport is. It is best to know exactly where your airline check is by looking at the online airport map. Get to the airport 3 hours ahead of time for an International flight. Then, immediately get in the customs line, but before you do, ask which line is appropriate for the passport (nationality) you have. This is because they often will close the line for "All Passports" which leaves you only the "German Citizen" line. Then, they will make sure all the German citizens get in front of you, as they do have priority for that line. Then, they randomly open up the "All citizens" line, but you are stuck, as they do not allow you to jump to that line. It is a clean airport, with good security. There is no "Duty-Free" even though the signs say so. They will tell you you can get a VAT refund for your duty free purchases, but you would be required to exit and go through customs again. (At least that is what I was told.)
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Slow and unfriendly"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This airport is terrible. The security line easily takes a good hour and a half and the staff are extremely unfriendly - from the restaurants to security staff it has been an awful experience. The airport needs some serious improvement. For a major city you would expect it to at least be ok. Slow and unfriendly are the only words that come to mind. Disgraceful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"had to wait more than 1.5 hours"

(Turkey)

Trip Verified | On this day 30/9/2019, I had to wait more than 1.5 hours in order to pass the passport control. There were more than 150 people in the queue and only 1 police officer was there for all passports. What is the logic behind this? Many people will miss the flight today or flights will be delayed. I catch mine at last minute. I was going to eat and spend my money at duty free. What is the benefit of this to anyone?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Is there anyone at Munich airport who cares?"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | I am a very frequent traveler and it is really not acceptable that for a 50 min flight, one has to wait for 30 min or more. Even from a long flight it is really ridiculous the waiting time. The waiting time for luggage has been getting longer and longer in the past year. Munich is not the busiest airport of the world. Even in the most busiest airport I have not waited for more than 10 mins. Last week I came back from Porto and it was the same. Is there anyone at Munich airport who cares?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Severe understaffing at all points"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Do not fly through Munich Terminal One! You will be sorry! Severe understaffing at all points results in interminable lines. Although already checked in online, we experienced a one hour long line at our specific airline for passport verification, then another one hour long line at Passport Control. Further delays at security included: 1) Waiting on daypack set aside for search, then only a quick unzip/no search. 2) Waiting for pat down, then only a quick swipe under the arms. Nearly everyone seemed to have an object searched, a pat down, or both. We arrived at Terminal One 3.25 hours before our flight departed and never sat down—in lines or running through the terminal the full 3.25 hours. Then a full international flight of passengers was loaded onto three large buses and transported some distance across the tarmac to board the plane. Many previous reviews document these are well-known problems at Terminal One, and yet they continue. Terminal Two serving Lufthansa seems to offer a completely different experience. We will never travel through Munich again. It would be preferable to take a train to airport at Zurich, Basel or Frankfurt than to fly through Munich Terminal One.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"it is not efficient at all"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is probably the worst airport in Europe. Apart from being ugly and old it is not efficient at all. You need to take a bus of about 10 min to reach the plane or when you arrive. Be careful for connection flights, it's a trap! The signs are very poorly exhibited and is you step in the wrong line the don't let you go back and you need to go and check in again. Worst connection flight airport I have ever been.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"40 minute queue for security"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I have used Munich T1 (for airlines other than Lufthansa) numerous times. It has always been the poor relation to T2, poorly resourced, quite slow, inadequate restaurants and areas of comfort, but my experience yesterday was easily the worst experience in all the years I’ve used it. The BA check-in staff has no idea of the queues at security or passport control, no warnings given for 40 minute queue for security and a further 35 minutes at passport control. Inadequate security and immigration staff, seemingly under no pressure at all to keep the queues moving. No concern at all for passengers about to miss flights, as they were more focused on changing shift. Shambolic, incompetent and pathetic for a major airport like Munich - they should be embarrassed. Will never travel by BA out of Munich again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Inadequate room for checkin"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Terminal 1 is a mess. Inadequate room for checkin counters with queues overflowing each others including Delta Sky Priority queue conflicting with security. Waiting for queues to get out of control to staff up/react. Security screening stuck right behind custom with no room to stage passengers. Not enough gates at the terminal, lots of remote stands. Overall time from arrival to gate which is longer than other airports visited in Europe for US departures. The only thing that is nice is the free and fairly fast Internet but that is not what makes an airport great!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no