Munich Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 206 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"Compact, comfortable, super clean"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | One of my favorite airports in Europe. Compact, comfortable, super clean, clear directions, great infrastructure, good lounges. Transportation is right at the door. Love it, will keep coming back and flying through it. The only disadvantage - I can't transit pets through it, so have to choose Frankfurt if I'm flying with animals.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Absolutely lousy facilities"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I fly once a year out of Munich terminal 1, easyjet to Edinburgh. Absolutely lousy facilities through security. Nowhere to eat and there is only one bar serving food and drink. I can't believe that there is another major airport in Europe where you have to queue for 25 minutes to get a coffee!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Security time more than one hour"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | A long queue keeps getting longer for a passport check. There were three customs officers doing their work deligently. Even they had to wait because the security belts that were operative were two. Yes of course security is in our interest but why does the manor the airport penalise its passengers by reducing the number of counters and belts in service? If Germany were poor country I could understand. This is one of the highest taxation systems in the EU but no money, perhaps no consideration for services to the travellers. Security time more than one hour. Everyone knows that we need to take security seriously but that does not merit bad service to passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"rudeness of security was breath-taking"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The rudeness of airport security today was breath-taking. I travel all the time and pass through hundreds of airports around the world. Munich Airport needs to look at who they employ to do their security as today was by far the worst experience anywhere. This was the fast track lane for Lufthansa and although I came through Munich often, for many people this experience will be their final experience of German ‘hospitalily’. It didn’t leave a good taste in my mouth. To be barked at, shouted at even, in a rude and terse manner is totally unacceptable. I complained about the member of staff to a supervisor who was sympathetic and promised to speak to this ignorant, inappropriate staff member. This is no 5 * airport. Unacceptable.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very rude staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Travelling with my wife and 10 month old daughter. The worst experience I have ever at an airport due to poor organisation and very rude staff. Long queues, closed kiosks meaning even with a priority line for babies the wait was long. The security queue was the worst. Despite being told by the initial staff member that it was fine to leave our baby asleep, my wife was then rapidly jumped upon by 2-3 other security staff who aggressively made her wake up our baby to check her sling (there is no way of hiding anything in this sling). We are very understanding of security measures but given the mixed instructions and rude and threatening nature to a mother and baby, this was absolutely disgraceful. To top it off they then decided they didn’t need to check the sling after she was made to take it off and wake up our baby. As expected our baby girl was inconsolable for half and hour. The security staff showed no courtesy or concern instead speaking in German in a derogatory manner (yes non-Germans can understand German you know). Either way, a horrible experience!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"bad airport and experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Very bad! The worst experience I have ever had at a airport and I fly every 2 weeks. The security line was very disorganized, people were cutting each other. Over 1.5 hours to get in. The another security check to get on a flight to the US. However there is no place to purchase food or drink in that area. Plane was delayed and had to just sit around waiting without anywhere to even get water. Very bad airport and experience. Will never go to that airport again. I think prison is better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Signs go nowhere"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | By far the worst airport we’ve ever used (including Kathmandu in Nepal). Signs go nowhere, it’s not clear within terminals that you may need to use trains to get to some departure gates, the assistance is provided via on screen terminals with a person in a ‘call centre’ which once connected is a pretty brusque engagement. Whilst waiting to depart we saw numbers of people with queries at a major airline desk who were asked on entry the reason for attending then simply directed to a queue to repeat their question. Not much seating spread about the terminals whist waiting and the ‘free Wi-fi ‘ is very slow and constantly drops out requiring reconnection and this is supposed to be a 5 star airport!! Oh and our departure gate has been changed 3 times within an hour or so.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"lacking modern basics everywhere"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Being a Senator at Star Alliance and hence traveling a lot through this airport, I cannot understand the high star rating hat Munich received lately. There are a lot of shops and cafes indeed, but the pure logistics are lacking modern basics everywhere! Starting with the obnoxious skytrain to terminal K (entry and exit through the same doors and no online connection!) and ending with the delivery of baggage, which is the slowest of all European airports I have experienced (comparable to Charles de Gaulle or worse) - delivery times have been up to 1.5 hours - and today the excuse was the high volume due to vacation season. This is absolutely unacceptable for a modern airport. Also, electric outlets for gadgets are scarce - not recognizing we are living in the 21st century. So whoever rates Munich airport a 5 star should ask the frequent travelers first. Sorry for the rant - but this is the 3rd time in a row with delayed baggage. Ridiculous!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"extremely slow immigration system"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Terrible, terrible airport which is extremely disorganized with extremely slow immigration system. Changing flights from Terminal 2 to Terminal 1 was a nightmare. Rude line controllers at the immigration lines. They never understand emergencies and lacking any sort of common sense. Please avoid this airport at all costs.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"terminal 1 disappoints"

(Saudi Arabia)

Trip Verified | Munich terminal 1 disappoints. From the check in to the tax free lane to passport control to boarding the flight is never an easy task. The passport control took almost an hour in the fast track lane. We arrived 3 hours prior to the flight departure and barely able to boarding the flight.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no