Munich Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 258 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Eurowings check in was probably the slowest"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Eurowings check in was probably the slowest I have experienced in 30 years Of regular travel. Eurowings put too many people on the plane without tickets and lose their luggage. The plane could not take off until this excess luggage was removed and as it was raining they decided that the employees could not work and a full plane sat on the tarmac.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"airport is slow and inefficient"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Even with only a dozen flights per day - and terminal 1 closed entirely - the airport is not capable to deliver the bags in a timely manner. The airport is slow and inefficient.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
10/10

"Quite a 5-Star airport!"

(Romania)

Not Verified | Quite a 5-Star airport! Nice check-in area, huge duty-free zone, large variety of shops and restaurants, parking places! Big variety of airlines operating and also big number of destinations!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Poorest Tax Refund Service"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Poorest Tax Refund Service! I believe most travellers don't know what to expect when it comes to Tax Refunding in airports. We were asking our way around the airport, though some answered politely, most others had the nastiest attitude ever. We were given confusing direction on Vat Refund in Terminal 2, and when we tried to get a refund at the office near H30, the officer's impolite attitude and unkind way of speaking made us felt disgusted. He kept cutting us off when we tried to explain or ask a question though we try to communicate with him in a calm manner. After a few sentences, he threatened us to leave otherwise he will call the cops. And then there was the end of the conversation. All within 2 mins, and there was not even a line behind us. Not only we felt frustrated and angry because of the unnecessary treatment, but we also lost our money back as well. The police are no help either.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Nowhere can hand sanitizer be found"

(Mexico)

Trip Verified | This airport is incredible. While everybody else around the world and in Europe is afraid about the spread of the corona virus, Munich airport has undertaken no preventive measurements. Nowhere can hand sanitizer be found. Worst part: we had to take a bus to get from the plane to the terminal and vice versa. The bus was completely full and we felt like cattle. After the rainy weather, we were also wet.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"Passport control was unfriendly"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Avoid arriving here if possible. Departing was alright and not an issue, although I did find the security staff already particularly slow and inefficient. I was travelling with a small child, and even though I was kindly allowed to pass the waiting line, it took me 30 minutes to get through the actual scanning. This was mainly caused by the staff (working at the same station) before and after the scanner who kept disagreeing with each other and what they preferred to check. But since I had planned enough time, overall still alright. Passport control was unfriendly as well, but I guess that's their job. Arriving back at the same airport turned out to be the worst experience though, and I have been to quite a few airports of all sizes and cultures so far to compare. Avoid arriving here if you wish to get out the airport in less than one hour. Signs can sometimes be misleading. When arriving at the remote star alliance terminal walking distance plus shuttles about 40 minutes. This would all be in a way still acceptable if the staff chose to be helpful or motivated in any way. Since I relied on lifts with my stroller I often had to take different paths/search for them, yet none of the employees were kind enough to point me to any even when asked. Instead I only got rude stares as a reply. I hope the airport manages to reorganize towards becoming more efficient in the future or training their staff (especially security + guiding assistant at the terminals, as both check in and gate employees by Lufthansa were kind and helpful) so that foreigners especially won't already hate Munich and Germany before setting a foot out of the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not offer a dedicated bus service"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | My flight today from Munich was departing at a remote position. Unfortunately, there are many remote positions at Munich airport and especially at Terminal 2. The airline did not offer a dedicated bus service for Business Class. Therefore, there is no point in booking a priority service or sitting in the front rows. Waiting times at passport were also long.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the Info-Gate-system directed me to the wrong gate"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | I missed my connecting flight because the Info-Gate-system directed me to the wrong gate! A delay of 12 hours for a 3 hours flight and the group I was traveling with was split up. Worst of all after my trip I contacted the airport asking for an explanation. After many denials I got a clear answer: the mistake was caused by a computer software failure but the airport did not give me any compensation. Only a voucher of €50 which I could use at their airport (1000km away). 5-star Munich airport feels no responsibility. Everybody can make a mistake but the way they have handled my complaint deserves no-star at all.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"efficiency and no frills"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | I am not interested in the fact that you can surf at Munich Airport in summer and that there is a Christmas market in winter - or that there are great Bavarian restaurants. I want efficiency and no frills. The important points for me are fast check-in, short queues and short distances. But the worst of all is the baggage reclaim. Whenever possible I try not to check in any luggage. I recently had to wait over 50 minutes for my luggage. Unfortunately the situation has not improved in the last years.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
no
1/10

"Luggage delivery is consistently slow"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Luggage delivery at Munich airport is consistently slow. Like almost everyone else I had to wait an hour at the luggage belt for the bags to arrive. There were some bags after 20 minutes but that was it. The rest came later. Priority luggage was unloaded last. This service does not merit 4 stars or even 5 stars.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no