Munich Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 261 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Terminal 1 has nothing to offer"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I had a transfer connection between two Star Alliance airlines and it was terrible. I arrived in Terminal 2 and the connecting flight was from Terminal 1. Actually there must have been a transfer, but it didn't work out. At the airport nobody knows about this transfer and there are no signs. The information on the airport's website is contradictory and there are no exact times. So I had to walk. I had to walk from one end of terminal 2 to the other end of terminal 1, more than 2500 meters. The transfer desk was closed. After I had to go through the security check in Terminal 1 and the passport control, the lounge was closed. Of course nobody told me that. So I had to go through the passport control again to get into the other lounge. More walking. And then again through the passport control before boarding. This is not a 5 star experience. The change is miserable. Terminal 1 has nothing to offer.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no separate bus for business class"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My partner and I were connecting via Munich as part of our summer vacation in Turkey. We specifically booked business class for our transatlantic flights and the connecting flights from/to Munich in order to maintain social distancing during our trip. Our experience at Munich airport was dangerous: Munich airport heavily relies on buses to deplane. Unfortunately, there was no separate bus for business class and we had to be in the same full bus with the travellers that were sitting in economy class. The bus was packed and business class and economy class were mixed.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
no
1/10

"using buses to transport passengers"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Munich airport is still using buses to transport passengers from the airplane to the terminal. Not sure if there were more buses but since everybody was getting on the first bus this was full. No coordination whatsoever. Waiting time for my luggage delivery was not acceptable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
no
3/10

"Eurowings check in was probably the slowest"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Eurowings check in was probably the slowest I have experienced in 30 years Of regular travel. Eurowings put too many people on the plane without tickets and lose their luggage. The plane could not take off until this excess luggage was removed and as it was raining they decided that the employees could not work and a full plane sat on the tarmac.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"airport is slow and inefficient"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Even with only a dozen flights per day - and terminal 1 closed entirely - the airport is not capable to deliver the bags in a timely manner. The airport is slow and inefficient.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
10/10

"Quite a 5-Star airport!"

(Romania)

Not Verified | Quite a 5-Star airport! Nice check-in area, huge duty-free zone, large variety of shops and restaurants, parking places! Big variety of airlines operating and also big number of destinations!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Poorest Tax Refund Service"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Poorest Tax Refund Service! I believe most travellers don't know what to expect when it comes to Tax Refunding in airports. We were asking our way around the airport, though some answered politely, most others had the nastiest attitude ever. We were given confusing direction on Vat Refund in Terminal 2, and when we tried to get a refund at the office near H30, the officer's impolite attitude and unkind way of speaking made us felt disgusted. He kept cutting us off when we tried to explain or ask a question though we try to communicate with him in a calm manner. After a few sentences, he threatened us to leave otherwise he will call the cops. And then there was the end of the conversation. All within 2 mins, and there was not even a line behind us. Not only we felt frustrated and angry because of the unnecessary treatment, but we also lost our money back as well. The police are no help either.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Nowhere can hand sanitizer be found"

(Mexico)

Trip Verified | This airport is incredible. While everybody else around the world and in Europe is afraid about the spread of the corona virus, Munich airport has undertaken no preventive measurements. Nowhere can hand sanitizer be found. Worst part: we had to take a bus to get from the plane to the terminal and vice versa. The bus was completely full and we felt like cattle. After the rainy weather, we were also wet.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"Passport control was unfriendly"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Avoid arriving here if possible. Departing was alright and not an issue, although I did find the security staff already particularly slow and inefficient. I was travelling with a small child, and even though I was kindly allowed to pass the waiting line, it took me 30 minutes to get through the actual scanning. This was mainly caused by the staff (working at the same station) before and after the scanner who kept disagreeing with each other and what they preferred to check. But since I had planned enough time, overall still alright. Passport control was unfriendly as well, but I guess that's their job. Arriving back at the same airport turned out to be the worst experience though, and I have been to quite a few airports of all sizes and cultures so far to compare. Avoid arriving here if you wish to get out the airport in less than one hour. Signs can sometimes be misleading. When arriving at the remote star alliance terminal walking distance plus shuttles about 40 minutes. This would all be in a way still acceptable if the staff chose to be helpful or motivated in any way. Since I relied on lifts with my stroller I often had to take different paths/search for them, yet none of the employees were kind enough to point me to any even when asked. Instead I only got rude stares as a reply. I hope the airport manages to reorganize towards becoming more efficient in the future or training their staff (especially security + guiding assistant at the terminals, as both check in and gate employees by Lufthansa were kind and helpful) so that foreigners especially won't already hate Munich and Germany before setting a foot out of the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not offer a dedicated bus service"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | My flight today from Munich was departing at a remote position. Unfortunately, there are many remote positions at Munich airport and especially at Terminal 2. The airline did not offer a dedicated bus service for Business Class. Therefore, there is no point in booking a priority service or sitting in the front rows. Waiting times at passport were also long.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes