Munich Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 217 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"Munich Airport is really impressive"

(France)

Trip Verified | Munich Airport is really impressive. The train between terminal is fast and the signs to find your way are good. You have plenty of shops. Be carefull to check you gate as you may have to change terminals if you come from outside Europe.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"Great comfortable airport"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | Munich To Tel Aviv with Lufthansa. Great comfortable airport - very nice and very clean! Everything is very efficient and nice and upscale, and very easy to navigate. Best airport in my opinion with Zurich airport
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"ticked all of the right boxes"

(United States)

Not Verified | En route to Rome we had a connection in MUC. Truthfully any other international airport will look better and will be better than my home airport (SFO). And Munich Airport certainly ticked all of the right boxes. It is first of all sleek, modern, and efficient. To add to that it has some of the loveliest shops for browsing in case one has time like we did. It's so good that I almost bought something at Picard leather shop. They have well-stocked news stands which sell souvenirs in case one needs some. And they even have a pharmacy which actually carried antibacterial wipes when no other pharmacy even in Barcelona and Rome did. The toilets are ultra sleek and modern to match the rest of the airport too. SFO can and should learn from MUC.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"bad by European standards"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Terminal 1 at MUC has consistently been one of the worst I have experienced in Europe with regards to customer experience. Four confusing departure hall entrances with absolutely no informational signs. I had to run back and forth between them because I ultimately end up going to the wrong one, the disinterested worker tells me the wrong one, or the one I am supposed to is closed. Right now I have been waiting at passport control with only 2 people checking for a full international flight and no toilets to be seen. Pretty bad by western European standards.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"Convenient and fast"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Nice airport. Convenient and fast processing of entry at the immigration without filling up a form. Had enough restaurants upon arrival. There’s an airport bus to city center which is more convenient than the train if you have some luggage, but just need to pay a little bit more.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
yes
2/10

"utterly inefficient"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is a nice looking and modern airport. If the form would be its function, as an art critic I would rate it probably 9 out of 10. However, as a passenger in need of speedy and efficient transit, my rating is much lower. Admittedly in a special set of circumstances and with connection tie of 50 minutes, I've arrived 5 minutes late in a smaller plane that disembarked on apron, this after about 10 minutes of taxiing, with buses being another 6 or 7 minutes late. Then another 10 minutes of a drive to the terminal building due to the heavy traffic, and into the first security check, with two lines being available for about 100 passengers and no provision for short connections taking a fast lane. Although the connecting flight was only 20 gates away, this trip took another 10-12 minutes due to enormous distances and out-of-function movators. My intercontinental flight required another boarding pass and passport check, at which point my name (and of few other passengers) was called out on PA. The staff response was to send me back in the line, with a nonchalant "there is a plenty of time" reply (in reality, the departure time was about 10 minutes away). As I passed this check, I was approached by another staff and asked why I did not reply to a PA call, as I was "randomly" selected for (yet another) full security check. At the end, I made it only because there were other travelers who did not, and ensuing confusion regarding their baggage removal delayed the departure of my plane, first for 10 minutes, and following my boarding, for another half hour. Suffice to say, my baggage did not make it, and I only got it three days later. So, in conclusion, this is a really nice looking airport, with a possibility to be utterly inefficient, and with the staff that compensate for their incompetency with arrogance and/or indifference. 2 out of 10.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Clean, efficient, great shops"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Super airport. Clean, efficient, great shops and without the eye watering prices. Toilets were spotless. Staff were friendly and helpful. Even got a free brandy tasting at duty free shop from a super friendly and helpful member of staff. Way better than any other airport i have used. I will make a point of going back to Munich and this time I will allow a couple of hours to properly enjoy all it had to offer. Their WiFi is the best. No messing about with my phone here. Straight on and no time limit.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"an absolute disaster"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This airport is an absolute disaster. Facilities for security and for check in/bag drop are not designed to handle the level of traffic. 30mins queue to drop a bag, 30mins to get through security. The gate changed no less than three times during my visit, for some unknown reason. This was all made worse by the fact unless you want to sit-in a restaurant and pay €13 for a baguette you have a tube of Pringles as your only savoury option. No sandwich shop, nothing. Cannot wait to get back the Heathrow.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a real mess"

(France)

Trip Verified | The airport is big, nice and clean. It is however a real mess to get to the check-in and drop-off zones because Lufthansa is doing it (not very well) for all airlines. The shops are only for beauty products or snacks. Lufthansa doesn't do the job correctly in the airport - a mess.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"airport is a nightmare"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport is a nightmare. Our plane landed from Israel and we had one hour to catch our next flight to America. There was no information to help us once the bus took us to the terminal. If you catch a connecting flight, you need to carry your bag up a flight of stairs. Go to the middle of the second floor for security screening. You will then need to go back down a set of stairs and then to a desk to be questioned. You will then go back and catch your flight in the exact location and your plane is probably sitting right next to where you got off.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no