Mumbai Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 257 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

" horrible procedure for departing"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | The architectural and aesthetic beauty of this airport is completely negated by the ridiculous and demeaning experience of the security procedure. After checking in, you follow signs that indicate where international passengers are supposed to proceed. Then, a long snaking line leading to security starts forming somewhere in the rear of the main departures area. In our case, my wife and I joined the line which slowly moved toward the security area. Then, suddenly, it seemed, the line was separated into two lines: split by gender. As the number of passengers swelled, both gender lines again separated into four or five, spread across a wide area. My wife and I completely lost sight of each other as we trudged onward to where the other people in line seemed to be headed. As we approached the checkpoint where the trays with personal belongings, electronic gadgets, belts and hand baggage are to be put on the belt/rollers to the X-ray machine, there were no instructions (as at other Indian airports), and each airport is slightly different) as to what went where. So we took our best guess and separated or metal belongings, electronics, etc. and proceeded to the line(s) now forming to go through the metal detector and pat-down/frisk area. The pat-down (which all passengers are subjected to) is ridiculously intrusive, with repeated frisking of the same area of the body. In most airports, this then concludes the security procedure. But not at Mumbai - there is one more checkpoint where your passport and boarding pass is stamped to validate your leaving the country. The area between the security pat-down and the departure validation line is so big that it is completely possible to lose your travelling companion or spouse or kids (e.g. a teenage daughter travelling with her father) in the various clusters of people. Furthermore, it is also possible that one person would wait after the exit from security and the other might assume that their companion has already proceeded to the next line. I spent close to 4 -5 minutes searching for my wife. When we finally exited the departure checkpoint into the duty-free/retail/food court area, we felt too exhausted to consider any purchases, food or drink. So grabbing our bottled water, we walked to our gate and collapsed into a couple of chairs. We had arrived at least two hours before the flight, yet, we were only 10 minutes away from boarding when we got to the gate. I truly hope the airport authorities revamp and humanize the horrible procedure for departing passengers - it is a shame that such a beautiful facility is ruined by this experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"definitely has a rustic image"

(India)

Not Verified | Today I'm traveling to Kolkata with Indigo 10.10 PM flight and currently waiting at the lobby after check-in is done. The service and maintenance of this airport are pathetic. I wish not to travel again from here. In front of the security persons and policemen, few people are using the dust bin as a litter tray. They are spitting inside that and the airport authority is just doing nothing! This is a serious issue as many of the foreigners would also notice the same incident and definitely have a rustic image.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"service wise it bad"

(India)

Not Verified | Mumbai Airport although infrastructure wise is good but service wise it bad. There is always a huge queue for immigration even then the various security stalls are unmanned to accommodate the heavy traffic of travellers. As soon as passengers increase prompt action should be taken to quickly solve the bottleneck. The WiFi is inaccessible if your mobile number is inactive. This is very bad for an international traveler. Every airport in the world provides internet without verifying mobile number.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Horrible immigration clearance"

(India)

Not Verified | Horrible immigration clearance. 36 counters. 7 utilised by immigration officers at 5:30 in the morning with 700-800 passengers. 1 hour plus for immigration It’s a joke like never seen before.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"arrogant, rude, unhelpful"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The new airport is wonderful. However, this review specifically relates to the behaviour and attitude of the staff that man the security checks at the airport on departure. I can summarise their attitude towards customers as arrogant, rude, unhelpful and completely lacking of any respect whatsoever. I would urge the airport authority to seriously appraise these staff and teach them manners, appropriate behaviour ethics and how to respect travellers when they are going through the security checks at this airport. They seem to completely lack these characteristics and moreover are blatantly a seriously lazy lot of individuals.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"easily one of the more pleasing airports"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Beautiful, I have flown in and out of the International airport many times. This was my first time departing through the domestic part of the international terminal. The airport is clean, beautifully made and has a variety of shopping and eating choices. It is spacious with lots of good lighting. In fact, it is easily one of the more pleasing airports that I have been through. But please do allow us to have free wifi without having to send a code via our phones. Otherwise, a very good experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Worst queue management"

(Australia)

Not Verified | This airport is a joke. Takes 3hrs to get to departure gate from ticket counter. Worst queue management. Never ever coming back to India.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"this airport is full of calamity"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | It is easier to arrive at this airport rather than leave, plus arriving isn’t that easy either. Don’t be fooled by the modern terminal, this airport is full of calamity. The security and immigration lines are the place of extraordinary inefficiency, it is like they don’t want you to ever come back. Excruciatingly slow. When you are through all that, the relatively calm and spacious airport, with fairly good food and shopping options, gives away to the final test. The departure gate is always a total mess, even though they do it multiple times a day, with plenty of huddles by staff, gesticulating, late playing of queuing signs, switching of said signs and causing mass chaos, it is a total nightmare. A 12 year old with some common sense could act as a management consultant and sort it out. It is a simply terrible experience. On leaving the airport I felt like that character from Argo who celebrates when leaving domestic airspace when getting out of the country. There is sadly nothing that can be done except grinning, being patient and letting the disfunction wash over you. Or write a review like this and get it off your chest.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Very poor quality of cleaning"

(India)

Not Verified | Very poor quality of cleaning in food court of terminal 2, it was a disgrace to city airport and clean india. Some time ago this used to be good even for night flights, but now it is very poor.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"cleanliness of toilets extremely bad"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Mumbai is my hometown. However, I am extremely disappointed with the airport and it's service. 1. Firstly, the cleanliness of toilets in the airport is extremely bad. 2. Why have a WiFi connection in the airport when you need your phone number to generate an OTP to connect to it? People in the international terminal need access to WiFI only because they do not have access to a mobile phone connection. Isn't this something logical? There's another option to connect to the WiFi if someone doesn't have access to a mobile phone by contacting an agent at the airport. There are no directions about how to find these agents; are they assigned to a particular kiosk? Overall, this is absolutely disappointing that such a major airport does not provide free WiFi to its guests upon arrival. If you really want people to verify their identify to connect to the WiFi, then here are two simple solutions: a. Have them use their ticket number/Booking confirmation as a proxy for verification to connect to the WiFi b. If you have issues with providing free WiFi connection to guests at the airport for extended periods of time, maybe provide guests with the option of using WiFi free for 30 minutes. In this time, people can gain access to other ways (email) of getting an OTP or verification code to connect to the internet. I would think that these things would naturally occur to airport staff, and such provisions will be made for guests especially at an international terminal. When other airports, both in the country and outside have implemented these simple solutions, why is this not implemented in "one of the best airports in the world?" 3. Ridiculously long wait times at customs. Maybe try increasing the number of outlets at customs? 4. Supper inefficient and rude ground staff at baggage claim. I was waiting in line for 15 minutes below a board that said "XYZ" airlines at the baggage services only to find out that this queue was not dedicated to that particular airline. Here's a question: Why have such a big display board in the wrong place? I was standing in front of an agent for 5 minutes with no response from this person. I had to attract this person's attention from a distance of 5 feet to be able to get my questions answered. This person wouldn't even acknowledge the fact that someone was standing in front of them. I was then treated with an extremely rude response, only to be interrupted and directed to the next agent.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes