Mumbai Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 250 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"this airport is full of calamity"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | It is easier to arrive at this airport rather than leave, plus arriving isn’t that easy either. Don’t be fooled by the modern terminal, this airport is full of calamity. The security and immigration lines are the place of extraordinary inefficiency, it is like they don’t want you to ever come back. Excruciatingly slow. When you are through all that, the relatively calm and spacious airport, with fairly good food and shopping options, gives away to the final test. The departure gate is always a total mess, even though they do it multiple times a day, with plenty of huddles by staff, gesticulating, late playing of queuing signs, switching of said signs and causing mass chaos, it is a total nightmare. A 12 year old with some common sense could act as a management consultant and sort it out. It is a simply terrible experience. On leaving the airport I felt like that character from Argo who celebrates when leaving domestic airspace when getting out of the country. There is sadly nothing that can be done except grinning, being patient and letting the disfunction wash over you. Or write a review like this and get it off your chest.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Very poor quality of cleaning"

(India)

Not Verified | Very poor quality of cleaning in food court of terminal 2, it was a disgrace to city airport and clean india. Some time ago this used to be good even for night flights, but now it is very poor.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"cleanliness of toilets extremely bad"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Mumbai is my hometown. However, I am extremely disappointed with the airport and it's service. 1. Firstly, the cleanliness of toilets in the airport is extremely bad. 2. Why have a WiFi connection in the airport when you need your phone number to generate an OTP to connect to it? People in the international terminal need access to WiFI only because they do not have access to a mobile phone connection. Isn't this something logical? There's another option to connect to the WiFi if someone doesn't have access to a mobile phone by contacting an agent at the airport. There are no directions about how to find these agents; are they assigned to a particular kiosk? Overall, this is absolutely disappointing that such a major airport does not provide free WiFi to its guests upon arrival. If you really want people to verify their identify to connect to the WiFi, then here are two simple solutions: a. Have them use their ticket number/Booking confirmation as a proxy for verification to connect to the WiFi b. If you have issues with providing free WiFi connection to guests at the airport for extended periods of time, maybe provide guests with the option of using WiFi free for 30 minutes. In this time, people can gain access to other ways (email) of getting an OTP or verification code to connect to the internet. I would think that these things would naturally occur to airport staff, and such provisions will be made for guests especially at an international terminal. When other airports, both in the country and outside have implemented these simple solutions, why is this not implemented in "one of the best airports in the world?" 3. Ridiculously long wait times at customs. Maybe try increasing the number of outlets at customs? 4. Supper inefficient and rude ground staff at baggage claim. I was waiting in line for 15 minutes below a board that said "XYZ" airlines at the baggage services only to find out that this queue was not dedicated to that particular airline. Here's a question: Why have such a big display board in the wrong place? I was standing in front of an agent for 5 minutes with no response from this person. I had to attract this person's attention from a distance of 5 feet to be able to get my questions answered. This person wouldn't even acknowledge the fact that someone was standing in front of them. I was then treated with an extremely rude response, only to be interrupted and directed to the next agent.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"a very good experience"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Check-in, security check and passport control: all three were comfy at BOM on Tuesday (3.09.19). The reason may be- not many flights departing during evening time. The airport was virtually empty which was quite a surprise for being in Mumbai. Nevertheless, the experience was soothing. The lady at info center in Duty-free was very polite and aptly dressed up in saree. The airport is small as compared to DEL but the layout of the terminal is very optimally designed keeping in view the space available. The interiors are modern blended with some Indian touch. Peacock design is absolutely stunning. Overall a very good experience, earlier of which I was apprehensive.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"a pathetic airport to travel via"

(India)

Not Verified | This is an ongoing issue, every single time either the gate is not available or the ground staff have not arrived to the landed airplane to assist. We have to sit in the airplane for a significant amount of time, post the estimated arrival. I'm not going to say thanks because I doubt you going to take any further step but I hope you realise the pain, you are a pathetic airport to travel via.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"departure is one of the most cramped"

(India)

Not Verified | One of the worst airport experiences. Despite being the financial capital of India, the domestic airport departure is one of the most cramped, dirty and one without amenities. There are mo proper food courts. No smoking area (they had earlier but closed it to have more money making outlets) , not enough seating... people are queing till the security check.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"should have a separate line for family with kids"

(Fiji)

Trip Verified | Whenever I arrive at Mumbai airport with family they don't have a separate queue for family with kids. Most of the time I arrive on flights at night time and due to the time difference kids are sleeping or tired. From getting out of plane until picking up our luggage it can take almost 1 hour, some times more especially at the immigration counter as there is no seperate line for family with kids. Just a suggestion that they should have a separate line for family with kids to clear them as soon possible.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"very happy with the arrivals process"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I was again very happy with the arrivals process. I had to get an evisa, the signs for this should be better posted. Once in line, it took about 4 min and I was cleared. The baggage Hall is spacious and the arrivals hall spectacular.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"I was pleasantly surprised"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | It is a fairly new airport and things worked smoothly in both directions. I was pleasantly surprised, though staff were not particularly friendly. One warning: On arrival, there is a separate immigration section for e-visas but that's not made clear. So I, and a friend a day later, both lined up in the wrong queues only to find out when we reached the front. (By which time, more experienced visitors were at the front of the queue for e-visas).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"lines were very long"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Mumbai has some of the worst traffic in the world. We arrived on a cruise ship 28 kilometers from the airport. We were told it would take anywhere from 1.5 to 3 hours to get to the airport depending on traffic and commute hour times. Most airlines required a minimum of 2 hours advance check-in. So you have to leave for the airport at least 5 hours before your flight. Once at the airport, most lines for airline check-in, security and passport control were very long. It took 1 hour to get through to the duty free zone and gate areas. The airport itself is modern, clean with lots of shops and restaurants. The free WiFi is only good for 45 minutes and you have to obtain a complicated encrypted logon sequence and password from the one information desk. The gates are easy to locate and lots of free baggage carts both outside and inside. Duty free prices were higher than other airports. After the long taxi ride in bumper to bumper traffic in a Mumbai taxi to the airport, the only thing you wanted to do is get on your flight back home as quickly as possible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no