Mumbai Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 259 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"No concept of customer service"

(India)

Not Verified | Bombay International Airport is new but, still an awful airport. Departure: Mosquitoes menace. Taxis have to drop off their passengers in the third row away from the terminal. There are no luggage carts existing at the drop off. Nor is there any wheelchair assistance for disabled passenger to reach the check-in counter and receive airlines disabled assistance. Weird security rules. Once you enter the airport with a valid ticket, you are not allowed to go out. I had a long transit and wanted to go out and do some sightseeing. But I was not allowed to go out, so had to spend many hours in the airport. Thousands of travelers on the curbside. BOM is a new airport, but still in India, with all of its bureaucracy, like their "security related" yet bizarre entry restrictions! The space feels claustrophobic, especially with its crowds of staring people it is confining and smothering. No concept of customer service. All and any Personnel are rude, ill-mannered, and cheap. Extremely pathetic! The eating places are unhygienic - not sure if they wash their hands. Food and waste is handled with same hands. Not all restaurants are open/ready at food court. No one in the airport can actually provide practical / useful information. No information desk is visible. Pre-Immigration security is confusing as there is a different line for women! Lots of counters for Immigration stamping, but very few have officers in them. No one follows lines. Bureaucratic nightmare – innumerable security checks! Duty-free shop staff knows nothing. Airline staff are unable or unprepared to control the passengers at the gate – mad rush to board. Arrival: No information about ‘Pre-paid’ taxi. The counter with sign for 'Pre-paid' had no person there! Taxis, when found, are pathetic. No one in the airport can actually provide practical / useful information. No information desk is visible. Rude, staring people. Would avoid any transit if I could.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"signs were clear in the terminal"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I was traveling from Doha to Hyderabad by Jet Airways. I had to appear at the Immigration and then head towards the luggage counter to collect my luggage and then towards the Customs. The Customs staff were helpful and co-operative. There was a very long queue at the Immigration counters. The signs were clear in the terminal. Whole airport staff were helpful.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"display shows all incorrect information"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | It's a silent airport and the flight display shows all incorrect information. Today while AI 609 is delayed the display is showing the gate closed. Passengers waiting for the flight based on the previous information started running panicked to the counter to find out that it was error in display, it's absurd when they say airport is silent and they can't display informations correctly.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"staff were very friendly and helpful"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | My review will be based on arrival at airport until departure. One has to be quick to offload luggage as the parking security/guide are quite rough and will come to shoo away cars quickly. Security at this airport is quite strict, only those who hold valid ticket, passport and visa can enter the airport. This is good because it avoids unnecessary crowding and reaffirms security. Check-in was a breeze at business class counters and the staff were very friendly and helpful. They even have a porter who lifts baggage to keep it on belt! Never saw this on any EU Airports. Security screening is done thoroughly as Indian airports have deployed staff from national security services. At the Immigration counter, they took quite a bit of time to screen passengers, here I believe the airport can do much better. Need more counters and should be fully staffed. The airport was very clean and so were toilets. The architecture is beautiful, one of those aiports where you would want to spend time! Boarding was delayed a bit due to technical issue but it was handled orderly and staff was kind, helpful and organized, at least on Lufthansa boarding gate. One suggestion is airport should deploy some free sleeping zones, indoor gardens and more free water bars. All in all, the experience was wonderful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"Great service"

(India)

Trip Verified | Was travelling with a passenger in a wheelchair from BOM to DEL and return. Great service with a motorized wheelchair available at BOM. Also as we were travelling in the afternoon, the lines for security etc were limited and we were at the gate in no time. Arrival at BOM is also great if flying Vistara as they normally use the domestic gates that are very close to the baggage belts - we exited the airport in minutes after landing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Overall bad experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Arrival: Arrived Mumbai international airport and the immigration area was absolutely packed with thousands of people. That in itself is a huge security hazard. Jet Airways didn't give us immigration forms on the flight and many travelers were scrambling to get the forms. Personnel at the airport behaved as if all of the travelers were criminals. People in the immigration booths were equally rude and unhelpful, must be the extreme levels of crowds arriving constantly. Overall bad experience. Departure: We arrived at the airport around five hours before departure time and thought we would have time to relax before the flight. Boy were we in for a rude awakening! Jet Airways baggage checking was a nightmare. We were in line for 2 hours 20 minutes (yeah that is right 2hr:20mins) just to check in our bags. Next it took 45 minutes to do security scan of our carry on bags. Next it was immigration check which seems like we reached Kumbhmela. We had to beg people to move ahead in the ever winding lines of people with frayed nerves. Still it took well above an hour and half to clear out of that hell. We barely reached the gate just in time. Two things we learned: Avoid flying via Mumbai and Avoid Jet Airways. I did travel to India on business trip recently and absolutely followed lessons learned. Flew to Hyderabad on British Airways. What a difference.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"only 1 working for Indian nationals"

(India)

Trip Verified | More than 33 immigration counters, only 1 working for Indian nationals, really frustrating. More time is passed while taking immigration checks than expected, long queues are really disturbing to the new airport. Should have auto check at least for Indian nationals and question is why more than 30 counters are without officers - now 1pm, 15th March 2018, Terminal 2.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"Security were extremely unhelpful"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | Bought a beer at the cafe as you pass through customs after duty free, $15 for a Kingfisher bottle of beer was a disgrace. Arrived from Goa en route Dubai. Security were extremely unhelpful as I didn’t have hard copy of ticket and my phone battery was flat.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"forced to exit the arrivals"

(Cyprus)

Trip Verified | Coming from Bhuj trying to go to Delhi (i.e domestic transit). It should be noted that during this transit the flight number was kept the same. Cons - On a tight domestic interchange flight, we were forced to exit the arrivals and enter again at the departures (security checks and passport controls all the way from the beginning like we had just arrived at the airport). Ground staff were not informed about the nominated gate. Pros - The flight was delayed due to late arrival of the airplane (presume that this was intentionally).
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"many of them were closed"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | My flight was at 9.25am, we arrived at the airport at 5.00am to check-in, which was easily done. We then wanted to eat at a restaurant, but many of them were closed and were not going to be open until 8.00am by which time we were supposed to be at our departure gate. It would be great if the restaurants were open and were serving food at least two hours before our departure.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no