Moscow Domodedovo Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 61 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"airport itself is good"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | The airport itself is good, but the design looks simply ok. The airport is big, it has old and new parts, the new part looks better. It has many check-in desks, fast security check, and very nice that they have priority security check and priority passport control. Some nice business lounges and good duty free.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"worst modern airport"

(Russian Federation)

Not Verified | Overall, it was a bad experience. Quite a breeze through the fancy terminal, fast passport control and good-enough baggage check in counters. But once you reach the departure area, it's the worst modern airport ever seen. The airport staff was rude and did not allow anyone to sit anywhere in the already crowded place except the chairs. Not good for those on delayed flights, common in Russian winters. Also, this airport has the worst choice of shops and food court. There are no fast food chains, no good duty free (except perfumes and alcohol and souvenirs) and nothing else. The AC was medium, although it was a bit on the warmer side. Even Vnukovo airport and Sheremetyevo airport (Moscow) is 100x better in all respects. Overpricing is also a major issue. An espresso was rarely found, and when found in Shokoladnitsa (branded coffee kiosk), it was prized at 300 rubles, higher than in Vnukovo (230 rubles). (Prices obviously subject to change). Every other thing was certainly costlier as well.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid if you can"

(Malaysia)

Not Verified | Probably the worst airport in Eastern Europe and the world. Only, huge, fancy terminal building. Inside , very congested and outrageously expensive. Traveled through here twice, in the winter and the summer. I had to wait 3 days for my flight, as there was no seat available for my destination, so I had plenty of time to see what kind of lousy, torture like facility it was. Huge terminal with planty of space. But, the most shocking thing was that the Airport staff did not allow passengers to rest, or sleep - they said it was rule set by Airport management. Thousands of people transit here plus many delays on domestic destinations. It looked like prison, with Airport staff approaching passengers and waking them up every 20-30 minutes! Even if people slept on the floor. No matter who, young, old, tourists. Can you imagine this nonsense? 24 hours a day! The air conditioning system was terrible. In the summer only departure check-in area was properly air conditioned. While, level 2 , where passengers await their flight was like sauna! Was very hot and suffocating. The entrance area, to the Terminal is very crowded and badly arranged. I have never seen such an lousy planning. Passport control takes long time. Avoid this airport if you can. Sheremetyevo Airport is much better and less crowded.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"good business lounges"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | I can't say that Domodedovo is very good airport, staff is ok, good business lounges, the standard Russian duty free (Cosmetics and snacks). I think it is nice because of business security check and passport control.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"completely average airport"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | I read some scary reviews here, which made me leave for the airport more than 5 hours before my flight. But after a very good journey on the excellent Aeroexpress train, I have nothing to report. DME is no Changi for sure, but it is a completely average airport. No big queues, and from checkin to lounge it took me 20 minutes max. The bulk of it spent with a slow passport officer, who did not speak English and was confused by my dual nationality and me living on a third country. But the rest of the security measures (X-RAY of all luggages on entry, second check of boarding pass and passport) are on pair with other (specially Asian airports). Granted this is a Sunday afternoon, so things could get busier during the week. But this is it - just an adequate airport. Not one of the modern Shopping Centers you find these days, but just a regular place to wait for your next flight. Maybe the view from the lounge is different, but I learned long ago to not leave home without my Priority Pass. Contrary to some of the reviews here, the airport does offer wi-fi and it does accept any international number. Maybe this is one of the benefits of traveling after the WC 2018.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"the airport is a bit of a struggle"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Having arrived very late (23.00) at Domodedovo, we wanted to leave ASAP. The queues aren't long at passport control but they do take forever to verify everything so we waited about 10 minutes at the desk. Baggage arrived very quickly. The arrivals hall can be a bit dodgy with all the illegal taxi drivers etc and the car park is a good 200m walk from the terminal (you can imagine in Moscow at this time, it's ~-2). On departure, everything is quite well signposted. The security section is a mess with only two lanes open with lots of people and baggage. Passport control again has very short queues but it takes forever to get through. The Duty Free is ok but far from cheap. There is WiFi if you have a Russian number, but if you don't, prepare to sit there, bored. There is Wifi just outside the S7 lounge on the top floor if you really need it but not next to the gates. There isn't much seating but the airport wasn't too busy so it was ok. Overall, the airport is a bit of a struggle and I will look to travel to SVO in the future primarily due to location, but it's ok if you really need to take a flight from it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"What a waste of time"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | The Immigrations process took the longest ever. What a waste of time. Fortunately, we stood in front of the line. Otherwise, we wouldn't get to the Aeroexpress train in time. All the staff should consider learning to speak English fluently since they have to deal with foreigners every day. Some spoke to non-native speakers of Russian and got upset when they didn't understand what they said. This wasn't civilized.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"Most of the staff were very helpful"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly, icluding the border control officers. Shopping is OK there and so are the seating options - at least in the lounge I visited using my priority pass. However, when I entered the airport, I asked the security clerk whether my suitcases passed the check and are OK. They were, but he answered rudely in Russian " Njet, njet, njet, Davaj" - which means "No, no, no, move it!" I had done everything orderly, so why must one be so rude and not even answer a simple question? WIFI is available. Unfortunately, the activation code you have to get by SMS never arrived - but this is not necessarily the airport's mistake. All in all, I like the airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"functions in a reasonable way"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | Moscow Domodedovo Airport is a stress. The cars don’t park at the door if is 7 AM (my case) well is fully packed, you need to navigate to get a trolley but you can find one, then up with the bags. Security control all bags and you, you will lose your trolley in the first check point, then after put all in the floor and get another trolley. Then you are ready to check in, that part is normally easy, they serve well the clients. Passport control and additional security also works perfectly, passport control are sharper people and the security crews are focus on the work. Inside the shops are not that great and not that friendly in particular the ones with Alcohol (I don’t know why to be honest). The airport is a little dirty, clearly they can do much better. Information is English on the TVs and the airport functions in a reasonable way.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Airport staff are incredibly rude"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Airport staff are incredibly rude. Staff at the customs are the worst I've experienced, almost throwing documents to you, angrily looking at you without saying anything and no reaction to you saying hello. Food is overpriced. Waitress suggested to add tomatoes on our dish without mentioning extra charge, and the bill came 95rub more for 4 small cherry tomatoes added, complete ripoff. It's chaotic and doesn't have enough seats in the waiting areas. this airport is an entire disappointment!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 61 Reviews