Montego Bay Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 39 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Terrible customer service"

(United States)

Not Verified | Terrible customer service, my friends and I had a flight with JetBlue that was delayed four times resulting in an additional 6 hour wait for the flight. That wasn’t their fault though (staff at SIA [MBJ]). What I was upset about was how we waited 2 hours on the help desk line to: change our flight, get a meal voucher (since our flight was delayed JetBlue offers this), and be compensated for the delay. All just for them to not be able to do any of this. It’s like the workers had no clue what their own airline’s policies were and refused to help. Then, when asking to speak to a manager since the supervisor was no help we stood there and waited for an additional two hours for he/she to show up and they still never did. Eventually we were over it and just took the same flight home because by the time we waited for all of it we might as well have already stayed. Again, terrible customer service at SIA (MBJ), specifically from the JetBlue workers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"they really need to have more people working or helping"

(United States)

Not Verified | We had a horrible experience coming home from Montego Bay. Our flight was at 12, we arrived before 10am and it took 2 hours just to get our bags checked. Then we only had 10 minutes to get to our gate and had not gone through security yet. When we would ask for help, two security members told us it wasn’t their problem and there was nothing they could do. Then finally one security worker allowed us to go a shorter line and helped us but we had to still sprint to our gate. Luckily we did make the flight but they really need to have more people working or helping and they need to be friendlier and more helpful. It was extremely hot and stressful and the last thing we needed was someone catching attitudes about a duty that is in their job description to help people. Jamaica is great, loved it but they need to get the airport under better organization. We flew JetBlue and it was just awful there.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Likely we won't be back"

(United States)

Not Verified | Traveled to Montego Bay for 4 days. The staff on Arrival were rude, gruff, and gave us all kinds of hard time about the exact address where we were going, whom the house belonged to, etc. Never had border give me such grief over an exact address in other countries. They were even worse to my daughter who arrived a few hours later, because she listed the golf place we were going to as a "resort" rather than a country club. Given it's 2 miles from the airport, we were quite sure he knew exactly what she was referring to. He was belittling and really upset her. And by the way, the taxis at the airport charge at least 10 times the price they charge locals. The car rentals also played the game of refusing to let us use our credit card car insurance as coverage, stating "they'd need a letter from our credit card showing we had the coverage". We walked away. Likely we won't be back.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Rude, slow, ignorant staff"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Rude, slow, ignorant staff - long queues and searching even the shopping area in their airport I will never visit this country to be treated so badly after a nearly ten hour flight. No common sense and from a whole flight all people said first and last experience of such a type.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"it was the worst experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I arrived at Montego Bay Airport, Saturday 30th December 2017 with my two young kids and it was the worst experience. The immigration officer was so rude and didnt even know what he was talking about, then after waiting in the nothing to declare line for goodness knows how long the customs officer then decided she wanted me to now go back to the end of the red line that was so long and not even moving just because she felt she wanted to search my bags. After waiting there for a long time that officer (who was the only person with any customer service and a smile) simple said, have you got any electronics that are not personal, if not close your bags miss and go. The staff are so rude and I do not ever want to go back there. Funnily enough when I was coming home it was like a different airport, the staff were nice and friendly so that tells me that its the ones working for Jamaica that are rude and nasty and something needs to be done as they are driving tourists out.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

Montego Bay Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

The positives: clean, spacious, good food and duty free halls. Highly recommend the Club Mobay VIP lounge. The negatives: We are well travelled and have never come across such rude and obnoxious immigration and customs staff. On arrival and after a 10 hr flight we were herded, barked at constantly and waited for a ridiculous amount of time to get through immigration. People were pulled out of line if they had made a mistake on their form. It was a dreadful start to the holiday. The departure was the just as infuriating but this time not one "official" spoke a word to us, we had fingers pointed at us, pointed to to our passports then dismissed with a wave of the hand. Ironically as we left we saw a poster on the wall that announced "Jamaica, an island with a mission". Well if the "mission" is to alienate a vast amount of people they are bang on target.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"fastest transit of security"

(United Kingdom)

We boarded TOM 045 on 1st Feb 2016 for travel to London Gatwick on Thomson Airways. The aircraft was pulled back at 5pm and then we sat for 40 minutes, before starting the engines. The captain explained that Air Traffic Control had imposed a 10 minute separation between each flight departure. I think this must have been some sort of industrial action. Not impressed. However we did have the fastest transit of security we've ever had.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Montego Bay Airport customer review

(Canada)

I've been to Jamaica a couple times and had to experience this airport. Sadly it is never a good time. Make sure all your suitcases are locked up, but even then somehow the airport found a way to totally demolish our bag. The seams were ripped open all the way around the bag and was not usable. This happened on arrival and when we went to depart we packed everything in a bag into the broken bag and attempted to reuse it. The worst thing about this was dealing with the employees at the airport. They gave us a 30 dollar credit for completely ruining our bag. And it was not 30 to go towards fixng the bag. It was a travel credit. Won't be going back for a while and if we did we would pay extra to go to the other airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

Montego Bay Airport customer review

(Canada)

With extremely low expectations, my wife and I were pleasantly surprised by Sangster Int'l. On arrival, we were shepherded to the bank of check-in kiosks by friendly staff. The process was pretty simple and we were through within 30mins. We didn't check bags so cannot comment on baggage delivery. The arrivals hall is a little chaotic, but we easily found our vacation rep and the bus waiting right outside. They even have a bar at kerbside with a welcome Red Stripe or six. Departure was easy again. We checked in at auto kiosks and endured a standard xray line. We were then very happily surprised by the array of duty free shops, food options and bar options in the departures area. It was a busy time (Sunday afternoon) and some of the gates seemed to be packed, but we easily found space for a meal and to wait for our flight. Duty free had a great selection of booze, especially cheap local rum and a range of Milka Chocolate that is impossible to get in Canada!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity N/A
yes
8/10

Montego Bay Airport customer review

(United States)

Jamaica as a country is not near as developed as the US most western European nations or even Canada. That being said it would be impossible to expect a gleaming facility. The wait times although not ideal weren't that bad and the people I dealt with were fairly pleasant. Plenty of food and beverage as well as shopping. I'll be back.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 39 Reviews