Montego Bay Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 46 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"the worse, unorganized airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | By far the worse, unorganized airport I have ever been in my life. First time flyer to Jamaica and I loved it but my only reason for not returning would be the airport. The staff is clueless they sent me to 3 different lines before I got to the right spot. I got there three hours early to leave and still almost missed my flight. No one knows what's going on and kiosk barley work. Limiting seating and very dirty. They need a serious upgrade. Overcharging for everything. I was so frustrated. They seriously need to do better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Sheer stupidity and very bad service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Idiotic. Many kiosks were not working for check in, but some were - but they only had one line and no baggage drop line. So that all of us who are already checked in had to wait for the people who weren't. When I suggested they make 2 lines they told me "maybe next time." Sheer stupidity and very bad service. The manager working 4/15 at 1030am at the United counter is to blame--Angie Chambers
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Avoid if you can"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | How often would you consider avoiding travel to a country because of the airport? This is definitely one of those situations. The complete lack of organization, rudeness of most of the staff, and request for bribes by staff to get through lines is just the tip of the iceberg of this airport. Expect the most frustrating lines for every part of the process on both the arrival and departure side. If you’re travelling with little kids, you’ll be placed in a special family line that is longer than all the other lines. The whole experience would be comical if it wasn’t so utterly frustrating. We will be avoiding this airport and sadly Jamaica because of the awful way every holiday would begin and end. I read the comments from other travellers and frankly doubted it could be as terrible as described. Sadly, they were spot on. Avoid if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"I have never had a wheelchair attendant leave us before"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I visited the Sanger International Airport in Montego Bay, Jamaica yesterday. The airport was very congested, no social distancing in order, very disorganized, PA system not loud enough to hear over all the commotion. Second issue, my elderly mom was pre assigned for a wheelchair. We had to walk back and forth to try and find a wheelchair attendant. Then, we finally were directed to United and got a young male attendant who pushed her to the gate and left. He said he needed the wheelchair and had to transport someone else. He said he’d be back and never got back. The airline’s gate was changed from 3 to 18. The airline staff told me to try and find another wheelchair and attendant. I had to walk around trying to find someone in a green polo shirt. When I found someone, she was very irritated and stated that she didn’t want to push the wheelchair all the way to gate 18. She sucked her teeth, and pushed the wheelchair with my elderly mother in it at top speed. She totally left me and my son behind although my mom asked her to wait for us. Needless to say, she almost ran over a lady, hitting her leg really hard with the wheelchair. She stayed around for a minute while the lady stepped to the side and checked out her almost broken leg. The attendant then continued on her way. When she got to gate 18, she waited for a bit and then said she’ll be back. We never saw her again. The United staff had to request over the PA system for an attendant to help board my mom. I have never had a wheelchair attendant leave us before. We travel a lot and this is my first time having a negative travel experience related to wheelchair support.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"ignorant and incompetent"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I bought guests to Jamaica for their first time which they loved. Sadly the experience with the ignorant and incompetent Virgin Atlantic ruined what would have been a great time. It's hard to overcome the negative press Jamaica receives when you're faced with the poorly trained staff, especially their supervisor. Rude and poorly educated on how to handle customers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

Montego Bay Airport customer review

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst travel experience ever! We have a resort we love to visit in Jamaica but I'm seriously considering not going back due to the horrible experience at the airport. When we arrived, we were near the front of the plane so we got through customs fairly quickly. But then it took us an hour and a half to get our baggage and get out of the airport. Frustrating but maybe just a fluke. Nope! When we were heading back home to the US we got in line to check in and it took us almost an hour to get our boarding passes and check luggage. The line wasn't even moving. It turned out the baggage belt kept breaking but nobody was doing anything about it and the baggage was just stacking up behind the counter. I kept asking the Southwest staff what the delay was and nobody said anything. At the Southwest gate they didn't even have the boarding numbers to line up the way every other airport in the world does. Instead the woman called out each individual number but so quietly you had to be right next to her to hear her. Ridiculous! The whole experience was incredibly infuriating and I'm not sure I'm going back to that country again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport I've been through"

(United States)

Not Verified | This is the worst airport I've been through. From the total lack of coordination from staff to customs that are disorganized at best. The best part of MBJ is getting out. Contract staff at every airline seems chaotic and disorganized. I'm amazed half the bags even make it on with broken luggage belts and disorganized staff. The lacking work ethic is epitomized by this airport. There's also garbage for lounges that are mediocre at best. Gate areas are poorly laid out and disorganized in many regards.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible customer service"

(United States)

Not Verified | Terrible customer service, my friends and I had a flight with JetBlue that was delayed four times resulting in an additional 6 hour wait for the flight. That wasn’t their fault though (staff at SIA [MBJ]). What I was upset about was how we waited 2 hours on the help desk line to: change our flight, get a meal voucher (since our flight was delayed JetBlue offers this), and be compensated for the delay. All just for them to not be able to do any of this. It’s like the workers had no clue what their own airline’s policies were and refused to help. Then, when asking to speak to a manager since the supervisor was no help we stood there and waited for an additional two hours for he/she to show up and they still never did. Eventually we were over it and just took the same flight home because by the time we waited for all of it we might as well have already stayed. Again, terrible customer service at SIA (MBJ), specifically from the JetBlue workers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"they really need to have more people working or helping"

(United States)

Not Verified | We had a horrible experience coming home from Montego Bay. Our flight was at 12, we arrived before 10am and it took 2 hours just to get our bags checked. Then we only had 10 minutes to get to our gate and had not gone through security yet. When we would ask for help, two security members told us it wasn’t their problem and there was nothing they could do. Then finally one security worker allowed us to go a shorter line and helped us but we had to still sprint to our gate. Luckily we did make the flight but they really need to have more people working or helping and they need to be friendlier and more helpful. It was extremely hot and stressful and the last thing we needed was someone catching attitudes about a duty that is in their job description to help people. Jamaica is great, loved it but they need to get the airport under better organization. We flew JetBlue and it was just awful there.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Likely we won't be back"

(United States)

Not Verified | Traveled to Montego Bay for 4 days. The staff on Arrival were rude, gruff, and gave us all kinds of hard time about the exact address where we were going, whom the house belonged to, etc. Never had border give me such grief over an exact address in other countries. They were even worse to my daughter who arrived a few hours later, because she listed the golf place we were going to as a "resort" rather than a country club. Given it's 2 miles from the airport, we were quite sure he knew exactly what she was referring to. He was belittling and really upset her. And by the way, the taxis at the airport charge at least 10 times the price they charge locals. The car rentals also played the game of refusing to let us use our credit card car insurance as coverage, stating "they'd need a letter from our credit card showing we had the coverage". We walked away. Likely we won't be back.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 46 Reviews