Miami Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 347 reviews
2/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"airport has zero redeeming features"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport has zero redeeming features, but what really sticks out is the unfriendly staff at terrible and customs. Grumpy personnel in a permanent state of bad mood. The last thing they want to do is to help the traveler. A terrible first impression of the US for a foreign visitor. Fire the lot. Have avoided flying through MIA, preferring longer flights and not having to deal with the personnel.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Simply awful"

(United States)

Not Verified | Simply awful. Perhaps the worst airport I have been to in 41 yrs of life. Between the lack of direction from airport personnel to the horror that is US Customs and airport security, I would think Ellis Island in 1900 would be less stressful. I will never and stress never return to this airport and will avoid it like the plague.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"An absolute disgrace of an airport"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | An absolute disgrace of an airport. Transiting passengers should not have to go through passport control with the rest of the arriving passengers. Extremely inconvenient to have to collect bags and check them in again. Almost missed our connecting flight due to incredibly long queues made worse by the fact that only 3 lanes were open. To top it all off - extremely unhelpful staff. Worst customer service ever. To say we are disappointed is an understatement.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely awful"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Absolutely awful. We had just under three hours for a connection, and almost missed our flight. The immigration queues were endless, and most of the desks were closed. We had to jump through the queues for immigration officers (thank you to those who allowed us to do so) having already waited an hour to use the machines. There were virtually no staff around, and those that were there couldn’t care less if you miss your flight. No allowances made for those who have connecting flights. Why do Americans put up with this and why doesn’t the airport do anything?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"poor management"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Zero stars if I could rate that low. We sat in the runway for 35-45 minutes after arrival from Barbados - the reasoning because of “other aircraft that needed to taxi”. Go ahead and start the stop watch. We needed to make a connecting flight to Richmond, and we only had an hour to get to our other aircraft. Well 35 minutes wasted sitting in the runway. Thank you either aircraft controllers or American Airlines. Once we were off the plane (another 10 minutes after waiting on the runway ) we made our way through one customs line where literally 500 hundred people were waiting. We waited in customs for another hour - at this point our plane had already started boarding for Richmond. After making it through the customs checks, there were 6 other customs officers sitting around talking and laughing (twiddling their thumbs) Maybe they could have helped open up more lanes in customs? No - poor management. To add on top of all of this, the one line was full of Miami residents that did not need to make a connecting flight. Maybe they could have opened up a different line for solely connecting flights? No - poor management. After customs we then had to pick up our luggage at baggage claim and recheck our luggage! I get this was American Airlines however this was another wasted 30 minutes. After all of this was said and done all but one American line was open so our so called “pre-check passes were useless “After talking with a behind the counter representative from American, they would not reimburse us for a hotel or could they guarantee a seat in the next flight to Richmond. After staying the night in Miami on our expense, we arrived to our gate and American Airlines informed us only seat was available and that my wife could go ahead while I had to wait for another flight 10 hours later. But guess what? This was not a guaranteed seat either. Looks like I’ll be staying in Miami until the I purchase my own set of tickets again. All in all, this was a nightmare that the airport or American Airlines did not want to admit to their poorly planned schematics of arrivals and connecting flights. Hands down the worst flying experience I have ever encountered. - thank you TSA, Customs and American Airlines for ruining my trip. You can check me off your list of being a returning customer. I hope 1000s will read this so they can be forewarned of possible miseries. Something that could have been completely avoided if Miami knew how to run an airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Big and chaotic airport"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Big and chaotic airport. The steps to take a connecting flight can be very long and made laborious by the ground staff who move you from one queue to another with the pretentious purpose of "speeding up" operations. In the return flight home, my luggage remained in Miami because the ground staff did not proceed to embark it on the second plane, although between the two flights there were almost 4 hours
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Bright, clean and friendly"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Overall this airport is great. Bright, clean and friendly. The terminal is very easy to get around. No issues connecting flights or getting related information.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"a little bit dirty and uncomfortable"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | Not a very good airport - nothing special. It's big, but a little bit dirty and uncomfortable. Crowded lounges, not many places to sit, strange DutyFree with taxes and the shops are the same. A little note: when you arrive, passport control will be very fast - because machines check the passports of any country, and when you leave the USA, you don't need to pass thru the passport control.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"ignorant, impatient and rude"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Dreadful airport. Security staff were ignorant, impatient and rude. My teenage children felt harassed and chastised during the security process even though they followed orders. The instructions weren’t written or clear and the process was long winded and stressful. We heard the security lady complaining about people being impatient but felt this was totally inappropriate in the circumstances. We are currently sat in the admirals lounge in the flagship area for Oneworld passengers and the service and food are disappointing. The body language of the staff is not good (shaking heads and huffing at guests etc) and overall this airport is definitely not one we want to return to in a hurry.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport in the modern world"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The worst airport I’ve ever had to navigate. We had a 3 hours layover where we were coming in from London. 1. Air traffic control had us circle for 20 minutes. Ok, that happens. 2. Once we landed we were stuck on the tarmac for 40 minutes due to another plane not having docked correctly? and lack of communication regarding which gates the preceding planes were to be at. This doesn’t really happen much, so it was frustrating. 3. We had to go through two different rounds of security screening before having to pick up our checked bags. At the first one, even though we’re had the mobile passport completed, there was no line for mobile passport and with 6 kiosks only 2 were open; one exclusively for crew and global entry with the other for everyone else. 4. We had to then collect our luggage, which took another 30 minutes, to be randomly selected to have them rummage through our things. 5. Once they unfolded everything and left it a mess we were dismissed and sent towards the exit. We then had to recheck our bags at the airline desk which was on a different level and a long way away. Luckily, an airline staff member allowed us to skip the line and simply drop the bags. This was the one person who was helpful; airline staff. 6. Next we had to go through airport security again, however, this time it was the same security you go through if you were just arriving to the airport. Keep in mind we had just gotten off of an airplane here at the airport. Once in the line we got to hurry up and wait while 6 TSA employees condescendingly yelled at everyone. Nothing helpful from them, just threats to slow the line if their power-trip-orders weren’t obeyed. If someone failed to zip up their backpack before sending it through the scanner, instead of asking them to zip it, the person was chastised in front of the crowd. 7. The line of travelers constantly growing while the Walmart approach (having many registers with only one open) was adopted by the TSA staff. One screening conveyor belt was in use while 3 others were closed. With the exception of the lady who was running the conveyor belt, who would not make eye contact with anyone even when asked why my sealed clear bag from the duty free store back in a London was set aside. Nope, my duty free items needed to be taken out and run through another scanner. 8. What was the rest of the TSA staff doing? Literally walking around in circles not know who was supposed to do what. I heard “hey, who is on this one?” And “I though so and so was supposed to be here still” along with other statements that really reassured me our safety was the priority and was being handled by professionals. 9. We were reassured that once through this last “security” check that the gate was literally just up another escalator. Nope. Next we had to jump on yet another shuttle. 10. What’s the best part of this whole experience. The arrival gate (e24) was in the same terminal as the departure gate (e31). All of that fuss was to go through customs. In short, this is the worst airport in the modern world to deal with and I will gladly pay more to fly through another airport in the future so that I can avoid this from happening again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no