Miami Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 364 reviews
2/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Layout is horrible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Layout is horrible. Security lines are disorganized and are very far away from departure gates. Skytrain is a good idea but signs aren't clear how frequently they run. Staff are very nice but I feel like I'm being made to traverse the entire length of the airport whenever I'm here. Will use FLL instead given the opportunity.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Dirty, disorganized, poor service"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Miami airport continues to compare with a third world facility. Dirty, disorganized, poor service (to put it mildly). Shops all sell the same useless wares, and automated distributors out of order. Sad place.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"disgusted at the level of service"

(United States)

Not Verified | I am disappointed and disgusted at the level of service at the Miami Airport. We arrived from Costa Rica a family of four, which we had booked our reservations as a family. We were told to stay together through the screening, through customs all the way, which we did. However, the chaos began as soon as we arrived at the Miami airport. My ticket was pre-check as we thought all four would be since they were all booked under my name as the lead person. We were instructed to go to the two different check-points. After being turned around twice, I informed the young lady that we had gone through this twice. If we had to come back, a manager is going to have to get involved. She instructed us to go back to checkpoint three because” the staff member there was new and didn’t know what she was telling us.” We went back, and sure enough, the staff member began to tell us to separate again. I told her what the previous employer had said to us, she pulled up our ticket on her phone and told us to go ahead. I couldn’t believe the level disconnect of communication here in the United States; there is a lot to be learned from Liberia Airport. Courtesy and politeness from the employees for starters. We finally arrived at our gate for departure. As we sat there trying to listen for the changes of gates. The intercom system is not the best; one could barely hear the changes. We saw so many travelers missing their flight and upset, as they should have been. The announcement should have been clear, and anyone on that flight name should have been called before that plane departed. I felt bad for those that were unable to hear the message in the mist of all the chaos. I’m sure that with all the upgrades in technology the intercom system can be much better, employee interaction should be superior. Staff should act as if they want to assist you and not as if they owe you something, remember we are “paying” travelers whether by awards or by credit cards we have paid for service and should be treated with politeness, respect, and clear communication.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"disappointed with the service"

(United States)

Not Verified | Twice disappointed with the service at the transportation center. I understand that the staff may want to be friendly but they appear to be selectively friendly. I was trying to make a train; the person at the kiosk was having a leisurely chat and had no time to help me with my questions. He misinformed me, pointing me to the ticket machine and stating that I first had to purchase a ticked on the level where he was. Even after I had the ticket he still was talking and giving his opinions on some subject and did not stop talking to assist. The area was not crowded, but I had to figure things out myself. When I got down to the tracks there were ticket machines I could have bought a ticket. But by the time I had traipsed my luggage down the stairs (no mention or direction regarding an elevator) the train had departed. It being a Sunday afternoon I had to wait another hour. A week earlier, I had to wait for more than 5 minutes while the kiosk person spoke to another traveler about where he grew up and the schools he went to. Like I say, friendly—I get it—but isn’t the job one of helping travelers get from one place to another?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"they must pay $5 USD"

(United States)

Not Verified | It is sad to see that for arriving International passengers they must pay $5 USD if they need an airport baggage cart. That's quite expensive and foreigners may not have American money to pay besides being alot of money for a cart. International arriving passengers may have alot of luggage they need to claim and transfer after a long flight. I have not seen having to pay for a luggage cart in most International destinations. It's a sad comment to welcome them to the land of the free and the home of the brave.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"great concept, horrible execution"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The sky train is an awesome idea but how difficult is it to put a sign in front of the gates “closest sky train at gate xxxx”. You land and you don’t know if one is right around a corner or the other way. Again great concept, horrible execution when a simple directional sign could fix it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"All staff were polite"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Flew into MIA on September 26 from Madrid and out on October 2, going back, both legs on Iberia. Despite of what is being said compared to other airports, Miami worked quite all right for us. On arrival there were some works and had to walk longer than necessary, but went through immigration and an acceptable speed. All staff were polite. At arrivals got the chance to buy a US sim card. Waiting for hotel shuttle was tiring after a long flight, as there was not enough seating there. Also, TSA at MIA is much faster than at Orlando airport. Most importantly, arriving from Orlando on American Airlines and having to pick up luggage, as we didn't have a through ticket, and having to check in for Iberia was not bad! We just had to walk straight on from the AA part of the airport to that of Iberia. No need for elevators, or shuttles! Spanish-speaking staff are polite and courteous and do make an effort to help out. Overall, we have a positive impression of Miami!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Poor organization"

(United States)

Not Verified | Poor organization of the planes and gates. Our incoming flight had trouble having a free gate to arrive at. Our departure gate has been changed twice and delayed by 2 hours. Their explanation was that they were waiting for a plane to get out of a hangar.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it was a shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Probably the worst airport experience I've ever had. I was only there for a connection as I was travelling from MBJ- MIA then back to the UK. Customs in the UK is so simple and quite quick considering. The staff were so rude at customs in particular at security, they ignored you pretending they were speaking on the radio and couldn't hear. When we had to get our ESTA tickets it was a shambles as we had to do everything in 1.5 hours in time for the connecting flight. Instead of managing the queues one particular staff member kept shouting at me because I was using a different kiosk from my dad, which makes no sense because those questions were long so if there is a kiosk next to him it makes sense to use that - as I did on my way here 5 days ago. Other people were using more than one kiosk but she spent her time focusing on me instead of organising the queue. She kept shouting saying 'Mam Mam Mam' you can't use the kiosk, despite telling her 2 times our connecting flight was soon. The guy at customs was so rude, I'm sure that if you are travelling with a family member you're supposed to go up with them? But, we got yelled at and only my dad was allowed to go, I eventually went up and then a few seconds the customs guy called up another man who was after me - assuming he was my dad, I had to tell him we were not travelling together. In addition, we had to rush through security bear in mind by this point we only had 25 minutes left until we boarded the plane. My dad tried to ask one of the security women a question and she just pretended that she was listening to her radio and that it was so important, she didn't even acknowledge my dad. We kept telling them we were boarding in 25 minutes and no-one cared. Also when they give out blue cards when you go through security - the ones that determine whether you take your shoes off or not/take out your laptop. I just wanted to double check if I needed one as my dad got one and a few people before him did and she just shouted to 'go in that line'. Surprisingly we made the flight, and it was delayed by 45 minutes due to the manifest being typed up incorrectly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"signs were not straightforward"

(United States)

Not Verified | I've never been to a more confusing airport in my life. The signs were not straightforward. On our boarding pass, it said Terminal CE, but none of its signs stated that, it will state Concourse and a list of letters that did not make any sense to us, which was not helpful at all. Our flight was delayed by 5 hours because the captain was unable to arrive at the Miami airport due to the weather in Tampa, which is completely reasonable. However, the situation could've been handled much better. The people that worked outside the gate were unhelpful. They pretty much expected everyone to have smart phones and therefore were negligent in giving us, customers, regular updates as to when our flight will arrive. They only updated people who stood waiting in line for 15 minutes, instead of just efficiently announcing it to the general public, not that their updates were helpful to the individuals that stood in line because they kept pushing it to every hour, so it was very hard for customers to plan accordingly. By giving us an incorrect ETA, we were not able to decide whether to rebook to another flight or not. If we had known that the flight was going to be delayed for 5 hours, we would've gotten on a different flight. But the people at the gate kept ensuring us that it would only be an hour delayed, and then another hour if we asked again and again. This misinformation is unacceptable. In addition, the airport was freezing. I had to wait in line for 30 minutes at the Service Center for blankets to be told there were no clean blankets. I would check in with them a few more times and was told there were still no clean blankets available, during this 5 hours waiting period, this huge international airport did not think to provide blankets. So not only was my flight delayed, I caught a fever due to waiting at the cold airport for 5 hours, and had to call out of work the next day.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no